WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Jerry Seinfeld's Lame New Commercials

Posted: July 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Jerry SeinfeldSubmit Comment
Jerry Seinfeld is one of the wealthiest comedians out there, but even he may be feeling the credit crunch, since he has now signed on to do commercials for Greater Building Society, an Australian bank.

He has previously participated in two other ad campaigns for corporate giants Microsoft (with Bill Gates) and American Express (with Superman). And even the bank can't explain how it was able to sign Seinfeld.

"We didn't want any old celebrity and Seinfeld was on top of our list - but we never, ever expected him to say yes," explained spokesman Craig Eardley. "We emailed a proposal to his manager and followed it up with a call - and they said, 'Yes' And while his Microsoft deal was rumored to be worth $10 million, we spent nowhere near that amount."

Seinfeld co-wrote the scripts, which see him standing outside of a branch doing his stand-up routine previously seen on the "Seinfeld" sitcom.

Check out the ads below and let us know whether this is just another campaign or whether Seinfeld is getting desperate.

Commercial 1:

If you cannot see the player, click here.

Commercial 2:

If you cannot see the player, click here.

Commercial 3:

If you cannot see the player, click here.

Commercial 4:

If you cannot see the player, click here.

Source: PerthNow

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 3:27:13 AM

The guy was never, ever funny. Did you think, somehow, anything, a commercial co-written by Seinfeld especially, would make anyone, anywhere laugh?

Seinfeld is irrelevant, and hasn't had anything to offer since the corpse of his sitcom cooled to room temperature.
griffinkane writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 3:31:29 AM

I keep getting him confused with Jerry Springer. I thought this had something to do with Springer not f*cking Seinfeld.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 3:39:39 AM

Would've been more interesting, and a hell of a lot funnier.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 5:05:44 AM

I suppose the man doesn't need to be funny, his name is famous, because of Seinfield the show, and that it self will get the attention of people. Affective ad though, but hey i live in Australia and i have never heard of this bank in my life, must be some East-Coast crap!

Maybe we can get Michael Richards to do some advertisement for Aboriginal groups in Australia...maybe thats not a good idea after all! He might say something ver, very offensive!!
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 5:46:12 AM

Seinfeld the show wasn't funny either, so it begs the question: just what the hell is he famous for? His annoying nasally voice? But your right, everybody knows this guy and the ad is thus effective.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 5:54:10 AM

agreed....didn't think much of him in bee movie either
VDODSON writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 5:57:17 AM

Seinfeld will go down as one of the top ten comedy shows in history. How can you think that it wasnt funny?? Sure, its nowhere near Arrested Development, but the show is legendary mate.
whoever writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 6:09:30 AM

I saw one of these ads on TV last night and thought WTF!!!
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 7:43:43 AM

If I said I've watched the show, and yet never laughed, does that mean I don't think it was funny? You could see the jokes coming in for a mile. Kramer popping in repeatedly. George's "I can't get laid because I'm fat, short, stupid and ugly' routine. Seinfeld's impossibly good looking girlfriends (for him anyway). I mean, it just wasn't funny. Ever.

Shows that make me laugh: Simpsons, Family Guy (which I hate but still watch) Married with Children. Older shows, yeah, but they're witty. They deliver the joke without a lot of hamming around. They drop the punchline unexpectedly. Seinfeld humor is dry.

Best show ever? I can think of several other shows that did what they were supposed to on average, and Seinfeld, as a comedy just isn't one in my opinion. It's a slow, dry wit some people appreciate, but it isn't very clever or delivered well.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 8:15:20 AM

Seinfield wasn't funny??????, i thinks the millions who watched it every week around the world think otherwise Mink!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 8:18:47 AM

wow mink, if think sienfield is unfunny becuase of those reasons, but for some reason you think Family Guy is smarter and funnier, then something aint right here man
JKennedy87 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 8:44:02 AM

Mink, are you kidding me??

Not funny? Obviously you just dislike good comedy. The Simpsons and Family Guy?? The simpsons hasn't been funny since the 90's and Family Guy is far from "smart or witty". The punchlines on Seinfeld are delivered to perfection.
film_crazed writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 8:45:49 AM

you guys are effing haters...jerry seinfeld is the mothereffing shizznit!!
VDODSON writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 9:05:33 AM

Larry David is a comedic genius, everything he touches is pure gold. Sure its not the tradional in your face, fart and gag joke humor which some people love, its the humor of the way things work in the world but just doesnt make sense humor. legendary mate, legendary.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 9:30:00 AM

I like Family Guy for the nostalgic laugh gas, like when Optimus Prime shows up as a Jew. That's funny to me because I can connect with the unexpected appearance of a character from my childhood. It's familiar slapstick. Family Guy hasn't really made me laugh since about the third season or so. It's schtick has grown rather repetitive. I hated the show at first, and bought the DVDs to relive those nice moments. Like the Back to the Future spoof.

Now, the Simpsons are, or were, pretty funny, up until or before the tenth season, which I own on DVD, so it's all I watch from that series. It's pretty clever, and they do more than make you laugh. They provide characters you can actually LIKE, whereas Seinfeld, I have to agree to hate them all. Kramer the coackroach, George the loser slob, Jerry the annoying schnoz and Elaine the manic-depressive wannabe whining slut. Nobody I would ever want to know in real life, characters I'd rather shoot than share a bus seat. Simpsons has the warm, come-home feeling. You don't probably get that.

Married with Children was, at one point very clever, and some of the jokes are *inexplicably* clever. Not technically complicated, but verbally clever. The humor is the unexpected twist in the repartee and the delivery of the line with the comical facial expression. God old slapstick.

And that's what I have on DVD. To make myself clear: *I DON'T WATCH TELEVISON* Ever. I catch some A&E stuff on Youtube, but I own hundreds and hundreds of DVDs. I have no idea how many, but that's all the comedy TV I own. Most of it what I grew up with. So I watch what I have and don't feel to buy anymore. But I've seen Seinfeld, back when it aired fresh and I still watched TV.

Television just isn't funny. It's repetitive. And films nowadays mostly rely on fart gags, sh*t jokes and sexual innuendo to make the perpetual children of the world laugh. Even when that crap comes up in Family Guy, I turn away. Hell, i grew up watching Three Stooges, and those guys were comedic gold. They went for the laugh, and didn't try to couch their antics in anything more.

Seinfeld just isn't funny. What makes me laugh most often, though? Mostly political commentary, books that speak some form of truth but use a joke to deliver. A truth wrapped in an amusing irony. Something I can connect to with a humorous delivery vehicle. Get it? Seinfeld simply doesn't make me laugh. I don't connect with it, I don't think it's clever or cute or intelligent.

I mean, the soup nazi thing everybody remembers, amusing for the first five nanoseconds, but the schtick goes on, and on, and on, for the length of the entire damned show. he even reappears in the shows finale, as if deserved an encore. My mind wuickly moves on. I need fast paced delivery. I need bang boom bang. I need more. I enjoy jokes that come off like firecrackers, not like the sound of one deaf guy clapping his hand repetitively.

And millions of people thought OJ was innocent, so I don't give a sh*t what the 'people' think. There's plenty of rubes and idiots in the world. They pay to see Transformers and any other garbage film, and they spend hours glued to indescribably bad TV shows. They don't read, and most of them can't think worth a damn. Most of them have brick wall imagination.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 10:12:53 AM

Wow, I can't believe what I just saw. The fact that this is being shown or the fact that Seinfeld hasn't been this charming since Seinfeld aired.
BlueMobius writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:05:50 AM

Not lame, WP, just bizarre. :$
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:13:51 AM

@Skippy. I've seen only a few Family Guy episodes (a friend of mine watches it, so when I'm over there, I'll watch it). It is infinity more clever than Seinfeld ever was. My next comment doesn't come from Jerry's success: but I have NO idea why Seinfeld was the hit it was. Even Jerry is laughing his ass all the way to the bank! He himself boasted it was a show about nothing... and it was. The Soup Nazi, Kramer stealing any scene he was in, and really, f*cking Lohan-quality, irritating George the loser. Ugh! I don't think it speaks well of the intelligence of the viewing public that made this really unfunny show a cult classic. Am I surprised that Jerry's commercials are lame? Nope. I'm just surprised and disappointed some fan of his in a position to hire him for these commercials wasn't taken to the outskirts of Vegas, shot, pissed on and buried.
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:19:59 AM

Fans of Jerry's. Instead of just saying I think he's not funny, I'll actually TELL you why I think he's not funny. Yes, he uses the time tested comedic formula of talking about situations we're all familiar with. But that's it. He doesn't show us another side of it we may have considered but never spoken of (ie: Steven Wright). Here's how HE tells a 'joke' - "People... people riding on the bus and sneezing. What's up with that?!' And the crowd laughs. What the f*ck is funny about that? He's not spontaneous or creative like Robin Williams. Chris Rock career is on top of his game. Jerry can't spew it out like Leary can. And if we hadn't lost Sam Kinison... now that man was original and could lay down the stories (like f*cking the dead... which he was talking of true stories). And one of the greatest genius's of all time Jonathan Winters (like Steven Wright... talk about going off the page into Neverneverland...LOL). Jerry... stick to voiceovers for movies and stick a fork in ya. You're done.
Blade12322 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:29:33 PM

well Jerry hasnt always been the FUNNIEST comedian, but he has some jokes (i like the one where hes talking about milk's expiry date and the cow telling them when it is), but whatever, he had his moments

but Seinfeld is just a legendary show, its hands down the best show of the 90s, to me at least
memorable characters, its trade mark labels (the close talker, the soup nazi, etc), there are few other shows that u can watch any time and still have a good laugh at, even if its a rerun

Criminal Minds will always be the greatest show in the world to me though (had to say it) but Seinfeld is up there too

so yeahh, maybe his stand up isnt the best, but the show was amazing and u cant disrespect that, i mean come on..its STILL on
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:45:10 PM

Oh, his show is a huge hit. I'd never deny that. I just couldn't figure out why. He does have good moments. For me it was Home Improvement (like MASH... the earlier years)... but that got too long in the tooth too, and I stopped watching it before it went off the air.
Foxyllama5 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 2:02:57 PM

The show sucked. seinfeld is not funny. i saw a couple episodes recently, i didn't laugh at all. i just can't believe them. they are unfunny. the show has non-stop dry humor. I setriously don't know why people think it's funny. i'm not saying go watch family guy with all the poop jokes and just about every other kind of gross joke you could ever think of, but what about Gilmore Girls? that show was amazing, smart, funny, and it was believable. Seinfeld was not and never will be funny.
akumavern writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 2:56:52 PM

He should get eaten by a Dingo, or at least beat up by Mick Dundee. "You call that a joke, THIS is a joke"
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 7:40:53 PM

And isn't 'Seinfeld' and 'lame' in the same sentence redundant?
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 9:27:23 PM

well all i can say is that whether if he was or wasn't funny....the fact is that he was better back in the seinfeld days...some people just lose their touch and some keep it as long as possible
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 9:37:21 PM

and in this case, i think he never lost his unfunny ways...but aside from that...my question is...what is this guy's talent aside from acting?...if i can even call it acting....besides...i can't figure out who i disliked more as a voice actor on an all around performance....seinfeld for bee movie?...or timberlake for shrek 3?
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 9:38:53 PM

here's the sad thing...a better actor than seinfeld could have made bee movie better
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 9:51:48 PM

These pretzels are making me thirsty!...I love the show, i wish Jerry was in more stuff too
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 10:40:35 PM

Hey Ranger, i am not a huge fan of Jerry myself, but a fan of the show. I think you will find msot of the scripts were written by Larry David and Co-Written by Jerry himself, Larry in my midn is the guy who made Seinfield really funny, and gave it the cult success.

As with Family Guy, i do watch it, but is gags are all unrealted to teh story of the episode. Like "Brian, ive never been this upset..so here is Conway Petty" cue 5 mins of some country singer singing, funny the first time, but after a while got really annoying. Iam sort of getting the idea that they are running out of ideas liek the Simpsons are. Now the Simpsons is a show that shoudl ahve died a long time ago, i have never laughed at any of the new episodes, which is a shame, because i want to becuase the show has been my fav since a young child!
Ranger writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 12:38:18 AM

Oh, I'm a Larry David fan... just not one of Jerry's.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 2:57:27 AM

the other sad thing is that this is the way it'll continue to be until they really collaborate among fans and agree on what would work...but it seemed like before that professionals didn't need fans help to make stuff work back then
tharrison61 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 10:10:28 PM

These ads are not being aired in main Australian cities, just rural New South Wales. The bank is a very small one, with not many branches. I was expecting them to be funnier too.
Shot in the US, with local inserts.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 9:24:54 AM

Some episodes of Seinfeld were amazing, just funny as hell, others were cringeworthy bad. I saw one the other day and didn't laugh at all, but there are episodes of that show that are genius. I don't know about these commercials since I won't waste my time watching them.
Ranger writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 12:04:31 PM

@Eben - THAT's my problem with the guy... he's inconsistent. OK funny Seinfeld's that I saw (and it was very few): Soup Nazi, Jr. Mint in the guy during surgery, the gang refraining from masturbating bet... and maybe a couple more. Kramer stole the show. George was as annoying as he was in Pretty Woman (but in PW it worked for him... he was supposed to play a weasel), Elaine pushing people. That's about it. Zzzz...
DivineCC writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 12:01:18 AM

Comedy is subjective. Just flat out saying that Seinfeld was unfunny is ridiculous. If you didn't like it, then fine, its clearly not for everyone, but to try and say that the entire show is unfunny like its a fact is idiotic. The fact alone that it was the most popular show of the 90s and the fact that reruns of the show are still typically in the top 10 for syndication means that is obviously funny to most people. The show will go down as either one of, if not the best sitcoms in history. So you saying the show is unfunny is moronic.
georgecostanza writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 12:31:57 PM

Jerry Seinfeld is the funnies comdeian of our time, and Seinfeld redefined the sitcom and changed everything.
html mencken writes:
on April 21st, 2014 at 3:02:05 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved