WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Jackman Sells Makeup in "Avon Man"

Posted: July 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Jackman Sells Makeup in "Avon Man"Submit Comment
In a high-six-figure deal, 20th Century Fox has acquired "Avon Man," a comedy pitch from "Hitch" writer Kevin Bisch, as a star vehicle for Hugh Jackman, with Bisch to script.

Story follows men laid off from an auto dealership. One is reluctantly recruited into becoming an Avon salesman, and while the experience is initially emasculating, he uses his charm and good looks to become a top seller.

The comedy takes on a "Full Monty" vibe when the car salesman sets out to save his financially strapped family and town by conscripting his buddies into the makeup business to win a regional contest.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jerichosmalls writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:31:15 PM

"Okay people, this idea came to me in my dreams last night. Try and stay with me on this. Picture a man......that sells makeup."
"Hell yeah. Sounds awesome."
borat writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:32:09 PM

oh man this sounds gay i am gonna watch it
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:42:55 PM

is 20th century fox considered to be hugh jackman's bitch?...or is it the other way around?....either way, it's a bitchy bitch
BurmaShave writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 6:01:54 PM

I do look forward to the day when Hugh can come out of the closet and no one cares.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 6:32:30 PM

It'd be better if the premise was Hugh Jackman selling Avon products door to door and banging hot housewives then facing the fury of the husbands while running away... but after reading the last part it might be funny still
Cinestarr writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 6:43:30 PM

Hollywood really just doesn't care anymore.
Ari Gold writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:08:58 PM

natashaliddleston, I think that would make for a pretty good movie!
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:38:04 PM

If we sat though Mel in What Women Really Want - in nylons, nail polish and fake eyebrows, we can sit through this.
matternm58 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:40:50 PM

wow that's gay. Wolverine selling make-up.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:50:35 PM

wow hollywood has some great ideas coming everyday, remakes, reboots now this. Which sucks, I saw Hugh Jackman in the play Boy From Oz a couple of years ago in NY, he is really talented, no bullsh*t.After seeing him perform in person, its just ashame that these are the type of roles good actors get.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:58:04 PM

LW... that's exactly what I've been saying on here. It's not these actors CHOOSE bad roles. It's what Hollywood is cranking out and offering them. If they wanted better... they should grow a pair and self produce something as good as Billy Bob in Slingblade. Some people call it a Kaiserblade, but I call it a Slingblade...uh-hummm.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:05:05 PM

So Jackman is finally coming out of the closet. Guess it was only a matter of time. Well I guess its all showtunes, Mylie Cyrus, and sh*tty Wolverine movies from here out. Bye Hugh.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:17:23 PM

@Ranger: I'm with you on the lack of good stuff coming out of Hollywood but Hugh Jackman was at that meeting with Hannah Montana. He knows exactly what he's gettin into. He could choose not to do this crap or he could choose to line his pockets and shame himself as an actor. Is it such a surprise that he chose the latter, they all do! No worries, when his career crashes and burns in a few years it sounds like he'll alway have the stage to brake his fall.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:21:58 PM

@ Ranger also heh...that's the sad thing with many actors these days....they've all heard of charlie chaplin yet care not one bit to produce their own sh*t with their own money...if they knew what people really liked, they'd do it...thus we get brilliant movies like 'gran turino' from clint eastwood...awesome f*cking movie...and billy bob was a good call too...but now he's in sh*tty movies like 'eagle eye' lol...sorry but that was too much of a modern day 'I Robot' to me
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:23:01 PM

Jesus Christ! You don't have to make a movie every year, pick and chose your roles. If a couple of years go by without a good offer so be it, produce a TV show or Indie flick or something!
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:33:19 PM

this is why i like actors like leonardo decaprio or johnny depp...they don't do too many movies...and those select few always make them stand out....having too many movies to look back kinda flushes down the first few roles that make you extremely famous
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:45:36 PM

lol sounds good to me.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:05:52 PM

"'Jesus Christ! You don't have to make a movie every year, pick and chose your roles. If a couple of years go by without a good offer so be it, produce a TV show or Indie flick or something!"

Exactly.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:29:35 PM

Actually, Hollywood makes two kind of movies. Film for the 'people' and films for the actors and directors. Personal projects or commercial projects. One, the former, get more money because they end up making more money.

Now, actors on the decline or still struggling to come up, unless they're lucky, get stuck with the low-end commercial crap. You'll see them in sh*tty films because they're hungry, they need the money.

Now some of these upcoming young actors just suck, so they're bottom-feeders. You have people like Vin Diesel with a still-born career. You have others that are good, know they're good, and take solid projects, living off relatively lesser cash, waiting for mass popular notoriety.

On the other hand, you have people like Damon, Caprio, Cruise and hell, even Reeves, that aren't necessarily greedy, and they take a film every now then. They don't need a new million bucks every other month.

Sure, Hollywood makes a lot of crap, but then again, they're making more movies than they did in say 1980. I think the proportion is similar. Probably something like three to seven. Three good movies to seven sh*tty ones. So, if in 1980, fifty movies got made, you had maybe 17 decent flicks, and the rest sucked. Now they maybe make 500. I'm really reaching here, but I just think they make more movies period, and I don't think the proportion, the ratio, has changed much.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:52:36 PM

it seems someone is walking the nicolas cage aisle. wolverine origins was as dumb and pointless as ghost rider was. and he let liev schreiber steal the flick. the death of deadpool was just absurd. the head spinning reminded me of bender from futurama. not cool.
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:14:43 PM

@ mink, nice post man. Totally agree.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:43:17 PM

Thanks dude. It's good to agree, I guess.
screamonly writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 2:08:16 AM

what Mink said is totally right,
I think Hugh Jackman got so drifted in Hollywood especially after Australia and Wolverine, I always go that real actors should be careful choosing their next project and they need to go with something to prove their talent before starting with the light commercial movies, still unfortunately this doesn't apply at all these days.
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:47:45 PM

Well, $20 mil. a movie would sway a lot of actor's head's to film crap. There are not many Dicaprio types in Hollywood, that ONLY do the higher-end stuff (nor is there a lot of higher-end stuff being done... as compared to the crap).
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 1:33:46 PM

"Well, $20 mil. a movie would sway a lot of actor's head's to film crap"

Sure, there's plenty of greedy actors that ALWAYS choose money over art.
jerichosmalls writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 4:45:32 PM

Why don't you two just go work in Hollywood. You obviously know what you're talking about. Go show 'em what's up. Tell 'em what the people really want. Tell us how you do.
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 8:35:10 PM

How do you know I'm not already in the Biz... Dipsh*t?
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 8:38:09 PM

And wouldn't your time be better spent posting something relating to the topic at hand, Mr. p*ssy Lurker (instead of taking the Seven Pound Quiz twice only to save 6/10th of a second to get only one more question right... moron!). Did Welfare Dad and Slutty Mom not hug you enough... or are you just not bright enough (rhetorical) to post relative to the topic?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved