WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Acquires "Mortal Kombat" and "Spy Hunter"

Posted: July 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Acquires "Mortal Kombat" and "Spy Hunter"Submit Comment
Warner Bros has picked up most of Midway Games' assets in bankruptcy court for the fire-sale price of $33 million, giving the studio rights to "Mortal Kombat," "Spy Hunter," "Joust" and several other game franchises.

Warner declined to comment on its plans for Midway, but it opted not to buy two Midway development studios in San Diego and Newcastle, England.

At this point, it is not clear whether Warner Bros will pursue a new "Mortal Kombat" movie which was in development at New Line or whether the studio will resurrect the "Spy Hunter" film, which Paul W.S. Anderson was working on.

Or maybe Warner Bros will simply continue building up its video game division. The company has previously bought Snowblind Studios in February, TT Games in 2007 and Monolith Productions in 2006.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
oooshtson writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:09:01 AM

FFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU-
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:09:17 AM

So much for that "Mortal Kombat Devastation" film being made now. A ton of nerds at imdb must be in panic mode.
lost_addict writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:28:24 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MIt0VY7Yg2w
tolgaboy writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 4:40:17 AM

iff WB has both this then we will never see a good movie?they are just good in f*cking things up like they did with superman returns
acslaterson writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 7:34:59 AM

Anyone know if they are making another Spy Hunter game? I never played the original but if they aren't working on a sequel game a movie will probably never be made...
dbreuning writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 7:43:11 AM

Almost all game-to-movie adaptions or games that accompany a movie release are pretty bad. I can't really think of one of the top of my head which was good...
lostwarrior writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 9:35:16 AM

Honestly who cares, they are all horrible, games should not be made into movies. its just an easy way to cash in on stupid sh*t. WOW
SACdaddy writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 10:08:18 AM

Who cares!!! Videogame movies blow! Only one I thought was OK was the first Resident Evil and thats only because its really hard to go wrong with Mila runnin around in a skimpy red nightie for 90 minutes.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 10:11:36 AM

Whats goin on with the TRON remake or sequel? Now that might be good with the new CGI.
buttabean writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 11:13:38 AM

Only good video game was chronics of Ridd*ck. That game was great
dhkenobi writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 11:58:58 AM

There are some game franchises that actually could work, such as Halo. Well, I'm actually hoping Peter Jackson and Neill Blomkamp go from the books instead.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:20:35 PM

@SACdaddy exactly. i completely agree
Blade12322 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:35:16 PM

I WANT A MORTAL KOMBAT MOVIE!!!
ive been waiting for years now for a new one, wth
they keep saying its in development, i think it was supposed to come out next year or something from what i remember hearing, but thats all bullsh*t
they BETTER make a new one and it better be soon and good, ahhh lol
2sdaybchz writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:31:20 PM

Yeah, the first Resident Evil wasn't terrible until the "Licker" showed up. Silent Hill was okay until the Clive Barker-style climax. I hate when I'm into the movie and then something ridiculous like that happens. I'm really looking forward to seeing what Peter Jackson can do with "HALO". I love the game, books, and graphic novels.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:20:29 PM

[Warner Bros Acquires "Mortal Kombat" and "Spy Hunter"]
CRAP- I had 5 bucks- I coulda owned it!
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 4:57:34 PM

mortal kombat could be improved...but i dunno about a 3rd movie honestly...the 2nd movie already ruined a lot...and geez...how stupid are they REALLY?...why can't they make another mortal kombat game like when they first started?...the technology has been way improved since then...it's not like people won't buy it...fans would so appreciate it too...but now they're just thinking 'f*ck the fans' when they resorted to 3d animation for mortal kombat 4....which i didn't mind, but they kept making more that way....and that's when i lost interest...as fun as the new ones were, they could never compare to their first 3 games or ultimate, or trilogy....in my opinion of course
mattcl23 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 6:04:02 PM

Mortal Kombat movie could work if they actually made the f*cking movie rated R!!! Lionsgate should have bought the damn rights.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 6:19:17 PM

would've been nice to see shang tsung return like he returns in the 2nd game...with shao kahn as the main bad guy....and then save shao kahn's father shinnok, for the next movie...but that's just me....we saw sheeva, but never get to see her fight....we saw smoke and cyrax....but no sektor, you hear about kabal and stryker, but never see them, you see rain, but never fights...you see ermac and noob saibot...but we all know the history of noob saibot....ed boon and john tobias took their last names and spelled it backwards to make the character...anyway, who else did i miss?...kintaro...wtf?...they can afford to show motaro but think another 4 armed goro guy is killing it, when studios make sequel after sequel after sequel which is pathetically more annoying...the actors from the previous films are too old to reprise their roles for certain characters, so what they're going to do is change it up and ruin it further, DESPERATELY hoping fans will appreciate it...and sadly...they don't...the first movie had some flaws...but i still see it as the closest in terms of staying true to the story...the 2nd movie branched off of the 2nd and 3rd game too much...animality was cool, but for the movie??...lol could have done without that...there's hardly stuff i liked in the 2nd movie....jade and jax were about the only things left that stayed true...kitana's razor fans could have been introduced in the first movie...raiden had more character in the first movie too...no offense, but in the 2nd, raiden was too much of a softy...and then there's shao kahn....why couldn't he wear a shiny skull cap like in the game?...had to be realistic didn't it??...i mean, other than the fact that it was a fantasy story from the beginning, what would it have hurt to change some things back?...and here's the more important question, is it too late to try again?....i don't think so...but if they decide to reboot it...why f*ck it up again? or worse?...why does this happen this way with specific titles that don't deserve all this ruined bullsh*t?
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 7:20:05 PM

i remember hearing halo as a movie, would be out in theaters by summer of 2007...and now we're in 2009...with still nothing of the sort in development huh?....at this rate...halo will be a movie when all who played the game at the time of its release has aged a decade or two...nothing against peter jackson, but fans are growing tired of waiting to see halo finally moving onward...any longer, and they'll either hate you for it or just lose interest altogether and wait for a dvd or never watch it...whatever the result is, i don't think it's something good...and like any other game translation movie...the popular ones usually make bank on their first movie....depending on whether or not that movie does good is the result of the outcome for any possible sequels...that's the way i see it happening today with any future game-translated movies
vwkombi writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 9:51:53 PM

dbreuning: Almost all game-to-movie adaptions or games that accompany a movie release are pretty bad. I can't really think of one of the top of my head which was good...

In terms of Game to movie, how about the original Mortal Kombat? Movie to game, The Warriors was pretty awesome. But that's like one in a billion.
minkowski writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 12:25:49 AM

Breaking news: Warner Brothers acquires rights to make more film poor adaptations of games people never play!
Eben1277 writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 7:03:22 AM

Wasn't The Rock supposed to be in Spy Hunter? The only way a Mortal Kombat movie could be good is if Kung Lao comes out and kills everyone with his f*ckin hat.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 12:17:28 PM

man, some things i thought would never change ended up changing drastically...oh well

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved