WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Baywatch" Film is Now a Comedy

Posted: July 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Baywatch" Film is Now a ComedySubmit Comment
Paramount Pictures has set Jeremy Garelick to rewrite and direct "Baywatch," a big screen comedy based on the syndicated series about good-looking lifeguards who patrol a beach in California.

DreamWorks picked up the remake rights to "Baywatch" in 2005 and got a script by Jay Scherick and David Ronn that was heavy on action. Garelick was sent the script do a rewrite and even though he never saw the original TV show, he saw an opportunity to turn it into broad comedy.

"It felt like the template to do a movie that was similar to 'Stripes' and 'Police Academy,' the comedies I loved growing up," Garelick said. "Rather than trying to pitch the tone, I figured it would be easier to write the first act to convey who these characters were."

The script now focuses on two unlikely lifeguard candidates trying to catch on alongside the buff bodies that will be as abundant in the film as they were in the TV series.

"Baywatch" marks Garelick's directing debut. But he most recently did an uncredited rewrite of "The Hangover," has written "Murray at Large" for Warner Bros, and also scripted "The Insane Laws" at Columbia.

Click here to read more about "Baywatch."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 4:15:36 AM

'"Baywatch" Film is Now a Comedy"

Wasn't it aways?
alexgi writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 4:28:33 AM

It was first written to be an action film.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 4:38:44 AM

No, I meant the show. And Baywatch is 'action'? Seriously, it was a soap opera at the beach IIRC.
lost_addict writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 4:48:03 AM

comedy?action?come on...it was alwayes porn.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 5:19:50 AM

Well if 20th Century Fox trusted some random, non-English speaking, freshly graduated from film school kid to direct Alien Resurrection, then I guess whoever greenlit this....

Oh wait....You can't trust someone who's only worked "uncredited".
TGDirector writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 5:40:00 AM

Why do I see Will Ferrell taking up on this?
Eben1277 writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 7:29:48 AM

Will Steve Guttenburg be in it? What about Bill Murray and Harold Ramis? Ohhh, I know John Candy should be in it!!!!
bluemeenie writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 9:47:28 AM

It was ALWAYS a comedy- even if they didn't know it..
metathought writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 9:58:49 AM

Now when it says he did a rewrite of the Hangover, was it the version we saw in theaters, or did his rewrite just stay in his basement never to see the light of day, cause I have sh*tty fan fiction scripts I have written, if that can go on my resume.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 11:26:15 AM

Metathought, Garelick is the one who elevated The Hangover into what it was we saw in theaters. It's a shame that the WGA only credited Jon Lucas and Scott Moore, because their script sucked. It was Garelick and Phillips who made it what it was. Movie's made a sh*t ton of money and Garelick hasn't made a cent from it.
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 11:34:15 AM

Crap crap crap mega crap! no more remades! Where is the creativity
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 11:51:22 AM

Making this a comedy (avec breasts), is the only way now I may rent this on DVD. Were it the serious, dramatic movie they were planning (even with breasts)... not a chance.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 12:02:14 PM

As long as it gets the next generation of straight males through puberty it'll live up the original in my opinion.
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 12:10:11 PM

Everyone here knows Hasselhoff is like one of the wealthiest actors/producers in Hollywood, yes? Amazing story (as he owns everything Baywatch). Too bad he buried himself inside the bottle... but that was his choice.
BlueMobius writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 12:17:14 PM

@gatesoftanhauser - Um, Joss Whedon wrote Alien: Resurrection and the film was directed by Jean-Pierre Jeunet who also directed The City of Lost Children and Amelie. Neither of them are to blame for what happened to that film. That was purely a studio cluster f*ck (it was a producer who chose the ending of that film rather than go with the original alien dogfight with a flying alien).
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 12:54:34 PM

@TGDirector lol I bet he dose!
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 1:08:52 PM

@TGDirector - good call. I won't bet you because I suspect you're right.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 1:28:16 PM

Ummm- Jeunet wasn't out of film school when he did Alien Resurrection. He was directing professionally since 1978, started out in animation, and turned a lot of heads after he went to live action with Delicatessan in 1991. If you dont know what you're talking about RAMBLING isnt a good idea....And there was nothing wrong with Alien Resurrection- maybe studios changed the scripted ending- but who cares? What made it to screen flat-out rocked. DOgfight with a flying Alien? f*ck that- I'll take the painfully, slow and intense 'death by suction' death ANY DAY of the friggin week over an Alien with wings climax...
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 2:10:37 PM

I see a Megan Fox - Tara Reid (or any other Hollywood blonde skank) fight in the sand coming up in our future!
thomas deadison writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 2:10:41 PM

Thanks for that response, Prevalent. The 5th comment confused me as well.

Seriously. Delicatessen was amazing.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 6:37:30 PM

Wait, I've heard it all. Alien Resurrection is now considered a GOOD movie? How did this happen? There was nothing wrong with it? lol.

Ok, granted, they shouldn't have killed Ripley in the third film, but resurrecting her as an hybrid, with past memories intact, looking very little like an alien at all, against a backdrop of indiscriminate killing doesn't make for a good film.

I don't know where you guys get some of your opinions. It was basically a horror movie, filled with people you, the viewer, don't care for, waiting for them to get gore- ladened over-killed. A point-by-number horror film in sci-fi clothing. Definitely the worst of the four. It's one of those movies better suited for full CGI, if such a thing had been possible then. Silly, silly film.

lostwarrior writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 9:53:32 PM

U know this would not be a stretch for will to do. remember way back on snl when he did the life guard skit, i believe that was based off of the hoff. and if memory serves me right, I do believe (and its right about the time he came out with oldschool) he was going to do a comedy as a golden tan life guard. so f*ck yeah have will in it as the hoff. that would be f*cking hilarious
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 10:49:35 PM

The real Hoff can play the passed out drunk under the life guard stand. No stretch for him. Just bring him in a wheelbarrow on the first morning, dump him there... then just give him a blankie to keep him warm through the nights 'til the shoot is over.
Rich k writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 3:32:52 AM

i say bring back pamela and she could make it real funny and david hasselhof that would be sweet
Eben1277 writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 8:32:05 AM

d*ck Dietrich should have a part in it... I don't know the guy's real name, but I know he had spoof of baywatch at one point.

Alien Resurrection wasn't as bad as people make out. Not by any means on a level with one or two, but fun to watch. Ron Perlman can make anything good.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 10:45:45 AM

They can fill all the roles in the film- through Hass's new show...
Ranger writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 2:06:04 PM

What's it called: 'Drink 'til you die!'?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved