WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eli Roth on "Hostel 3," "Cell" and "Thanksgiving"

Posted: July 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eli Roth on "Hostel 3," "Cell" and "Thanksgiving"Submit Comment
Eli Roth has been doing telephone interviews all day, answering questions about a third "Hostel" movie, the "Thanksgiving" film (based on "Grindhouse" trailer), and the long-rumored "Cell" movie (based on a Stephen King novel).

Roth told Cinematical that his next project is the $60 million sci-fi epic "Endangered Species," but the "Thanksgiving" movie is ready to go as well. "The financing, the money is in a bank account," Roth said about "Thanksgiving." "I could literally say I'm starting production tomorrow and we'd start. It's 100% up to me, but I'm just working on the script with Jeff Rendell, the co-writer. Jeff's the one who in the trailer, he plays the Pilgrim, and we're just writing it. We're just figuring it out and we're just coming up with the kills and the characters."

Regarding a third "Hostel" movie, Roth said that he is done with the franchise, but if the studio wants to continue it just like it has with his "Cabin Fever" film, that's perfectly fine with him. He just won't be involved.

"That's another one like 'Cabin Fever 2,'" he told STYD. "The studio had made a lot of money with it so they want to keep going, and the fans, there's demand for it, and great. If I started something and other people want to continue it, go for it. I'm just not involved in anyway. There's no negativity about it. I just said, 'I put everything in my life for three years into these movies. I've said everything I have to say with it. I feel very lucky I got to make them and the fans responded the way they did, and if you guys want to continue it, great, go ahead.'"

Roth also revealed that even though he spent most of 2007 working on adapting Stephen King's "Cell" novel, he has now completely abandoned the project. "I walked off 'Cell' kind of quietly," he admitted. "There was just sort of a difference in opinion on how to make the film and what the story should be, and there's a different direction the studio wants to go with it."

Source: Cinematical, STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:05:55 PM

Im looking foward to thanksgiving but I want werewolf women of the ss to be made. besides that I really dont care for this guys movies. Hostel 1 was only for shock value. never saw the second one nor do I care to.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:07:32 PM

"There was just sort of a difference in opinion on how to make the film and what the story should be".....

Its already a good novel- just adapt it you fools. Change the ending though. King has a great set up, characters, a great epic chase through barren cityscapes...but that puny ending has to go. The entire novel moves and feels like a fresh and original mainstream film and then that ending is soooo 'let's just blow sh*t up and leave'....THATS IT though. Everything else was awesome and unpredictable, but that ending- the last ten pages- HAS TO GO.
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:07:46 PM

NOOOOOO!!!! why abandon Cell!!! BS man
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:08:29 PM

i completely agree with PrevalendMind
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:09:04 PM

my bad PrevalenTMind*
borat writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:26:36 PM

eli roth sux
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 7:51:54 PM

he's just like his master quentin tarantino. they talk talk talk about movies then they never get done. it's the ones they DONT talk about that usually pop up.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:30:00 PM

the first hostel was intense...i didn't see the 2nd...don't care for it....it's like the hills have eyes 2...none of the survivors ever return...and when they do they kill em off...either by contract or by writing it in the script....fictional characters deserve better justice than that lol
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:44:38 PM

Thank god he's left Cell. Now maybe a great director will adapt it. *I'm talking to you Darabont*

As for the Hostel series, I actually liked the first one but the second one sucked, so no need for a third one.
akumavern writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:59:24 PM

where's the "and no talentless suck" portion of the article?
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:21:05 PM

Darabont's busy. Hopefully, he won't touch 'Cell' with the much-cliched ten-foot pole. He usually sets his sights on adapting King's better works. Seeing as how King hasn't had anything truly good to offer since 'From A Buick Eight', a book he isn't adapting, regrettable as that is, I can only hope his next King adaptation is from an older work.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 10:12:11 PM

Phew, maybe now someone who can actually direct and write will adapt "Cell."
tcu21 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:26:53 PM

Thank God he abandoned Cell, he's a hack director and Cell was an awesome novel, he probably would've f*cked it up.

Frank Darabont! Another Stephen King novel needs to be adapted for the big screen! Where are you?
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:59:51 PM

For the last f*cking time, Darabont is busy. I just talked with him, and he says for all of you to shut the f*ck up! He's working on the Long Walk, Fahrenheit 451 and half a dozen other projects. He also told me to tell you he's going to send John Coffey over to rape and kill you if you don't stop suggesting he adapt King's latest claptrap to film. Now bugger off!
Makidian writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:59:59 PM

It was probably Cell's ending...it was pretty much the worst ending to a book ever.

Roth in general though, not that great Cabin Fever was alright, the Hostel's were meh, Thanksgiving looks to be his best horror work just because it looks funny as sh*t.
VDODSON writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 7:45:29 AM

Hostel 2 was legendary mate.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:12:03 PM

Yeah I totally WOULD NOT want Darabont on Cell. He's a great director, but he's more effective telling moody, claustrophobic tales. Cell's opening has some serious technical action on a massive scale. They have to go with a horror director who can kick some serious sh*t to the sky. I'd line up Timur Bekmambetov or the Spierigs...they'd be faithful to material. Every other director who has a big name just wants to change the bloody thing to suit their egos- plus they cost too much to ruin a good thing. Get someone talented, cheap, and dying to make a name for themselves. THOSE are the directors who never screw you over.
mattcl23 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:47:38 PM

Do we really need another Hostel movie? The last one was terrible.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 2:43:00 PM

hostel 1 and 2 were so dumb, good thing there won't be a third. i think roth would ruin cell and just go for a gore-fest, sacrificing the cool story and interesting characters. thanksgiving tho could be really sweet!
bluemeenie writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 4:41:35 PM

FIRST! Yesss!
ghosttomost writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 10:15:59 PM

I'm just gonna say, at least roth is making r rated horror...and i loved cell, its not king's best, but i thought it was his best all out horror of the last 10 or so years. and roth would have made it gory and fun...and i'm sorry but i liked the ending of the book...i think i'm probably in the minority...
2sdaybchz writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 2:41:08 AM

I own "Hostel" on DVD. "Hostel Part 2" was okay, if only for the Elizabeth Bathory reference. "Cabin Fever" was an interesting concept that could have been executed better.

I agree with @lostwarrior. I would rather see "Werewolf Women of the SS". Rob Zombie needs to get on that...but only if Nicholas Cage really plays Fu Manchu.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 12th, 2009 at 10:07:25 AM

Ghost- you're totally allowed to like the ending in the novel- It's just the majority of us think massive explosions on paper is very very boring...maybe it will adapt well to film seeing how visual explosions are much more entertaining than the ones we have to imagine. But besides the explosions, I REALLY didn't like how King wrapped things up with the 'Raggedy Man'. The most frightening and interesting villain is developed and then just vanishes (I really wanted an elaborate King death for that f*cker, but he just disappears in fire)...It seemed so lazy compared to the rest of the novel's payoffs. Great novel- but it left me with a "That's it?"
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 3:36:12 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved