WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Transformers 2" Breaks $300 Million Mark

Posted: July 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Transformers 2" Breaks $300 Million MarkSubmit Comment
"Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" has reached another milestone, by breaking the $300 million mark domestically in just 14 days of release. That makes it the second-fastest movie to top $300 million, behind last summer's "The Dark Knight," which accomplished the same task in only 10 days.

"Transformers 2" has also brought in another $300 million from international theaters, making its total earnings north of $600 million. With such numbers, the sequel will have no problem surpassing the first film, which took in $708 million in worldwide ticket sales.

The new movie is also currently the highest grossing film of 2009 with only "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" and "Avatar" left to challenge it.

Click here to read our "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" review.

Source: Reuters


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 4:17:09 AM

"oh sh*t"

yep, no 1 comment
Ranma-Irias writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:50:17 AM

wouldn't it be funny if a normal movie that no one is expecting to win sh*t, win T2 and HP(whatever the f*ckin number is) and Avatar

Example: Funny People - 385 millions or Bruno - 300 millions

I know its impossible but itd be funny to see a different movie win that amount of money
dbreuning writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 7:36:34 AM

Great. This only means they can make a great sequel. They probably learned from the mistakes they did on this movie by making it too wacky/goofy. Anyway, I liked it though. Saw it already 2 times and Im going to see it in IMAX this sunday. Yep Transformers fan.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:54:11 AM

Didn't like the movie that much but, I have to admit, the kid in me kind of likes seeing a movie based on my favorite childhood toy on top.
coolguy writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:55:22 AM

thought this movie was awesome, although harry potter will beat it in worldwide gross. still unsure about how avatar will do...
bluemeenie writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 10:28:47 AM

And I heard McDonalds just got 81 Billion served...
bluemeenie writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:23:51 AM

@coolguy- "still unsure about how avatar will do..." Your Darth Vader avatar will do just fine bud
Blank x2 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:32:39 AM

^^^Needs to learn how to be witty and funny.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:48:30 AM

ok...done
bluemeenie writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:49:21 AM

"I have an inner child; he's just not an inner idiot. And if how much money something made had any correlation to how good it actually is, doctors would recommend you get more cocaine instead of more leafy greens. And no, I can't shut my brain off and have fun, anymore than I could rip out my tongue and enjoy a meal, because my brain is where I feel fun."
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:59:22 AM

It would be us to $400 mil by now if Megan was eating all the Tranny-formers.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 12:53:12 PM

Robots in Dees-Guys
Makidian writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 1:05:25 PM

There was some silly sh*t in RoTF, and the special effects editing was kind of sloppy, but it was still pretty great. It appeals to the midless savage in all humans, that just love watching sh*t get torn apart. All said I hope the next one is less silly...

HP6 and Avatar will dominate the box office, Avatar will prbably break Titanic's gross, but they need to show a freakin' trailer already
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 1:13:12 PM

*Yawn*
lost_addict writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 2:20:20 PM

yay!!!more money for steven spielberg!!!
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 2:46:03 PM

The ricj get richer, and the poor get Transformers.
minkowski writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 2:46:14 PM

*rich*
lostwarrior writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 5:33:47 PM

who f*cking cares
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 5:46:41 PM

for all, including myself, who hated the stupidity that they felt was necessary to add in transformers 2...this is how i see it....those that can see what was and wasn't necessary for the film that should have been there, would only pay to watch the action again...or just to see megan fox...or just for their kids...it'll make a lot...i'll credit it for the action but that's about it...as hard as they tried...they knew they could have pleased the fans better....but you know what i forgot before watching it?...bay's dedication to transformers was not for original transformers fans...they were for himself...otherwise it would be a lot more faithful to the cartoon...and i'll expain myself there...if they were so smart, they would've figured out how to make the cheesy stuff in the cartoon come out looking sweet in the movie and here's an example...arcee was a very disliked character in the cartoon according to bay...but she looked cool in the movie though right?...so they trash most of the necessary stuff and recycle every last part of the retarded sh*t...looking at it from an original fan's point of view...i was offended...but looking at it as an average movie goer who loves anything to do with sex humor or drug humor or idiot humor...it's pleasing to those crowds...the 2nd obviously shows that the main characters are not the robots...but the humans instead...wasn't it the exact opposite in the cartoon?...that's what i thought i'd see since right before the first movie came out...why is that fantasy titles have to be made as 'realistic' as possible??....can we ever get more faithful translation movies besides 'watchmen' these days?...in the 90s it was different...but geez...this decade and next has no excuse why they couldn't make a faithful translated movie
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:01:41 PM

the reason i say some of this stuff is because they could have spent time trying to come up with ideas to make stuff fit...but they were fixated on finishing it fast and making money...sorry but that's not professional....don't care how....some movies take years to get made and come with better respect...but for the transformers franchise, i honestly think it was rushed
KaloVisor writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:58:23 PM

You Know what synthetic1985, I think you might be right. they could have made it better and they know it. but they focused to much on Visuals and Trash humor. instead of Story and character develpoment. and to much on Magen's body ...
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:49:06 PM

it's just my opinion but thanks...and i'll say this again too...there's always room for improvement...cuz someone always has to come along doing a better job...i'm guessing for the 3rd movie, they'll get unicron and galvatron and still mess things up...like bringing back the twins
Ranger writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 8:49:23 PM

Apparently I'm the only one (in the world) that is waiting for this movie to go to DVD before seeing it. Doesn't seem to be any middle ground about this flic regarding opinions. People either loved it or hated it (kind of like Andy d*ck but excluded the loved it part). You all have me curious to see it (eventually).
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 9:49:21 PM

well i'm not gonna tell you not to see it...you have to watch it to truly judge...but if you don't wanna spoil the surprises and watch it on the big screen...do it while you can...otherwise wait for it on dvd or on a website...trying to convince people to not go see it isn't gonna stop it from making money...if i had known these action sequences weren't as long as they clue you in on in the trailer, i wouldn't have watched it on the big screen...the only way people can help a movie make or not make money is if they let others watch it first and decide what to do after hearing their thoughts on it...can always watch cheap versions on websites too...after all...i saw 'wolverine' online and was glad i didn't pay to watch it...if you don't like the disappointments in x3 you'll hate wolverine even more....remember the producers thought gambit was too similar to wolverine or cyclops?...it's not gonna get better...there's more bullsh*t than sh*t in the movie industry...wait...that sounded like a line for 'jay and silent bob strike forth' sequel...steal that title idea kevin smith!...that title name has been in my head for years...and i really don't care if they did steal it...cuz i'd like to see that movie get made
ironhide-autobot writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 10:29:46 PM

district 9, inglourious basterds, g.i. joe,funny people,bruno, and many other movies could possibly beat this. I dont want them to,but they could.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:19:43 PM

Bay must feel like I did after I shat out a beef sh*t that was brewing in my gut for 4 days...It was SO BIG- SO MASSIVE- that everyone around had to come stare at it. SO my crap still sits in the bowl as Transformers sits in theatres because people are afraid of what will happen if it gets flushed...
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:21:34 PM

Seriously though- is there a better feeling than laying out a massive sh*t? You just drink that glass of water at 8am and LOOK OUT NOW!
mattcl23 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 1:52:09 PM

Just imagine if this movie had great reviews and an overall better story. This movie made that much on effects alone, which is exactly why I saw the film.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 10th, 2009 at 9:59:56 PM

@ mattcl23....excellent point...that's my exact reason for seeing it too...i just can't understand what it is about hollywood...if they wanted to make so much money....they should be pleasing the original fans first and foremost....being that there were already a sh*tload of fans before the first movie ever came out...it's the same aspect i thought about x-men or any other title that gets translated that happens to have many fans before its first movie is made

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved