WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Teens Don't Care Which Movies They See

Posted: July 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Teens DonSubmit Comment
According to a Morgan Stanley report, teenagers lean toward free content and that there are very few things they would pay for. The report cites that teens are very reluctant to pay for music and 80% download it illegally. Most have never purchased a CD.

Since teenagers make up a large demographic, movie studios will be happy to know that teens are not looking to download movies illegally. Instead, they are willing to pay to go to the theater.

They see it as a way to get together with friends and actually don't care which movie they will see. In fact, most choose the movie when they get to the theater.

This may seem bizarre to many of you, but apparently teens care more about hanging out with friends than seeing a movie, which is why some believe "Wild Hogs" did so well. It was released in March of 2007 and was the only new PG-13 movie for two weeks. Other releases were "Black Snake Moan," "Zodiac" and "300," all rated R.

Source: Morgan Stanley, /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
holtlt writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 3:10:24 AM

I'm a teenager, well I'm 19 so watever hahaha draw your own conclusions. The point is that sometimes I go to see movies on my own if not with my friends for my own interest, but well, isn't that always been the point of all?
ilovebatman writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 3:45:35 AM

as a teen, never once have i taken my friends to a movie, nor saw one i never did not want to see. WP lies!
Rich k writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 4:09:01 AM

i agree with batman but ive went with friends, but i go to movies i want to see
tomnottommy writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 4:24:50 AM

Well since this is a website for movie lovers, most of us here obviously go to the theater to see specific movies. im 19, and always go to the theater with a specific movie in mind, and maybe a backup movie in case the other is already sold out. but as for the GENERAL public, its easy for me to believe that most teenagers dont care what they are watching, as long as its with friends. parents let their kids go to the theaters because its a safe place where they can be with friends and cant get into too much trouble.
Tyrkae writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 4:34:36 AM

ya 8 years ago when i was a teen i would go to a movie just to make out with a chick so ya i can see that we once thought not many ppl would be at We Were Soldiers and it was packed but i still made out with her in the corner man those were the days!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 5:08:02 AM

Wow, that couldn't be more wrong. When i go to the movies with my mates, the one thing we do is shut up and watch the film we payed $12 to see!!
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 5:17:40 AM

yea its obvious with atrocious films like transformers 2 and twilight making big money at the box office some people will go see anything.. nothing new
Aido4258 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 6:19:22 AM

Duh, I work at a cinema and see teenagers all the time seeing movies that they don't even know what they're about.
vwkombi writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:32:59 AM

I'm 18, and i full well agree. Me and certain friends who are movie lovers go to the movies with a specific movie in mind. But most other people i know just go to the movies for the sake of going to the movies.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:02:22 AM

That explains Transformers BO numbers!
bluemeenie writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:03:31 AM

ilovebatman has never had a girlfriend then...
bluemeenie writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:19:28 AM

ilovebatman writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 3:43:16 AM

"who cares about this movie? as a fan i'll watch it, but seems like a stupid plot "
Eben1277 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:20:43 AM

We used to get together to hang out, but we always knew what we were seeing... then again that was over 10 years ago, and I find (generally speaking) teenagers today to be even more brain dead than they were 10 years ago, which is saying something.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:24:19 AM

lol...i cared about which movies i watched when i was a teen....spent my money on the ones i wanted to watch...just cause some don't doesn't mean all don't...silly....and besides...i went to pirates 3 over 'bug' or something...my other friends ditched me and i watched pirates 3 alone....BUT....when i left...met with them, they said 'bug' sucked ass...and i was all laughin inside my head
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:26:32 AM

@ Eben1227 i would say that teens getting brain dead from movies has been happening for decades
Ranger writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:45:24 AM

The survey should have went further. I would tend to believe that kids that get the movie $'s from their parents (or selling METH) would care less about what they see (the METH re-seller would be high anyway), over kids that earn their own money. But then again, I have a Niece that throws money around she earns like there's no tomorrow, so scratch that theory as well. I just really want to post using the word 'METH' 3 times.
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:45:49 AM

I can see accuracy with this. When I was a teen, my friends and I would do the same thing.
Strider23 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 1:36:34 PM

Well Thats Not True For Me Im A Movie Fanatic Love Them And Choose What I See like awhile before and DONT just go to hang with people
Movieman572 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 3:22:26 PM

Holy sh*t, Worst Previews. Is there ONE article idea you don't get from SlashFilm??!?
nirvo25 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 3:34:45 PM

i think that the reason why some sh*tty movies like "wild hogs" do well is because teens buy tickets to that movie because it is pg-13 but then go to see 300. this is of course for teens under 17. i say that cuz before i was 17 my friends and i always did that.....we would buy tickets to a pg-13 movie that prob sucked balls but then went into what we rly wanted to see. i always felt guilty that i was giving sh*tty movies money at the box office and no credit to the movies i actually saw
Superfly1 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 3:37:48 PM

Well that explains why I can't see a movie without some obnoxious teen talking through out the whole thing ruining the experience for the rest of us.If you want a place to hang out designate a friends house so that you can talk, text, and be as disrespectful as you want. I pay 10 bucks to enjoy a movie,not to listen to teenagers socialize and ruin my experience!
akumavern writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 4:54:54 PM

Hello. Who watches movies when you go to a dark place to get away from your parents to make out with another dude from the basketball team so no one will see you? I'm SO glad no one went to see "Imagine That"
secondbest writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 4:59:48 PM

As a teenager, I have to agree with those findings. I've done that with friends but I make sure the movie we choose is good.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 5:20:30 PM

@ nirvo25....i like that comment...this is how f*cked up hollywood is...they notice the numbers that come in from these movies...but they don't know that people just buy tickets to these movies to watch a different one instead...therefore, we get the f*cked up hollywood of today where mostly everything they put out is the opposite of good
mmmac writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:01:51 PM

Being 16 I'm ashamed to know that my fellow teens are exactly what was described in the above article. I often find myself forcing my friends to see The Soloist instead of Obsessed. I also tend to see movies by myself or go up to LA to see a movie with an actual plot. I recently went up to see the Hurt Locker. As much as many of the teenagers here have previously said that we DO care. That's bullsh*t. I care. They care. But the vast majority of teens are just looking for an excuse to get into a movie theater where it is easier to get a girl to hook up with you. It's a sad truth but a truth nonetheless.
KaloVisor writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 9:37:17 PM

I go with friends to the theater, but I always know what I want to see.(I'm 18)and most of often it's one I've been looking forward to for a very long time. or if not much is playing pick the one that seems the most likey to be good. I go with family too.
But I am a movie lover and know more about movies then a lot of people. well i think i do anyways :P
Blade12322 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:45:01 PM

im 17 and i DO care which movies i go to
sure ill watch them online if im really bored, but if its a good movie i refuse to and either go to the movies if i can, or get it on DVD..possibly illegally, possibly not, who knows
but yesss, some you just have to see
id never go and see which ones were out when i arrived, that would be stupid and a waste of time and money
lemus869 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:56:36 PM

I Do care about what movies i see
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:10:53 AM

btw don't think i'm talking about all teens either...not every teen is bad and not every teen is good...same goes for any age
acslaterson writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 1:33:15 AM

I had to deal with sp,e pf these idiots when I saw Bruno on Monday. About 12 of them snuck in about an hour into the movie and were talking and messing with their cell phones. I am glad I wasn't an inconsiderate jerk off when I was a teen.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:12:59 PM

nor was i...i kept quiet cuz i paid to enjoy the movie...but hey....with that in mind...you should be able to go to the box office and get a refund....cuz the ushers only tell the teens to be quiet...and they only listen till the usher leaves the theater....acslaterson, you can be an *sshole to them you know?...should've ratted them out for ruining your peace and quiet enjoyment during the movie...on a monday of all days lol...i mean i don't mind if there's people laughing at the same time during the funny parts...but when people don't shut up it gets beyond frustrating....besides...it shows they haven't learned their lesson after that guy shot another man in the theater for not shutting up during 'the curious case of benjamin button'....maybe you should say something like that to people who don't shut up...that'll keep em quiet
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 9:33:15 PM

I hang out with girls for the most part. Most females will watch anything. We usually see something that does big at the box office. I also still occasionally buy CDs. WP doesn't know what they're talking about.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved