WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Public Enemies" - What Did You Think?

Posted: July 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Public Enemies" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"Public Enemies" is currently in theaters and it features two of the hottest actors in Hollywood, Christian Bale and Johnny Depp. If you already had the chance to see the movie, use the comments section below to let us know what you thought of it.

Director Michael Mann is currently going around defending his decision to use HD cameras for a Depression-set film. "I shot in HD for a reason," he said. "My objective wasn't to have people look at a period film, I wanted the audience to be involved in the film."

Did Bale continue using his Batman voice? Was Michael Mann's decision to use HD cameras distracting? Did it have enough action?

Click here to read our "Public Enemies" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
blinkbomber writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 7:16:33 AM

Exactly what you'd expect from a Mann film. Which for me was a plus because I think he's a great filmmaker. Plus it didn't hurt that I got to see Channing Tatum bleed to death...

... was that too harsh?? Eh, oh well.
screamonly writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 8:27:22 AM

Thank you blinkbomber for the SPOILER :(
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 9:19:52 AM

He plays Pretty Boy Flyod, and he was gunned down in Real life, think it is obvious he was going to die in the film screamonly...hint hint John Dillanger was gunned down too!
The Ripper writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 10:06:07 AM

hahaha, who doesnt come on this site and not expect spoilers?
bigmeltz33 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 10:07:06 AM

I think the HD cameras achieved their intended effect and put us right in the action (i.e. the great forest shootout scene). While Johnny Depp did a fine job, Christian Bale was a huge letdown and the rest of the cast was given so little to do. Isn't it called "Public Enemies?" What a misleading title!
borat writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:34:40 AM

I don't get why Christian bale turned into a bad guy
c-prime writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:46:23 AM

I loved it. Johnny Depp was wholly entertaining. Shooting in HD was a questionable decision though. I know Mann claimed it was to immerse the viewer in the show, but it sometimes makes the visuals feel a tad synthetic. I had hoped he'd resist any future opportunities to shoot in HD after making "Miami Vice" (which looked like sh*t), but it seems like those cameras are about to become staples of his work now.
WV-Films writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:56:38 AM

Finally this summer has a movie worth seeing. However due to it's biographical nature the movie suffers from the same issues Ali did. The narrative gets sloppy and it has some pacing issues. Also some of the scenes seem to be out of place. It's hard to tell if it was intentional to make some of these scenes flashbacks or if they got switched around in post. All over though this movie is great.
fatdongs writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 12:10:48 PM

I don't know, I thought it was all right. It began way to slow but i did think the performances were all around great.
AP102390 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 12:14:28 PM

i pretty much agreed with your review, which was a first for me. it was a great movie but there was something missing that i can't quite put my finger on. i think had a few changes been made it could've been the best movie of 2009, however i'll just say it was one of the best movies of 2009
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 12:31:35 PM

@The Skippy Spartan - WHAT...lol?! John Dillanger IS DEAD too?!?!? First him... now Michael Jackson?!?! f*ck THIS PLANET!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 12:40:49 PM

HOLY CRAP....I CALLED THIS ONLY A FEW DAYS AGO (in the Michael Jackson post), Karl Malden is dead. Ahhhh... damn! Really a TRUE Legend in Hollywood!
SACdaddy writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 12:54:38 PM

I thought the movie was ok. It looked good and had plenty of action. It was hard to get past the historical changes with the Purvis character, he didn't gun down Pretty Boy Floyd (maybe after he was already shot by somebodyelse)and he didn't kill Babyface. No big deal though, its not like The Untouchables was was very accurate either. I was also bothered by the shotty editing which kind of distracts you from Depp's performance. All in all I would say its still better than most of the big summer movies this year.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 12:58:06 PM

The scene where Bale carries Dillinger's beaten girlfriend was complete cheese!
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 12:59:04 PM

Hi SAC. Good post. You're dead-on about the Untouchables being off the script (same as Tombstone, might I add... although there was indeed a fight at the OK Corral...lol). Elliott Ness pushing Frank Nitti off the roof, when he went on to run Capone's organization to much greater success after Al was locked up. At any rate... it did influence me to wear Armani every since '87...lol. I guess they're safe to do this in these movies, as they are movies and not doc*mentaries. RIP - Karl Malden.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 1:45:51 PM

i thought this movie sucked ass
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 2:05:27 PM

Why IronHide (and tell us please without showing us your cannon!)?
ironhide-autobot writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 2:26:37 PM

because we all already knew the outcome of the movie,therefore its not complelling or thrilling
padfootbob writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 2:42:23 PM

Well then by that logic, you could pretty much hate it without even seeing it. I loved it!
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 2:45:35 PM

@IronHide - thx. for your kind reply (and for replying), but like the post above this one... everyone knew the story before dropping for the price of the ticket.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 2:47:23 PM

I thought it was horrible, one cool action scene and marion cotillard was enough for me to give it a 4/10. Forgettable performances, no character development whatsoever (minus Dillinger), terrible camera work with an unneccessary amount of closeups (the camera was in their nose). Bad audio. Just looked like a home movie, complete crap. Also, no compelling drama or romantic intimacy between cotillard and depp. Really disappointing film.
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 2:53:24 PM

If you're right, it's too bad. They had a great, historical story to tell, and they could have given it a great 'look' (like The Untouchables). Too bad.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 3:05:06 PM

screamonly clearly you have no idea about the story....like he played pretty boy floyd he was going to f*ckin die...so there was nothing to spoil. especially since its based on true events...amateur
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 3:15:29 PM

FRIED SHRIMP!!!
acslaterson writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 4:04:47 PM

Yeah, because a human going to Autobot Heaven is much more compelling. What a dolt!
thedotsays writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 4:07:40 PM

Going to check it out. And yeah @Ranger, you did call the Malden death. I gave you a shout in the Billy Mays post.Good Call......so what's the next Powerball Number?
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 4:30:11 PM

I like how people get mad about SPOILERS in a historic movie. So basically if you got an F in history, then you wouldn't know what happened. YOU MEAN THE TWIN TOWERS FELL IN THE WTC MOVIE?!?!??! SPOILER!!!
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 4:42:07 PM

@Ranger, dude the guy was 97....he had a good run
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 5:00:53 PM

@ TheDot - yes you did, and I wish I knew...lol. And Bluto... oh 97 is a great life on Earth... especially from such a kind, talented man that obviously made of most of it. Not many classy people in Hollywood like him left. God let the next not be Ernest Borgnine (if I nail that one... I'm going to stop guessing!!!!).
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 6:24:44 PM

hahaha Prophet Ranger
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 7:01:54 PM

lol... thx. Bluto. I just hope I'm wrong about Ernest.
AJWPProfile writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 9:21:22 PM

I didn't really like the HD Camera's I found them a distraction and the sound quality in the theater I went to; It seemed like the noise quality was reduced and I found it irritating so I'll just wait till the Blu-Ray and give it a rental I walked out and got a refund....Nothing wrong with the script or any acting but I just couldn't stick with it in the Theaters.
tswan2076 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 9:31:47 PM

Did anyone think the torturing of Dillinger's girlfriend had a modern subtext about our Gitmo debate? Seems to me that Hoover's "get answers at all costs mentality" mirrors George W. and his terrorism policy. Am I leaping here? (By the way I am Republican)
tswan2076 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 9:34:31 PM

I agree with AJWPProfile. At theater I went to it seemed like the sound was in MONO. The voices were muted and so was the music. The only things that seemed correct soundwise were the explosions. Was this a conscious decision on Mann's part or stupid movie theaters not having good sound? Anyone else have this problem? God, my home theater seemed like it would've been better.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 10:13:09 PM

i also had sh*tty sound in the theatre i went to. i thought it was just the theatre, because they're pretty notorious for f*cking sound up and having broken film reels.
Rush2112 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 10:19:24 PM

I loved the acting in this film. However, that's it, once again Michael Mann butchered a film. Many shots seemed too synthetic and as all Mann films it dragged on way too long. It sucks because it ruined a great story idea based, if loosely, on fact and killed great performances most notably by Depp and Cotillard.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:08:11 PM

well,they did a good job playing out the history RANGER,and it had some pretty cool shoot outs,but i didnt really care about anything in the movie because i already knew wat was gonna happaen,but i did enjoy the action,but it wasnt anything close to transformers 2 type action,that stuff was sweeet
AJWPProfile writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:25:24 PM

I'm just not sure how well this movie will do at the box office anymore. Word of Mouth will soon get around to people that the pace of this is very slow(the only thing it has going for it is acting). The sound quality is horrible like your in the very last row of a acoustic concert. I would place this up with slow moving movies with "The Happening" and "Hot Rod"(Even though that one was funny) Word will get around and now I understand why its a 62% on Rotten Tomatoes
Jedimax writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:43:39 PM

I thought it was terrible.

The score was ridiculous, and the rest of the sounds of the film were all mouse squeaks compared to the "dramatic score". The movie was structure poorly, they didn't develop any of the cops or any of the member of dillinger's gang, so when they die you just really don't care.

And as for the HD camera, its not that it was distracting, it was that every once and awhile the worst editing decisions would be made on the next progressive shot for the scene, and it would result in me being completely taken out of the movie.

SACdaddy writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 6:34:35 AM

I'm sorry but I can't sleep with this on my mind! That scene where Depp cries after his girl gets caught was the worst scene he's ever done! Not only was it a cheeseball, totally unbelievable wimper but it also had NO place in this movie. Let me get this straight, a hardened criminal who had recently broken INTO a prison to get his boys out is CRYING when his girl get captured! Whats even worse is that in practically the next scene he's off to the movies with some other girl. This movie gets worse and worse the more I think about it. BTW I thought it was just my theater that had the sh*tty sound but it sounds more like Michael Mann just did a poor job with the sound editing. This movie was still better than TR2 and Term Salv. but I have to say its at the bottom of my Mann list right next Miami Vice (lostwarrior's fav. movie no surprise he liked PE). OK back to sleep.
Ranger writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 11:26:37 AM

I heard Gary Coleman was hired to play the blanks in the guns?
Ranger writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 11:28:01 AM

@ironhide - good stuff. You've posted kind/honest replies to my 'why didn't you like it'... instead of just leaving it hangin. I still have to see either of these flicks.
papajohn4169 writes:
on July 5th, 2009 at 10:04:32 PM

I actually thought this movie was better then The Untouchables

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved