WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Asteroids" Video Game Being Adapted

Posted: July 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Asteroids" Video Game Being AdaptedSubmit Comment
Universal has won a four-studio bidding war to pick up the film rights to the classic Atari video game "Asteroids." Matthew Lopez (Bedtime Stories, Race to Witch Mountain) will write the script for the feature adaptation, which will be produced by Lorenzo di Bonaventura.

In "Asteroids," initially released as an arcade game in 1979, a player controlled a triangular space ship in an asteroid field. The object was to shoot and destroy the hulking masses of rock and the occasional flying saucer while avoiding smashing into both.

As opposed to today's games, there is no story line or fancy world-building mythology, so the studio would be creating a plot from scratch. Universal, however, is used to that development process, as it's in the middle of doing just that for several of the Hasbro board game properties it is translating to the big screen, such as "Battleship" and "Candyland."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Eben1277 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 5:02:28 AM

Terrible idea... Now maybe a big screen adaptation of ASSteroids...
Eben1277 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 5:22:55 AM

They should make a movie of Venture, that game had the sickest music. Or Jungle Hunt. How the f*ck you gonna make a movie of a game with no story, WTF is the point? What could you possibly need the rights for, it's not like it'll be a movie of a space ship turning in a circle shooting at sh*t for 90 minutes. Even f*ckin Zaxxxon would make a better movie.
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 9:46:18 AM

How about a movie based on the game 'Operation' with a lead character named Jeffrey Dahmer... sponsored by KFC... mmmmm - finger lickin good!
borat writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:47:36 AM

in kazakhstan we just get this game best graphics since pong
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:56:51 AM

lol wtf?...galaga, pac-man, gradius, donkey kong...any of those titles have more story to tell in one finger than asteroids do on the entire asteroid belt
Ranger writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 1:01:04 PM

Next: RUBIK'S CUBE - the movie! Oh wait... Transformers already covered that.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 3:10:23 PM

Galaga was so much better. they should make a CG Zelda movie
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 3:16:37 PM

FRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII-ED SHRIMP
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 3:55:09 PM

i still wanna do a zelda movie...but 80s/90s style...hardly any cgi...based mostly off the first game too, my favorite part was always when link gets the red ring...i'd show ganon as ganondorf with flashbacks...not in the currency and then becomes ganon like on nintendo 64...the only reason i'd use other games is for other items, characters, abilities, and more story line...but that's about it...i wouldn't use the other games' view of the story...i just think that's the rightful way to do zelda...but then again just my opinion...and i said this before, even if somebody else makes it, which another independent company did, i still wanna do my own...don't care if it's sh*tty material/budget/equipment, i'll do it if it has to be that way...i still have my old strategy guide somewhere and it shows the pictures of characters/monsters from the game, and seperate drawings of them realistically just above their video game picture...and that's the concept i'd use for the monsters is based off those drawings...like for instance in 'aliens' the techniques they used to bring the queen alien to life, that's the way i'd try to bring the monsters to life...maybe do cgi on a couple...but keep the rest real...navi the fairy could be done the way julia roberts was as tinkerbell in 'hook'...anyway, that's my view of a zelda movie...what you guys think?
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 4:50:18 PM

well to be honest, i would hate a live action zelda movie, just because Link never speaks just grunts, thats ultimately the hardest part about doin it. plus having like some guy play ganondorf would look soo cheesy, it would have to be the same style as the Final Fantasy. the story would have to either pay homage or be a whole new chapter. if people honestly wanna do this, thats the way to do it. i predict in a few years they'll make a MegaMan Movie. that you can do live acton
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 4:52:14 PM

*same style as Advent Children
BlueMobius writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 7:02:21 PM

The only problem I see with this movie is that at the end of the movie you'll try to leave but will just pop back in the entrance again.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 7:16:27 PM

haha...well i would have link talking...the grunting and noises i'll save for the fights...in the games they never really talked, just text messaged instead...cheap bastards lol...besides, they already did a realistic zelda movie anyway, just google 'zelda movie trailer' and you'll find there's an independent one that's real...and the april fool's joke trailer from last year...anyway i'll still do my own...plus, i wouldn't doubt hollywood has been wanting to do a zelda movie for quite a while...don't care about that either...i'll still make my own low or high budget version, although higher would be sweeter...and hey that worked on two or more levels
Ari Gold writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 7:18:41 PM

LAME!! We all know the money is in an adaption of pong! seriously what the f*ck where they thinking! asteroids.. pfft!
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 8:01:11 PM

oh wow, didn't see that part....matthew lopez is getting paid to write a script to a video game based movie that hardly has any story to tell, so they're gonna make one up and make it fit and hope it makes a fortune....sadly they probably will make money...unless people like us who visit these sites goes out and tells friends and family what they're doing with this movie so that when it does come out it fails miserably...i thought hearing about the karate kid remake was bad but HOLY f*ckIN A
dhkenobi writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 11:42:29 PM

Even if a game does have a story, that apparently still doesn't matter to these studios, with Fox being the biggest douchebags.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 1:35:20 AM

hah true...studios like fox can't afford to be original or creative or stay true...how sad...i mean, i'll give the guy credit for writing bedtime stories, but race to witch mountain i believe was remade in the 90s...and i liked that one better....it had the actress that played will ferrel's wife in 'old school'...and the guy on train from 'ghost'...and now that version is impossible to find i guess...secret disney stash bullsh*t
bluemeenie writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 10:12:01 AM

I'm waiting for the PONG movie....(how many tokens will this cost me?)
bluemeenie writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 10:12:49 AM

[How the f*ck you gonna make a movie of a game with no story,]
ONE word for ya Eben1277- BAY.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 3rd, 2009 at 10:13:58 AM

synthetic1985 Did you see that fan made Zelda movie trailer that came out for April fools this year?
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 7:36:15 PM

there's another one for this year?....well then nope, didn't see it...just saw the trailer for the fan made movie, and the april fool's trailer which looked a bit better...but still i'd try to keep away from cgi...80s effects are still cool to watch
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 4:25:19 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved