WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Harry Potter 6" Grossed $58 Million on Wednesday

Posted: July 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Harry Potter 6" Grossed $58 Million on WednesdaySubmit Comment
"Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" grossed over $58 million from 4,275 theaters as it opened Wednesday at the domestic box office, including $22 million in midnight shows.

The film bested the $44 million brought in by "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix" two years ago, but failed to set a record for the biggest day ever. "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" took in $62 million, while "The Dark Knight" earned $67 million.

"Order of the Phoenix" ended up grossing $139 million in its first five days, which is why many forecasts place "Half-Blood Prince" at around $150 million. "Transformers 2" had a $200 million five day opening.

Click here to read our "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 6:40:35 PM

Warner Bros is sure cashing in.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 6:40:54 PM

Oh yeah, and f*ck Perez Hilton
JRprime writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 6:45:44 PM

haha yeah warner bros are having a good time
borat writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 7:11:07 PM

Omg tell all the gay internets
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 8:57:17 PM

It would make twice the money if Emma flashed her rack now and again.
lemus869 writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 9:42:12 PM

at least it didn't beat "The Dark Knight" on a all day gross
lost_addict writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 2:30:45 AM

it can make 200 million,i still won't go see it in cinema...piece of crap
BlueMobius writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 11:00:28 AM

I don't think this movie is going to do as well as WP thinks. The movie is boring (I mean, REALLY boring) and disappointing. Once word spreads, I think a lot of people are going to wait.
Figwit1216 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 2:57:13 AM

I am one of those first generation Potter fans (those who started reading the books when we were 9 and are now 20... and still reading them over again... I can admit it. Dont judge me.) I try not to judge the movies too hard. It's a different medium and J.K. puts a lot of detail in her books that just cant all get in a 2 1/2 hour movie. I have enjoyed every Potter film, but I think this one was my favorite so far. Overall, it was pretty faithful. Yes, it's sad there wasnt an epic battle, and it's sad there was no funeral for Dumbledore, but hey, cant have everything. I am a true fan, I know each book cover to cover, but I dont see the point in freaking out about every detail that was ommited. Take it for what it is... a film interpretation of a great book. It's not a visual replica. Visually, this movie was amazing, the cinematography was beautiful and interesting, and the supporting cast (mainly Alan Rickman, Michael Gambon and Helena Bonham Carter) offered EXCEPTIONAL performances. Just enjoy it, dont pick it apart. It's a fun movie for the fans, one a true fan can appreciate for the nastalgic feeling. I love the novelty of seeing my all time favorite series as a kid coming to life in these multi million dollar movies, one right after the other. Visually, they are so faithful, and that's just so fun to me. It's Harry Potter, not the Bible. Accept the creative liberties and ommitions due to time constraints. In other words, chill. =)
bacci40 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 5:33:54 PM

dragged by the niece and nephew to see it...and i was bored...seriously...and why isnt anyone creeped out by how much dumbledork is interested in the sex lives of teens? f*cking pervert
bacci40 writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 5:36:24 PM

Figwit1216, i have never read a potter book in my life, but i am aware that the movies that were the most interesting, were the ones that didnt stick to the source material...basically, because rowling is a hack...so good to know that this movie did stick to the source material, because it was boring and disjointed...wont watch the next, unless watson shows us her tits
rjd040487 writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 11:18:44 AM

Bacci40 - "rowling is a hack" listen to ur own words before u commit yourself to them as she is one of the most - if not the most -successful author. dont much care for the films but how is she a hack when u havent even read a single book of hers. in a world where the tv is the most integral part of a childs growth she has managed to redevelop interest in reading and writing.
jando88 writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 1:03:39 PM

It was good seemed to skim by though a lot was taking out.

but what can you do for a 2 hour flick you only have so much to work with.

Peace,
Alex

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved