WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Reynolds' "Buried" is a One Man Movie

Posted: July 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan ReynoldsSubmit Comment
We recently reported that Ryan Reynolds was set to star in the indie thriller "Buried," about a civilian contractor who is kidnapped in Iraq and awakens buried in a coffin in the desert, armed only with a cell phone, a candle and a knife.

And while we already knew that most of the film's story would focus on Reynolds, we now learn that there is no other actors in the movie.

"It's the only movie I've ever heard of with only one person in it. So it's just me, I'm the only person in the whole movie," Reynolds revealed on an Australian TV show. "It's either going to be the greatest, most experimental cool movie ever made or god knows what."

Rodrigo Cortes will direct a script by Chris Sparling. Production will begin this month in Barcelona.

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 9:18:21 PM

I have faith man! I reckon Reynolds can make this sh*t sick!
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 9:20:32 PM

wow, the director sure loves him some Ryan Reynolds
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 9:38:07 PM

wow sounds intense
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 9:45:46 PM

And this is basically cast away without the beginning or the end
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 10:18:11 PM

Will they do flashbacks, like event leading up to his burial!
coldplayesence writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 11:23:44 PM

Yeah, "Castaway: Underground"
Goat writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 11:24:59 PM

and I thought I am Legend was enough work for Smith, Reynolds is now taking over
BurmaShave writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 11:53:21 PM

There are no other actors, rather.
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:05:55 AM

Reynolds is starting to annoy me so I'll go for: god knows what. Pass.
metathought writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:10:39 AM

I don't see how a movie can work with only one person. Even cast-away had more than one person on the parts that weren't on the island.

Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:45:51 AM

KHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!
dwightschrute writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:58:32 AM

awesome. This one could be a genius idea if handled correctly.
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:02:59 AM

Since when did doing something STUPID become 'genius'? Genius is where a really smart person works hard for a really good idea.

How, may I f*cking ask, is Ryan Reynolds. filmed in a box for ninety minutes, farting, talking to himself and his cell phone, genius? And will Ryan utter a soliloquy on masturbation, reprising his role from Waiting?
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:06:07 AM

True. But his fingers smell like Scarlett's twat, and that's kinda neat.
aioros writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:14:38 AM

who do you say its stupid??? do you already see the movie???? why do you asume is stupid? maybe it will work, maybe not! like reynolds say "It's either going to be the greatest, most EXPERIMENTAL cool movie ever made or god knows what." I only say that wait to see it. In my opinion you need to have some balls as an actor to do a movie like this. good for him. Anyway if this movie fails he still will have scarlett johanson in his bed! jejeje.

P.D. I want a f*ck$%# good deadpool movie!
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:27:39 AM

Dude, it's Ryan Reynolds in a BOX for over an hour! I take sides, I bet with the odds, I play films like an insurance salesman uses actuarial tables. And I've got a damned good record of picking movies people grow to hate or don't like to begin with.

Again, Ryan Reynolds, in a box, with a candle kife and cell phone, for some ninety minutes. Just. Think. About. That. Saying it'll suck in some major way is the epitome of a safe bet.
aioros writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:36:30 AM

anyway i will wait and see it, if i could saw dogville completly i think i can handle this one.

And by the way i knew about this movie since a month ago, i think reynolds gave an interview to ign talking about this.
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:41:35 AM

They'll have to have inserts (how he got there, what led up to it). I mean... NO JOKE... 90 mins in a box without an outside story... not even close to Farrell's 'Phone Booth' I like Reynolds (Ari above says it best), but there's more here than meets the eye.
Aaron writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:52:04 AM

Why does anyone assume he's going to remain in the box throughout the movie? I hope the writers have more imagination than that..
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:11:07 AM

Without other actors, watching Reynolds having no one to play off of is my idea of torture. Hollywood waterboarding. In the box, in the desert, on the john, regardless, Ryan confirms, if you can trust him, that the film is a Reynolds acting monologue.

How is that a good thing? And I like the guy. It's really not even him that worries me. When he has range and room, he can impress. Smokin Aces is an example. But there's no room for him here, no pun intended. His jokey hokey method is out, so I have to have faith he can carry over what I saw from the ending of Amoking Aces into a ninety minute film. Alone. No other actors. It's like Amityville, but in a box and without any other actors.

Common sense alone should tell you to remain skeptical.
Aaron writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:14:05 AM

After a little googling, I stand corrected. Apparently he does remain in the box... And now I'm going to read the script.
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:23:18 AM

script; http://www.sendspace.com/file/zggxw1
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:47:58 AM

No candle, and Sparling doesn't know how to write a script another director can use properly, but he chose his subject matter well.

Simply because it's a movie about being buried alive in a box, a timeless terror, the script is very claustrophobic. Very loose and unprofessional structure.

Graves once had the option of icluding a ground level bell with a wire or rope connection to the grave because people were very very afraid of getting buried alive, medical science not being what it is now. If you got burind alive, you'd ring the bell and hopefull someone would hear and come help.

Claustrophobia is the most common phobia anyway, so by choosing this subject matter, he can immediately affect a max number of viewers.
mmmac writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 8:44:41 AM

@minkowski I'd watch Ryan Reynolds in a box as long as it was Scarlett's
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 11:53:36 AM

I'd pay to see that.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:02:06 PM

...and awakens buried in a coffin in the desert, armed only with a cell phone, a candle and Scarlett...oooo yea!
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:18:11 PM

I hate it when that happens.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 11:19:21 PM

I thought Bones already caught the Gravedigger
monstereoscopic writes:
on July 5th, 2009 at 1:36:58 AM

@ minkowski
hey bro, I can't download the script. You mind given me a summary. Sorry, but I'm about as patient as a slutty gold-digger named Roxanne at a Billionaires convention
Aaron writes:
on July 5th, 2009 at 4:40:42 AM

I didn't think the script was THAT bad.. there was some consistency issues with the candle, and it got topical rather abruptly (not necessarily a bad thing that it got topical - but it got topical abruptly) but.. eh.

As far as professionalism - I can see your point but I don't see how it would at all hinder a director.
Ranger writes:
on July 5th, 2009 at 11:15:16 AM

@monstereoscopic - I dated (ie: poked) that very same Roxanne!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 7:08:16 PM

minkowski

What the f*ck is wrong with you? What's the reason for you hating Reynolds?

He is a goddamn great actor and i couldn't understand what the f*ck were you complaining about 'cause nothing made sense - Ryan said it right: Either this movie is gonna be terrible or a masterpiece - that's up with the writers and I don't trust scripts that go on the internet

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved