WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jessie Usher to Star in "Independence Day 2" as Will Smith's Son
Mar 4th, 2015
First Look at Joseph Gordon-Levitt in Oliver Stone's "Snowden"
Mar 4th, 2015
"Tron: Legacy" Director in Talks for "Gran Turismo" Video Game Film
Mar 4th, 2015
New Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Mar 4th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Captain America Poster
Mar 4th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot in Talks with "Cabin in the Woods" Director
Mar 3rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Open to "Deadpool" Cameo
Mar 3rd, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Mar 3rd, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Hawkeye Poster
Mar 3rd, 2015
Mark Cuban is US President in "Sharknado 3," Ann Coulter is Vice President
Mar 3rd, 2015
Ethan Hawke Re-Teams with Denzel Washington for "The Magnificent Seven" Remake
Mar 3rd, 2015
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ricky Gervais Says British Comedy is Terrible

Posted: July 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ricky Gervais Says British Comedy is TerribleSubmit Comment
British comedian Ricky Gervais (Night at the Museum) has launched a scathing attack on British comedy - insisting it's so bad he can't stand watching TV in his native country anymore.

The funnyman, who has co-written hit comedies "The Office" and "Extras," has blasted British television shows as unoriginal, and slammed writers for lacking ambition.

"I don't watch TV comedy in the UK anymore," he said. "We've got some poor copies of 'Curb Your Enthusiasm,' some poor copies of 'Entourage,' and some poor copies of 'Seinfeld.' With a few exceptions the Americans seem to be ahead of the game... In Britain it's like you shouldn't put your head too high above the other poppies."

Gervais added: "I think it's the way we're brought up. Americans are told they can become the next president. English people are told, 'It won't happen to you'."

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BrundleFly writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:20:36 AM

That explains him going to America to make sh*tty comedies I guess...
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:44:47 AM

amen ricky
screamonly writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:12:35 AM

British Comedy is really good, it's a shame to hear such thing from him!!
what about Little Britain and Katherine Tate Show?!! Britain might be lacking the quantity but defiantly not the quality!
I think he's just kissing the American audience ass!!
PirateDave128 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:19:23 AM

I willa agree we have had some sh*t over here in UK.
Our comedies used to be incredible (Blackadder, fawlty towers etc) but now it seems after Extras and Spaced we havent done a decent comedy in years (aside from Peep SHow). Our attempts in the past 2 years or so have been poor skecth shows (Horne and Corden, Mitchell and Webb Look etc)
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:32:50 AM

sh*tty comedies like what, BrundleFly? He had a small part in Stardust, which was an awesome movie, and then those Night at the Museum flicks, but those were filled with stars anyway. The only movie he really made over here was Ghost Town. Solid, funny movie. 84% on the tomatometer. I'd say his career is pretty flawless right now. Cemetery Junction, Invention of Lying, Flanimals... high hopes for all of them.
wonderBOY writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:33:10 AM

He does know no one has done anything original in the last 5 years its all been the same sh*t.
plus theres lots of great british comedies
peep show, IT crowd, mitchell and webb and so on and so forth
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:34:47 AM

Gervais and Merchant pretty much own comedy in the UK. Seriously though, the only thing funnier is Peep Show. That needs more recognition.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:35:55 AM

Finally, someone who knows of Peep Show. Funniest tv show I've ever seen. I really really wish they'd released the other series on dvd. All that's available is series 1.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:26:56 AM

We do have a wealth of comedies though like Black Books, Blackadder, Phoenix Nights, The Day Today, Alan Partridge, Mighty Boosh, Spaced, Peep Show, The Fast Show. Father Ted, IT Crowd, Monty Pythons Flying Circus, Only Fools and Horses, Fawlty Towers, Red Dwarf, The Young One's, The League of Gentlemen...etc.

I can see where he is coming from as we don't seem to have much in the way of fresh talent and new ideas at present.
I blame the networks for not taking the plunge on new shows. Most of the new BBC ones start at odd times on BBC3 as they are too afraid to take a risk.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:31:31 AM

I will add that Flight of the Conchords is the best thing i have seen in years so thanks HBO!

@screamonly
Little Britain and Katherine Tate were horrible near the end. They just turned into cash cows for the BBC and repeated the same old jokes and ruined all the respect they had earned once.
Iwan writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:55:20 AM

it crowd?
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 7:13:38 AM

I wasn't too impressed at all with the IT Crowd. Love Flight of the Conchords, but most of what I've seen from the UK doesn't hold a candle to Peep Show. (and I'm a huge fan of Extras and The Office)
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 7:17:24 AM

We really need an edit button. Just want to add that I'm well aware Conchords is not british.
nic-hates-joe writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:42:48 AM

i dont like much British comedy but The Inbetweeners is one of funniest things i've seen on TV. ever.
PaintByNumbers writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:49:34 AM

Wouldn't this be just the sort of dry sarcasm that the British think is hilarious?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:10:21 AM

'Is he having a laugh!'
bluemeenie writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:30:20 AM

Thanks for the US version of the Office. Which is better than yours.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:31:10 AM

So Gervais is trying to suck up to America to become president?
paulreynolds writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:44:37 AM

screamonly writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:12:35 AM
British Comedy is really good, it's a shame to hear such thing from him!!
what about Little Britain and Katherine Tate Show?!! Britain might be lacking the quantity but defiantly not the quality!
I think he's just kissing the American audience ass!!

You should write a sitcom because I just laughed at your post. A LOT.
paulreynolds writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:47:16 AM

Ricky actually responded to this, and the title of the page here is 'Ricky says British Comedy is Terrible', which he doesnt in the actual quote used. Anyway, here's what he said in his blog:

"This was my face when I read that I'd "slammed all British comedy".

Well, I said that, at the moment, my favourite comedy is coming out of America, if that counts as "slamming".

Here are some things I like that are British at the moment...

TV Burp
Peep Show


Here are some things I have liked in the past...

Monty Python
Cook and Moore
Fawlty Towers
Ripping Yarns
Reginald Perrin
Rising Damp
Porridge
Blackadder
Fry and Laurie
Harry Enfield
The Day Today
Brass Eye
Father Ted
Big Train"
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:57:36 AM

@screamonly - he may be kissing some American butt, but he's basically right. Brit. humor is not the genius it was that started it all. PaulReynolds above my post gives a great list of past Brit. comedy (don't forget Benny Hill everyone!). At least Ricky is being honest and upfront, and yes may even take some backlash for it back home. But the Brits are a scrappy bunch (remember... standing up to Hilter before the Allies got into the game?), and I like them. And let's not get too afraid to be so PC these days that one can't speak one's mind. His comments may actually re-start the comedy revolution over there and get their funny game face back on. I say Ricky, you da Man!
borat writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 11:58:19 AM

yup just like their food
rocketman writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 2:46:50 PM

Ricky Gervais Says British Comedy is Terrible....
bit rich that Ricky,pot calling kettle and all that.
BurmaShave writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:47:38 PM

Is he havin' a laugh?!
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:02:45 PM

With the exceptions of a few shows, american TV is no better. We don't even need writers over here, it's all reality sh*t.
theo3320 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:39:24 PM

I'm english and i can't stand british comedy
is awful
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 1:33:01 AM

if anything we owe the brits, their copying our comedies and dramas while we copy there "reality shows" everytime you see a new dance show or singing show it was already done in the UK
Over Priced writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 9:22:55 AM

Just because of The Office, I'll let him get away with that

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved