WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Soderbergh Planning to Quit Directing

Posted: July 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Soderbergh Planning to Quit DirectingSubmit Comment
Director Steven Soderbergh (Ocean's Eleven, Traffic) spoke to The Guardian about the failure of "Che" and the possible end of his career.

The two "Che" films were made for $80 million, but brought in under $2 million in worldwide ticket sales. Due to tight deadlines, Soderbergh had only 76 days to lens the movies. "It's hard to watch it and not to wish we'd had more time," he said.

He added that the projects he is interested in developing will probably not get the backing of the studios, which is why he believes his career is coming to an end. "In terms of my career, I can see the end of it," he said. "I've had that sensation for a few years now. And so I've got a list of stuff that I want to do that I hope I can do and once that's all finished I may just disappear."

The list isn't that long. "The Girlfriend Experience" is up next, followed by the Matt Damon comedy, "The Informant!" After that there's another biopic Michael Douglas as Liberace; a rock musical of Cleopatra with Douglas's wife, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and his long-gestating adaptation of John Barth's picaresque, "The Sot-Weed Factor." "Three or four years worth of stuff," said Soderbergh.

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Post_Man_87 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:23:50 AM

What-the-f*ck-ever Steven. You got lots of stuff left in you.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:29:37 AM

A shame that GFE is his last film... probably got all he could out of Sasha Grey... know what I'm sayin??
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:26:20 AM

He's a competent director but I think he's doing too many favor projects. Stick to your guns and your own ideas Steven. Che was good as a whole movie but they should have shown his relationships and stayed truer to the facts. Otherwise it was perfect to me. I'm dying for it on a director's cut on Blu-ray.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:44:16 AM

Oh hell no!! You need to stay around to save us from "the ratt" and "the bay"...Disappear my ass!!
clydefamous writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:48:43 AM

Chill out Steve. Take a vacation, take a load off, come back bright and bushy tailed.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:24:00 AM

After his last film-I don't blame him...
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 10:42:54 AM

I was pissed that Che never showed here in Ohio. I am worried that "The Hurt Locker" won't open wide either...
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 11:53:15 AM

Whatever. He'll change his mind. What will do otherwise? He's just venting.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:10:01 PM

He's just dragged out...Every filmmaker knows you're not always going to make what you want- so you do like the greats do: make a bunch of entertaining blockbuster sh*t, take a little of that money and fund your own independent hit, then build and build until you are self sustaining. You can't just keep creating art for art sake in the mainstream world of filmmaking where audiences demand entertainment- you'll die a horrible, penniless death. Mix it up Soderbergh, instead of the "woe is me" pissin' and moanin'. Give the studios what they want one year- and you'll get what you want the next. Everybody's happy.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:55:14 PM

Obviously he is really dissappionted in the whole situation right now. And he is an artist, im sure he has thought about quiting for some time, perhaps he wants to prove to himself he can do other things, perhaps he is just really discouraged, but its obvious he does have a passion for film making, he is one of the few american directors that considers what they do as art, but honestly i would say it easier right now for him to say he is tired of it, but in the long run he would probably return to film making.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:44:00 PM

i mean who f*cking cares about che guevara, a f*cking commie bastard killer of hundreds. and in spanish? dude wtf were u thinking. i honestly think that after erin brockovich and traffic his neurons of creativity went on a constant state of fatigue. now that doesnt mean u suck. im just saying that vacations are a good idea like someone else said. go ride a roller coaster or go say hi to pluto or goofy. and then come back.
Kevin Hock writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 1:36:52 AM

Don't quit Steve. I love your work. Looking forward to The Informant!
minkowski writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 1:39:11 PM

@Sillywabbit:

"mean who f*cking cares about che guevara, a f*cking commie bastard killer of hundreds. and in spanish? dude wtf were u thinking'

Bingo dude. Excellent call. Love your post!
FBO writes:
on July 16th, 2009 at 8:16:31 PM

Stayed true to the facts like how che wouldn't shower and how fidel used his smelly ass as an image. I didn't see the movie so tell me did it have that stuff in it?
acslaterson writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 6:40:14 PM

Jesus I love how ignorant people are! Pick up a history book, the U.S. did some extremely f*cked up sh*t in Latin America during the 20th century. One example, Google United Fruit Company and Guatemala, 1954. The U.S. helped topple a Democratically elected goverment. Corporate interests in U.S. foreign policy is what made a medical student turn into a radical and a cult figure. You don't learn this in high school history classes because that would taint the U.S.'s perfect reputation. I have served this country and fought for it but to think everything we have done in our past is justified is just wrong and ignorant.
FBO writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 12:18:04 AM

What does that have to do with Che?
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2011 at 3:34:32 PM

Nothing, absolutely nothing FBO.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved