WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

MGM Looking for a New "Robocop" Director?

Posted: July 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
MGM Looking for a New "Robocop" Director?Submit Comment
THR is reporting that director Darren Aronofsky (The Wrestler) is on the verge of a deal that would have him helming his passion project "Black Swan" later this year. But what does this mean for the "Robocop" reboot?

Since Aronofsky and writer David Self (Road to Perdition) have been working closely on the script, MGM may consider waiting until Aronofsky is done with "Black Swan" to move forward with "Robocop." But the studio is not taking such chances and has already started searching for a director to replace Aronofsky.

Paul Verhoeven's "Robocop," in which a murdered Detroit cop comes back re-engineered as a cyborg, stood as a symbol of 1980's action. There were several sequels over the years, but a reboot has never gotten off the ground. Now that MGM is rebooting 80's flicks like "Red Dawn" and "Poltergeist," "Robocop" is definitely a priority.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:29:54 PM

Wachowski brothers step in please
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:38:51 PM

a remake i wouldn't mind seeing is the old robocop appearing in the new remake, and kicking the new one's ass!...and wow...still a poltergeist remake?...you f*cks at hollywood just can't understand how f*cking pathetic you are can you?...remaking poltergeist is like pissing on heather o' rourke's (carol-anne) grave...too much real life tragedy from those movies...first the actress who plays the eldest daughter dies 5 months after its release, then heather o' rourke dies right before they were able to finish the end for the 3rd....and already hollywood thinks that people haven't forgotten about it...yea f*ck YOU...thanks for ruining someone's iconic work once again!!...i think i'll send a nice nasty email to MGM regarding a poltergeist remake...besides...the series miserably failed and it's been YEARS since then...and worse...they still feel they have to make a 'better' one just because of today's technology....suck my original balls copywood...i mean not hollywood
Rich k writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:43:48 PM

Robocop is a classic they cannot reboot this!!!!!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:50:48 PM

A reboot on this is in order (Thanx Mr. Miller for f'n it up, c*ckstain) However, they really need to bring the story to the table. Verhoeven did with the first one and the need to go back to that if this is gonna have any chance. Neil Marshall, come on over and sit in the director's chair...your franchise is wanting.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:28:14 PM

borat... great idea (I too have thought they'd be the perfect this for RC). The first one... man, that was a good movie (let's not (ever) talk about the sequels and TV series)!
matternm58 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:38:26 PM

that would be pretty interesting seeing the wachowski bros do it.
matternm58 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:39:14 PM

There was a T.V. Series?
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:45:46 PM

Serious... don't go there (and yep...ugh!)!
akumavern writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:45:57 PM

Remaking Poltergeist? On what premise? We built houses on the burial ground of illegal immigrants...could be set in Laredo, TX.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:46:19 PM

No the Wachowski brothers would f*ck this up. Im sorry but ive lost faith in them. just leave it be man. What about Paul W.S. Anderson, he would be good for it. I mean even though resident evil did go down hill, the 1st was descent. I just dont really think the Wachowski brothers should do anything since they f*cked up speed racer. perhaps they should stick to thrillers like bound.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:50:54 PM

Man, I f*ckin loved Robocop when it came out! That was the highest bodycount I had ever seen in a film. The scene where Murphy gets blown away almost made me puke! A week after it came out every kid on the block with a Nintendo Duck Hunt gun was running around making that crazy BZZZZ sound that Robo's hand cannon made. I just can't see Copywood recreating the experience that is Robocop. They definitely don't have the balls to make it as violent and no way they can beat that gun. Why must they keep messin with these classics?
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:59:47 PM

You guys said it all with Poltergeist, but what about Red Dawn? That actually might work if they did it right. I think this country can handle an invasion film where the youth stand up and defend the nation. Please no Shia or Tatum though.
MrSammich writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:09:38 PM

Lets start a pool: How Long until Brett Ratner tries to get in on this?
dandythelion writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:24:02 PM

i think Aronofsky could have done wonders with it. but it being a remake and potentially big box office draw could have somewhat damaged his 'auteur' reputation.
manichispanic writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:24:05 PM

they should wait for darren. i'm really interested in what he can do with this story.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:27:32 PM

"No the Wachowski brothers would f*ck this up. Im sorry but ive lost faith in them. just leave it be man"

You and I agree again. Must be a f*cking full moon.

'Robocop is a classic they cannot reboot this!!!!!"

Do you mean 'instant classic', or 'good old sh*t'. Thanks to PrevalentMind, I'm totally confused.

If David Fincher can find hid balls, maybe he could give us a dark, serious Robocop, one that has a message for the sci-fans. Man versus machine. The nature of memories. Bionic evolution. Machine feelings. sh*t like that. I want more than hacking of limbs and exploding vans.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:28:14 PM

oh i was mentioning the poltergeist tv series...not robocop...and if there was one, well, never heard about it...just the classic nintendo game of course ;)
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:28:32 PM

I wonder when Dark Man will get a remake. And ET.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:09:50 PM

@mink it must be man, lol. but seriously I could see fincher doing this. I do believe though he is doing something with moby right now. Im not for sure if its just music video or if its a dvd tour that he is recording right now. And honestly like i said im not for sure. but having someone like him would be perfect, it would be just dark enough. and fit perfectly.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:11:07 PM

how long does anything it will be until we hear the name Ratner being attached to this?
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:25:37 PM

Why are they doing this?
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:01:08 PM

ET as in entertainment tonight?
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:09:09 PM

David Cronenberg would be perfect for this if you had to do it dark and bloody. He's one of the only directors out there with a healthy respect of old school sci-fi FX (no CGI) and makeup gore (The Fly, History of Violence) and he knows how to tell a great to-the-point story (Eastern Promises). Matter of fact, Viggo wouldn't be a bad replacement for Weller as Murphy in the lead! What yall think?
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:23:09 PM

Honestly i can see a remake of darkman, I thought it just sucked hairy ass. But E.T. no way in hell would they ever dare touching a film that speilberg did. At least while he is alive
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:23:46 PM

Isn't Cronenberg a little slow and dry for a remake of RoboCop? He does 'weird' movies like Existenz, Scanners, Videodrome and the Fly, or socially relevant films like Crash. Or weird, weird sh*t like Naked Lunch. Or slow drama films with oases of action, Like Eastern Promises and History of Violence.

I think you need a guy that understands the compelling need for visceral action against a dark backdrop of dystopia. If Alex Proyas wasn't such a f*ck up and a tool, I'd suggest him. He doesn't do action all that well for sure, but he could learn. He's got half the equation anyway.

RoboCop to me should be a dark dystopia set somewhere in the future. It should be a bleak film. RoboCop must be portrayed as the unlikeliest of heroes, a man who suffered the worst violence and the total loss of his former life. He should be the sheriff. RoboCop should be something like an old Eastwood western, not the revisionist post-modern crap. RoboCop needs to explore the duality of his situation: fighting the bad guys with mercy, and also exploring the fragments of his humanity. A little Terminator 2 and a little Data thrown in. A little Metropolis (anime). A machine once a man in discovery of who or what he is. A thoughtful film with brilliant, non cliched action set against a backdrop of social engagement.

Am I asking for too much? I mean it was done once, a long, long time ago. Right?
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:25:01 PM

"Honestly i can see a remake of darkman, I thought it just sucked hairy ass"

It wasn't great for sure. The sequels...OMG. But the story has much potential. A good remake I could suffer. And don't think they won't remake ET. You just wait. . .
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:02:10 PM

I always liked Darkman. It had one of the best movie posters ever. But its basically a showcase of everything you'd come to expect from a Sam Raimi film, a great story served with huge helping of over the top cartoonish violence. All this talk of how to remake Robocop makes me respect original even more. Its a Verhoven film through and through with that same matter of fact ultraviolence that he delivers in Starship Troopers and Hollow Man. A remake has a lot to live up to.
whoever writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:02:51 PM

I think the Wachowski brothers would over produce it and it would loose all the grit of the original. I would like to see Vincenzo Natali give it a crack, he can really make the story stand out instead of the CGI.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:02:57 PM

Naw Cronenberg ain't slow and dry. He started his career with stuff like The Brood, Scanners, and the Dead Zone- all of which were exciting films. Thing with Cronenberg is if their going to get him they might as well get Verhoeven again (Why the f*ck not?!?) seeing how both are peers from the same generation of filmmakers...Cronenberg has been smart- by sticking close to the Canadian film fund he gets to make everything he wants to make no battles or questions asked...I cant see him going for Robocop and having something to say with the property that Verhoeven couldn't pull off.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:10:49 PM

"Naw Cronenberg ain't slow and dry. He started his career with stuff like The Brood, Scanners, and the Dead Zone- all of which were exciting films"

Let's just say action isn't his area of expertise, and I expect some serious hard action in a RoboCop remake. And yeah, Dead Zone wasn't bad. Then again, he had a good King book to work with. Nuff said.

"Cronenberg has been smart- by sticking close to the Canadian film fund he gets to make everything he wants to make no battles or questions asked"

Uwe Boll used to enjoy the same position. Tax sheltering and film funds helped pay for his godawful films. In that respect, Cronenberg is no wiser than Boll. Hell, if I could get tax money to make movies, I would!

Anyway, I mostly don't care for his films, and I think for the most part he doesn't have enough mainstream ac*men to make a film that plays to enough people to cover the big budget I'd expect a RoboCop film to demand.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:20:33 PM

BTW, I grew up on good bad films, like Night of the Creeps, Night of the Comet, Dark Man, Howard the Annoying Duck et cetera. I find it difficult to hate those films if for no other reason than simple, powerful nostalgia.

And finally, f*ckING FINALLY NoTC is getting released this October. Can't wait to add it to the collection.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:24:32 AM

They better incorporate the classic theme into the new one.. kinda like the Bond films with one theme. The first film kicked ass (the next two not so much) but the main theme is epic. They have to keep it in.
VDODSON writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 2:15:10 AM

I'd buy that for a dollar.
Echo2/1 writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 3:15:07 AM

if it does get remade, I hope they don't try and go the PG-13 route to open it up to a bigger audience. What about George Miller to direct? He was good with the Mad Max trilogy
rocketman writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 3:41:03 AM

Sod this,just make a true Judge Dedd film
lost_addict writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 5:59:02 AM

paul verhoben is available
avaela writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 7:52:26 AM

get McG to do it
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 8:40:00 AM

Wow, but you know what Darren might be smelling something bad and as a professional is like peace.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 10:04:55 AM

Minkowski- you just compared Cronenberg to Uwe Boll...hahahahahahaha I love how you think thats a point with validity....and we can tell you grew up on bad films, but NOTC isn't one them. That was one of Gene Siskel's favourites...along with Carnosaur...so maybe you have that daft taste as well.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 10:12:53 AM

Uwe Boll has a different deal than Cronenberg...see because Cronenberg's film's actually make money and have multiple investors along with the Canadian film fund because well- his films are great, make money, and go to the Oscars. Boll used a loop hole in German law that allowed investors in German-owned films to write off 100% of their investment as a tax deduction...NOT the same story for Cronenberg...f*ck I love how you talk out of your ass and seem to top your own bullsh*t time and time again.
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 1:30:57 PM

Lol. I don't necessarily care. The point is, regardless of the details of how Boll funds his movies, I don't care for Cronenberg, and I don't want him remaking RoboCop. He's the wrong guy. Period.

Anyway, you seem to think that because Cronenberg gets 'public funds', regardless of the method, that makes him smart, but in fact you proved my point. Uwe Boll used a more complicated scheme to fund his films, more indirect and dubious, yes, but also more complicated. So, by your claim that Cronenberg is 'smart' because he uses public funds, I'd have to say Boll is even more brilliant for manipulating the tax code to get money. See the illogic in your statement, good old PrevalentMind?

Since you're not too bright, let me explain simply: you said, and I paraphrase:

Cronenberg is smart because he uses public funds.

You said that, yes?

That's all I need, and that's the isolated statement I took issue with. A=X because of Y. You're logic is flawed. lol. The fact of the matter is I could say the exact same about Boll. A=X because of Y. Boll is smart because he manipulates the German tax code to fund his films. In fact, on that logic, Boll is apparently but not absolutely smarter.

Now, we all know Boll is a terrible filmmaker, but that doesn't mean he's an idiot in general. Croneberg makes decent films, and some might call it genius. I wouldn't. But to say Cronenberg is smart because he funds his films, in part or not, on public money is totally illogical.

Simply the particulars of either funding method are totally irrelevant, as is your juvenile and premature sniding. It's not your opinion I took issue with, it was the illogic of one isolated statement. Instead of defending that illogic, you bombarded me with Wiki facts. But hey, whatever gives me a chuckle. I need it today.

And I couldn't give a rat's proverbial ass what Siskel thinks. Dear god, an appeal to authority? And Siskel's 'authority' no less? lol

And finally, NotC isn't a bad film, it's eighties cheese, it's corny fifties noir/horror/sci-fi parody, and on that level it succeeds. On the other hand, it's still eighties cheese, and I love it.
JoPark writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 8:11:59 AM

Eli Roth's Robocop !
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 4:55:11 PM

Mink- you're a f*cking idiot- what point did I prove for you? You mean the one you created AFTER I posted and you totally rewrotew what I said to suit your lame opinions... but whatever keep posting- I laugh every time I see your lame face because now I know for certain you LOOK STUPID while you also talk stupid.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 5:00:00 PM

He doesn't fund his films with public money- he's given the film fund for benefitting the Canadian film industry by employing Canadian actors and crew. Uwe Boll does not benefit his country by draining them dry- either way Boll's loophole is gone. You're incredibly stupid for someone who likes to write so much. Just google or wikipedia before you rant- you're the laziest long winded person I've ever encountered. You go on and on without even having a basic grasp of facts that ANYONE could learn of in a few simple seconds on a search engine.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved