WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Futurama" to Re-Cast Bender and Fry

Posted: July 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Futurama" to Re-Cast Bender and FrySubmit Comment
About a month ago, it was revealed that 20th Century Fox TV is planning to resurrect the "Futurama" series after canceling it back in 2003. It was reported that Billy West (Philip Fry), Katey Sagal (Leela) and John DiMaggio (Bender) will be returning.

Now, ForcesOfGeek has noticed that DiMaggio, Phil Lamarr (Hermes) and Maurice LaMarche (Hedonismbot, Calculon) have posted a note on their FaceBook pages that a casting notice has gone out to replace DiMaggio, LaMarche, Billy West (Fry) and Katy Sagal (Leela).

It seems that Fox is trying to cut some costs after running into budget issues with the old episodes. "Futurama" will return in mid-2010, so there is still time for negotiations.

Do you care if Bender Bending Rodriguez doesn't sound the same?

Source: ForcesOfGeek


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MattMcaskill writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 7:38:36 PM

YES I f*ckING CARE!
duff4444 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 7:40:07 PM

damn f*cking right! That would piss me the f*ck off! Long Live the DiMaggio Bender! There could never be anyone to do it the same. EVER
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 7:57:18 PM

didn't they learn anything about replacing billy west in 'doug'?....from nick to disney?...omg that was f*cking horrible...i had hoped to never see anything like that happen again but it's happenin again...but hey...this proves we were right about 20th century fox....money sluts aren't they?
Higgs1 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 8:10:41 PM

seriously? leave it cancelled if you're going to pull this crap....you can't replace lead characters and expect the same show

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
defiant1 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 8:13:36 PM

it NEEDS to be the original cast, thats it
DivineCC writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 8:56:16 PM

Are they idiots? Either bring it back with the original cast or don't bring it back at all. f*ck you Fox.
minkowski writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 8:56:50 PM

lol. Good luck with THAT Fox, you bunch of cheap-ass hard nosed morons. Replace Segal? Fry? bender? WTF ever! How do you replace such unique voices!? The show existed, almost exclusively, because of the fans, people that LOVED the show, not the mainstreamers that watch CSI and other sh*t, and now you want to piss in the faces of the fan's that kept the show alive?

Hell, I was NEVER a fan of Futurama, and I'm still waiting for my Simpsons/Futurama crossover movie, but even I can see this bites balls.

Dunno what else to say, it sounds so stupid, so implausible, so f*cking unbelievable that they would try this crap, that I'm actually, momentarily, shocked.
BlueMobius writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 8:59:38 PM

Of course I care! What kind of inane, stupid-ass question is that WP? That's like asking if I care if my testicles are missing or if my right arm hand now looks like a foot! Idiots.
Ryanlawson writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 8:59:58 PM

i say cut 300 000 dollars per episode out of a few of the lame as sh*t simpson cast, and pay DiMaggio, LaMarche, Billy West and Katy Sagal a bit more.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:03:34 PM

aw good, so they want it to get cancelled again after episode 1. bravo fox
Bluegirl285 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:13:41 PM

SONOFABITCH! They took forever to get this show back and now the voices won't even be the same!!! WHAT THE f*ck! Yes I care and no, I won't be watching it! f*ck!
dandythelion writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:31:10 PM

it's a terrible move. the voices MADE the charachters. just make a new show if thier going to make such drastic changes
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:46:19 PM

Way to keep up the streak of turning away fans Fox... you sure are on a role this past year... (Trying to block the release of Watchmen, financing a sh*thole of a project called Xmen Origins, etc)

Now you run away the Futurama fans.. way to go
buttabean writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:53:05 PM

Are you f*cking kidding me????? Fox is such a POS I swear. Oh hey lets give Seth Mcfarlen 100million dollars and screw futurama.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 10:00:41 PM

sh*t it got cancelled in 2003?? i never knew that.

Anyway, no way to replacing those three, they are perfect for the roles!
buttabean writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 10:36:19 PM

More I think about it the more I think this is a marketing ploy to build hype up for comic con next week. Groenin and Cohen wouldn't do Futurama without the original cast. Not to mention they just released 4 movies the past year. I sure hope it's a bad joke...
vwkombi writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 10:55:12 PM

Seriously, Fox must be the most talented and creative studio out there. I have never seen a studio that can invent such genius ways to f*ck everything up. It's simply amazing.
madtownphilly2 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 11:07:53 PM

if the original cast does not come back this show can kiss my shiny metal ass
Amber writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 11:46:20 PM

I care too.

I don't even want Futurama back if I can't have my guys. All of them. :)
Dr.G writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:10:48 AM

BENDER MUST REMAIN THE SAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
sexymck32 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:23:36 AM

this is a travisty
FBO writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:31:45 AM

Who the hell came up with that idea? This is why good shows like Kitchen Confidental or Firefly get canceled. I have an idea I let's bring back Married w/ children but instead of using the original actors well hire Cher to play Buck and Michael Moore's second cousin to play Budda. Instead of Chicago we'll film the show in Borrow Alaska. And instead of a sitcom we'll make it a 2d cartoon/opera musical/drug orgy involving Joseph Kony and Benjamin Disreali and Wyonna Ryder.

You laugh now but just wait something like this might not be far off.
solidgoldweedwacker writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 1:03:07 AM

This is an outrage!!!
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 2:16:57 AM

nothing worse when great voice actors get replaced....
Rosalie writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 2:36:21 AM

I will not watch if the original voice talent is ditched.
iamtherealbender writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 3:12:31 AM

Ok this may sound pathetic but this show is the bane of my existence. I have always wanted to be an animator since I was 4 years old. I got distracted with acting and lost my true passion in life, art. This show is what gave me that passion back, It is what showed me that Animation was what I wanted to do with my life and I would not give up on that dream until the day I worked for new episodes, or when I got my own cartoon made. Now that it has been renewed and the characters will have different voices, I could not be more infuriated at anything more than this. For a show that was basically brought back because of its fan base, Fox isn't being very nice to its fans by replacing the voice actors we all came to love and enjoy. They would waste more money in puttin it into production without the same actors then if they just paid them. I believe this because a huge part of the fan base would leave and it would end up being cancelled again. f*ck Fox and their cancellation of this series and f*ck them a second time for replacing the actors.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 4:07:18 AM

nothin to be ashamed about...besides...fox seems to be doing this with every last great work of art that has dignity left in it...it goes to show that these studios are butt hurt and scared because of money and that they're losing it as well...it's so simple because when they were once normal for a change....like being a kid and having an imagination which couldn't obviously be more original, they wouldn't be making dumb stupid moves like this...but hey, they're gonna have to learn the hard way i guess
wonderBOY writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 4:24:16 AM

how can they recast billy west when he does over half the voices on the show come on he does fry, zoidberg,professor, zapp branningan, FOX should just sell it to comedy central
bacci40 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 4:24:36 AM

so fox thinks that good voice talent comes a dime a dozen...nice

so when are they gonna recast the simpsons?

f*cking idiots
pH0u57 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 5:53:56 AM

a re-cast would be a disaster!
shteak writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 6:59:48 AM

f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!f*ck YOU, FOX!!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 9:23:09 AM

I couldn't say anything more here than has already been said before.

I can't believe FOX is still not bankrupt.

You'd think people would chime in and stop watching their sh*t after they churned out The Phantom Menace, eh? Then the craptastic X-men, all three of them in fact. Origins sucked too. They tried to cash in on their simpsons franchise by making a movie, but instead of being a timeless masterpiece that could be enjoyed for generations, it's ALREADY dated, and feels like a 90 minute long simpsons special (although there hasn't been anything "special" about The Simpsons since 03).

I dunno, the recession should've hit them hard by now, instead it takes New Line....

Fox is living off of seth mcfarlene, who isn't even remotely funny unless you're under the age of 13 or high.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 9:23:45 AM

Clue in* not 'chime in'
venomex writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 11:36:18 AM

they already do half of the voices of the show...wasn't that being cheap already?
Dr.G writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:44:25 PM

None of the people Ive told about this would watch it if they were recast.


They MUST have the same cast. Or maby even just do what seems to be a lost art in hollywood and that is ENDING something... I mean how many FINAL destanations have there been???

End these characters with another great movie, then maby keep the universe and (OMG CAN FOX HANDLE THIS) make some new character?????????

Hollywood1086 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 4:23:25 PM

YES i def care. i love futurama, so for them to recast it bc they are cheap asses is just going to be really bad!
Onetinsoldier623 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 8:10:30 PM

dude screw getting new voices, that sucks
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 3:40:33 AM

I say WP needs to come up with a special page for all of us to rip on fox and the bullsh*t they put fans through.

I REFUSE to watch futurama if they change the cast.
Kal-El writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 4:15:25 PM

Blasphemy.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 5:52:17 PM

f*ck that! are you f*cking kidding me?!?!?
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 8:00:32 PM

Yeah- sadly we do care- There's nothing worse than changing the voice... which is why Peter Cullen is STILL Optimus Prime after more than 20 years.
StrongR3tard writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 9:20:14 PM

bullsh*t
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:42:30 AM

let the idiots be idiots....besides, they'll get what's coming to them....a cancellation....sorry 20th century fox...but your ideas need to be a little more 21st century if ya know what i mean
bacci40 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 5:37:10 AM

btw, i suggest fox look at the returns for the vids where conroy has not done the voice of the bat...still think the voice over talent is not important?
bluemeenie writes:
on July 21st, 2009 at 10:06:55 AM

That's a bad idea...
Grenadeh writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 5:38:50 AM

Two words. f*ck that. How could you expect us to watch this sh*t if you take out the best voice actors? Typical Fox.
Grenadeh writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 5:41:01 AM

Why don't you just change the voice of everything then? Change the voices of the Simpsons, change the voices in Family Guy and South Park and American Dad and everything that has ever had a voice actor. I swear man the state of the entertainment industry. It's always two steps forward, one giant ass f*cking space leap backward.
m5dmb28 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:55:58 AM

don't even bother. it's like family guy: i'll watch all the old ones one dvd. they're way funnier than the new ones any way.
mrs.johnnydeppclaudia writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 1:03:44 AM

HEll The f*ck yes i care!!!
It wouldnt be the same and i for sure would not watch it!!
Bender was the funniest character

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved