WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Millar Reveals Director for His "Superman" Trilogy

Posted: July 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Millar Reveals Director for His "Superman" TrilogySubmit Comment
Writer Mark Millar (Wanted) previously revealed that he would love to reboot the "Superman" franchise with a new trilogy. He said: "I want to start on Krypton, a thousand years ago, and end with Superman alone on Planet Earth, the last being left on the planet, as the yellow sun turns red and starts to supernova, and he loses his powers."

He mentioned that he has already met with Warner Bros about the idea and even had a big Hollywood director ready to bring Superman back to the big screen. Unfortunately, back in March, Millar stated that Warners is refusing to move forward with another Superman movie and that he and his director are moving on to other projects. But who was this director?

Now, Millar tells TimesOnline that it was Matthew Vaughn (Layer Cake, Stardust) who was willing to help him develop a Superman trilogy. Vaughn was once in-talks to helm "Thor," but is now working with Millar on "Kick-Ass."

Fans will likely never see a Millar-version of Superman or any other version. The rights to character will soon leave Warner Bros and DC Comics and go to the estates of the superhero's creators, Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster. After that, not too many studios would want to invest in a franchise in which the last installment underperformed.

Source: TimesOnline, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jgrantt18 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 2:02:25 AM

With the annoucements of Geoff Johns, Marv Wolfman and Grant Morrison all climbing on board to help get various DC properties off the ground as films, anything is possible.

But at the same time, even with this recent spate of motion it is unlikely we'd see Millar's version of Superman on the screen or in comics given his frosty relationship with DC.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 2:20:10 AM

Full of sh*t constantly... plus his "announcement" is quite a bit late as he promised Christmas of last year
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 2:22:18 AM

HA! and that means the last time we may ever see Supes on the big screen... is that female targeted audience of a crap superman returns we were dealt?? Then I'll remember Superman and Superman 2 the Donner cut only.
FBO writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 2:43:41 AM

I promise that WB is playing games with this superman returns sequel. Rumor around Hollywood is that they already have a script and Singer is set to direct. I believe it. I think they are trying to garner attention before they release the next film.
tolgaboy writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 2:48:53 AM

WHY THEY STILL WANT THE BRING THE KRYPTON STORY ?MAKE A GOOD SUPER ACTION MOVIE
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:09:28 AM

WB is starting to pull a michael bay....i mean, bay was constantly trying to convince people that megatron does not return....but mostly everyone already knew that was bullsh*t no matter how hard he kept continually trying until finally admitting it later....so i'm sorry, but that's not worth my money to be waited on like this and then fed the bullsh*t before being disappointed in the movie...i say give the damn rights back to dc comics or the creators...and let them make the decision to make another movie....is it just me?...or are other movie companies starting to sink as low as 20th century fox?
Over Priced writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 4:02:05 AM

I'll join in on bashing WP. Over hyped titles, rumors from 3rd party sources, old news, poor research but somehow I find myself turning up to have a loookie at whats going on. Bizarre
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 4:49:41 AM

"WHY THEY STILL WANT THE BRING THE KRYPTON STORY ?MAKE A GOOD SUPER ACTION MOVIE"

Exactly. And why end it negatively?
bacci40 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 5:39:35 AM

f*cking idiot...the project is going nowhere...he shoulda said that he got scorcese...millar is a f*cking whore, who doesnt give a sh*t what hollywood does to his properties, as long as they dont post date the check...is he going to the con? i wanna kick him in the balls
BigTate writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 8:34:34 AM

That finale sounds epic! We don't need anymore sappy/happy endings. I'd like to see a mature take on Supes like this. Having he and Vandal Savage battle it out as the last two beings on the planet would be cool, too.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 12:19:21 PM

That would have been the dumbest superman movie EVER. Who wants to see Superman alone and miserable!!
Kevin Hock writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 12:42:02 PM

I stand behind my previous statements, the story outline he's given us for the movies is something I have no interest in seeing, and misses the whole charm of the superman story.
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 1:44:05 PM

Whoops... I posted my following comments in the Supes Bizarro thread... any-hoo!

@Kevin Hock - sorry my friend, I'm going to have to disagree about this 'Supes' charm thing (see my comments below). I've watched it for DECADES on TV and since the Reeves movies. I'm sick of it. Supes is bigger than his wet spot for Lois. He's even bigger than Earth. He has BIGGER responsibilities, that his hard-ass Kryptonian Father would drive home were Smallville EVER GREW A f*ckING PAIR AND GOT WELLING'S ASS INTO THE GOD-DAMNED FORTRESS FOR HIS f*ckING TRAINING!!! ... whew! Sorry!

Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 1:45:00 PM

I've said it before. The only way to really make a Superman movie fly, is to make it REALISTIC... make it INTER-GALACTIC (they touched upon that with Routh's return to Krypton's remains), etc. And stop playing that Lois, broken-hearted, wet puppy in the rain outside your kitchen door, guarding only Metropolis (basically) sh*t that we've seen for decades. We're tired of it. Make this a movie (trilogy!) that is on the same scale as the Last Son of Krypton should be - moving planets, flying through the sun to clean his costume - sitting on the moon looking at Earth... thinking about sh*t. LET THIS CHARACTER FINALLY GROW THE HELL UP!
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 1:46:37 PM

Have Supes make a cameo as a Guest Speaker on OA during a Green Lantern Corp. conference. EVER THINK OF THAT DC, YOU f*ckERS?!?!
KaloVisor writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 2:51:06 PM

That sounds like an awful story anyways- well at least the end does. it beginning On Krypton is cool. they should have it in with him finally marring Lois Lane I think that would be a perfect ending. but I will be really disappointed if they never make an other Superman film again. it would be awful! WB You better make and other Superman film!!
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 2:54:17 PM

They will. Sooner or later... no worries there. Supes is the greatest of all Superheros.
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 2:55:17 PM

PS: if he marries Lois... she'll turn into a SuperBitch and will want to hang curtains in the Fortress of Solitude. I really don't want to see that happen... do you?
SACdaddy writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:15:02 PM

Frankly I'm very sad to see Supes go away for the time being. We finally have the CGI and a fresh set of young directors available to finally do The Man of Steel justice but because of greed and a general lack of effort in Hollywood Supes is doomed. I'm still holding on to a slither of faith that this is all a set up for a hyped return but the way things are going in Hwood (reboots, remakes, and budget cuts) I wont hold my breath. He's still the best "superhero" of all time.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:22:04 PM

@Ranger: As usual you're right on the money.
Rich k writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:25:31 PM

thanks for telling us his whole idea on the movie in the first paragraph
SACdaddy writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:27:40 PM

And Superman 2 is one the best superhero movies ever made.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:38:53 PM

@anyonelistening: With Supes gone for a while, Green Lantern and Thor coming, and Batman and Iron Man carrying the industry, what other "superhero" would like to see on the big screen. Do you think GL and Thor will succeed?
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 4:31:56 PM

@SAC - thx. Bud. I'm a HUGE fan of Supes 2.... but also the first '78. Mario Puzo nailed the modernization (look - feel) of a decades old classic tale of the orphaned Kryptonian. And John Williams musical score... perfection! And Chris Reeve... still the best Supes ever. Yeah, those first 2 were magic.
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 5:11:25 PM

Well that sucks for Supes. I always hoped that DC would accomplish the same level success in film as Marvel has been doing. Hopefully one day they'll get their sh*t together and bless us with a Justice League movie half as good as The Dark Knight.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 5:21:02 PM

I totally like his story mainly the end. It's real and adult. I always wondered how it would be to see him as the last remaining being on Earth. His story sounds more like a character study, how does he deal with this idea that everyone he's ever known or loved will be dead and he will be left alone at the end of it all. He will always be a loner no matter how hard he tries to assimilate with mankind. To be honest Superman is just as deep and dark a character as Batman, Warner and DC just seem to love catering to the Boy Scout thing constantly. I'm all for his idea though. The bigger story is Warner/DC losing the rights possibly. Like that is HUGE!
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 7:16:19 PM

Well said. It's those exact reasons I like this storyline.
minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 9:53:14 PM

"I always wondered how it would be to see him as the last remaining being on Earth."

This idea invites issues, least of which: do you end a trilogy on a negative note, something even the graphic novels avoid?

Lets also ask the question: how does Superman end up as 'the last being on earth'? How does this come to occur? How does Mankind become realistically extinct when you have Supes and a host of other superheroes working to avert any calamity?

Nuclear war, disease, asteroid strikes et cetera. These are all issues that would normally pose a threat to humanity. These are events and threats that could cause mankind to go extinct. But in the fantastic world of comic books, where even time travel isn't verboten, how does Supes let mankind die? Isn't it more likely that in the time it would take to extinguish humanity, superheroes would have proliferated, mankind would have spread to the stars, they would have mastered at least basic terraforming? If you read the comics, or just a subset of the GNs you see that if you admit the existence of a guy like Superman, anything is possible, and the extinction of the human race, in it's current form at least, is entirely unlikely.

"His story sounds more like a character study"

Often times, within the GNs, they are in fact character studies. The fact that he writes comic books and that his script has those qualities, isn't a coincidence. Not at all. Almost every GN that I like has some character study within.

"He will always be a loner no matter how hard he tries to assimilate with mankind."

I'm not sure if you're basing that opinion on the Donner/Lester films or the GNs. In the comic books, Superman isn't ever alone. He has a number of companions and near equals. Supergirl, his cousin, Batman who shows him up and many others. Even as his alter ego Kent, he has friends: Lois, Jimmy and the DP chief. Just because Superman as often played as the toughest guy on the block DOES NOT mean he is either alone, or a loner. Recall his membership in the Justice League. I'v haven't read many GNs where he's depicted as a 'loner', in fact. GNs like Red Son merely depict him alone as a method of merely singularly examining Superman, without the the complicating addition of other superheroes.

"To be honest Superman is just as deep and dark a character as Batman"

He's as deep. yes, as they've both enjoyed some 60 years of character development and construction of backstory. Dark, no. There's a gigantic gulf between old Supes and Batty. Batman is human. he's broken, tragically flawed and often times near-deranged. He's, as I've said before, Nietsche's ubermensch, a mere man that reaches his total apex through science and discipline. But the weight of that burden stresses the fractures in his psyche, caused by the death of his parents. It's his strength, but also his weakness. The topic is explored often in the GNs. Contrarily, Superman isn't flawed in such a way. Though he lost his planet, his race and his parents (save Kandor), because he IS Superman, these issues do not break him. in fact, as an honor to their memory, to their sacrifice, his role as protector and also the last Son of Krypton gives him strength. He is simply Batman's psychological and emotional superior. Superman is simply not f*cked up remotely like Batman.

"Warner and DC just seem to love catering to the Boy Scout thing constantly"

Your comment makes no sense. Superman IS a 'boy scout', and has been for some 60 years, with a few notable experimental exceptions. He is te embodiment of everything a person might like to be themselves. To make him tragically flawed, indecisive, weak and lacking, is to play further into the trend of post-modernistic anti-hero tropes. What you're asking is a de-evolution of the Superman myth. I'd rather they didn't. We have enough hero deconstruction already.

minkowski writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 10:00:18 PM

In brief: Millar is obviously an experimental myth maker, and I doubt any studio is going to take his route, not with the nature of the original films looming so large in most people's minds. Red Son is an example of how he likes to play against the establishment (Red Son is a Soviet send-up, as I've said, and has little merit outside the entertaining novelty of the idea) and take a contrary path. It's good for the GNs where nothing he writes for Superman is necessarily canon, but to make three films on his ideas, unless the ending is the only grievous departure from Superman tradition, isn't going to fly, no pun intended.
telur writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 12:46:56 AM

if Millar can't get a movie why his vision not made for a novel or graphic novel?
minkowski writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 1:22:23 AM

He doesn't do DC anymore. They didn't like his 'style' after 9-11, yet they keep Frank Miller on the pay. Don't ask me.
BlueMobius writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 2:43:14 AM

Loved Stardust and that kind of visual direction could make for an interesting Superman movie. And you know, as much as I want Supes back home with the descendants of his creators, he's much more than what he was in the late 1930s. I really want to see a modern Superman movie, not just a rehash of Richard Donner's stuff (as much as I liked Returns, that's all it really was...even down to some of the dialogue).
lostwarrior writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 12:47:22 PM

Well honestly they could do this u know. It is possible to do this. With the right villians or villian, bring in some natual disaster events as well. In order for it to be done correctly you would have to do a trilogy, so details would not be left out.. Show everything happening at once, supes cant be at 100 places at the exact same second. There would be delays, regarding his arrival to what ever events are happening. Bring in doomsday, multipul comet showers hitting earth, slowly destroying earth while doomsday and supes are fighting each other. Then the earth start to evaporate or what ever, show supes killing doomsday, but is too late to save earth. Yet supes is trying desperately to be everywhere at once and yet he cant cuz its all happening way too fast. perhaps thats an aweful idea, but its still an idea...
lostwarrior writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 12:51:04 PM

and in regards to leaving this at a down point of supes failing to save earth, do it. It has not been done before. Maybe his biggest regret would of been him not being able to save his son. that would show the emotional side of him. How it links aliens to humans, with him having a human emotion. It never really bothered him losing his home planet, but him loosing a son would devestate him. then right before the credits a RED SUN, supes becomes human and dies from lack of oxygen.....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved