WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Transformers 2" is Highest Grossing Film of 2009

Posted: July 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Transformers 2" is Highest Grossing Film of 2009Submit Comment
"Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs" ended up taking an estimated $42 million at the domestic box office and tying "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen," which has reached $591 million in worldwide ticket sales. Victory will be decided when the final numbers come in.

Opening on Wednesday to get the jump on the holiday weekend, "Ice Age 3" brought in $67.5 million during the five days, nearly matching the $68 million opening of the previous installment (Ice Age: The Meltdown). The new 3-D movie dominated the world's box office, with the biggest opening ever for an animated film at $148 million.

"Revenge of the Fallen" is now the highest-earning film of 2009 with a domestic total of $293 million in its 12th day in release. The only film to have amassed a higher gross in such a short time is "The Dark Knight."

"Public Enemies," which also opened Wednesday, served as solid counterprogramming to the two tentpoles. Period piece, starring Johnny Depp and Christian Bale, grossed $41 million in its first five days at the domestic box office.

Click here to read our "Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 46 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:11:58 AM

And mankind takes one step closer to Idiocracy, hahaha.
JRprime writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:20:07 AM

cue idiotic comments about transformers. i predict minkowski or ranger will be first
Blank x2 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:25:16 AM

Ah....it's always good to say "I told you so". All the people who said this would be a flop.....guess what? I told you so.
borat writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:26:17 AM

this movie like a gypsy it take your movie and it sucks
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:51:08 AM

@JRprime - oh, suck it hard, you little girl (lol).
screamonly writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:07:30 AM

it's scary to see a movie like transformers almost reaching the Dark Knight
lost_addict writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:26:56 AM

this is all thanks to the first movie which was so great...too bad the sequel was a childish money making product
WV-Films writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:27:02 AM

^^^ Yeah only Transformers 2 will die off soon, cuz it won't have people going to see it 4 times.
screamonly writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 4:32:36 AM

WV-Films unfortunately people are so fascinated by the visual effect with out paying any attention to the story, especially the kids!

I think we should stand in front of the theatres and stop people from going in :P
clydefamous writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 6:33:55 AM

regardless of how I felt about the movie, it shouldn't make anywhere near as much as Dark knight. Oh, btw I hated the movie. I wouldn't be surprised if Transformers3 has vampire robots. Seriously, lol.
acslaterson writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 7:14:11 AM

HAHAHAHA, vampire robots! You silly bitch!
dbreuning writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 7:41:15 AM

Well, thats nice! Now please work on Transformers 3 and make it better. Not that I disliked 2 but it could be a little less goofier though.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 7:56:17 AM

This is just sad u know. Like i said earlier I finally saw it. Horrible nothing but horrible. If little girls like this thats kool, but im sorry I had to get a refund after the movie was over, it was that bad. JR Prime how could u like this movie, i mean seriously.
Blank x2 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 11:55:46 AM

Why do people act like every film has to have an award winning plot and story? Maybe you guys forgot, but this is based on an 80s cartoon/toy line. It's supposed to be visually amazing. VISUALLY. Do people even know what that means. Stop expecting Oscar award winning stuff from movies that never attempted to be that way. And it is STILL funny that people want to bash and boycott....yet their money is a part of that 300 million. Funny.
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 12:04:53 PM

@Blank - Same as I've been saying (about this movie) all along. It's just entertainment folks. Transformers = toys. Bay = explosions. $10 = 2 hours of action.
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 12:06:52 PM

@lostwarrior - did you actually get your refund?
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 12:47:39 PM

I knew it! It was so obvious that this was going to happen. Congrats to Shia, Megan, Michael Bay and the rest of the cast and crew.
JRprime writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:01:12 PM

@lostwarior, why did i like this movie? because, like blank x2 said, it was supposed to be an action film that was visually incredible. none of you can tell me that it didnt fulfill those expectations. ive said it before and ill say it again, this movie was EXACTLY what it was intended to be. if you wanted to see the next installment of the godfather you shouldve gone somewhere else
ironhide-autobot writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:05:16 PM

totaly expected this
Godfather_Isaacs writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:24:16 PM

Those of you who think Transformers 2 did not have a plot....are idiots. There was a plot, and actually well done plot including betrayal, world ending, quest for knowledge, quest to save, and the intertwining destinies of the autobots and humans.
I think those of you who did not get it where blinded by the sprinkling of crude humor, to make it more real, and the many explosions. if you took the time to watch more than once and actually read into it...the story was very well done.
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 1:31:48 PM

I visited a best friend yesterday. He and his wife saw this movie the night before. I asked if the plot was hard to follow? Not at all. I asked, was it worth the $'s. Answer: yes. I haven't seen it yet, but I have reasonable expectations. A lot of explosions and Megan Fox for 2 hours for $10. I'm in.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:26:56 PM

@ranger yes I did. I just said it plain and simple i was not entertained. and if i would of left 40 minutes in to the film perhaps at 41 minutes in to the film I would of been entertained.But i wasnt. And if they want to keep me as a customer it would be in their best interest to give a refund. I mean its only7.5 so they were kool with it. And @JPRIME, Ive been entertained by summer block busters before. but those other films were actually had a story line and acting that was not aweful. I was not expecting GOD FATHER 4 like you pointed out. Plus i wanted valid reasons on why I think this movie. U like it thats fine. Im sure it would not of made as much money as it has recently if no one like it. But this is my opinion. It was f*cking laxity.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:29:28 PM

i weep for the future of transformers
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:33:45 PM

@lostwarrior - thx. for your reply. That was generous of them (keeping a customer happy or not). I could see it more-so if you left halfway through the movie and didn't view the whole thing. But the ticket wasn't sold to you with a guarantee of your entertainment. I'm not knocking you a bit my friend. It's just worth acknowledging that the theater was generous. I'll tell you what a bad movie is... lol. It was premiere night for Little Nicky and a friend won passes from the media to go... so we did. No one in the theater paid... and they were still leaving the theater. Too funny!
Rich k writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 2:48:53 PM

thanks jr prime for noticing the faggots on this site with ranger and minkowski, and the only reason this movie made money was because everyone like transformers so much and megan fox is in it.
clydefamous writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:01:13 PM

Of course trans2 isn't going to be an oscar winner. Michael Bay is one of the best action directors working today, I can't deny it, but the movie was a mess. It was like they pasted together whatever Bay wrote during the writer's strike and whatever the screenwriters had and just started shooting.

@acslaterson
Go easy, no need for bitchy comments.

Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:08:48 PM

@ Rich k - '... the only reason this movie made money was because everyone like transformers so much and megan fox is in it.' Wow... you're a genius. I can't believe you're not putting Bay (or Spielberg) out of work. With your intelligence... you're quite the threat.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:13:09 PM

What no more bashing? f*ck it then... cough the movie sucked cough
bluemeenie writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:16:19 PM

Sad
bluemeenie writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:16:43 PM

you're wrong JRprime
bluemeenie writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:17:35 PM

@Blank x2 - It's a 'flop'. Amd I told you it would be a flop. Bernie Madoff made a lot of money too- big deal.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:18:49 PM

YESS!! TF3 please have Vampire Robots!!! My pimples are popping just thinking about it now!!
BondMcClane007 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:35:10 PM

I knew this was going to be the highest grossing so far.. that only makes sense.. I kinda wish Star Trek held this title because that was a really good movie.. this may have given the audience what it expected (the realistic portion of the audience who wasnt expecting sumthin oscar worthy) but it wasnt as good as Star Trek in my opinion
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 3:55:49 PM

Star Trek may have lost a bit of $'s at the theater because it's just an instant DVD buy for me when it comes out. I and/or my friends have good home theater systems... so we're just waiting for the DVD to hit. Also, the nice home system means I wouldn't have to site behind the likes of Rich k and have to punch him so hard in the non-firing brain stem so hard his dead Grandmother would feel it every time he saw fit to critique the movie.
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 5:44:47 PM

Shouldn't the title for this article be: '...Highest Grossing film of 2009 so far!' Because, well... for 1, the year is long from over and 2. we may see a sleeper hit like: 'Gary Coleman - the c*mback!' or 'Skittles - fight or flight!' or a big budget dealie like: 'Giant Octomom vs. Mega-Shark vs. The American Gladiators vs. Sarah (nailin) Pailin - Warrior Idiot!' So... let's give the rest of '09 a chance eh?
mattcl23 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 5:56:31 PM

Yeah, I saw Transformers 2 knowing that it wasn't going to be the best reviewed movie of the year. I saw it because there isn't any other movies that can compare visually. I'm kinda going into Avatar with the same mind set. But I did enjoy Transformer very much.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 6:15:57 PM

I agree with BrandoFresh. This movie is all about big explosions, Megan Fox on a bike, and how many miles the humans can run on foot. You have to admit, this movie had some cool moments.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 6:17:57 PM

Forgot to mention. No other movie sticks out as much this summer. It's like noticing gold in a room of silver. It just was too unique. Terminator Salvation had a big robot for like three scenes, so it wasn't like it ranked with Transformers 2.
Monroe writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 8:36:25 PM

I dont think this is news...i think we all saw this one coming.
acslaterson writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 11:12:40 PM

@Clydefamous, I was joking buddy.
Blank x2 writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 12:49:41 AM

bluemeenie, you're right. It's a total flop. No matter how bad you hate it, this movie made 293 million (93 million) over budget in 12 days. Now, with all of your infinite wisdom, does that sound like a "flop" to you?
2sdaybchz writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 1:39:55 AM

This movie will not catch "The Dark Knight". The Dark Knight started strong and stayed strong. It was number one for 5 weeks. Ice Age 3 already tied it for first place in its second week. It may be number one again because nothing else big is coming out for a while but it won't have Dark Knight's staying power. As for expecting Oscar quality summer movies, after The Dark Knight, we all certainly SHOULD!! As long as people keep paying full price (I went to a $4.75 matinee) for crap like Transformers: ROTF, Hollywood will see no need to make better. Godfather Isaacs, while you are correct that the story had all those elements, the EXECUTION of the plot is what was lacking. The humor was childish and in many cases just dumb. The plot holes were HUGE (if that Decepticon can look like a hot college girl, why don't all the Transformers turn into humans?) and the acting was bad. Mudflap and Skidz were so offensive (yes, I'm African-American) I am tempted to swear a blood vendetta against everyone involved with this flick. I do not expect all movies to be great when I buy a ticket, but I don't expect to feel like I was robbed, either.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 2:36:03 AM

LOST WARRIOR,your a hommo,RANGER,you have to seee this movie
Eben1277 writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 6:56:42 AM

Even if i didn't enjoy the movie greatly (which I did) I would still make myself like it just to go against all you haters. That's how you know Michael Bay's doing his job right, 'cause of the number of people hatin on him. Truthfully I liked it more than The Dark Knight. I liked Iron Man more than The Dark Knight. The people pissing their pants and falling all over themselves about how great that movie was need to get a clue. It was good, without a doubt, but people act like it was the second coming of Braveheart. It wasn't even as good as Batman Begins. How can you top a movie with Ninjas and Liam Neeson in it... with Liam Neeson actually being a Ninja??? The only thing could have made that movie better would be Daniel Day Lewis scalping motherf*ckers with a tomahawk, and then putting on a top hat and throwing knives at people. I'll be pissed if TF 2 DOESN'T make more money than The Dark Knight. And Little Nicky did have its moments.
2sdaybchz writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 8:19:09 AM

Prepare to be pissed then, Eben, because it won't get close. Harry Potter's gonna steal its thunder. I hate Harry Potter but it's a fact. Batman Begins was good, but The Dark Knight is a masterpiece. I liked it better than all the other movies you referenced.

Braveheart WAS good. So was Last of the Mohicans. Gangs of New York f*cking sucked!! It was so bad, I broke up with the girl who made me go see it with her...
bluemeenie writes:
on July 7th, 2009 at 11:04:25 AM

@Blank x2 - Yep- big flop. I think McDonalds just opened up two more stores too- 80 million served!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved