WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brandon Routh's Superman Contract has Expired

Posted: July 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brandon RouthSubmit Comment
In an interview with The Omelete, Brandon Routh revealed that his contract to play Superman has expired, which means that he's not obligated to reprise his role in the long-rumored "Superman Returns" sequel.

He added that he has no idea what's currently going on with the second installment, but is certain that Warner Bros is still working on it. And just in case he is ever asked to come back to the franchise, Routh said that he would once again become the man of steel "without thinking twice."

So what's going on with the project? Last we checked, Legendary Pictures had the sequel, called "Superman Unleashed," listed as one of the company's projects that are in development.

Click here to read more about "Superman Unleashed."

Source: Omelete


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 9:21:35 PM

So this means we can expect announcement of the reboot shooting, directors, casting, etc in the next few weeks. Great, no more depressed Clark Kent flying around with an illegitimate child.
Adamtheflash writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 10:29:19 PM

good news
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:07:13 AM

Awesome news.
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:14:19 AM

Great! Time for a fresh new start! Of course this doesn't mean he won't come back. But I hope this is rebooted.
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:38:48 AM

Am I the only person that think Brandon did a good job playing Supes? He had pretty big boots to fill folks (Christopher Reeve was the best)... I think he did ok.
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:47:05 AM

he was "ok", not good. Stiff delivery of lines. Story was butchered beyond belief. REBOOT TIME
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:55:24 AM

Maybe. But I also believe Singer was bringing back the old look to Supes (hard to explain - hmm... how he held up that Mustang over his head was the exact positioning of Supes first appearance in Action Comics 1938). Still playing Supes a bit 2-dimensional from the comics. And story butchered... not Brandon's fault. I'm saying... like the movie or not, Brandon as a stand-alone did pretty well (considering the boots he had to fill). The dumbest thing I thought about the script? Kent and Supes show up at exactly the same time and NO ONE puts it together?! Ugh!
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:56:36 AM

I hope they use Brandon again. Too many actors in the suit dilutes the power of in (only in my opinion). How many Batman's have we had?!
aioros writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:17:30 AM

I also think that routh is a good superman, the only thing on the movie is that lois lane, luthor's plan (land??? are you serious??) and the child didnt help him.
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:28:36 AM

Well, the land thing was an homage to the Christopher Reeve movies with Lex when he was all about land. It was pretty classy for that to be in the movie, and again, all the subtle things we wanted of Supes (like the bullet to the eye for example). And the rescue of the 747 was spectacular.
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:37:27 AM

And yeah... the kid thing was a little strange. I mean... Supes is an alien. But that's Hollywood for ya. Predictable.
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:58:28 AM

People are actually defending Superman Returns? Did NO ONE notice that Brandon Routh, merely lloking like Reeves, had virtually none of the genuine charm, grace and quiet wit of Reeves? Nobody?

Lane was a cold snob c*nt, with NONE of the comic book good traits. None. Did they, the writers, not even BOTHER to read a Superman graphic novel? Totally wasted characterization.

The kid? WTF? I won't even try to dissect that. How does the kid fit into continuity? Is SR placed after Superman IV? And the kid must've been channeling Gohan from Dragonball Z, but instead he yells 'Don't hurt my mommy!', instead of daddy. The piano thing was a poor attempt at ripping the car scene in the first Superman film.

Why did old Stupes travel to Krypton again? The place blew up! No survivors, not there anyway. Can Superman now travel at the speed of light or faster?? I thought it was faster than sound, not light? How did he get there, away from the Sun that gives him power, and back in few years?! Alpha Centauri, the closest star to Earth, is 4.27 light years away! A max round trip would take OVER eight years, not inlcuding the time to 'search for survivors'. Did Superman ask for Batman's utility-belt wormhole? Krypton isn't farther away than Alpha Centauri?? And any idiot, excluding Megan Fox, knows the space between stars is very, very dark. Did Superman brting a book? Toilet paper?

Superman, gone for years, just happens to arrive just as Luthor causes a power blackout via Krytonian crystals from the Fortress of Solitude? The same day, the same hour?

And once Luthor has laid waste to the world, he's going to rule a near dead planet? He's killing the goose that lays the golden egg, so he and a handful of cronies can rule over a massive dead wasteland? Sure.

How did Superman lift the new continent again? He obviously had work catching the falling Boeing plane, earlier in the film, but he can toss continents around, after getting poisoned with green kryptonite? A guy that can toss land masses around can catch a plane in his sleep, with one finger.

And then, he dies, robbing fans of a chance to see Superman's greatest comic book moment, a moment ruined in a maudlin, ineffective and contrived set of scenes that had no place in the damned film. A totally underused and whored out plot device that worked so well in the comics, but f*cked up the chance for fans to see a future film adapation of Supe's climactic and epic death. A truly wasted moment.

bad, bad writing, sh*tty characterizations. The only thing that worked for me was Spacey's Luthor, apeing Hackman decently, but even then, Hackamn was seventies kitsch, so maybe Spaey's role wasn't such a good thing. Did a good job to maintain film continuity, but like Ledger's Joker, those two Luthor's miss the comic book mark by a mile.
FBO writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:27:23 AM

Nata, check out

http://www.amazon.com/Superman-II-Richard-Donner-Cut/dp/B000IJ79WU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1246687552&sr=8-1

It'll help with the illegitimate child thing
FBO writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:30:01 AM

Routh did a great job with the movie. I loved how they played with my nostalgia. And Returns was ten times better than part 3 or 4 so I don't understand why everyone trashes this movie.
minkowski writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:56:42 AM

Because it sucks and makes little sense?
natashaliddleston writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 5:21:26 AM

Saw the Donner cut.. loved it.. didn't need to continue that story. REBOOT REBOOT REBOOT. SO many good story-lines from the comics (particularly the modern) and Singer chooses to continue the story from the 70's? It doesn't work in today's world. You have to modernize it, it certainly worked for BBegins and Casino Royale, why not the Man of Steel?
lost_addict writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 5:32:24 AM

reboot this franchise and enough with lex luthor...new villain please.
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 11:58:41 AM

@FBO - I agree (obviously with my above posts). But anything is better than parts 3 and 4 of Reeves movies. Reeve was 'forced(ish)' to do either 3 or 4 because he really wanted a role in another movie... so that was the deal. Disarming Earth... not a bad idea, so I don't know where 4 went off the tracks so badly. Oh wait... that Kryptonian super-villain made out of that gel, attached to the missile flung into the sun by Supes. Yeah... 3 & 4, MAJOR SUCKAGE! But I still stand on the Routh/Singer soups... it was nostalgia. The entry of his son was lame-o, and minkowski is correct... Lois was the biggest bitch (but Hollywood writes women that way: Liam's ex in 'Taken', Sally Field in Ms. Doubtfire... and all the women between those movies).
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:16:37 PM

minkowski, the flick wasnt that bad. Cheer up man its the 4th of July. Also who would you guys have play Superman because sitting here I cant think of anyone other that Routh. Mainly becasue he's not a big name actor, he's got the look, and everything else aside he did a pretty good job.
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:27:28 PM

Even though Routh was a relative-unknown. I see he only got $1 mil. got playing Supes. Man... I hope he's shopping around for another Agent. He got screwed with his tights on.
mattcl23 writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 1:27:51 PM

I thought Routh was perfect as Superman. Time to reboot and please bring in a super-villian.
thedotsays writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:11:58 PM

Yeah Routh did a good job. Better as Kent than Supes in my opinion. But still good nonetheless. The story was bad but not Sup 3 & 4 bad.
I agree w/ mattc, this franchise needs a super villain desperately. And no Zod, save that for later.
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:35:22 PM

Solomon Grundy. A battle on a planetary (and to the moon) scale. Supes throws him into the sun... etc. BIG sh*t!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:47:41 PM

I really liked him as Superman. As you all have said, it was the terrible script that brought the movie down. Not him. I hope they do a reboot and keep him on. I agree they should add a real super villian. The Death of Superman storyline is great. I'd j*zz in my pants seeing The man of Steel going up against a badass looking Doomsday.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 2:51:31 PM

I just hope they don't try to make the whole movie as dark and dreary as the new Batman movies. Just because it worked for one franchise doesnt mean it will work for Superman. I hope it looks more like Iron Man or the first Spider Man.
Ranger writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 3:03:09 PM

I agree. Not dark. But one to FINALLY showcase his strength. He's nicknamed 'The Planet Mover'... Singer was classy enough to touch upon that with the Routh version. But Kal-El is a lot stronger yet. They REALLY have to UPSCALE his Villain and the battles. I've always seen him sitting on a mountain on the moon, looking at Earth pondering things. A Superhero of his magnitude guarding Metropolis alone is so box-like thinking... it sucks beyond belief.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 11:36:57 PM

The problem with that movie definitely wasn't Routh, it was Singer. He should have made X3 so that ridiculous hack couldn't ruin a decent franchise, and the studio should have left kevin smith in charge of superman.
Ranger writes:
on July 5th, 2009 at 12:08:34 AM

Eben - I don't disagree. Singer did leave X3 to do Supes (being the true comic book lover he is). It was the Studio that was too arrogant to think the didn't need him for X3, they didn't wait 'til he was done Supes... thus the Studio f*cked up X3.
tolgaboy writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 4:45:42 AM

post the gay singerman to hell
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 9:52:02 AM

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Damn it!!! How hard could it have been to get that damn movie right? Jesus!
jsoto127 writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 9:54:00 AM

what they should do is not use Singer
he cant tell a good story
Roth was just fine
Ranger writes:
on July 6th, 2009 at 12:56:59 PM

jsoto - how would you have changed how the story was told (just asking)?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved