WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kato Being Re-Cast in "The Green Hornet"?

Posted: July 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kato Being Re-Cast in "The Green Hornet"?Submit Comment
It's looking more and more likely that we're never going to see Seth Rogen's "The Green Hornet" movie, mostly because of all the complication revolving around Stephen Chow.

Chow (Shaolin Soccer, Kung Fu Hustle) first signed on to direct the film and star opposite Rogen as Kato, the role originated in the TV series by Bruce Lee. Then it was announced that due to creative differences Chow has decided not to direct the film, but will still stay on as an actor. The studio started searching for a replacement and ended up hiring Michel Gondry (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind) to helm.

Soon after, the Associated Press learned that Chow was considering not starring in the film either. And now, thanks to SpoilerTV, the studio has sent out a casting call to replace Chow as Kato.

Casting Call: "[KATO] ALL ASIAN ETHNICITIES, Male, 20's - early 40's. Brit Reid's manservant/chauffeur by day and Green Hornet's martial arts-skilled sidekick by night. Actor doesn't have to have Martial Arts experience."

Click here to read more about "The Green Hornet."

Source: SpoilerTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:03:07 AM

Why is Hollywood so concerned that Kato be an Asian actor? They didn't give a sh*t when they tossed Bruce Lee out with the bath water and hired Carradine to play in Kung-Fu.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 9:33:35 AM

Seth Rogen? Green Hornet? I couldn't care less. Take him and Judd Apatow and roll 'em both through a meat processor.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 9:46:25 AM

Stephen Chow was the best choice hands down- and NOw they have OPEN casting calls for Kato?!?!...Im losing ALL interest in this flick now...It'll end up being some whacked out vanity piece for Seth with Michael Gondry adding an unneeded arthouse touch...Green Hornet is a shambled mess right now.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 9:47:53 AM

If you're looking for the new Kato- get your ass to Justin Lin to advise you. That man knows every talented asian in Hollywood.
Ryanlawson writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 9:57:43 AM

minkowski hates both borat bruno and judd apatow movies.... hmmmmmmm u poor uptight bastard
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 10:00:46 AM

You forgot Seinfeld. He sucks too. None of them are f*cking funny. Apatow's sh*t is only for stoners, losers that have to get high to have fun.
VDODSON writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 10:25:40 AM

I've got the fix to this situation. They need to cast Jason Scott Lee, fixed. Or how about Minkowski's uncle?
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 10:34:48 AM

Uncle Charlie? Yeah, he's fit. Kinda old though. He's more the Hell's Angels type. He'd kick your ass, but he'd have ten other guys help. Sadly, he's not into martial arts.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 11:54:20 AM

Gary Coleman for Kato. I hear he's available, and he'd have to die in the end (for real) for me to watch.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 11:55:14 AM

I disagree, minkowski. I'm not a stoner, and though I may be a loser, I don't "have to get high to have fun" because I don't get high. I think you're underestimating Apatow's audience. Most stoners would rather watch Anchorman. Let's be fair here, Apatow's only made two movies. The 40 Year Old Virgin and Knocked Up. Both solid, well-received movies with elements of maturity and poignance. Funny People looks to be his best work.

As for Green Hornet, I hope it all pans out. It's a pretty interesting project. This might sound blasphemous, but what about John Cho for Kato? They've already lined up Rogen for the lead.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 11:58:57 AM

Or if they really want to f*ck up this movie... how about Rob Schneider for Kato?
thomas deadison writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:00:33 PM

.... or Carlos Mencia.
BurmaShave writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:05:25 PM

Minkowski prefers the comedy stylings of gentiles like Kevin James.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:15:22 PM

Ok, Thomas Deadison, you seem to be well-balanced and respectable. I'll watch them again, well at least one *vomit* and reconsider.

"Minkowski prefers the comedy stylings of gentiles like Kevin James."

Gentiles? Kevin James? WTF r u jibbering about man? Apatow is Jewish? Really? And you are mmentiong this why? Are you self-loathing Jew, Burmashave? It's ok, mate, don't hate yourself. Anti-semitism isn't right, and you hating yourself for being Jewish is a sin both against humanity and logic.

I mean, wtf likes Kevin James? Mall Cop? That guy? Dear god. He doesn't even attempt humor, he's just a fat idiot on a Segway. Any other time, just a fat idiot. He's like Seth Rogen's better looking, but slightly more retarded brother.
L Z writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 3:35:34 PM

It's just funny to me that half the sh*t that you guys post is'nt about the caption up top. LOL Quit your bitchin...realy who gives a flying f*ck?
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:21:31 PM

minkowski u the man dude, dont listen to these fudge packers whine. i agree with u on this one.
super_suck writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:42:24 PM

hmmmm....perhaps Tony Jaa? That would be sweet to see.
slusho writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:50:14 PM

Ken Leung from Lost!..
blinkbomber writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 5:55:17 PM

now i do love me some rogan and apatow... but not rogan by himself... at least not yet.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 8:55:25 PM

@LZ - funnier yet is your post bitchin about people bitchin. Kind of a FREE forum here lady. So if you wouldn't mind... the next time you're into your kitchen fetchin me a big frothy mug of suck my c*ck, I'd be grateful.
vwkombi writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 10:50:54 PM

I agree with you minkowski. Borat, Bruno and Judd Apatow are about as funny as kitty litter.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 12:03:21 AM

...wrapped around a cat turd, believed to be Almond Roca, then consumed. Now THAT's BAD!
vwkombi writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 2:49:41 AM

Nicely said Ranger, nicely said.
VDODSON writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 4:09:20 AM

Paul Blart mall cop= Fat c*cksucker
Javicon writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 4:44:46 AM

So, what kind of comedy do you like???? Sandra Bullock's?? Renee Zellweger's???? The only classic-style comedy I've seen recently was Ghost Town, and though it was fine,elegant and polished, It didn't make me REALLY LAUGH. Each to his own, but I haven't laughed like with Borat, Superbad or Dewey Cox in years... And they even talked about America, friendship or rockstars' way of life
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 9:23:38 AM

this movie omg, is gonna go straight tto dvd!
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 10:58:24 AM

@vwkombi - lol... thank you. I have the heart of a poet.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 11:21:14 AM

Soooo TECHNICALLY, according to the casting call- Kato could start wearing a turban. RUSSEL PETERS FOR KATO- "Yuwanna Desyna Bag? Soooooo gud." hhahaha
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 12:13:26 PM

uhh...i'm confused...was it green hornet?...or was it green lantern that supposedly we heard bradley cooper to star?
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 12:31:17 PM

Lantern.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 1:09:42 PM

This movie is looking more and more like a bad idea.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 4:06:29 PM

get that f*cker from "Temple of Doom" to do it...I'm sure he's outta money by now.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 7:43:08 PM

@ Ranger....hmm...i still think bradley cooper would have been an excellent choice for green lantern
lostwarrior writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 8:20:17 PM

just get tony jaa would do this justice. and at MINK, im sorry man but guess what I smoke out. and im not a half ass lazy motha f*cker who just likes stupid comedies. Not everything has to have meaning it. Judd and Seth are funny guys, yeah they can get a little predictable and sh*t but still, You dont have to get high to enjoy one of rogens films, freeks and geeks was awesome did u have to smoke some trainwreck to laugh off that, and if u dont know what trainwreck is look it up. Oh yeah i forgot a lot of people who do get high are highly intelligent. this is not a place to speak about nietzchie or voltare, Sorry man but u looked kinda like an *sshole there. Im a stoner, yet I have a business that is legal btw, working on my graduates degree and i also have a non for profit company, so just because some one gets high dont mean sh*t fool. u really should think before u type. not everyone is a pretentious little c*nt like you who does nothing all day but look at homemade porn that your mother made, while daydreaming of have the operation where you become a REAL WOMAN.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 10:12:35 PM

@AF - you mean that annoying little kid?! Man... do you hate Indy's Fans... OR WHAT?! @Synth - by far it should have gone: Cooper for GL and Ryan for The Flash (his true passion). @lostwarrior - my Mom makes the HAWTEST homemade porn. She even gives it to laminated, because... she loves me. I think Tony Jaa is the best call to date to play Kato. But he's too high-end for this movie. It would be like using Bruce Lee in the original series doing the stupid sh*t they had him doing and no where near utilizing his skill, because well... Hollywood truly is stupid and doesn't want anyone to succeed.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved