WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage to Reboot "Ghost Rider"

Posted: July 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage to Reboot "Ghost Rider"Submit Comment
We already know that Nicolas Cage is looking to make a sequel to "Ghost Rider." And now, MTV News caught up with the actor to find out whether it will actually be a sequel or a reboot.

"I would like to do a reconceive," Cage explained. "I would like to go in a whole other direction, and I think that's what they're talking about. I would make it much less of a Western and more of an international story."

Back in September, Cage discussed some ideas for the second installment: "Taking him into Europe, having him go on a motorcycle tour through Europe, and he's connected with the church, if you can believe that. So it sort of has elements to it that are very much in the zeitgeist, with 'The Da Vinci Code' and things like that."

Click here to read our "Ghost Rider" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
super_suck writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:18:52 AM

Finally....a fresh and new idea from hollywood
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:24:12 AM

Here is a fresh idea. Drop Cage from film and give the franchise back to Marvel Studios.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:28:47 AM

Wow... Cage being desperate to make the only superhero he can play interesting... and failing
VDODSON writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:27:36 AM

Cage is out of his mind. Did he even watch himself in the previous movie? No one wants to see Ghost Rider hanging out in Europe and sh*t. Marvel should take the reigns, drop cage, and make it ultra violent.
BurmaShave writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:31:27 AM

So he wants to be in not one but two Da Vinci Code rip-off franchises?
tcu21 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:50:52 AM

It sounds like he wants to have Ghost Rider take a church organized road trip through Europe? haha First one sucked, special effects were lame, I don't see how they could really make another one any better. Some superheros were made for the big screen, some weren't.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:37:44 AM

Remember when Nicolas Cage was a real actor? Now it seems like the worse his hair gets the worse his movies are. Has anybody figured out why his new releases are not going straight to dvd? Does being a Copola really carry that much weight anymore in Hollywood or is he just the cheapest hire in town?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:18:56 AM

This might go well if Cage would stop listening to his hairline for advice.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:08:45 AM

What hairline?
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:23:54 AM

Horrible, this is a dead IP. The last one ruined any chance of this being a good franchise with Cage and Ghost Rider's last director.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:31:29 AM

This time just make the movie all about Eva Mendes...ooo yea id definitely feel paying would be worth it for GR this time around
greeney writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:32:39 AM

Enough reboots and sequels people!
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:37:00 AM

Hmmm. Maybe it's just me, but, I dunno. Cage sounds like a f*cking idiot. His career is dubious. He keeps taking on films like Bangkok Dangerous and Knowing. And then makes stupid statements like this. Does he REALLY think we want to another Ghost Rider with shades of the Hell's Angels and The Davinci Code?
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:04:51 PM

I think Cage is just taking (or trying to take-on ie: Ghost Rider) what is offered. He's a commercial actor, taking on the commercial stuff. I mean... the man is stinkin rich, and the point of an Actor is to stay working... he does that. But the comments above are sound. Drop him, maybe drop GR altogether, either way... give it back to Marvel.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:13:58 PM

There's a LOT of commercial actors, and few of them have a long list of disposable and forgettable trash like Cage's filmography. Saying that he has to keep working is obvious. Every actor has to keep working. After all, it is their job. I mean, you could say that about Ratner. He makes sh*tty films because he's a commercial director, and I wouldn't argue, BUT, that's beside the point.

Dunno if it's just his choice, pay-wise, or it's all he can get, but he hasn't starred in a critically appraised film in ages. I mean, Lord of War was good IMO, and I enjoyed it, but then WTC was awful. Wicker Man was atrocious (not a bad film per se, just nothing you'd ever want to see again), Ghost Rider, Knowing, Next, et cetera.

Once, he had a lot of promise. Somehow, he wasted it all by going for the easy bucks and not choosing his roles more precisely for positive critical impact.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:23:28 PM

Why didnt they just give this franchise to Alex Proyas and say, "Here- do whatever crazy, gothic, outlandish sh*t you have in your head up...unrestrained. We'll see how you're doing in a few months."

Anyways Im writing a book describing actors and their trends here's an excerpt:

NICOLAS CAGE: Date of birth: Jan 7th 1964. First Theatrical Film: Fast Times At Ridgemont High. Best known as a constant distraction to a film experience due to his terrible f*cking haircuts.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:34:06 PM

Just what the f*ck is the deal with his notoriously bad haircuts and hairstyles?
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:44:09 PM

Body Snatchers...alien parasites attached to his head trying to influence the public through subliminal film messages. "Dress like Elvis". "Light your head on fire."
bertmoss17 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:41:38 PM

ok Nic has lost it, there is a think line between creativity and madness......and he has crossed it....AGAIN
Cinestarr writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:05:12 PM

Hey! No do-overs. If you f*ck it up the first time you don't get to do it again. No fair.
matternm58 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:15:53 PM

Well lets hope he actually knows how to ride a bike this time.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:46:14 PM

its got to be bad for the guy if this is his next big project. I mean wow. the guy went from the Coens to this,, what the f*ck man.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 5:58:48 PM

i used to see all these marvel characters in playing cards before all this sh*t was ever a movie...before x-men was a movie before lots of comic based movies were made....and STILL they compare nothing to the way they look on the cards....they look cooler and more bad ass on the cards...f*cking hollywood and their realism on fantasy...they make fantasy a reality, and a reality into a fantasy...and now they're just going in all sorts of wrong directions with that...therefore we get this sh*t...and seeing more marvel classics turned from a dream into a nightmare....and to nicolas cage...i have a suggestion for you, not that you'll ever read or consider it, but i'll say it anyway...i would make it much less of a western or international story and just focus on making it look more like the comics...the way it should have been in the first place with any adaptation
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:15:25 PM

Europe? Working with the Church? Has he ever read a comic? Go to hell and get a cameo with Dr. Strange, who would give him advice and maybe open a portal for him. f*cking Cage, what the hell has happened to his f*cking career? He used to be in cool movies like The Rock and Face Off, take a 5 year break and try a come back, Jesus!
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:56:56 PM

Anyone ever tell him that 'reconceive' isn't a f*cking NOUN, it's a VERB. Idiot.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:25:25 PM

someone needs to get john malkovich in cage's face again....'make better movies like con air or the bunny gets it' lol
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:33:08 PM

once again i agree with minkowski, nicolas cage does sound like a f*cking idiot, cuz he is. although i think knowing was cool and next was ok. now come on you would have liked knowing if the lead was someone else. cage sucks hence the movie sucked. but it wasnt all that bad.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:33:43 PM

Good Cage films, or ones that I enjoyed:

Con Air
Face Off
The Rock
The Weather Man
8MM
Lord of War
National Treasure
The Family Man
Gone in 60 Seconds
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:46:56 PM

Knowing sucks, not because of cage. I think he's a very capable actor, he just gets into a lot of sh*tty films. Knowing sucked because of the massive plot holes and unconvincing CGI, IMO. Some would damn the story as well, but I have enough imagination to fill in the leaps of logic.

Next was very poorly executed, suffered a confusing story line, but it also had great potential. Wicker Man was dry, poorly paced and had a terrible ending. WTC was unmemorable and very dull.

Bangkok was decent, but Cage just doesn't come off well as a Vincent from Collateral type character. He's too unique looking and sounding. Cruise can blend in, sounding and looking like an everyman.

I don't hate Cage, I really like him for his really awesome previous films, but I do feel he's greatly wasted his talent and burned his fame. He's become a puppet whore for the money. And when he stars in films with subpar directors and writers, it drags his abilities down.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:47:07 PM

you forgot adaptation
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:48:13 PM

Finally, Cage didn't belong in GR, though that isn't the films greatest flaw. An ATROCIOUS script and story ruined the film, and the direction wasn't coherent either.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:50:45 PM

Adaptation? Never saw it. I try to avoid Streep.

Anyway, I only listed the good films I enjoyed. There's others that aren't bad at all, I just didn't enjoy them. Like Bringing out the Dead. And Raising Arizona.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:00:08 PM

i felt asleep during ghost rider. i only remember peter fonda was the devil. duh. i didnt find it scary at all.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:42:39 PM

lol. Well, I can't remember ANYTHING about it. I remember what I saw in one of the trailers, the cool one, but that's it. And I recall Eva Mendez. Who could forget her. Not the prettiest, but she certainly exudes that long-legged latina charm.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:48:49 PM

SERIOUSLY...Don't diss on the WickerMan...Do you know how fast you can get drunk playing the drinking game to that film?!? Like off your ass within in twenty mintues! I swear to God it is by far the best at being the worst film ever and somehow seems to realize it the entire time.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:15:59 PM

Yeah, it was pretty awful. Ridculous plot, bad acting, the whole litany of film flaws. Yet, I'd watch it again before Ghost Rider, though I'd press stop before the end.

And is it me, or did they steal that film's ending either from Brian Lumely or a short story in Masters Of Darkness? Same damn wooden giant getting burned. Wtf?
morphina writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:26:34 PM

Just hire someone that at least knows what Ghost Rider is and represents.

Or better yet, Mr. Cage, read the damn comics or at least a synopsis of it.

Geez...
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:35:14 PM

Kiss of the Death wasn't bad either. If the guy is so rich, he should take the proper time to find smaller productions with better roles and pass on this commercial crap.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:40:56 PM

thats hilarious reboot a movie that came out 4 years ago
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:10:28 AM

Why not? They did it with Hulk within five years. . .
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:56:55 AM

Which I still find a bit strange, when they still have quite a few Marvel characters to make movies about. The only reason I can think of is they wanted the Hulk (image, story, etc.) tightened up (avec Norton) for the upcoming Avengers.
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 3:30:09 AM

Not for the Avengers per se IMO, but to 'cohere' the Marvel film universe. Make all characters operate in the same unified arena and to standardize how Marvel films will look and function uniformly throughout. Avengers is important, as a milestone in that direction, which is why they rebooted Hulk so quickly. Which leads me to think Cage is about to out of of Marvel job, that GR will get returned to Marvel and totally rebooted. Won't be for a few years. I just don't see them doing a sequel to movie that's so inherently disjointed, internally, and also with respect to the comics and to the other Marvel films.
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:46:19 PM

Well... if history has taught them anything... stick to the Original Origin. Don't get fancy. Don't bring in Nolte to play Banner's Daddy (just to add another 45 mins to an already sh*tty movie), etc. etc. Just stick to the original material. It's worked for over 40 years (Marvel characters) - if it ain't broke... don't fix it.
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 1:34:35 PM

Exactly, Ranger. Well said.
jerichosmalls writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 4:48:38 PM

I'm as excited to see this one as I was the first. I guess the plan is to keep making a movie over and over until it's successful. Genius. They should get Uwe Boll to direct this.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 7:46:27 AM

That is almost as bad as the idea to make a movie of Asteroids. What they should do is toss cage off the film, literally behead the director, then behead Dr Phil for making 80 mil when he is nothing more than a huge *sshole, and make a reboot based off the Danny Ketch/Spirit of Vengeance story line.
James.Speed writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 11:00:20 AM

Ghost Rider was the worst of the Marvel films! It made X-Men 3 look like a work of art.
Marina writes:
on July 19th, 2009 at 11:29:46 AM

For what I can tell:people above love Nicolas Cage!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved