WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Must Make "Superman Returns" Sequel by 2011

Posted: July 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Must Make "Superman Returns" Sequel by 2011Submit Comment
Warner Bros has just won a favorable ruling in the suit filed by the heirs of "Superman" co-creator Jerome Siegel, who are claiming that the studio got a "sweetheart" deal when it bought the film and TV rights to the character.

Warner Bros chairman Alan Horn testified that he hopes to make another "Superman" movie but added that the property wasn't under development at the studio, that no script had been written and that the earliest another "Superman" pic could be released would be in 2012.

But the Court pointedly ruled that if Warner Bros does not start production on another Superman film by 2011, the Siegels will be able to sue to recover their damages.

Brandon Routh's contract has recently expired, but if Warners does not want to go in front of the judge again, it will have to find a new Superman (or resign Routh) and get a "Superman Returns" sequel off the ground by 2011.

Source: Variety

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 5:51:53 PM

f*ck yeah sups is back im getting a boner
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 5:53:41 PM

They wont change Routh...Right now he's the only thing they have for certain. There's waaaaaay too preproduction that has to be done if they want to start by 2011, so I cant see them searching for a replacement for Routh seeing how everyone who hated Returns hated it for countless reasons OTHER than Routh. Add the fact that Routh is affordable and suits the job- start working on script, budget, and effects.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:01:59 PM

wow, a forced sequel...
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:07:14 PM

warner bros is hardly different than any other movie company....they will sign a different actor if routh doesn't return...and even if he did...it would be rushed...it already looks bad...but some people do anything for money right?
lostwarrior writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:10:20 PM

Oh god ranger is about to c*m in her little panties when she hears about this one. . And please get Routh back he had the look. just put a real villian in it like bizarro and if they get desperate how about zod or maybe bloodsport even faora
Rio14 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 7:08:52 PM

I'll direct it.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 7:30:33 PM

I dont think studios want the goodie goodie image that Superman stands for anymore. Everyone wants a darker more "realistic" narrative these days and if your hero is not emotionally and psychologically flawed it aint getting made. That's why I figured they made Superman a deadbeat dad in the SR. If Supes wants to succeed in this market they're going to have to go the Death of Superman route and fill it with epic battle sequences that can finally showoff his limitless powers. God knows it took a lot to kill him in the comics! This really worked well in the original Superman sequel, it will work now. Remember, next to Spidey and Batman, Superman has always been a giant of the comic industry with generations of fans. He can make a comeback if the WB has the guts to kill him!
jjjjjoey writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 7:32:38 PM

Rushed mess.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 7:34:50 PM

and I can here here(ranger) saying get neil fife.
lost_addict writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:17:01 PM

quick,bring micheal bay and some homo jokes...
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:22:41 PM

Splurt...splurt... splurt. Any one got a cigarette?

Keep Routh. He had big boots to fill and did it wonderfully. He played the gentle/powerful sides perfectly.

I actually like the directing job Singer did (putting in some subtle things only true fans of Supes would know - like the Director of the new Star Trek for fans of the original).

Villain... only 1 comes to mind. SOLOMON GRUNDY - with a HUGE battle covering a continent (or a punch to the moon for Supes).

So Warner Brother had better get the pickle out of their ass and get to work.

And Neil Fifer is my pick for Captain America... not Supes, LW.

PS: I got to see Christopher Reeve in person once flying as Supes (crane cables and all), and from a comic collector from way back... Supes is the 'Planet Mover' of Superheroes - he'll outlive us all. (Oh, and Smallville sucks farts).
lostwarrior writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:33:10 PM

@ranger just messing with ya man thats all
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:43:22 PM

I know Bud.
realgirl76 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:49:05 PM

It could of been a lot worse. Couldn't be worse than Wolverine could it????? (crossing fingers)
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:55:25 PM

How bad does Smallville suck Ranger? Well... I'll tell ya! There's an episode on right now. Some Queen is summoned (to Earth... why?) believing she'll find her soul mate here and hooks up with Jimmy. Question: What the f*cking hell does that have to do with: Kal-El, his development to eventually become Superman, The Fortress or Clark Kent?! Anyone... ANYONE?!?!?!? f*ck THAT SHOW!!!!!
akumavern writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:57:44 PM

Well, is this a little bit of information, considering Serena Williams wants to be a superhero...I think she could be the next Superman. She is a dude, right?
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:00:53 PM

Her clit has to be at least the size of my d*ck... so yeah. I guess she is.
Pepeman writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:05:48 PM

Wow, Ranger has a huge d*ck, grats man.
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:07:23 PM

I hear she keeps her tennis balls tucked in there....oh my bad those are testicles.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:09:03 PM

U know solomon might work, but if might make better sense to some one from his home planet in it as the villian in the second one. Now this is just me. But i think Solomon would be better set up for the 3rd superman film. U know towards the end of the 2nd one show the swamp that he is in being drained or something.
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:36:00 PM

Ha ha, a sequel to a film everyone hates. Warner Brothers should just pay the estate and move on with a reboot. Or they can make a sequel no one is going to watch. LOL. Either way, they LOSE. Good job getting a Reeve clone, a sh*tty writer and a boring director on a film that should've been an easy slam dunk with an audience still soft on old Christopher and his bad luck. How do you ruin an iconic cultural landmark like the cinematic Superman? Hell if I know, just as WB and Bryan Singer.

Tip to WB: You can call in Routh on a sequel or a reboot, but here's a f*cking suggestion: start the f*ck over! Go back to the novels. Go back to what people like Morrison and Loeb have done. Go back to some of the more engrossing comics of the eighties. Get your bad ass origin story. Then get your Doomsday, because The Death of Superman has epic win written all over it, and then get your triumphant third act/film. Hell, they've got an easy win with the right scriptwriter just right there! But no, they had to honor Christopher Reeve, drag in a a clone and make some boring ass sh*t even Donner couldn't improve like he did with Lester's Superman II.

Another option is just to renegotiate with the Siegels for a new film, instead of a sequel no one is really asking to see.
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:43:40 PM

And yes, Routh did a good job immitating Reeve. He had to, SR wasn't a reboot, it was a much belated quasi-sequel to Donnors's cut of Superman II (where Supes and Lois have sex before he loses his super juice), and also somewhat (thankfully) ignoring the third and fourth films.
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 10:40:05 PM

All good suggestions Min. The death of Superman was after my collecting days, so I know little about it. Oh... and Lois boned the Last Son of Krypton after he lost his juice (but before he shot some into her).
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 10:44:26 PM

@Pepeman - my d*ck is so small (HOW SMALL IS IT RANGER?!) - to pee... I have to sniff pepper. When I sneeze, I grab it with tweezers! Before you ask... yes I'm available for bachelor-ette and kids birthday parties.
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 10:45:23 PM

@Min - good story or not though. You know they'd never end a movie with Supes dead.
acslaterson writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 10:49:13 PM

Loeb is Marvel's case of herpes, I wish that f*ck would go back to DC where he writes a hell of a Batman story. This could be great though, just use Mark Millar's ideas for Supes!
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:26:41 PM

"and Lois boned the Last Son of Krypton after he lost his juice (but before he shot some into her). "

That's the Richard Lester version you're talking about, not the Donner. Donner fixed it so that Superman had Sex with Lois before he lost his powers, thus fixing continuity with Superman Returns. Check out the Wikipedia on it.

"@Min - good story or not though. You know they'd never end a movie with Supes dead."

Wrong. By breaking conventionality, and giving the readers a atrong hint he isn't really dead, they set up an easy second act. people will flock to see him return. It worked *marvelously* with the comic book Superman back in the late eighties, and comic book readers are less forgiving than the general moviegoing audience. People that only moderaltely like Superman will get the hint he isn't dead for sure, and the 'fanboys', knowing Supes history won't feel any outrage. They know he'll return. Like I said, it worked spectacularly for the comicbook, it could do wonders for the film. It's what I want to see.

"Loeb is Marvel's case of herpes, I wish that f*ck would go back to DC where he writes a hell of a Batman story"

I don't read Marvel, so I wouldn't know, though I'm inclined to collect them just f or the hell of it, and because I'm bored collecting DC. Having said that, yes, yes he is a damned fine Batman writer. he can spin the hell out of the Batman/Superman series, and since he left, the quality of the stories has generally tanked. I really like his take on Superman in those graphic novels, really, really like his take, which is why I suggested him. He seems to understand both Batman and Superman intimately, as if they really exist, and understands the friendship dynamic between the two like no on one else.

Similarly, Morrison's Superman All Star was a pretty great, the first and second volume anyway, and i was suprised as I am not a fan of Morrison, but I say he did a good job retelling the tale of Superman in a modern age.

Mark Millar's only, singular Superman claim is his communist hagiography of Superman in Red Son. The guy has some sort of obsession with communism, with him wanting to 'redo' Das Kapital for the 21st century. It's like he never got the memo that communism failed and socialism is equivalent to slow decay.

He seems to focus on violence and over the top storytelling, rather than thoughtful characterizations and engaging emotions. While Superman has some of the former, its strength lies more on the latter. And he had the nerve to bitch when DC wasn't receptive to his style of mayhem after 9-11!

And while Red Son isn't the greatest Superman novel I've ever read, I do hear he's done amazing work over at Marvel, and as far as I'm concerned, that's where he should stay.
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:30:45 PM

BTW, as I see it, Mark Millar is an Image Comics sort of guy living in a world of only DC and Marvel. It's a shame Image's 'Supreme' is no longer being written, Millar would've really fit in over there. Maybe, just maybe he could've brought that character some class where there was none. For the obtuse, that's not a compliment.
Ranger writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 12:10:02 AM

@Min... oh, I didn't know there was another version (again... after my days in comics). As for killing (or appearing to be) Supes. I have no prob. with that. I think that, along with the massive battle against Solomon Grundy's it would all be a fab. story. I'd just be really surprised if Hollyweird had the balls to do it. I mean... make Superman REAL (like Ledger did the Joker). I'd just be surprised.
acslaterson writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:00:14 AM

Want to see some hate? Check out Rulk, done by Loeb, and Thor, by JMS. Completely ignored Thor's power set(Odinforce) and Rulk was able to wield Mjolnir. I hate to critique the man but his creativity has been extremely sub-par since the passing of his son. Also, knocking out Uatu the Watcher? Really? Douche bag, I hate when writers just come in and trash established story lines and characters. After World War Hulk, the original Hulk and the strength and power he acquired and he can't handle this guy? Completely absurd. F you Joe Q and Loeb and your bastard child Rulk.
acslaterson writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:01:16 AM

Sorry, nerd rant. :-(
acslaterson writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:04:25 AM

And Rulk uses guns, so gay! f*cking Loeb!
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:29:59 AM

"I hate when writers just come in and trash established story lines and characters."

Then you must REALLY hate Millar, as I understand he basically wiped away decades of established story with a number of Marvel characters. Besides, I don't judge comic writers on what they DO with a character, so much as how they write.

If you haven't notice, comic book writing isn't exactly Pulitzer territory, and it doesn't attract the most capable or the most talented of all writers. So when I read one story after another wriiten by the same person, regardless of respect to mythology, and those stories grab me and make me feel and think, I know I've met someone with considerable ability.
minkowski writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:33:44 AM

P.S. I'm torrenting the Red Hul 1-7 series to see what all the furor is about. If they're as awful as you and others say, then it is definitely a sad decline from the works of a man I once enjoyed reading.
Sonic writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 7:05:26 AM

Just Make It Good
japaninmotion writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 8:33:36 AM

routh sucked as superman and as clark kent. I have seen the movie more than enough and still cant remember if he spoke. all his line were flat and forgetable.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 10:14:51 AM

Oh well, get it cracking. Bring back Routh, action and a serious baddy, maybe say Brainiac, General Zod or Darkseid!
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:33:10 PM

The film wouldn't be rushed at all if they set a 1 hour 40 minute runtime, with action set pieces taking up at least half of that length. If they can do the Incredible Hulk in less time than they are given here- then Warner should be able to make a great hero flick. The problem is they ALWAYS go with 2 hour epics and end up falling flat- why? Because there's nothing epic to say about a mannerly man, with a great childhood upbringing, who's 99.9 percent indestructible...they may THINK that- but it isnt epic in the least. "He came from another world to protect ours" isn't an epic concept these days...nor is it a powderkeg of entertainment either. Ratchet up the action, make it shorter, make some money, and develop a lengthier third film that pays off on Doomsday.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 2:35:16 PM

WOW- So they're going to rush it-and throw something together!- It'll be great!!!
morphina writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 2:58:37 PM

Give me some Darkseid. Screw Superman!
tolgaboy writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 5:59:05 PM

hey you let me direct it?IT will be better then singermans movie with ma eyes close
KaloVisor writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 11:33:03 PM

how could they possibly make a sequel by 2011? if they fit one more superhero film in in that year it will burst. now I am one of those people who like superman returns and have been looking forward to it ever sense the first one. but if they push. it will most likely end up being bad or at least "it was good but could have been SOO much better kind of thing. so they better do it right!
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 1:27:27 AM

Oh man, I hope they aren't trying to rush this out too fast. Other than that, I'm glad to hear that they're actually getting it together.
Rich k writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 8:29:21 AM

superman returns sucked
matternm58 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 3:54:05 PM

I actually liked superman returns just wish they would have shown more. I didn't like kevin spacey as Lex. I'm worried about this new one though because they are pretty much being pushed and forced to do it. If they're heads and heart are in it then we are looking at daredevil 2 wrapped in superman paper.
matternm58 writes:
on July 11th, 2009 at 3:55:04 PM

Dis-regard last "if their heads and heart are not in the game" damn typos.
Ranger writes:
on July 13th, 2009 at 11:26:46 AM

typos?! More like tequila shots my friend!
fatboy writes:
on August 27th, 2009 at 12:02:32 AM

I loved Superman Returns. It filled in the blanks nicely. It was a transition movie like Empire Strikes Back which was the least favorite of the Star Wars movies. Too bad America is stuck on violence, sex and stupidity. A movie with something to say like do the right thing because it is the right thing to do and not for a reward doesn't stand a chance in today's environment. Singer is an excellent director and the writers were perfect for their assignment. Their next movie would have been even better.
sassystarlitegirl writes:
on September 9th, 2009 at 10:16:48 AM

CL77 writes:
on September 10th, 2009 at 6:05:16 PM

I'm suprised how many people disliked SR. I thought it set the foundation for 2 or 3 more action packed films. SR basically re-introduced us to Superman and all the cast of characters. It was a film that set a foundation for multiple sequels. Lex had to be in SR. He is Superman's most recognizable villain. Now the sequels can focus on action and pushing Superman to his physical limits.

Villains, in my opion, make a movie. Brainiac would make a excellent main villain for the next movie with Bazarro as a sub-villain. For the third film, Doomsday would be my choice as the main villain. And for the 4th and final film, Darkside and his army would be my main villain with Lex being a sub-villain.

Also, keep Singer and all the original cast members.
Jack B. Nimble writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 9:15:30 AM

I would love to see Selma Blair as Lane!!! She has that original Lane demeanor, naturally. It feels like a no-brainer...
argytunes writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:10:06 PM

Renew Routh's contract and move forward. SUPERMAN RETURNS was excellent...(I viewed it again Sunday night)...and I honestly think "underrated!" There are certainly plenty of plot options. However..you might want to cool it when it comes to the Kryptonite element. This has been the focus of all the Christopher Reeve movies...not to mention SUPERMAN RETURNS. It took to long for Lex and his buffoons to get the kryptonite and utilize it. Most people won't sit still for a movie that runs slightly less than 3 hours!

To whoever was responsible, it was a nice touch adding the "Superman Trumpets" to the Warner Bros. Logo at the beginning of the film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved