WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hangover" is Highest-Grossing R-Rated Comedy Ever

Posted: July 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hangover" is Highest-Grossing R-Rated Comedy EverSubmit Comment
"The Hangover" has now surpassed "Beverly Hills Cop" to become the highest-grossing R-rated comedy (domestically). Eddie Murphy's "Beverly Hills Cop" had the record for almost 25 years with $234.8 million, but "Hangover" has now made $235.7 million.

"The Hangover" is now also the third highest-grossing R-rated film of all-time, only behind "The Matrix Reloaded" ($281.6 million) and "Passion of the Christ" ($370.8 million).

"Beverly Hills Cop" is still beating "The Hangover" in worldwide ticket sales by about $6 million.

Click here to read our "The Hangover" review.

Source: BoxOfficeMojo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Agent Calavera writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 5:16:31 AM

mostly thanks to Mr. Zach Galifianakis
lost_addict writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 6:29:49 AM

saw it for the first time a few days ago...really don't understand the hype...i didn't find anything funny about this movie...'old school' was way way better...
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 9:11:16 AM

Damn, silent killer. Loved it though. Although I still love Superbad more.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 3:40:43 PM

it had its funny parts...but yea i liked 'old school' and 'road trip' better
Rich k writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 4:01:24 PM

This movie was one of the funniest movies i ever saw
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 6:04:14 PM

Bring on Old School 2 already
RE4713 writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 10:41:46 PM

@Johnny Neat Damn, silent killer. Loved it though. Although I still love Superbad more.

Yeah Superbad is so much funnier....I like the raunchy stuff more than the stupid but funny stuff......watched it in theaters after T2....was not funny....sometimes I felt like I was forced laughing....brain was so f*cking exhausted from T2...enjoyed it more the second time but not by that much....NOT SIDESPLITTING OR OVERLY HILARIOUS AND YES IT IS OVERRATED.
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 1:32:59 AM

You youngins and your Superbad! I HATED that movie, if it had been about McLovin and the cops it would have been awesome. Jonah Hill is annoying as f*ck and George Michael reprised his role for the movie. The only movie I liked Hill in was 40 Year Old Virgin and that was because he only had a minute of screentime. The Hangover was much funnier and reached the more mature young adult audience (24-35 year olds). The only people I know personally who enjoyed Superbad were under 21. Too each his own but I think The Hangover will stand the test of time whereas Superbad will fade in a few years.
Grenadeh writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:05:24 AM

Honestly neither old school nor road trip were funny. They had funny moments, as did Hangover, but they weren't funny movies. Wedding Crashers was funnier than all f*ck, I've never laughed that hard before or since that movie was on theaters. Frankly movies aren't funny anymore. And superbad was definitely funnier than sh*t (even though I don't like Apatow) Will Arnett and Galifinakis and Helms are funny but idk...it didn't really seem that amazing.
Grenadeh writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:06:55 AM

If you think jonah hill is annoying as f*ck I feel sorry for you because you're just another tard that has no ability to empathize and has never experienced anything in your life. Hill is hilarious to anyone who actually went to highschool or college because we all knew someone like him or are someone like him in Superbad.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 8:58:43 AM

Superbad was definitely funny, but I haven't seen Hangover yet. No movie will ever be funnier than Grandma's Boy. Beverly Hills Cop was pretty f*ckin funny too. And since someone mentioned raunchy humor, let us not forget Porkie's, Bachelor Party and Screwballs.
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 4:17:41 PM

Yeah, I can really empathize with a fat loser who is trying to get laid and views women as objects instead of people and treats his friends like crap and uses them to try to get booze. And before you talk sh*t I have fat friends, but they are actually good people like everyone else I am friends with.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 2:01:30 AM

good point acslaterson....jonah hill's role in superbad was like 50 cent in 'get rich or die tryin'...superbad's catch phrase there was 'we could be that mistake'...as catchy as it was, i just wasn't that impressed
The_Joker writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 3:01:18 PM

This movie was f*ckin hilarious loved it and happy for it for breaking Highest grossin R comedy:D...
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 10:00:29 PM

Easily one of the best comedies of the past decade, surpassed expectations by a long shot. Saw it twice, definitely buyin the dvd.
That_Genius writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 5:21:55 PM

cuz it was hilarious

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved