WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's "Cell" to Become a Miniseries

Posted: July 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
Director Eli Roth recently revealed that due to difference of opinion, he is no longer attached to helm "Cell," which is based on a novel by Stephen King.

Now, Fangoria has learned that The Weinstein Company will no longer pursue a "Cell" feature film. Instead, the studio has hired John Harrison to adapt the novel into a four-hour miniseries.

Harrison, whose "Book of Blood" is currently playing at the Fantasia film festival, said that he considers "Cell" on of King's best recent book, with opening chapters that will make an incredible first 30 minutes on screen.

Focusing on the "curse" of modern technology, "Cell" tells the story of humanity's last hope a group of individuals who band together to survive a world infested by zombie-like killing machines.

Source: Fangoria


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jackmicro writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 5:10:20 AM

I liked this book, but as a classic King book the events doesn't get explained in the end, which is kinda frustrating. I wonder if they will keep it that way for the series.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:07:09 AM

Those King tv miniseries are soooo...what's the word...?..awful.
Heretic175 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:17:11 AM

He's Right the opening chapters of thsi book were great, but thats about it, after that it turns into a really bad hodge podge of abruptly ended story lines and bad character development, not a great king novel at all
Eben1277 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:24:44 AM

Cell was an entertaining read, but flawed in King didn't address the text messaging craze.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:24:53 AM

The book i sonly a few years old. How is that 'classic' King? Carrie is classic. It is classic. Cell is just career bookend rubbish.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:28:45 AM

'carrie'?....oh man...that was a fantastic story....the 2nd one was decent for an attempt to resurrect it...but obviously not better
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:29:48 AM

Well f*ck...this will blow now.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:32:19 AM

"Classic King", Minkowskim, is thrown at the King novels that are PURE horror...So Cell certainly is CLASSIC KING. Duma Key, Hearts in Atlantis- those were not pure horror. Carrie would be 'vintage' King...
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 11:34:43 AM

If you're thinking 'classic' only pertains to things old- you must be royally confused when critics say 'instant classic'.
acslaterson writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 12:15:50 PM

God I hope they put this on Showtime or HBO, if not it will suck balls and I won't even watch it. f*cking Roth.
Rich k writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 1:00:16 PM

this is different and could be good, alot of stephen kings books becomes movies id like to see how this does in a mini series and almost all of stephen kings books are good movies
padfootbob writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 1:34:37 PM

Huge fan of King, but I would be perfectly okay with them changing the ending (and a few other things) in this one.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 3:06:12 PM

NBS or ABC this will certainly suck balls...but I totally agree that if this lands on Showtime or HBO as a miniseries it will be filled to the brim with talented unknowns and it will flat out rock.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 3:07:25 PM

Sorry NBC...haha I'm too used to txting NBS to shorten up "No bullsh*t".
Makidian writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 4:12:03 PM

what about the end, it blew so I hope they fix it in this series
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:38:24 PM

Classic is all the old King stuff that didn't suck. Duma Key is garbage, Hearts in Atlantis same, Bag of Bones trash. Et cetera.

The ONLY decent books he's written in the last ten years are: From a Buick Eight and Blaze. Blaze is an older story he finally finished and FAB8 was just his "broken clock right once day" event. The dude hasn't had anything good to read in a LONG time.

When you, or anyone else talk about classic King, it should be clear. When you speak of a 'classic' King book, you're essentially referring to his 'golden age', his peak, his better times. Not 'instant classic' or classic as referred to in antique car verbiage. Period. Only a muck wouldn't get the usage.
minkowski writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 8:44:12 PM

BTW, nothing, books, cars, films et cetera are ever 'classic' if they suck. I can see what you mean when you say 'classic King'. You mean a book that harkens back to the stories that mad him famous, the typical horror genre epitome that he's well known for. That's not what I'm talking about.

In short: the guy has definitely slid downhill. He hasn't had a decent book in a while. The days of short stories like 'The Jaunt' are long since past. Classic King, to me, is the older good sh*t, not the newer junk only a madman would call 'classic' in the way you've done.

Peace out.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 10:36:39 PM

Buick was good, but not great. i would of thought though with him almost being killed in that wreck it would of made him go back to his darker days of writing, perhaps scare him so bad that he had ideas about death and how horrific real life can be. But obviously not. But as a mini series this could work. I mean the stand was alright, but carrie, pet cemetary shawshank, those were good horror films. Especially Shawshank that would be real life torture being convicted of killing your wife when you actually didnt..
minkowski writes:
on July 15th, 2009 at 2:00:43 AM

What happened to King? He got OLD. People lose that rage, that angry verve and they start to accept life as they get older. As I understand it, King was a very angry person. He had issues. He drank heavily, and he did cocaine. He was on the edge and bleeding raw. That gave him what he needed to pump out books full of darkness and despair. He was a guy lost and in need of therapy, I guess, and he self-medicated through his writing.

Now, he's moved past much of that, and he just writes mechanically, running on the shadow of steam that once fired his creative engines.

Sad to say.

And FAB8 rocked for me because his depiction of what came out of the trunk, and the mysterious nature of the car and it's 'driver' really hooked me. I was enthralled. f*ck, I was taken in not so much by the 'horror', as it wasn't that kind of book really, but by the otherworldly nature of the subject matter. My imagination made the book more real than I think even King intended. It and FAB8 are my favorite King books. And Blaze. And the first Dark Tower. Roland the Gunslinger. And the s.s. The Jaunt. And many others. lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved