WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Dan Brown's "Da Vinci Code" Sequel Covers

Posted: July 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Dan BrownSubmit Comment
Publisher Random House has revealed that author Dan Brown is taking his follow-up to "The Da Vinci Code," called "The Last Symbol, to Washington DC. In addition, we now have both covers that will be used for the novel. Check them out below.

"Symbol" is set to be released on September 15 and again features the fictional, mystery-solving Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon, with the story taking place over a 12-hour period.

The US cover shows the Capitol surrounded by mystical symbols and a red seal that features a double-headed eagle, the number 33 and the a Latin phrase meaning "order from chaos." Brown decoders have noted the similarities to emblems of the Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, which has a headquarters in Washington.

Editor Jason Kaufman said in a widely reported statement that the book is "largely" set in Washington but "it's a Washington few will recognize. As we would expect, he pulls back the veil -- revealing an unseen world of mysticism, secret societies, and hidden locations, with a stunning twist that long predates America."

"The Lost Symbol" will have a global English language first print run of 6.5 million copies -- the largest first print run ever by Random House.

Columbia Pictures has already announced that it will move forward with adapting "The Lost Symbol" as a sequel to "The Da Vinci Code." No word on whether Tom Hanks or Ron Howard will return.

Covers: (click to enlarge)


Source: Reuters


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 8:34:03 PM

This guy just won't go away. I read The Davinci Code. Decent book, but by this time, hasn't the novelty worn off yet?
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 8:51:09 PM

He's definitely not going away b/c he made a sh*t ton of money just off of the The Da Vinci Code book. I actually like his books and I've already pre-ordered The Lost Symbol. I read that he already has plans/outlines for 12 more books but who knows how many he'll end up writing.
borat writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 8:56:31 PM

omg i came
acslaterson writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 9:24:44 PM

@mink, give Angels and Demons a try. It was a LOT better. His other books are pretty good as well(Digital Fortress and Deception Point). Out of all of his novels I liked DC the least, and it was the first one I read.
lost_addict writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 10:15:20 PM

should put a picture of tom hanks on the cover taking a hair cut
minkowski writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 10:28:58 PM

I really got into the whole Jesus conspiracy thing, the blood of Christ, the 'hoyal grail, the history behind Christ's crucifixion. I read Holy Blood, Holy Grail and other books, especially ones concerning apocrypha. I really enjoyed that exporation of what if history, but I think I burned myself out. It's all kinda far-fetched but I bought into it all the while. I enjoyed that experience. I mean, it's all one of the greatest historical mysteries. Did Christ die on the cross? Did he have children? Fascinating stuff, I just can't see myself revisting it any time soon unless Brown has something really, really new and exciting. More of the same won't do it for me.

And then, Ron Howard's take on the book, at least with respect to the Da Vinci Code really sapped the life and mystery and tension out of the book. That's just my opinion.

BTW, everyone should check out The Lost Tomb of Jesus. Pretty good material I think, though far from conclusive.
acslaterson writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 10:39:25 PM

I believe this book centers on the Free Masons and the Key of Solomon(medieval Hebrew book of magic).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Key_of_Solomon
acslaterson writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 10:42:28 PM

I actually just got "The God Who Wasn't There" from Netflix today. Probably watch it tomorrow.
griffinkane writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 2:25:16 AM

I liked both A&D and Davinci Code books. At least this takes place in America this time unlike another story in Europe.
dleyton writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 11:01:00 AM

Guys... is not "The LAST symbol" is "The LOST Symbol"
lostwarrior writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 6:33:17 PM

im sure this is will be just as gay

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved