WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ricky Gervais Says British Comedy is Terrible

Posted: July 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ricky Gervais Says British Comedy is TerribleSubmit Comment
British comedian Ricky Gervais (Night at the Museum) has launched a scathing attack on British comedy - insisting it's so bad he can't stand watching TV in his native country anymore.

The funnyman, who has co-written hit comedies "The Office" and "Extras," has blasted British television shows as unoriginal, and slammed writers for lacking ambition.

"I don't watch TV comedy in the UK anymore," he said. "We've got some poor copies of 'Curb Your Enthusiasm,' some poor copies of 'Entourage,' and some poor copies of 'Seinfeld.' With a few exceptions the Americans seem to be ahead of the game... In Britain it's like you shouldn't put your head too high above the other poppies."

Gervais added: "I think it's the way we're brought up. Americans are told they can become the next president. English people are told, 'It won't happen to you'."

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BrundleFly writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:20:36 AM

That explains him going to America to make sh*tty comedies I guess...
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:44:47 AM

amen ricky
screamonly writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:12:35 AM

British Comedy is really good, it's a shame to hear such thing from him!!
what about Little Britain and Katherine Tate Show?!! Britain might be lacking the quantity but defiantly not the quality!
I think he's just kissing the American audience ass!!
PirateDave128 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:19:23 AM

I willa agree we have had some sh*t over here in UK.
Our comedies used to be incredible (Blackadder, fawlty towers etc) but now it seems after Extras and Spaced we havent done a decent comedy in years (aside from Peep SHow). Our attempts in the past 2 years or so have been poor skecth shows (Horne and Corden, Mitchell and Webb Look etc)
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:32:50 AM

sh*tty comedies like what, BrundleFly? He had a small part in Stardust, which was an awesome movie, and then those Night at the Museum flicks, but those were filled with stars anyway. The only movie he really made over here was Ghost Town. Solid, funny movie. 84% on the tomatometer. I'd say his career is pretty flawless right now. Cemetery Junction, Invention of Lying, Flanimals... high hopes for all of them.
wonderBOY writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:33:10 AM

He does know no one has done anything original in the last 5 years its all been the same sh*t.
plus theres lots of great british comedies
peep show, IT crowd, mitchell and webb and so on and so forth
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:34:47 AM

Gervais and Merchant pretty much own comedy in the UK. Seriously though, the only thing funnier is Peep Show. That needs more recognition.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:35:55 AM

Finally, someone who knows of Peep Show. Funniest tv show I've ever seen. I really really wish they'd released the other series on dvd. All that's available is series 1.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:26:56 AM

We do have a wealth of comedies though like Black Books, Blackadder, Phoenix Nights, The Day Today, Alan Partridge, Mighty Boosh, Spaced, Peep Show, The Fast Show. Father Ted, IT Crowd, Monty Pythons Flying Circus, Only Fools and Horses, Fawlty Towers, Red Dwarf, The Young One's, The League of Gentlemen...etc.

I can see where he is coming from as we don't seem to have much in the way of fresh talent and new ideas at present.
I blame the networks for not taking the plunge on new shows. Most of the new BBC ones start at odd times on BBC3 as they are too afraid to take a risk.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:31:31 AM

I will add that Flight of the Conchords is the best thing i have seen in years so thanks HBO!

@screamonly
Little Britain and Katherine Tate were horrible near the end. They just turned into cash cows for the BBC and repeated the same old jokes and ruined all the respect they had earned once.
Iwan writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:55:20 AM

it crowd?
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 7:13:38 AM

I wasn't too impressed at all with the IT Crowd. Love Flight of the Conchords, but most of what I've seen from the UK doesn't hold a candle to Peep Show. (and I'm a huge fan of Extras and The Office)
thomas deadison writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 7:17:24 AM

We really need an edit button. Just want to add that I'm well aware Conchords is not british.
nic-hates-joe writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:42:48 AM

i dont like much British comedy but The Inbetweeners is one of funniest things i've seen on TV. ever.
PaintByNumbers writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:49:34 AM

Wouldn't this be just the sort of dry sarcasm that the British think is hilarious?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:10:21 AM

'Is he having a laugh!'
bluemeenie writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:30:20 AM

Thanks for the US version of the Office. Which is better than yours.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:31:10 AM

So Gervais is trying to suck up to America to become president?
paulreynolds writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:44:37 AM

screamonly writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:12:35 AM
British Comedy is really good, it's a shame to hear such thing from him!!
what about Little Britain and Katherine Tate Show?!! Britain might be lacking the quantity but defiantly not the quality!
I think he's just kissing the American audience ass!!

You should write a sitcom because I just laughed at your post. A LOT.
paulreynolds writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:47:16 AM

Ricky actually responded to this, and the title of the page here is 'Ricky says British Comedy is Terrible', which he doesnt in the actual quote used. Anyway, here's what he said in his blog:

"This was my face when I read that I'd "slammed all British comedy".

Well, I said that, at the moment, my favourite comedy is coming out of America, if that counts as "slamming".

Here are some things I like that are British at the moment...

TV Burp
Peep Show


Here are some things I have liked in the past...

Monty Python
Cook and Moore
Fawlty Towers
Ripping Yarns
Reginald Perrin
Rising Damp
Porridge
Blackadder
Fry and Laurie
Harry Enfield
The Day Today
Brass Eye
Father Ted
Big Train"
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:57:36 AM

@screamonly - he may be kissing some American butt, but he's basically right. Brit. humor is not the genius it was that started it all. PaulReynolds above my post gives a great list of past Brit. comedy (don't forget Benny Hill everyone!). At least Ricky is being honest and upfront, and yes may even take some backlash for it back home. But the Brits are a scrappy bunch (remember... standing up to Hilter before the Allies got into the game?), and I like them. And let's not get too afraid to be so PC these days that one can't speak one's mind. His comments may actually re-start the comedy revolution over there and get their funny game face back on. I say Ricky, you da Man!
borat writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 11:58:19 AM

yup just like their food
rocketman writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 2:46:50 PM

Ricky Gervais Says British Comedy is Terrible....
bit rich that Ricky,pot calling kettle and all that.
BurmaShave writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:47:38 PM

Is he havin' a laugh?!
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:02:45 PM

With the exceptions of a few shows, american TV is no better. We don't even need writers over here, it's all reality sh*t.
theo3320 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:39:24 PM

I'm english and i can't stand british comedy
is awful
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 1:33:01 AM

if anything we owe the brits, their copying our comedies and dramas while we copy there "reality shows" everytime you see a new dance show or singing show it was already done in the UK
Over Priced writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 9:22:55 AM

Just because of The Office, I'll let him get away with that

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved