WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Update: Dane Cook Robbed by Step-Brother

Posted: July 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Update: Dane Cook Robbed by Step-BrotherSubmit Comment
Comedian Dane Cook's half-brother is facing a further 20 counts of larceny in connection to allegations he embezzled more than $11 million from his funnyman sibling.

Darryl McCauley, who worked as the Cook's business manager for almost five years, was arrested in Massachusetts in December. He was accused of stealing from Cook's fortune and forging a $3 million check to himself.

He has pleaded not guilty to eight counts of larceny, forgery and larceny by continuous scheme and is currently being held behind bars as he awaits a pre-trial hearing.

But, on Monday, it emerged McCauley had been indicted on another 20 charges, dating back to March 2004.

The "Good Luck Chuck" actor, 37, broke his silence about his McCauley's charges in April, admitting it was a "terrible betrayal," adding: "I worked with my only half-brother for several years. (I) woke up one day and a lot of stuff was missing. There is a good chunk of money that is certainly not accounted for. Hopefully justice will be served and I can move on with my life."

In related news: Jessica Alba supposedly revealed on her Twitter account that "Good Luck Chuck 2" was greenlit recently. JustJared caught up with her and it turned out that Alba doesn't use Twitter and knows nothing of the sequel.

Source: WENN, JustJared


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:04:30 AM

I would pay Dane Cook's brother twice the amount he embezzled if he would agree to murder him.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:05:13 AM

I'll be honest. I didn't think Dane had that kind of cash.
bale01289 writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:11:16 AM

Please hope there is no "Good Luck Chuck 2". Not gonna bash the guy (why beat a dead horse?), but not gonna refrain from laughing at the comments made in these posts! Sucks to be robbed, no matter how douchey you are!
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:11:30 AM

Who are the Lawyers and Judge(s) in this circus?! "He was accused of stealing from Cook's fortune and forging a $3 million check to himself." --- ahh... don't they have the cancelled check? If Dane didn't sign it someone else did. And if Dane didn't write that check out to his step-brother, I'd gather rather quickly that either the step-brother did, or if he had someone else do it, the step-brother give up a name or it's his ass in jail. This would take like 20 mins. in court.
c-prime writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 4:17:11 AM

Exactly how is news of a rumored "Good Luck Chuck" sequel related to the embezzlement situation? I don't think I've read a more meaningless paragraph than that. "Breaking news in Hollywood this evening: Jessica Alba announced that 'Good Luck Chuck 2' was going to be made only she really didn't say that." Jesus H., I can't think of a movie with a more insignificant impact on the world than "Good Luck Chuck". Well, maybe "Corky Romano" but not by a lot.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 5:15:44 AM

Couldn't his brother at least kill him as well so the world wouldn't be punished to the painfully unfunny presence of Dane Cook?

... I'm just saying
Eben1277 writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 8:17:08 AM

I somehow knew when I saw a Dane Cook headline that the haters would pop up almost as quick as if it had said "Transformers" or "Megan Fox"
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 9:27:17 AM

Killing Dane Cook wouldn't be good enough. He deserves torture just for Employee of the Month. (I'm sure there's boneheads that think EoTM is just f*cking hilarious. . .)

I wonder when Cook will get charged for embezzling the public into paying to see his abominable films.

Then again, maybe the worst form of punishment is to make the dude shave and shower everyday. You know he has to smell like a camel's ass.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 9:33:49 AM

EotM was cookie cutter Hollywood romantic comedy. Definitely wasn't great, but it doesn't deserve to be hated either. It has it's amusing moments, and it's basically just an exercise in mediocrity, it's whole purpose probably just to test if Dane Cook can carry a movie. He's funny enough in an old school Howie Mandell kind of way, but he'll never be one of the greats.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 9:38:04 AM

"it's basically just an exercise in mediocrity"

Dane Cook's life story, to be sure.

And why did it take Cook getting robbed blind to finally get funny?
acslaterson writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 10:27:27 AM

So much hatred for this guy, hahaha. The guy should have a ton of dough, he charged $150 a ticket for his last tour(I won the tickets, had I paid I would have asked for a refund). The fact that a relative stole that much money is f*cked up, shows how crazy people get when they come into money.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 11:51:47 AM

Or more accurately, how crazy some people get when their step-brother comes into money.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 11:57:29 AM

Mink may sound like he has a hate-on for everything in the entertainment business. But I have his back on this one. I saw a bit of Cook on stage on TV (uncensored and all)... I didn't find him funny at all. Seriously... nothing against the guy at all, so I started to watch his bit on TV. Really un-funny, un-clever stuff.
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:06:39 PM

Oh, I don;t hate everything, but definitely Hollywood is on a downward spiral, a trend towards lower and cruder quality films. You won't hear me bitch about much from about fifteen years back and earlier, but everything after that has slid downwards.

Dane Cook, Seinfeld, Rogen, Apatow, Rob Zombie. Michael Bay, McCheese, and on and on. Garbage. Unintelligent bile that people feast on because they have no real f*cking alternative. That, and a lot of Americans are unbelievably self-absorbed, conceited, shallow, superficial, and yes, very, very stupid. It's populist hedonism. That sounds elitist, but people choose to piss in the shallow end of the pool.

Now, I could list what I do love from films, but they aren't ever discussed on here. What a shame.

And as some candy to the kids, I'll retract what I said about Watchmen. Having seen parts of it recent;y, but waiting on the July DVD release, I think Zack Snyder did a good job. I really liked the beginning. So I won;t hate on that film unless, after watching it all, I decide otherwise.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:13:47 PM

Even though I haven't seen the latest Transformers (yet). Bay delivers on what is expected of him from the Studio and Fans (mostly... can't make everyone happy... right?). He's not shooting for an Oscar with his work. But he's very well paid for making explosive (literally) movies. And he does that well. The others you mention... yeah, not so much.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:16:14 PM

Although there was a time Hollywood was a place to look up to (to the Stars). The nice thing about it now is ANYone can make it there now. Was a car, let a Director f*ck you in the ass... and you're in. Acting skill is no longer a requirement.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:17:02 PM

'WASH' a car... that should have read.
manichispanic writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:18:58 PM

what a f*ckhead
minkowski writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:25:45 PM

What's happened to Hollywood is the same sort of mess that happened when colleges started accepted nearly everybody. Forty year old fry cooks with GEDs. Repentant criminals that suddenly found Jebus and moonlighting gang bangers. People that made 800 on their combined SATs. When you let just ANYBODY in, yeah, it's a triumph for populism, for 'freedom' and democracy, supposedly, but the quality SUFFERS.

And Bay does what he does. He excels at what he aims for. Doesn't make him or his films likable. There's some damned great carjackers in the world too, and very skilled, prolific bank robbers. There's prostitutes that have f*cked fifty thousand men. Excellence in a field without a frame of reference is worthless. When you compare Bay to other filmmakers, even amateurs, novices and a mentally deficient child with a camcorder, Bay's 'excellence' looks less and less like capability studied skill and more like mere high-budget masturbation, honed to a fine edge by excessive repetition.
bacci40 writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:29:53 PM

well, as cook made his career by stealing bits from other comics, seems that this is total karma
Blade12322 writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 1:09:35 PM

this is unrelated but i want to know
how do u get a custom display picture? for the account lmao
Blade12322 writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 1:10:17 PM

OH sh*t nevermind
and the previous statement was not grammatically incorrect
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 3:03:19 PM

Maybe it was this same step-brother that ransacked Lohan's house a few weeks ago. THIS GUY MUST BE STOPPED!!!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 9:25:03 AM

Wow...I guess holidays at the Cook house are gonna be akward.
Cinestarr writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 11:32:38 AM

I've seen parts of Dane's show a few years back...he was alright. I did like him in Mr. Brooks, but that is the only thing I have seen him in.

The sad thing is he probably employed Cook to avoid this very thing. Always trust family first right? But who writes a $3M check to themselves and thinks no one will notice? What a dumbass.
georgecostanza writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 12:30:00 PM

Dane Cook had it coming for a long time....
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 12:44:39 PM

@ACTIONFIGURE - I can hear it now... around the Thanksgiving table. "Hey... pass the cranberry's you f*cking THIEF!"
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 4:04:53 PM

Ranger-I can it now...He'll hand the brother an empty box and say " you took my money...you've got presents from me for life, c*ckf*ck! SU-FI!!" That's Hallmark like a motherf*cker.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 4:29:16 PM

lol.
akumavern writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 8:40:21 PM

Wow. Any word on who robbed him of his talent?
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 10:24:30 PM

That was only a rumor that proved to be false (that he ever had any talent).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved