WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Update: Who Will Play Bilbo Baggins in "The Hobbit"?

Posted: July 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Update: Who Will Play Bilbo Baggins in "The Hobbit"?Submit Comment
Comic-Con is right around the corner and since Peter Jackson will be in attendance to promote his upcoming "District 9" film, some believe that he will take advantage of the event to also announce who will play Bilbo Baggins in his "The Hobbit" films.

Update: Empire magazine spoke to Jackson, who said: "No, we won't be announcing Bilbo for a little while. We're starting to think about casting, but we're knee-deep in the script right now. And when we do go to actors, they're probably going to ask to see a script, so we're powering ahead with getting the first draft done."

It has been long-rumored that James McAvoy (Wanted, Last King of Scotland) is being considered, but LA Times is now saying that Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter) is also in the running.

While McAvoy is likely the favorite out of the two actors, there is another name that keeps coming up. Apparently, David Tennant will be attending Comic-Con for the first time to promote "Dr. Who," but the newspaper believes that he will be there at the request of Jackson for "The Hobbit" announcement.

There is a chance that none of the actors mentioned will get the role, but out of McAvoy, Radcliffe, and Tennant, who would you rather see become Bilbo Baggins?

Click here to read more about "The Hobbit."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 5:25:38 AM

McAvoy will get it no way will radcliff they will neva merge lotr n harry potter but i want tennant to get it if not he will be riddler in batman 3
VDODSON writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 5:27:26 AM

Radcliffe very much resembles a human version of a hobbit, but I fear his popularity due to Harry Potter will taint the role. McAvoy is a distinguished thespian (not including Wanted), this could be good.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 7:02:25 AM

Does Bilbo go full monte at all? that could be key to signing radcliff
mattjudge62 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 7:31:56 AM

gary coleman gets my vote
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:08:46 AM

Although Radcliffe looks more like a Hobbit and very similar to Elijah Wood, the Potterness he brings might be a bit standoffish, but I'd say go with him due to the likeness. If in the end they grab McAvoy it won't kill me.
Muelofthefenz writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 9:37:52 AM

All of these actors could work. But I think Tennant looks most like a young Ian Holm...
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 10:33:40 AM

Bridget the Midget...all the way, baby.
doneehoward writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 10:40:50 AM

David McAcliffe
borat writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 11:30:44 AM

Your mom that's who
Hollywood1086 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 12:23:45 PM

mcavoy!! i love dan and he is right physically, but he's too identifiable as harry potter, plus i don't think he would want to do another huge fantasy lead right after HP wraps up
rocketman writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 12:33:15 PM

Bilbo is well into middle age in the book,he looks much the same as he does at the start of Fellowship.The ring keeps him young,so why can't Holme do it?I understand he has been ill,anyone know if he is well enough to reprise the roll?
OneTime writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 12:51:12 PM

everytime i hear bilbo....a dildo pops into my mind...i cant help it.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 1:31:30 PM

meh, dnt care as long as he cud act and play da prt gud.
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 3:27:54 PM

bring back Warwick Davis... you know... Willow? hahaha jk Radcliffe better not get Bilbo... the studio would be retarded
Strider23 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 3:50:20 PM

I Think Radcliffe could be a good Bilbo, and then i think the three are good choices
kevo10183 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 4:35:21 PM

why not the guy that did the flashbacks as bilbo in the trilogy?
ian_918 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 4:46:00 PM

mcavoy would do it better but thats just my opinion. wanted was a very fun and entertaining movie. and mcavoy was the reason why.
Rich k writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 4:46:30 PM

i think most definately Mcavoy, he just looks hobbit like and i think he could really pull this off, specially his performance as Mr. Thomas in the Chronicles of Narnia. i just cant see daniel radcliffe as bilbo, just when i see him i just think harry potter it could never work
BigUnit writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 5:47:35 PM

James McAvoy fah sho
Dane76 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 6:02:27 PM

Neither McAvoy or Radcliffe should get the role.

David Tennant is by far the better of the three that are listed here. If you haven't had the chance to, watch the last three seasons of Doctor Who. He is able to show a wide range of emotions; which is very necessary because Bilbo starts off weak and helpless, then grows balls big enough to save every one's ass by the end of the day! He would also actually appreciate the opportunity to be Bilbo.
Onetinsoldier623 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 6:24:44 PM

DAVID TENNANT ALL THE WAY!!!!
FBO writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:43:23 AM

Vin Diesel isn't even in the running?
Captain Rogaine writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 9:09:07 AM

That picture of McAvoy makes him look like BJ Novak from The Office. Luckily Bilbo won't have a beard or that would be all I could think all the way through. I don't know if poor Radcliffe can ever escape HP-Link just like Mark Hamill never got out of the Luke Skywalker shadow. Going right into Bilbo might be good because it will give him a nice big check and he can live life a little easier knowing he won't land anything but cameo roles or at best Indy movies.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 8:26:30 PM

what about gary colemans wife, she has the look down
Eben1277 writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 1:17:11 AM

no one should get the role, hobbits suck
StrongR3tard writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 9:17:01 PM

i would def go with Gilbert Gottfried
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 3:54:24 AM

@ Ted Mosby....willow is f*cking awesome!!!...but watch out, those greedy hollywood bastards will try their hardest to spawn a sequel...on the other hand regarding casting bilbo...i'm at a loss for ideas, because i wished they would have made this movie a while back and still kept ian holm to play bilbo
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 12:17:26 PM

@mattjudge62 - exactly... Gary Coleman!

Wat'cho talkn' 'bout Gandalf?!
Ranger writes:
on July 20th, 2009 at 12:17:54 PM

@lostwarrior... LOL!
puputkantor writes:
on May 19th, 2016 at 10:45:26 PM

It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this useful information with us. Obat Tradisional Asam Urat Yang Ampuh
puputkantor writes:
on May 30th, 2016 at 3:58:27 AM

Great post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed!
Extremely useful information specially the closing part :) I maintain such information much.
I used to be seeking this particular information for a
very long time. Thank you and best of luck. Obat Tradisional Asam Urat Yang Ampuh
Obat Asam Urat
Pengobatan Asam Urat
obattradisionalasamurat.135street.com
caramengobatiasamurat.135street.com
obatherbalasamurat.135street.com
obatdarahtinggi.135street.com
pengobatandarahtinggi.135street.com
obattradisionaldarahtinggi.135street.com
obatherbaldarahtinggi.135street.com
caramengobatidarahtinggi.135street.com
obatmaag.135street.com
obatmaagkronis.135street.com
obatmaagakut.88sunstar.com
caramengobatimaag.88sunstar.com
pengobatanmaag.88sunstar.com
obatdiabetes.88sunstar.com
obatherbaldiabetes.88sunstar.com
obattradisionaldiabetes.88sunstar.com
obattradisionaldiabetes.88sunstar.com
caramengobatidiabetes.88sunstar.com
obatkolesterol.88sunstar.com
obatherbalkolesterol.88sunstar.com
obattradisionalkolesterol.88sunstar.com
caramengobatikolesterol.88sunstar.com
caramengobatikolesterol.88sunstar.com
caramengobatitipes.88sunstar.com
obattipes.135street.com
ahmadfadilah writes:
on October 17th, 2016 at 10:31:25 PM

ahmadfadilah writes:
on October 17th, 2016 at 10:37:22 PM

ahmadfadilah writes:
on October 17th, 2016 at 10:42:35 PM

untuk mengikat abu kokas dan batu-batu ikutan hingga menjadi terak
konstruksi basement
jasa konstruksi bangunan
ahmadfadilah writes:
on November 15th, 2016 at 10:38:55 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved