WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writer Discusses Ideas for "Tarzan" Movie

Posted: July 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writer Discusses Ideas for "Tarzan" MovieSubmit Comment
Collider had the chance to speak to writer Stuart Beattie (Pirates of the Caribbean) about the upcoming "Tarzan" movie. Here is what Beattie had to say:

"'Tarzan' [is] probably the most filmed story of all, so our belief in doing a 'Tarzan' movie today was you couldn't go tell the raised by gorillas and loincloths and 'Me: Tarzan and You: Jane'-story because it's been done so much and it's just not interesting anymore. So it was much more big romantic action-adventure film with supernatural stuff and witch doctor and lots of really fun stuff. And mythic Africa, like that deep dark heart of Africa stuff, you know, where the trees are twice as big and the vines stretched forever and the canopy is a whole world in itself and just really cool looking place to spend a couple of hours."

He added that "Tarzan" will not take place in today's times; it will instead be a period piece. "It's a period. You have to be 'Tarzan' period, I think," said Beattie.

And while he believes that "Tarzan" will not be like the "Pirates of the Caribbean" franchise, it will still be a "big, fun summer spectacle."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 7:47:07 PM

"It's a period. You have to be 'Tarzan' period, I think"

What the f*ck does that even mean...?
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 8:53:49 PM

Never read the Burroughs book, but I'm gessing 1900, +- 15 years. Somewhere in that neighborhood. Definitely before 1914.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 9:06:56 PM

minkowski is right....but hey, at least they waited to remake this...not like 5 or less years
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 9:28:27 PM

The best part: neither Casper Van Dien nor Brendan Fraser are set to appear.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 9:33:01 PM

"You have to be 'Tarzan' period, I think"

I have to be 'Tarzan' period? Why do I have to be 'Tarzan' period? I don't wanna be 'Tarzan' period.
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 10:06:24 PM

Better than being "Tarzan's period".
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 10:10:25 PM

i think he meant to say you have to be in the 'tarzan' timezone...period just sounds naughty
aioros writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 1:26:41 AM

In my mind the best movie about tarzan it's the disney version.
BlueMobius writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 2:37:06 AM

Dammit, Mink, you beat me to it! I believe I shall make you my nemesis (until I get bored and/or forget). Mr. Minkowski, consider yourself someone's nemesis. :P

(And seriously, damn you for jumping on that joke...still pretty funny.)
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 11:36:53 AM

Tarzan? wow talk about originality.
Rich k writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 4:10:36 PM

starring brendan fraser

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved