WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Reynolds is Cast as "The Green Lantern"

Posted: July 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan Reynolds is Cast as "The Green Lantern"Submit Comment
We just reported how Warner Bros has narrowed down their choices to Ryan Reynolds, Justin Timberlake, Jared Leto and Bradley Cooper to star in the upcoming "Green Lantern" film. And now, THR has learned that Reynolds is the studio's top choice and final negotiations are currently taking place.

If the deal is completed, it would make Reynolds the only actor to have played heroes for both Marvel and DC. He recently starred in a comic book movie, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine," where he played Deadpool. The character is now being developed for a spin-off to which Reynolds is attached. He also played Marvel's vampire hunter Hannibal King in "Blade: Trinity."

"Lantern" is actually Reynold's second stab at a DC Comics hero. A few years ago, he was attached to play the comic company's speedster "The Flash."

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 79 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:10:45 PM

This guy is well-grounded. If he stays the course, and gets the balls to produce. We may have another Mel Gibson billionaire in Hollywood... Actor style.
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:11:39 PM

But Alex... hey, the title is a bit misleading Bro. I hope he gets it (I would prefer he got HIS pick of being The Flash!), but hasn't... yet.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:12:38 PM

Great! Ryan Reynolds is finally getting the apreciation he deserves!
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:14:09 PM

This is a classic example for everyone to see... when people always ask, 'Why didn't so and so play that role.' Here we see very little in Ryan's control (other than he IS staying grounded) - these roles get offered. Only superstars make their own up (like Cruise in Mission Impossible). Ryan is taking what comes along. On the other hand... Lohan is still a skank.
alexgi writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:18:31 PM

He wants the role and the studio wants him. The only thing left are the details. He's pretty much cast.
KaloVisor writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:18:33 PM

Okay Reynolds was great- no amazing as Deadpool. but this is a little weird him playing "Green Lantern" too. he would make a better "Flash"(Flash is a awesome superhero) IMO Green lantern is kind of nerdy. Don't get me wrong I'll be seeing this for sure. especially sense an actor I like is playing him. I just think it's going to be hard making a movie about a superhero who's only power is a green ring that glows.
acslaterson writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:19:33 PM

Holy f*ck-sicle! He gets to bang Scarlett and be worshiped by both DC and Marvel fanboys?!?! Luckiest. Guy. EVER!!!
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:20:18 PM

@Alex - yep (I agree). I'm rooting for him. But all the cash will only ease his pain a bit as he's been talking about wanting to play The Flash for the past few years.
acslaterson writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:20:38 PM

@Kalo, he killed as WADE WILSON. We have yet to see Deadpool on the big screen! ;-)
telur writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:20:50 PM

he's not that good but he has good agency
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:23:26 PM

Just checked him on IMDB. This guy is almost as busy as Samuel L. Jackson. You go Ryan!
dandythelion writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:25:57 PM

halle berry played Catwoman & Storm.he isn't the only one.

KaloVisor writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:27:12 PM

okay you got a point acslaterson. so he did "die" in Wolverine sort of, and I know he was only in a little bit of the film but it has been my dream to see someone swinging swords like he did in X-MOW. and he was really funny too and he's coming back to life in "deadpool" anyways and he will talk and I've seen Ryan play him what more do I have to see to know I like him as deadpool?
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:38:49 PM

@dandythelion - hey... good point!
acslaterson writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:40:33 PM

@Kalo, don't think I was disagreeing with you man. Of all of the characters portrayed on the big screen I think Reynolds captured the essence of the comic character the best(not to take away from others though). From page to film the best portrayal. Hell, in Cable and Deadpool they even say he looks like a cross between Reynolds and a shar pei!
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:40:54 PM

HA! Now I'm looking forward to the annoying Deadpool fanboys bitch and moan on imdb and s-hype
acslaterson writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:41:10 PM

Don't forget Masden!
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:46:58 PM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
vineethchacko writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:50:13 PM

True, but Marsden wasnt the main hero.
acslaterson writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:51:59 PM

Haha, totally butchered his name. I blame it on the 7 Sam Adams bottles on the coffee table.
acslaterson writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:01:25 AM

How far he has come since "Two Guys, A Girl and a Pizza Place", hahaha.
JRprime writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:21:55 AM

i love ryan reynolds but i wish this used somebody that wasnt well known
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:24:00 AM

@acslaterson - I knew he was in that show from his interviews. He said he loved doing it. I'm surprised anyone has heard of it, or remembered it.
acslaterson writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:37:02 AM

It was pretty funny, watched it in High School and they used to replay the reruns. Reynolds was a doctor in it. Also, the chick that is Monk's assistant was on the show. I forget her name though...
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:43:17 AM

Neat. He said he didn't like high school (most actors don't/didn't), and there he was... down in Florida... living in a house with all the other actors. This guy is driven. He reminds me of Travolta that had such tunnel-vision for success. Good on Ryan. I like the guy.
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:43:49 AM

Plus if he puts on the same build he had in Blade III, he'll kick ass as GL.
manichispanic writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:56:53 AM

this headline is kind of miss-leading. he hasn't been cast yet
manichispanic writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 1:00:05 AM

@kalo - the green lanterns (hal jordon) powers are un-limited. you are mistaken about his only power being the lantern. with his powers he can pretty mush do anything
Post_Man_87 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 1:01:37 AM

This is great news. Now all we need is for the screenwriter to tackle some of the better Geoff Johns stories from Green Lantern - interpret them into a screenplay - and DC/WB will have a great flick on there hands. For all the nay-sayers, I also thought GL was a lame character until Johns took over the comic several years back. Now, after building up a fantastic base and a better overall "character" - it's one of - if not the - best superhero books in comics today. Hal Jordan is bad-ass. Plan and simple.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 1:03:11 AM

I meant 'plain' and simple. ***need sleep***
acslaterson writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 1:04:52 AM

The Lantern just recharges the ring I believe. @ Ranger, being a fan of that show is why I have rooted for this guy's career. I was especially happy when I saw Smoking Aces and Ammytiville Horror and he had diversified his acting. Probably the same way people rooted for Tom Hanks when he started his career.
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 1:21:27 AM

I only saw Smokin' Aces last week. I liked it a lot!
Foxyllama5 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 2:12:02 AM

I really like Ryan! he is such a great actor! He's really good in the movie "The Proposal". I actually saw that today with my gf. I'm excited to see him doing so well in his career. he does deserve it. he's a great actor and he was really good in what part of "Wolverine" he was in.
lost_addict writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 2:15:44 AM

should be 'the flash'
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 2:21:03 AM

honestly i'm ok with this decision...i mean after all...could be worse
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 2:27:04 AM

It's a great call. But we all know for a fact The Flash was Ryan's first choice. So, bitter-sweet for him I guess. Now... a big question: Who will play The Flash? Either of the other guys that didn't make it to play Green Lantern?
aioros writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 3:07:25 AM

oh yeah!!! eaa really good choise!! :)
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 3:16:47 AM

we are the new generation...i think he's great for lots of movies...he's really hilarious when it comes to R-rated comedies
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 4:10:03 AM

i'm just thought of something and i'm gonna claim is my quote...anyway here goes 'for as long as mankind exists in the way things go in this world, we discover things and then are reminded of them'...i think of things as positive or negative...like magnets for example...which is from my viewpoint for those non-believers of God is where i say this....the positive is obviously God...the negative is the devil...and where those magnets connect is us...the humans...we are the middle...we feed that connection...anyway i know that had nothing to do with the article...it's just i feel very inspired...i finished another song and recorded it and thought i'd express my opinion on how weird i feel right now
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 4:49:29 AM

well, someone has been smoking the sh*t...
screamonly writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 5:49:42 AM

I THINK ITS TO MUCH TO STAR IN 2 superhero roles, it will define him more, and i would vote for the Green Lantern, cuz honestly the latest Fox's wolverine version sucked badly!!
tsayz writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 6:03:32 AM

i have been a big ryan reynolds fan hes playing two comic book characters for two different studios that just tells u hes heading for big things and hes gopin to be huge i would say after 5 yrs.
Rich k writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 8:09:01 AM

They should have tried harder to get bradley cooper that would of been sweet
Sinestro writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 8:15:31 AM

The dude is perfect for the Wally West version of the Flash, but he's no GL.
acslaterson writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 8:26:06 AM

Ryan Gosling as Flash?
dwightschrute writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 9:37:06 AM

Nathan Fillion would have been an amazing GL. But Reynolds could work too.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 9:55:46 AM

Nathan Fillion is almost forty!
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:38:52 PM

Lance Armstrong as 'UniBall Man!' He goes around to all the coffee shops in the world and bitches at the price of a cup of coffee!
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:40:57 PM

@acslaterson - Goesling for Flash? Not a bad call. He'd have to beef up... but that shouldn't be a problem. Maybe Ben Afflicted... if they can catch him sober. Naw... he's still pissy about J-Lo tanking his career.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 1:14:07 PM

haha minkowski...i was...never usually know what kind it is....but it was potent and tasty enough
borat writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 1:27:46 PM

was deadpool his tryout?
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 2:09:51 PM

No. Scarlett was.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 2:50:25 PM

@syn: I knew it! lol
FBO writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 3:40:45 PM

I liked him ALOT in Blade Trinity. I can't believe that fox casts smart mouth Ryan Reynolds and give him like four lines. What's the point?

I really like the guy but I don't like him for this role. He's el perfecto for The Flash. Just give him that movie already.

"You can tel alot about a person by the type of underwear they have on. You, for example, are probably wearing granny panties."

"Is that a reference to me being up tight?"

"No I just wanted a visual."

I freaking love it
jgrantt18 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 5:46:22 PM

Pretty sure Chris Evans went from Fantastic Four (Marvel) to The Losers (Vertigo, an imprint of DC Comics), so Reynolds isn't the only guy to do it.

Sounds like solid casting, hope it turns out good.
minkowski writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 5:54:20 PM

Chris Evans, AFAIK, is only rumored to appear in The Losers, which is set to debut in 2010, if even then.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 6:45:24 PM

Thats some good news but monday rolls around and it turns out this is bullsh*t im going to be pretty pissed.
Dr.G writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 7:42:18 PM

This is it... The final sign of the apocalypse.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 10:13:39 PM

now he only got to stay way from scientology.
acslaterson writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 10:24:29 PM

@ VAG, John F sent a Twitter today saying Scarlett finished shooting today and that Green Lantern had visited the set too. Now unless Reynolds is just going around talking out of his ass I say it is pretty reliable.
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 11:47:37 PM

@acslaterson - that's a hell of a nice avatar your're sportin' my friend!
KHRIS writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 2:09:15 AM

Should have been the Flash. :)

Glad hes the Green Lantern though. He will be great. I think this movie can be great if done right.
thegambit72 writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 2:58:22 AM

WAY TO GO RYAN, bridging the gap between Marvel and DC, not an easy thing to do....
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 3:00:51 AM

I thought this was already confirmed. If not, I hope it goes through. Ryan Reynolds is awesome and I would love to see him as the real Deadpool and as the first Green Lantern on film.
tolgaboy writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 7:26:39 AM

f*ck warner bros tey still bring players or directors from fox ?singerman and now deadpool are there realy no one else??????
acslaterson writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 10:34:10 AM

@Ranger, thanks man. They are bringing Steve Rogers back! Yahoo!
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 11:54:54 AM

You mean... as the Captain? Yes they are!
optimusprime writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 3:17:27 PM

Well I'm certainly fine with the casting, but I'm not happy about the delay this will cause the Deadpool movie.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 12:06:23 AM

Any one of you call Timberlake and tell him he didn't get this?
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 9:33:29 AM

WTF! ·!3%$76$"=? This bastard has a pact with the devil, he sucks like shiit! alll his performers are the same crap is always an one-dimensional actor! ok now i dont have any reason to see this movie thanks hollywood thanks mother f*ckers!
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 11:17:28 AM

And his Deadpool campaigning STOPS. lmao...
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 1:05:11 PM

Sorry, Bradley Cooper is Green Lantern. Reynolds should have been the Flash.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 1:23:32 PM

Plus this makes me as mad as watching Marvel not get Alexander Skarsgård (True Blood's Eric Northman) to play freaking Thor or how they continue to not see that Matthew McConaughey is Captain America. Freaking A!!!!
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 1:52:26 PM

If Matthew put on 50lbs. of muscle, and learned who Captain America actually was (not necessary to play the Capt. but it would sure make him sound better during the talk show circuit to follow the release of the movie).
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 4:09:51 PM

Good choice and I'm a fan of Martin Campbell...This is getting more promising...if WB plays their cards right, this could be the franchise they were hopin "Superman Returns" would be...fingers and testees crossed!!
bluemeenie writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 4:00:09 PM

Wasn't the Green Lantern Black??
bluemeenie writes:
on July 14th, 2009 at 4:01:05 PM

I see him as a better Flash...
James.Speed writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 11:05:59 AM

Jimmy Marsden appeared in both the X-Men films and Superman Returns, Halle Berry was in X-Men films and Catwoman, Joshua Harto was in Iron Man and The Dark Knight, Shawn Ashmore was in X-Men films and Smallville, Michael Murphy was in X-Men 3 and Batman Returns ..... plenty of Marvel and DC actors crossover once and a while.
Rarehunter writes:
on July 18th, 2009 at 10:37:58 PM

most of his movies suck, but he did play deadpool pretty well so maybe he found movies he's good in. Thats still just a maybe

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved