WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Harry Potter 6" Breaking "The Dark Knight" Records

Posted: July 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Harry Potter 6" Breaking "The Dark Knight" RecordsSubmit Comment
In a massive start, Warner Bros' "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" easily scored the biggest midnight gross of all-time in earning over $22 million as it unspooled in 3,003 theaters at 12:01 am Wednesday.

That figure beats the $18 million earned in midnight runs by Warners' very own "The Dark Knight" and the $17 million earned by "Star Wars: Episode III óRevenge of the Sith."

"Half-Blood Prince" opens in the same Wednesday slot that "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix" did in 2007. "Order of the Phoenix" grossed $12 million in midnight runs on its way to a $139.7 million five-day debut.

Earlier this summer, Paramount's "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen," also opened on a Wednesday, grossed $16 million in midnight runs.

Click here to read our "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:28:13 PM

NOOOOOO
Ranma-Irias writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:29:57 PM

GODDAMN IT!

I can't believe this...

Well said Borat, well said.
TheCount writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:58:39 PM

Not going off the book, just what I saw in the movie, what I dont get is Malfoy spends the entire movie working non-stop on that cabinet so he can let in the death eaters into hogwarts and then when they get in all they do is break a few windows and run off? What the hell? they didnt even help kill the old man it was pointless, and the worst line in the movie that felt like it came out of nowhere was at the end, "Yes Harry I am the Half-blood prince" before running off, terrible
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 6:15:18 PM

This movie will come nowhere near TDK's overall gross. It was just rabid fans who got screwed over by having it pushed back 8 months. How many kids, the target demographic, are going to be able to see this more then once? I don't see many 20 and 30 year olds seeing it multiple times...
Gunslinger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 6:36:07 PM

Well, we'll see...
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 6:38:12 PM

I saw TDK 4 times....and once in IMAX....I don't see this continuing at this pace...and I have no plans to see it
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:52:20 PM

Well its way better than transformers by far....
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:05:46 PM

And, what isn't?

And some of you guys act like you own major stock in WB.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:25:34 PM

i just have one question to ask before i decide to see it or not....was it better than 'order of the phoenix'?...that's all i wanna know...if it's better than order than the phoenix then i'd spend my money on it...cuz i waited for the 5th one to come to dvd because even my friend said it wasn't as riveting as the other books
tcu21 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:03:36 PM

It was the best in the series. I've read the book like 4 times and I liked the movie a lot. After the past 2 movies you can't go in and expect it to follow the book word for word. They've got 2 hours and 30 minutes to squeeze in as much as they can from a detailed, 650 page novel so people saying it didn't follow the book are expecting too much. Sure some of the stuff was kind of lame (Ginny tying Harry's shoe), but overall it was great and captured book very well.
Plus Alan Rickman, Jim Broadbent, Michael Gambon, and even (surprisingly) Daniel Radcliffe were very good in this one. I would go as far as to say that Rickman, Broadbent, or Gambon could recieve a best supporting actor nod.
Definitely deserves an Oscar nod for cinematography if nothing else.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:04:31 PM

imagine a michael bay directed harry potter.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:26:14 PM

@mink exactly i mean honestly who gives a f*ck how much money this or any other movie makes. If you have stock then yeah I would give a damn. But I dont, thank god, I have phillip morris and GE, and phillip morris will be around for a long time. but anyways, what does it benefit others regarding how much this or anyother movie made. Is it just proof so one can say the movie i like is better than yours or something.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:27:23 PM

Ugh, another disappointing potter installment. Why cant they go back to the good days when Sorcerer's Stone and Chamber of Secretes were released and they were so well done and undeniably close to the book?
tcu21 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:44:11 PM

Michael Bay directed Harry Potter is not an accurate statement in the slightest.

And the sorcerer's stone and the chamber of secrets were much more simple to follow, they were shorter, the characters were not as complex or developed. They were hardly even developing at that point. One of the great things about the Harry Potter book series is how the characters and the tone grew up with each book, it started as children literature and became pure literature. If HP 6 was 250 pages then yeah the movie would've been more faithful. But it's 650 and has more substance than HP 1 or 2.

The studio's put pressure on directors to keep movie goers entertained, not just novel fans, the attack on the Burrow help convey how sinister Fenir Greyback is and reminded them of the evil of Bellatrix Lestrange, which are both important to the story.
StrongR3tard writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:51:43 PM

what a f*ckin gay movie. i wodner how many theatres the dark knight opened in compared to harry potter. this crap will fizzle out
nitishbhat writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:56:00 PM

THERE IS NO GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!
this proves it. these ppl should be hanged 4 wat they have done to the last 3 HP mivies
Blueyedragon writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:11:27 PM

Haven't watched it yet but by judging from how bad the last film was and that the same director is making HBP i just knew it was going to be horrible and i'v been all over the internet trashing yates and the wb but a few people thought i was right the rest were just saying "it's the new writer's fault, not his"....Or "We should all wait until HBP comes out to judge yates"...And now what happenned?....They ruined it beyond my imagination from what i heard...And now he's also going to ruin the last films but peopl are soo idiotic cause now even the fans that hated HBP are saying "hopefully the last ones will not suck"....but news flash!...it's the same lame director!....It's guarented to turn out crappy!...I just hope that somehow death eaters kidnapp yates and they bring back someone like Alfonso or Del Toro!...but i still havent watched it yet so maybe contradicting myself...wh knows but if it is bad then my review will be WAY longer than this!......
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:01:40 AM

"and phillip morris will be around for a long time."

Was that sarcasm, Lostwarrior? Dunno if you've noticed that Obama and others are working very hard to totally eliminate smoking. Already you can't smoke in public places in many cities.

Now, I don't smoke, never have, but if a person can get comatose wasted, have sex in any way imaginable with any person, place or object, vote for Ralph Nader, and engage in other 'extreme' activities, then by god you should be able to smoke a naturally occurring plant. Hell, I wouldn't give a sh*t if they legalized weed. Not like the law stops anyone anyway.

Otherwise, I agree.
lost_addict writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 2:25:39 AM

imagine David lynch directing harry potter :-)
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 2:57:02 AM

hah no God?...i highly disagree, but anyway...i still haven't got an answer for my question...is the movie better than the 5th movie??...i didn't like the 5th cuz it has hardly any interesting action...but does this one beat the 5th one on that??...please somebody tell me so i can decide
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 4:33:01 AM

@ lostwarrior....just read your post on the paris hilton one...heh..i've smoked so many different buds i hardly keep track of the names anymore...all i care about is if it smells good and gets you high enough...that's all that matters to me as far as weed goes
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 8:42:05 AM

Bravo Potter.
BoneDaddy writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:03:44 PM

tough to compare it against Order. The movies have two different tones. In Order, there was a building up towards the showdown at the end. For someone who didn't read the book, you don't know what is coming in this movie until the reveal of the Death Eaters at Hogwarts and by that time, you have 20 minutes left in the film. This movie is all about the setup of finding out how to kill Voldemort and the set up for the final climactic 2 movies. They did omit a few things that I would have like to have seen but overall they did a great job. Don't listen to critics or haters, and cough up the 6 bucks at 10am on a day off and see it.

And whoever said people won't see this multiple times is WAAAAY off base.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:09:05 PM

@ bonedaddy....well thanks...now i can see it...the thing i hated about the 5th is that it was too slow upon the training and stuff...i think this would be a bit better than that but i was expecting some similarities anyway...and besides...pg-13 to a pg rating?...i wouldn't say that's bad at all
padfootbob writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 3:42:54 PM

Order of the Phoenix was easily the worst of the adaptations, and I can safely say that this is one of the best, aside for a few minor flaws...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved