WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stuart Beattie Pushing for a "Halo" Film

Posted: July 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stuart Beattie Pushing for a "Halo" FilmSubmit Comment
Microsoft desperately tried to get a "Halo" film off the ground, but ran into issues that include giving up too much of the property to a distributor and having an untested director Neill Blomkamp in charge of the project. Eventually, fans didn't get a "Halo" movie and Blomkamp moved on to making "District 9" with Peter Jackson.

Now, "Pirates of the Caribbean" writer Stuart Beattie tells Sci-Fi Wire that he's still pushing forward with his spec script for a new "Halo" movie, which he wrote during the 2007 writer's strike. His script is based on the "Fall of Reach" storyline from Eric Nyland's "Halo" prequel novel.

"I just think it's an amazing story about this child that no one cares about and who cares for no one else, who kind of ends up saving all of humanity," Beattie said. "So I just started calling, because I really believe a Halo movie would just be awesome, especially this Halo movie."

Beattie sent his script to Microsoft and since Blomkamp is no longer attached to direct, he said that he would be willing to get behind the camera himself. However, he understands that he's not experienced enough to tackle a $100 million-plus film, and is more than happy to step aside for another helmer to step in.

"I wouldn't want to stand in the way of it getting made, but I firmly believe that the first Halo movie needs to be the Fall of Reach story, because it sets up all the characters, the world, the Covenant, the big struggle between mankind and the aliens, all that stuff," he said. "So that's where my money is."

Click here to read more about "Halo."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MrSammich writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 7:44:56 PM

I don't think that a Halo movie will ever happen, and it certainly will never be done right.
acslaterson writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 8:42:16 PM

Only way I see this happening is if Microsoft forms their own studio.
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:01:25 PM

"Only way I see this happening is if Microsoft forms their own studio."

That's the WORST idea I've ever heard. Better for them to just buy a damned studio instead.

Anyway, regardless, Halo will never get made.
KaloVisor writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:02:57 PM

That's not a bad Idea Acslaterson. I really hope this does get made the Video Game was Awesome!
acslaterson writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:03:59 PM

I didn't say it was a good idea, they want to keep too much control of their property and I don't see a studio giving in to them.
Rich k writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:13:27 PM

The only way this movie could work if they did it like beowulf
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:26:08 PM

Look, not trying to be a d*ck, but even suggesting that idea deserves a death sentence. Posters KaloVisor that know nothing about MS might think it's a worthy thought, and it would be if you were talking about ANY OTHER COMPANY besides MS.

Trust me. You don't want MS making a movie, overseeing the construction of a movie. And it would be their first, so you know how THAT goes. And it's MS we're talking about. You know, the greedy, over-managed power-hungry company that recycles operating systems, the company that only has a good idea when they 'borrow' it from someone else? The company that can't even release their software on time and free of glaring defects?

MS will make the movie when they back off on the control, and find a studio that knows how to make a movie. look at all the other areas MS ventured into. MSN vs AOl: FAIL. MS vs Logitech: FAIL. MS vs Digital TV: FAIL. MS vs Google: FAIL. MS vs BluRay: FAIL. MS vs Linux in a KO: FAIL. MS vs Apple's stylish innovation: FAIL! MS(NBC) VS Fox and CNN: FAIL.

Need I go on? Ms knows to make and market software and PC devices. Let them do that. That's what they're geared for, that's their company environment. Making software and making films are two VERY different ventures. It's like trying to turn a hospital into a school of sculpture. Different thinking, milieu, ethics and entirely different corporate cultures.

slusho writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 10:24:28 PM

just give it to Blomkamp, please..
MrSammich writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 10:40:08 PM

lol. they can't do any worst than Fox minkowski.
vwkombi writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 10:53:56 PM

A full CGI film of Fall of Reach would be awesome.

But imagine if Microsoft made the movie. The film would open with a fantastic Halo logo, followed by a message that says "File Path cannot be found. Operation aborted".
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 11:18:19 PM

No, you'd get a blue screen that says "This film has performed an illegal operation".

Then then the projector would reboot.
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 11:23:52 PM

"lol. they can't do any worst than Fox minkowski."

Well, you've got a great point, but still, FOX knows how to make movies, even if they occasionally make unbelievable stupid decisions.

On the other hand, Microsoft supposedly knows how to make software, yet they need an entirely new release to fix Vista. Windows 7 is touted as "Vista that works".

At least with FOX, their films are still somewhat functional. Besides, Fox used to know how to do things right. Hopefully, this is just a bad phase for them. Conversely, Microsoft hasn't been out of the bad phase since 1979.
nirvo25 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 2:50:02 AM

shut the f*ck up slusho
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 9:15:22 AM

This movie will happen eventually, there are too many die hard fans of the games and hollywood knows this. This movie has a high chance of making money because an awful lot of the fans will go and see it, its just a matter of time before a deal is struck and this gets made. Its a whole new movie franchise for gods sake!
Sev writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 9:34:34 AM

Not a Halo fan myself, but after the District 9 trailer, I'd love to see this made by Blomkamp and Jackson.

As long as his bloody script isn't as bad as Pirates of the Caribbean, I say go for it!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 10:16:45 AM

just shut the f*ck up and let Blomkamp handle it.
MrJS1 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 1:07:02 PM

Blomkamp isn't attached to direct this film anymore? I thought he was simply putting it on reserve with Jackson due to District 9, and if that movie was successful, the studios will let them continue that project.

Strider23 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 3:53:33 PM

I Think If They Decide To Make It Using A Microsoft Studio and Maybe BLokamp Or Peter Jackson It Could Happen I Hope So
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 4:16:33 PM

if you can get a game made every year....you can get a movie made
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 5:38:34 PM

"Blomkamp isn't attached to direct this film anymore?"

No.

" I thought he was simply putting it on reserve with Jackson due to District 9, and if that movie was successful, the studios will let them continue that project."

No, you're mistaken. The film is in total limbo. Jackson and Blomkamp would like to make the movie, sure, but without a studio, without MS backing off its demands, the film is in oblivion.
MrJS1 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 7:05:11 PM

That's a shame. Although one of the things I heard around the web is that the studios didn't trust Blomkamp with helming the movie due to the fact he's new. I believe District 9 was made to prove Neill's talent. Hopefully that movie will turn some heads.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 7:12:03 PM

they wont be able get this done correctly, why cuz its a video game, not a novel. expectations are already set way to high. And if MS did form their own studio it would probably hurt the movie even more than have a already established studio in on it. And honestly I hope this does not get made..
Sev writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 8:21:43 PM

Actually, Lostwarrior, FALL OF REACH, the film Beattie wants made, is actually a novel.

Plus it looks like they are adapting it into a game as well.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 8:39:04 PM

^^^thats if they go with this story line, just because one wants to do it this way does not mean that said studio or MS would go for that specific story line. I mean the movie would be based off a game, regardless of what ever lame ass plot they would use... but just curious what came 1st the novel or the game regarding HALO?
MrJS1 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 8:48:18 PM

lostwarrior-

Do your research on the Halo universe. You'll find that this game is rich in history and backstory. There is enough lore in this franchise that can match the level of the Lord of the Rings.

If Peter Jackson and Neill Blomkamp would make this movie, it has the potential to be great success.

But seriously, if Halo falls into Stuart Beattie's hands, we will be fated to watch the franchise's destruction.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 9:37:21 PM

^^^ sorry but i have better things to do than play video games. I did play them when I was like 7 years old but now as an adult and a father i have other priorities at hand. Like having a life. Sorry man but I would rather concentrate on art benefits that will help fund abused woman and children shelters than look into THE RICH BACKGROUND of HALO, forgive me. But i dont care, never played the game in my life. Nor would I care too, I havent owned a game system since Nintendo made the power pad, yeah u may think IM laxity and thats kool, but you know what im not even thirty I work for myself, I provide for my family and they dont ever need a thing and oh yeah I work at at my own leisures. So im sorry princess but I dont have time to look into that rich history you are going on and on about. But thanks for playing man, and have a good day. BTW thats why I asked the question above in my last post. I was being serious.. which one came 1st the novel or the game. I think that might help decide if this movie would be any good. Cuz if its based off of a novel then it has a small chance but if its based of a game then it has zero chance. Not one video game movie has been done well. NOT A SINGLE ONE, but thats my opinion only..
MrJS1 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 10:08:23 PM

lostwarrior-

Yes, the game came first. The novels received a lot of applause from critics and readers alike.

I don't think you're "laxity". I just have a problem with the fact that you simply imply that all movies based off video games are doomed to fail no matter who is directing, producing(Ex: Peter Jackson), or funding them. But hey, that's just my opinion. I don't play games anymore. I did play Halo, hence my knowledge and interest of its rich story by taking some of my time and looking into it.

All the movies that bombed were low-budget and did not stay true to their sources. Terrible directors like Uwe Boll and poor script writers and movie companies, that don't take source material or video game adaptations seriously are the current problems of the game-to-movie business. The Prince of Persia adaptation is looking pretty promising to me however, since it's got a good director and A-list actors with the creator of the actual game working on the screenplay.

minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 11:25:07 PM

If you can't find time to play a simple video game now and then, you're already dead.

And for all the time you waste posting on here, you could get in an occasional game of Super Mario.

And I thought I had a golden rod shoved up my ass. . .
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 11:39:51 PM

"Cuz if its based off of a novel then it has a small chance but if its based of a game then it has zero chance."

MrJS1 is exactly correct. If you take an idea, throw a sh*tty director, a subpar script and poor actors at it, you're going to get a a BOMB. Every single time.

It's obvious to me that you don't seem to get it. Really. There's a culture in Hollywood, and elsewhere, that views films through a green lens, and cannot, will not, appreciate an idea on it's own. They see video games as the domain of small childish minds, and they hold the same disdainful opinion as you: they're too busy making money to reconsider whether they've passed by an avenue of interest without serious consideration.

To them, video games are inferior, period, and they think no further. They give these films every handicap possible, and then the film expectedly and critically fails every time. You seem to see only the effect and no cause. You simply aren't looking farther.

Einstein once said imagination is more important than knowledge. He's totally f*cking right. People in Hollywood have no f*cking imagination. That's what spawned Transformers and Star Trek, Terminator Salvation and other loud brash but ultimately hollow films. Dreamless, unimaginative and unemotional, cliche-ridden minds. To them, a bomb is an intricate emotional gesture, the loud report of a gun a clever discourse and a juvenile sex scene a thesis on human interaction.

You're only 28, and you've already apparently forgot the magic of imagination. Welcome to their club.

Eben1277 writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 1:14:29 AM

I hope Halo gets made so all the fanboys can complain about it.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 8:54:09 AM

@mink IMagination, i find it kinda rude that you would come to that conclusion because I dont play video games. Boy ive been doing art for about 13 years. Doing slams at the green mill, Painting scultpting, music video for local musicians and creating the covers for their cd's and so forth. Just because one doesnt want to sit on his or her ass for hours on out doing nothing but looking at a blue screen and twiddle their thumbs on a piece of f*cking plastic dont mean sh*t. I just and this is just me, I would rather do something with my time. And use my imagination requires action, if you want to put your IMAGINATION into motion. perhaps u forgot to put that part in. And like I said I have better things to do besides art, im kinda busy playing hide and seek with my kids, or busy making and building stuff with them for example ike ramps, or tree houses sh*t like that. So dont ever make the assumption little girl. You say welcome to the club, what club would that be. The club of sitting in your grandma basement playing halo, while day dreaming of the day that I have a life. No thanks plastic princess I actually have a life. @MrSj1, right on man, I justpersonally dont think that anyone has done a good adaptation of a video game, I dont play them as Ive said, but i do enjoy a good film, perhaps movies are my video games u know. And obviously I had no idea that they took this specific game and wrote a novel based on it. If its good and they find a good director perhaps it could be good. I was just implying that I have never seen a good film based on a video game.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 11:22:05 AM

btw just curious now but where is the imagination in making a movie based off of something else. Real imagination is creating something from scratch. having nothing but general ideas pulled from other inspiring events or acts or whatever to create something new. from video games to making a movie about that video game is not imaginative its just being lazy. and when have they made a good movie based off of a video game? Please tell me, cuz so far no one has been able to pull that off....
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 8:21:36 PM

How the f*ck does is take a long time to post on here? Anyone who uses that as a burn is a f*cking retard. I show up in the morning, read the articles, comment and move one. It takes roughly 20 minutes of life...If you're hanging around longer than that you're like Minkus- an all out prick of a nerd refreshing the page every two seconds 24 hours a day...
StrongR3tard writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 9:21:57 PM

it would be more of a flop if microdoft actually did have something to do with it
GaMEChld writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 4:04:48 AM

I like how this 'lostwarrior' person is telling us all about how he doesn't play the game because he has much more important things to do, yet is surfing the internet to comment on this video game based film. Not to mention hoping that said film never gets made, even in the face of clear demand from fans, as if the movie's production will in some way harm him.

How odd.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved