WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Blade" Spin-Off to Focus on Villain

Posted: July 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Blade" Spin-Off to Focus on VillainSubmit Comment
Last October, "Blade" director Stephen Norrington and actor Stephen Dorff revealed that they were working on a new "Blade" prequel trilogy focusing on Deacon Frost, the villain played by Dorff in the original film.

"It will be a prequel to the 'Blade' movies, Deacon's story," Dorff previously said. "It's a new trilogy the director has created. It will cool. We hope to shoot the first film next year. Frost is a character I have never been able to shake."

Now in an interview with Comics2Film, Norrington confirmed the news but said that the project is not exactly how Dorff described it, but close. He added that the Dorff came up with the idea and it "has evolved into a very interesting story."

And while the trilogy will slightly move away from the source material, Norrington said that the films are definitely envisioned as part of the existing mythology. "The linkage to 'Blade' is still big in the equation," he said.

Norrington said that his attention is now on "The Crow" reboot, but he will begin work on the "Blade" spin-off right after, which should be several years away.

Source: Comics2Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 3:48:24 AM

i'd rather see a prequel trilogy about whistler
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 4:42:15 AM

It's a long time coming, probably will never get made. Won't have Dorff. He'll be too old to star in a prequel. Everyone one could care less about about his character in Blade.

And when is the film supposed to get produced? Dorf says "We hope to shoot the first film next year." But the last paragraph says several years.
lost_addict writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 4:50:04 AM

norrington is such an underrated director...sounds like a great idea to me,i just don't see any studio willing to do it...
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 5:08:58 AM

Crow remake sounds better.
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 5:17:26 AM

@Minkowski: Crow Reboot BAD idea. Colossally bad idea. They've already said it will be very different, which probably means they'll try to make it "Urban" (corporate slang for Black) and cast Ice Cube or Martin Lawrence in it.
VDODSON writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 5:18:42 AM

In all actuality, it sounds like a good idea. The only thing is that Blade was pretty popular for quite a stretch, the Deacon Frost character has continued to slip from peoples minds. People will be like ''Deacon who??'', then when they see his face will say "'oh, the guy from the first one''. f*ck that, make Blade 4 with Wesley and bring back that great director from part 2, cant spell his name.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 5:41:48 AM

Urban? Maybe they mean Keith Urban. By urban, I was thinking less gothic, more inside the confines of a concrete and steel modern city. Something gritty and realistic. I didn't assume that 'urban' would mean a Crow film with some gangsta in the role. Now that I think about, and reread, you're right.

Note to self: urban is a codeword for unpleasant. See: gangsta, hip-hop, rap.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 5:45:02 AM

ok, I went back. all the news I know about the crow remake is from here, just now. Here's what got my interest:

"Norrington previously told Variety that "whereas [Alex] Proyas' original was gloriously gothic and stylized, the new movie will be realistic, hard-edged and mysterious, almost doc*mentary-style." The new film is Norrington's next project."

Sounds interesting. A little dirtier, a little more realistic and hard hitting. Where did you hear it'll be 'urban'?
Eben1277 writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 5:53:54 AM

Deacon Frost was a good character, I'd like to see these movies get made. Can't be worse than Blade trinity.
Kara writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 6:55:59 AM

he's too old..... how would it work?
bluemeenie writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 9:49:38 AM

I was hoping to get a back story on the swords...
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 10:11:58 AM

Ugh. Blade Trinity. I need a bath.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 10:24:18 AM

He's not too old! Stephen Dorff is a little guy that barely ages. He still looks almost exactly the same as he did in Blade. I always thought that he was a hell of a villain and wished they could have gone this route a long time ago (before Snipes went on the run form the IRS). Now I think it would be hard to get a movie featuring Dorff in the lead to the big screen. Too bad though, Dorff does bad pretty good.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 10:36:23 AM

BTW, I thought Underworld was the Blade "rip-off" trilogy.
McD writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 10:37:19 AM

sounds like they're just jumping on the Twilight/True Blood vampire bandwagon with this junk.
acslaterson writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 11:13:44 AM

I don't know about this, I would rather see Blade going through his initial training. How about that kid from the "Famous Jet Jackson" and he played Cyborg in "Smallville"? I can't really think of any other young African American actors that can fit that role...
TRUEMAN writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 11:35:14 AM

Kill-the-director no more spin off! no more remades!
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 11:52:59 AM

Isn't Snipes still being bent over in prison?
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 12:53:40 PM

Stupid idea he didn't even stand out that well he was just a basic villain and you never saw him do anything but stand around until the end of the movie. I was busy watching Blade doing his awesome fighting and killing.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 1:37:32 PM

Yeah...because everyone is jazzed up to see a villain that hasnt been onscreen since 1998. This will never happen- I love how the fanboy world thrives and lives off of rumours for flicks that NEVER get made. I mean what kind of f*cking hack evolves a retarded idea like this in the first place and actually BELIEVES it NEEDS a trilogy to tell it. f*ck- Norrington is a total lame ass. A trilogy?!?! One film would be hard enough to get off the ground centered on Frost. Whistler is without a doubt the best idea for a spinoff.
AJWPProfile writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 1:50:01 PM

Stephen Dorff ruins everything straight to dvd title.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 3:05:27 PM

@Ranger: Didn't you see Undisputed? Nobody is gonna f*ck with Wesley Snipes in prison! But really, he got 3 years but, like all famous people, he is allowed to be free until his appeal finished. Must be nice.
Ranger writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 3:41:00 PM

@SAC... no, didn't see that one (yet). I'm hard pressed as to how one gets $12 mil behind in taxes. With all their business write-offs (I benefit greatly myself from doing that - and IT'S LEGAL!), how he got so far behind. Taxes for incorporated people can be ground down to nothing very easily. If if some is due... it's usually a small portion of what the person gets to keep. He f*cked up big time.
morphina writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 4:21:47 PM

This could be good. I enjoyed Frost in the first movie and really wished they did something with him in the second somehow.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 6:04:30 PM

You know what f*ck deacon frost, f*ck blade. f*ck snipes and Dorff his best sh*t was the gate and the explores. f*ck all the stupid ass remakes, reboots what ever they are doing now adays. these are all nothing but sh*t. Its a shame too u know, because im sure there is a script out there collecting dust sitting on someones desk that is truely awesome and original. f*ck hollywood and all the c*nts that eat this sh*t up as well. They are why this horrific sh*t is perpetuating
mattcl23 writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 6:57:33 PM

They should just do a Morbius movie and then bring it together at the end of Trinity. Blade has to be taken by the thirst. They continually focused on Blade's serum and how he was building a tolerance to it. Deacon was cool but not for a trilogy. Morbius hunting Blade and Blade hunting Morbius would be awesome.
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 12:32:37 AM

I care nothing about Blade anymore at this point.
Rich k writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 3:35:00 AM

dumb idea
holtlt writes:
on July 9th, 2009 at 12:32:48 AM

It won't happen. Its not necessary and wont make much sense at all.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved