WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Photos: Skinny Christian Bale on "Fighter" Set

Posted: July 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Photos: Skinny Christian Bale on "Fighter" SetSubmit Comment
JustJared got their hands on the first photos of Christian Bale from the set of his upcoming movie "The Fighter," showing the actor after a significant weight lost with thinned hair.

This isn't the first time fans have seen Bale lose weight for a role. He dropped down to 120lbs for "The Machinist" by eating a can of tune and an apple per day. He also frailed up for "Rescue Dawn." Judging by the pictures below, it looks Bale is on his apple diet again.

In the movie, Mark Wahlberg will play Boston boxer "Irish" Mickey Ward, a fighter who was losing bouts and was ready to hang up the gloves when his brother came back into his life. Bale will play Eklund, whose drugs and robbery spree drew him a 10- to 15-year sentence in state prison. There, he kicked drugs, became a model prisoner and emerged as a changed man who helped his brother reach the glory that eluded him.

Set Photos: (click to enlarge)








Source: JustJared


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 66 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Pembrokehawk writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 6:42:59 PM

Didn't he do an interview where he said he wouldn't lose that type of weight again?
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 6:44:30 PM

Ahhhh....method actors.
Kingrixy writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 6:44:54 PM

He was warned about this weight behaviour by a specialist around the time of batman, he should learn!! it really aint f*cking healthy to do it...
metathought writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 6:57:50 PM

He did say that in an interview, although he does look really skinny, I don't think he is The Machinist skinny, where he almost died. He doesn't look emaciated.
I think he just meant he doesn't want to go back down to 120, not that he'll never change the way he looks for a role.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:05:02 PM

I really think he got tired of people mentioning his batman sh*t u know. Maybe he felt like he was becoming kinda flat regarding his acting ability. Perhaps this is his way of showing everyone he is serious about this craft. and giving the action stuff a break.
dub031 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:06:19 PM

damn he looks fucced up...and got in to that "shape" quick fast! wasn't he just doing promo for public enemies a month ago lookin normal? and whats with the jaw? is he chewing smt...dude looks like he's recovering from some major drugfest...haha the dude is dedicated to his craft...hope we get to see a new side of Bale...damn he lookss fucced!
OneTime writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:07:30 PM

crystal meth is a hell of a drug
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:28:14 PM

Looking at this guy, it's a wonder he was ever given the Batman role. Then again, there was Clooney, Kilmer and Keaton.

Looks like a real pisser.
JRprime writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:31:27 PM

actually, he probably looks that way because he's in character..
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:35:26 PM

Ok Keaton was a good batman only because it was a story by Tim Burton, George Clooney made a good Bruce Wayne. And I think Bale did pull it off completely u know. The billioniare *sshole, the business man and the dark hero all in one. and if you look at him in american psycho you can tell back then he had the look, so honestly why is it a wonder, he takes his roles pretty seriously for the most part, excluding terminator, in my opinion though.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:45:47 PM

lol he looks pissed that he's skinny lol. I bet all the ladies are like ....ewww! HA HA HA!
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:50:08 PM

He's too gaunt, his face to thin,, even when he's at his better weight. Clooney just didn't have it. Not every good-looking actor is Batman. Clooney was too. . .Clooney. He had smarmy written all over him, thanks to Shoemacher.

Kilmer is blond, and, well, just not the right look. Keaton was too short and was balding, but he was the best I think because of the way Burton used him.

And Batman really isn't an *sshole. He's dark, brooding, but that's because he's ever conscious of his failing to protect mom and dad. The only time I've seen a truly *sshole, easily hated Batman is in Miller's later take.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:50:42 PM

'He's too gaunt, his face to thin,, even when he's at his better weight."

Talking about Bale.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:52:05 PM

"Didn't he do an interview where he said he wouldn't lose that type of weight again?"


And he didn't lost that type of weight again. He's not even close to looking like he did in El Maquinista.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:52:22 PM

"actually, he probably looks that way because he's in character.."

Talking to me? No, he always looks likes a pisser. He has that stern and mean look, like if he hadn't become an actor, he'd be out killing prostitutes instead.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:54:09 PM

Yeah, wasn't he around ninety or so for the Machinist? He had that cutting edge Auschwitz look.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 7:59:50 PM

Batman is not an *sshole, but a billionair like a character like Bruce Wayne would be. Which is why I thought clooney made a good bruce wayne. The character of batman has three personalities. one being the crime fighter one being successful business man and the other is being playboy rich ass d*ck. And regarding his actually facial features who gives a f*ck, he has the build and the look. Honestly he is the best so far that has played the character.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:00:56 PM

@mink which is why he was perfect for american psycho....
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:07:58 PM

He doesn't fit the comic book look. I mean, who really does? Can you find a guy that looks like like that who can also act? Sadly, probably not.

"@mink which is why he was perfect for american psycho...."

Absolutely. And he did really, really well in Rescue Dawn. I was amazed. Werner Herzog's beautiful photography didn't hurt either. What an amazing movie. Even Zahn didn't drag it down.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:08:20 PM

great, now hes going to OD on diet pills. and police officers will go searching for some foul play when the f*ck-o was simply a showbiz junkie. Anyway no pun intended, i liked heath and mike but DUH
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:08:56 PM

Oh, just so ya know, when it comes to Batman, I'm a comic book purist. He's got one up on Supes any day.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:10:08 PM

though i wish i could slim down that fast. excessive swim practice isnt enough anymore.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:19:47 PM

Well, all I know is that age-variable metabolisms suck. Not that I'd want to be 160 again either.
matternm58 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:20:07 PM

He looks almost like lurch from adams family.
matternm58 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:20:21 PM

Just not as tall
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:21:51 PM

Regardless it looks like Bale is back to taking roles seriously again. Its a nice change for him. Hopefully this will put him back on top. As being a good actor, not an action star...
matternm58 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:32:07 PM

but he's an awesome action star. My favorite of his though would have to be Equilibrium.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:44:30 PM

^^^ yeah but he has proven to be a real actor, velvet goldmine, laurel canyon ect... action movies have hurt him more than helped him, in my opinion
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:45:50 PM

Equilibrium was ok, but it was as if a mentally impaired Wachowski brother remade Fahrenheit 421. Kurt Wimmer really needs to just hang it up.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:00:43 PM

He doesnt actually have to do meth binges for the role though does he? haha It would seem so....and did he have a stroke or something?
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:10:41 PM

@mink exactly bro..... equilibrim was aweful wow im amazed we agree on something
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:29:00 PM

As this is the most recent article on WP. Pics of David Arquette's Box are out on the net. It isn't a f*cking 'box!' It's a den-sized room, 4 glass walls... it's pretty fricken plush! WTF?!?!
matternm58 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:30:46 PM

i just liked the whole george orwell 1984 concept.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:33:27 PM

@ranger he is showing people he is just like one of us, kinda.... a norman person who just by happen lives in a glass box thats probably bigger than my 1st apartment. lol
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:41:23 PM

It looks like the size of my first apartment!
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:43:49 PM

I give Bale a LOT of credit. He's the go-to guy right now in Hollywood (as are: sh*t LeBuff, and Reynolds (Jackman seems to be taking a bit of a break). But Bale get the Dark Knight and Terminator. Whatever you think of the guy... Hollywood loves him. And there is never any doubt he's committed to his projects. This guy has lost weight like Penn did for MILK. And neither of these guys went from just 'average' builds either. Amazing, I say.
pjmbdm writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:00:42 PM

I would hate to go from ripped to skinny bones jones! Guess if they give me a few mill I'll do it though. lol
Rich k writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:03:49 PM

This isnt the fist time hes been thin he was like 110 when he did the movie the machinest
mattcl23 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:12:59 PM

Did anyone hear about Arturo Gatti. I saw something on Yahoo the other day saying that his wife killed him. Being that this movie is about Ward, Gatti is most likely a huge part of this film.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:38:21 PM

im sure they will put him in here, and yeah I heard about it too. Also read on gawker that f*ck wad Perez Hilton put up the wrong boxer when he announced it on his website. That guy should be assassinated...
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:42:08 PM

Someone should! But they can't find a bullet that'll have him.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:42:29 PM

actually the pics of him are kinda sad, makes him look like he as cancer or something. seriously..
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:46:35 PM

@Rich K - you're close. It was 120lbs. This can't be good for Bale's system. I mean he's not just going from average to slim. This guy goes from beefed up to Death Camp POW! I know he's committed (maybe he should be?) and well-paid, but man... this isn't healthy.
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:24:14 PM

Didn't he do an interview where he said he wouldn't lose that type of weight again?

this giy is insane wtf!
acslaterson writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:36:05 PM

I think Bale got down to 129 in real life, in the movie I think the scale said he weighed 118? Been almost a year since I saw it last. What makes me mad is that he was bigger/more ripped in American Psycho and had the superhero type look. In the Batman movies he got jacked but had about 12% bodyfat compared to probably the 6% he had in A.P. Losing weight like he has done is plane unhealthy, especially the way he does it(cigs, coffee and apple diet). Stallone has done the apple diet but took vitamins when he did. I just think he should have had the A.P. physique for the Bats movies. He is probably doing the apple diet and a sh*t ton of cardio for this role, and cut out his normal protein intake. He is playing a former boxer afterall. Oh, and if he gets out of hand on set I hope Wahlberg knocks him the f*ck out!
acslaterson writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:37:19 PM

plain, not plane* hahaha
coldplayesence writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:33:39 AM

I don't even know why I am starting to hate Bale. Maybe that stupid accent of his.
Ranger writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 12:46:52 AM

'Oh, and if he gets out of hand on set I hope Wahlberg knocks him the f*ck out!' - LOL... priceless! And Marky Mark is the guy to do it too!
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:00:17 AM

@Ranger, check out Wahlberg's wiki page. He has f*cked some people up in his past(second paragraph of Early Life)! Luckily he got his sh*t together, I can't wait to see him in "The Lovely Bones" this Winter!
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:02:06 AM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Wahlberg
L Z writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:15:21 AM

There's Method actors...then there is *ssholes like this guy. Can't stand him anymore. Not sure what happend between Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.
goeygogo writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:36:21 AM

that guy's absolutely nuts...it's awesome!!
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:38:49 AM

"Not sure what happend between Batman Begins and The Dark Knight."

Lifelong *sshole personality magnified by mainstream popularity that occurred between BB and TDK? That's my guess.

And, his low body weight isn't unhealthy. Generally, low weight with low caloric intake is considered a requirement for longevity. In OTHER words, if you want to live longer, lose the weight and the calories. Lots of places in the world have very old, very skinny people, living on rice, roots and water.

The real shock to his system is the abrupt change in caloric intake and the resulting massive sloughing of weight.
VDODSON writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 2:15:35 AM

Equilibrium was legendary mate, legendary. Bale looks he's aged ten years since the Dark Knight. I just hope the SOB doesnt die on set due to malnutrition.
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 2:25:15 AM

@mink, that is true if you maintain a HEALTHY diet. Cigs, coffee and low calorie diets are not healthy. For people under 40, a healthy body fat % is between 8 and 19%. Going below 8 is unhealthy, Jerry Rice(rumored, can't say it is factual because I haven't been able to locate the source I read it in) tried to lower his % and got around 3% and was told by team doctors that he had to eat a quart of ice cream everyday for a couple of weeks to get it back up. That is from a professional athlete stand point where they exercise properly. Healthy, low calorie diets combined with exercise are healthy. What Bale does would pretty much be considered developing an eating disorder in how quickly he loses weight. It is bad for the heart(it is a muscle and atrophies and can cause heart attacks from rapid weight loss). You should only lose 2-2.5 lbs a week. Bale looks like he is on the 10 lbs. a week diet.
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 2:41:24 AM

Uh, why is there only pics of Bale? I just saw on Coming Soon pics of Wahlberg as well...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 3:59:39 AM

Mink, eating just a can of tuna and an apple a day isn't really going on a diet, i call it surviving. Now i am sure C Bale is getting help to lose weight for the role, ie. getting advice from GP's, and many health check ups!

But to do this as a diet is f*cking stupid, iam sure some dumb as rich american teenage girls now will see this a go. Wow i can get that thin? wicked! and they will do it.

Since Bale has doen this before and know his body's limits he can get away with it, and i know after this role he will bulk up again, this time, the right way!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 4:03:21 AM

Actually, from what i just seen in those photos with Mark Walhburg, he doesn't look that skinny, looks liek he has just been running a lot, buring off fat, and not doing much weight exercises!

Got two freinds who are that skinny, and they eat like f*cking pigs!
thomas deadison writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 6:38:49 AM

He looks just like some addict on the street, somewhere in Baltimore. I don't see the big deal here though, he's an actor playing a role. He shouldn't look like an actor.

Look at the clothes, too... Bale would never wear those clothes. He's more of the surfer/flip-flop type. They died his hair and he's skinny in the face. It's the movies, man.
dbreuning writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:17:01 AM

Wow, and after this he will need to gain weight for Batman again. Same with The Machinist and then Batman Begins. Well, I respect him for going into a character this much!
dbreuning writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 7:30:22 AM

Whoever said that Bale didnt take the Terminator seriously is probaby out of his mind. Didnt you hear that audio clip that leaked when he flipped out just because some DP stepped onto set when he was in the middle of his scene? Well thats taking your work seriously.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:02:04 AM

Guy looks like Peter Weller on crack! I guess we know who'll be cast in the Buckaroo Bonzai reboot.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:07:43 AM

BTW, he can lose all the weight he wants. It seems like the more weight he loses the better his acting (The Machinist) and his accent (Rescue Dawn and American Psycho) gets.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:28:37 AM

Wow he looks like a druggie, wtf? Was that guy a druggie?
bacci40 writes:
on July 17th, 2009 at 4:09:39 AM

this is why he gets those awful mood swings...he is destroying his body and mind for his art...at least de niro got it right...gain weight for a role, its much more fun to eat
Jedi_Knight writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 7:50:45 AM

Minkowski: "Lifelong *sshole personality magnified by mainstream popularity that occurred between BB and TDK? That's my guess."

Ehm, do you know this guy personally? If not, how can you judge his personality based on one incident? btw, I assume you know that the tape was leaked 6 months after it happened? Are you also aware of the fact Bale and the DP guy have sorted it out immediately after the incident and they continued working together for another couple months?

Try to read these articles, might give you another perspective of Bale's real personality:

http://open.salon.com/blog/harry_knapp/2009/02/03/citizen_bale_is_no_kane

http://men.style.com/details/blogs/thegadabout/2008/05/christian-bale.html#more

Anyway, about the above photos... he mentioned somewhere his current method to loose weight is boxing rigorously. And he doesn't look anywhere close to the Machinist's skeleton size, IMHO.

Cheers.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved