WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Claims He Created "Lost" in 1977

Posted: July 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Claims He Created "Lost" in 1977Submit Comment
Producer Anthony Spinner (Baretta, Babes in Toyland) is claiming that back in 1977 he was paid $30,000 to write a TV pilot, which became a script called "Lost." He is now suing ABC and Touchstone Television for passing on the show in 1977, 1991 and 1994, then suddenly setting up an exact replica in 2004.

Spinner put together a list of similarities between his script and the network's show, including having a plane crash in a tropical jungle-like environment while heading to Los Angeles, and the use of flashbacks. He also alleges that the "Lost" characters like Jack, Locke, Sayid, Kate and Sawyer, are all rip-offs.

He is suing for damages and a cut of royalties, profits and more. And why did he wait so many years to sue? According to him, he tried to sue a few years ago, but it was dismissed for procedural reasons.

Spinner's "Lost" script contains the following:

* Airplane headed to Los Angeles crashes into a tropical, jungle-like environment.

* Doctor in the group is the humanitarian voice for the survivors and helps Passenger who eventually dies from injuries sustained in the crash but before death shares harmful information regarding another passenger.

* Trailblazer challenges the group to accept that they are stuck on the island and the island can provide for them.

* Military man survives and sets strategy in place to take responsibility for leadership in military style activities.

* Stubborn and reluctant semi-hero challenges the leadership of the real leader and has a dark father-son past.

* Survivor suffers from a drug addiction.

* Physically fit and durable young woman suffers from a recent loss of her partner and can perform many of the same physical tasks as the men.

* Ethnic minority character must deal with racial slurs especially from one character.

* Female survivor who likes to show her body and becomes romantically involved with one of the tough men.

* Jealousy erupts when a man sees that a woman's attention is focused on another man.

* Lone survivor of a scientific expedition is found with gunpowder, secure shelter, and an apparent relationship with other who were on the island before them.

* Cold weather animals in a warm tropical jungle.

* Raft built but destroyed by natives.

* Killing off of a lead.

* Leads attempting to kill one another, committing suicide, dying of illness.

* Use of trip-wires and makeshift weaponry.

* Female leads with criminal pasts.

* Cave dwellings with signs of riches, civilizations, and written warnings to the group.

* Use of flashbacks to the regular life of each character before being marooned as both a source of contest, style, and a means of character development.

Source: TMZ


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:23:27 AM

Can he also claim responsibility for the loss of quality in the middle seasons??
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:06:38 AM

So we should blame this guy for getting me glued to a tv show that promoses to answer questions, and when they do..I'am more f*cking confused than i was last week!
Donald Kaufman writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:17:52 AM

Here's some things to add to his list:

*Characters exchanging dialogue throughout episodes

*Use of dramatic music

*Using natural light during daytime scenes and studio lights during night shoots.

*Having a beach on the island and putting sand on it.

*Conflict...

Like what the sh*t? Most of the stuff he lists are the typical and interchangeable story elements you'd find in any ten "stranded on an island" type of of show.
dbreuning writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:09:44 AM

Well it could be true but these facts are really generic for a type of show like that. And LOL @ Natasha & Skippy :D
monkeyboy1138 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 8:16:52 AM

Anyone find it a bit suspicious it was supposedly written in 1977 where the current series is set?
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:31:12 AM

If true I'm not down with that. Ideas are to be respected. Hollywood/entertainment worlds love to steal creator owned ideas and that sh*t should be a serious crime.
buttabean writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:53:14 AM

"Oh Snap"
bluemeenie writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:18:43 AM

Why does he want credit now- when the show sucks..?
bluemeenie writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:19:15 AM

'There are no new ideas- only stolen ones'
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:20:17 AM

Update: He now claims he also created Gilligan's Island, from a script he wrote in 1912.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:24:09 AM

Hollywood copies and rehashes ideas!?! NO WAY!!! My whole world has been turned upside down! Got complaints, get the f*ck in line buddy. It starts on Hollywood Blvd. and ends in BFE (Buttf*ckingEgypt).
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:33:39 AM

Half of it sounds like a who's who of politically correct sub plots.
Odd writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:53:27 AM

natashaliddleston when do we get married? :)
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:15:15 PM

So... he's admits for having been paid for his work back in the 70's (so that's kind of a done deal in anyone's eyes), then claims (in 2009) this Lost that was started back in '04 was his idea?! Clearly he's going to need Johnny Cochrane in on this one. Oh right Johnny died on '05. This guy is f*cked!
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:31:20 PM

Depends on the contract, in fact. If it was stipulated in the contract he'd get paid additionally for produced episodes, outside the nominal fee for the script, and he never was, and the show went into production years later, he has a case, providing there's no expiration on the additional royalties.

If he was paid a flat fee for the script, and that was all he agreed to, then his case won't get past the preliminary.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:38:20 PM

I feel some of the guy's pain. I wrote a treatment for Iron Man back in '98. Registered it with the Guild in '99. And there were 'written requests' to view it. Dreamworks, and even New Line (which had the writes to IM before they reverted back to Marvel). And a few of my ideas were in the movie, but 1. not enough to bitch about, and 2. their argument would be (as would be the argument on this 'LOST' case) - '... well, those are things Iron Man would do... naturally...' I mean... this guy is making it sound like he was the first guy to invent paint, and wants a royalty every time some one dips a brush or roller into the stuff. Write something now... put it away, and eventually (sooner or later) it'll get done by someone (if the idea isn't a complete boner). I remember a person trying to sue Lucas because they said they invented the Ewoks. Maybe so... but it lasted a whole few hours in court.
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:39:10 PM

Yeah, and he waits this long to say something. I call BS.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:48:20 PM

How many pages in your treatment, Ranger?
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:51:03 PM

Dreamworks wanted it down to a page, I said that was impossible. I think it was eventually trimmed down to 6 - 7 (it's locked-up... years since I've looked at it), down from 30. Any smaller and would have had NO clue as to what the story was.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:52:47 PM

But I still have the written requests from both (DW and NL). It's New Line that had the rights last, and it's there I figured a copy of my Treatment found it's way... you know where. Hey, would someone tell me if Iron Man's armor talked to Tony like it did in the movie? It didn't at the time I got out of comics, but I just figure it would eventually as a natural progression in technology.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:55:00 PM

It sounds like they just wanted a synopsis, but even at 1-page they were still calling it a Treatment.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:13:50 PM

Regarding the movie: I don't recall the armor talking to Tony. It was the AI computer system that he conversed with, IIRC. The armor was just that.

And did they confuse an outline with a treatment?

Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 2:05:27 PM

Yes, I believe they did.
georgecostanza writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 2:58:32 PM

Is this the same guy that invented the internet?
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:02:35 PM

Yes... and sunlight. lol.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:14:43 PM

Al Gore sure does get around.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:19:48 PM

Mostly around his waist.
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:33:52 PM

And his neck.
akumavern writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:44:10 PM

Does this even come as a surprise with all the time-travel and twists in the show?
Gunslinger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 6:35:23 PM

Maybe he time-traveled from 1977 and stole all the ideas.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:25:48 PM

As lame as this guy's claim is. That is probably his best argument GS. I'd love to see him explain how if LOST is his idea, and he felt his idea has been stolen, explaining the the Judge where he's been for the past 5 years?
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:28:54 PM

Maybe... he's just been LOST for 5 years?
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:58:33 PM

i wrote jurassic park based on my own scientific experiments i performed in my back yard. i created a velociraptor with wings and it ate my bunny. geez. i was 12. i really miss my bunny. universal said since no bunnies were even mentioned in the film i must have been just bitching.
telur writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:35:44 PM

sh*t, i even not born yet
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:44:24 PM

lol
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:50:31 PM

That explains why its so f*cking LONG! 30 years of f*cking up the plot in your head before it even went to pilot.
mariachi writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:41:45 PM

f*ck this guy. Are you sh*tting me? The show is going into it's LAST SEASON and he decides to sue now? Hack writer looking for a quick buck
Ranger writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 12:54:31 AM

Well... it'll give the Judge a chuckle (even if it goes that far).
bluemeenie writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 1:22:12 PM

lol@Ranger&minkowski
bacci40 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 4:19:48 AM

well, there was a show in the 60s with a plot very similar to lost, and those creators have never asked for any compensation...and neither has sherwood schwartz, cuz he stole the idea for gilligans island from a movie...this guy is sh*t out of luck

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved