WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hobbit" Could be in Trouble

Posted: July 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hobbit" Could be in TroubleSubmit Comment
Back in September, we reported that the son of "Lord of the Rings" author JRR Tolkien filed a suit against New Line and Time Warner for failure to pay any royalties from the estimated $6 billion (he said) the movies have grossed worldwide.

According to Bloomberg, the suit is still happening and the Tolkien family is seeking $220 million. New Line and Time Warner tried to settle the suit, but all their proposed payouts were rejected since the family is aiming to take this to trial.

"Should this case go all the way through trial, we are confident that New Line will lose its right to release 'The Hobbit,'" said the heirs' attorney. Stay tuned.

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: Bloomberg


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
coldplayesence writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 7:46:23 PM

Coming up next: a big fat deal.
KaloVisor writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:00:50 PM

This is stupid! They Better make the Hobbit.
dhkenobi writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:03:05 PM

What a bunch of greedy, whiny-ass bitches.
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:11:43 PM

My question is: how did anyone overlook royalties on 6 billion?
acslaterson writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:05:01 AM

Studios are retarded, just pay the f*cks! Their Grandparents made these works of art and now the grandkids need their trust funds replenished instead of doing something themselves!
acslaterson writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:07:36 AM

Well son in this case, grandchildren in regards to the Superman f*ck up.
minkowski writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:07:38 AM

It's like watching two fat hyenas fight over a chunk of sun-dried flesh.
rocketman writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 2:57:47 AM

...Or you could let New Line get away with it which would leave it wide open for any studio to steal other peoples ideas.
tolgaboy writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 2:58:40 AM

wish he was may dad
bacci40 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 4:26:04 AM

dont f*ck with the masters family...good, kill the hobit...who cares...i would rather read the book again
Post_Man_87 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 5:20:18 AM

@minkowski - I thought Peter Jackson was also cut out of $ that New Line owed him from the Trilogy & all parties just agreed on an out of court settlement just prior to this film (not coincidently) being announced. It seems as tho New Line hasn't been paying their "taxes", once again.
rjd040487 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 5:32:33 AM

greedy corporations should honour their agreements and not disrespect the contract obligations - its unprofessional - no matter that the original author has passed away and who the money is going to ... as if they arent earning enough money
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 10:11:08 AM

Minkowski is my hero.
doneehoward writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 1:09:29 PM

wow. take it out on us, family.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 2:27:53 PM

i thought america was about freedom...not stealing and bullsh*tting...i mean at least we still have the freedom to talk sh*t
lostwarrior writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 6:20:46 PM

oh well it will still be made. Too much money is at stake. I mean this will bring in billions of dollar just ike the other three did. And as long as Jackson is attached to it in any way shape or form, I know this will be good... @mink how could they overlook 6billion no one would over look 6billion. well im sure they didnt over look it, best bet they didnt want to pay up...
thedudeman69 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 7:39:36 PM

GOD f*ckING DAMN IT.

THE TOILKEN FAMILY ARE A BUNCH OF *ssholeS.
thedudeman69 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 7:40:01 PM

this is watchmen all over again.
dbreuning writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 8:59:57 PM

Didnt Tolkien sell the rights to his books just before he died because he needed the money?
Eben1277 writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 12:50:49 AM

They must need some serious coke money if they're not willing to pay out the 220 million on 6 billion, and are willing to risk the rights to further profits from more movies over it.
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 1:55:35 AM

@acslaterson - they tried to offer the family $'s but were rejected (how much they were offered it doesn't say).

@dbreuning - great point. If he DID sell his rights these people are farting into the wind. But this family MUST have SOME claim to be making a stink like this (or a really good Lawyer just BSing them and sending them bills).

@Mink - yeah... $6 bil overlooked?! Unless this fight has been on the go now for a while.

As for 'New Line'... ummm, yeah. Not that big a fan. As I posted earlier on here, they sent me a written request to see my 'Registered' Iron Man (Treatment/outline/synopsis) that I had written in '98, registered in '99, which they viewed before the rights reverted back to Marvel, and yeah, a couple of my 'ideas' ended up in the first flick. Just enough that they'd comment that those would be things IM would have done... well, long story so I... Zzzzzzzz...
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:48:01 AM

Ranger...i think you and i can agree on some levels there....can't tell you how many times i've heard people say some weird sh*t....and somehow, i dunno how, but somehow they steal that idea...maybe it's because they hear our every thought or every word spoken via satellite...the rich ass bastards lol
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 11:44:50 AM

Damn... Why they didn't pay them their dues is retarded greed. Now we, people who enjoyed the last movies and wanted a continuation in look and quality, will be the ones who get really jacked.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved