WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Illegal Downloading Just Got More Difficult

Posted: July 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Illegal Downloading Just Got More DifficultSubmit Comment
LA Times is reporting that The Pirate Bay, the most notorious website for illegal music and movie downloading, has agreed to go legit by letting Global Gaming Factory acquire it for around $8 million.

Hans Pandeya, CEO of Global Gaming Factory, said he intends to cooperate with studios and record labels to turn Pirate Bay into a copyright-friendly, legal business. And Pandeya already has an idea of how to turn the site's 20 million users, who are accustomed to getting content for free, into paying customers.

"To compete with free file sharing, you have to beat it," he said. "What's better than zero? Well, that's paying somebody $1."

Global Gaming Factory plans to pay Pirate Bay users to let their computers be part of a worldwide peer-to-peer system. Participating computer owners could use the money deposited into their account to buy and download songs, TV shows or movies.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lost_addict writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:02:45 AM

so?there are like 100 other websites...
jjjjjoey writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:35:04 AM

Yup. And what's cheaper than paying 1 dollar? Paying nothing!
Ted Mosby writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:42:40 AM

lol did they really think this would stop anything... like lost_addict said... 100's more haha
shteak writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 6:25:31 AM

This is the beginning of the end for P2P, Seriously!!! It'll be Demonoid or Mininova next... It's going pretty slow but soon we'll all be getting cease and desist orders from our ISPs, then we'll get throttled, then banned... I always thought ISPs would never cut off their biggest users(People who use P2P) because of the revenue, but recent activity in Europe and the US has made me realise that they would sell us down the river as long as the pressure from the music industry and hollywood continues... We knew we couldn't win in the end! R.I.P. P.B.
Iron Josh writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:02:49 AM

I stream....
PaintByNumbers writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:45:39 AM

If you were still using Pirates Bay - then you were doing it wrong anyway.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:49:24 AM

I used Pirate Bay occasionally, but stick to Mininova for most stuff...hopefully that won't go soon
bluemeenie writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:27:17 AM

Never heard of the site...now deffinately never going there.
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 11:15:14 AM

WEBSTERS: 'Downloading': what the Director of Twilight does with Robert Pattison?
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 11:59:40 AM

TESTIMONIAL: Robert Pattison star of Twilight - downloads from The Butt-Pirate Bay!
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 12:47:53 PM

i stopped downloading several years ago
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 12:54:52 PM

Ouch Synthetic - you posted a little close to my Webster's joke.
takai writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 1:04:38 PM

PaintByNumbers-you're absolutely right. hahaha
bacci40 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 2:03:35 PM

forget the music...that site was great for finding apps....gonna be hard to find a new one
padfootbob writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 2:50:55 PM

Except they didn't give them $1, they gave them $8 million.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:05:14 PM

Yesss- just like how they turned Napster legit and look how it slowed us down sooooo much. The creation of DVD's increased film piracy. If you weren't so f*cking greedy by making movie players obsolete and forcing people to buy new technology- you'd still be rolling in all your home video cash. But no- "Lets end digital piracy and CD burning by creating digital video files that can easily be transferred electronically or digitally burned to CD..."......

Yeah...they are crime fighting geniuses.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:10:27 PM

The only way BlueRay will takeover is if they stop making normal DVD titles...which will probably happen and Im sorry- $40 for a BlueRay disc is absolute bullsh*t. Im not impressed. Ever notive how DVD's were crystal clear until BlueRay came out? They are purposefully making DVD picture grainy- because I don't see the vast difference between my laserdisc and DVD titles compared to BlueRay until the titles released after the year 2007. So they make halfassed DVD compressions now...but I dont care- I ain't buying BlueRay- go f*ck yourselves.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 7:05:40 PM

PrevalentMind - Sorry but your theory is all wrong. And I'll use an easy example. The Matrix was one of the best looking DVD's at the time it was released. But having recently seen a screen to screen comparison of The Matrix DVD vs. Blu-Ray on my friends TV - there is no contest. Blu-Ray is the real deal - tho I agree it is way too expensive, we have to remember that DVD was just AS expensive during it's early years. I love conspiracy theories as much as the next guy but it all comes down to lines of resolution. DVD & LaserDisc were very close in that department - 500 for DVD vs. 425 for LD. That's pretty close. Blu-ray as we all know is HD which can go up to 1080. BTW up-converting DVD players are a joke. Did a test with IronMan up-converted DVD vs just DVD and it's the same.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 7:13:36 PM

As far as these Torrent sites go.....well as many get bought out or close down 1 to 2 more will pop up in it's place. New names - same games. Does this guy really think that these giant companies are going to let him sell their sh*t for $1 when they already have a good thing going with iTunes, Netflix, etc. And it's called The Pirate Bay. Who wants to buy legal sh*t from a company called The Pirate Bay. It makes zero sense. Ppl go there because it's free. None of them will stay now. It's like saying ppl will continue to shop at Wal-Mart if the prices go up because they like to shop there and they are established to that chain. No!!! Ppl don't like going to Wal-Mart. They go there because it's cheap. Nobody actually wants to be there. I mean look at their employees faces.....
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 7:37:25 PM

sometimes people prefer old quality...ever noticed how clear indy 4 looks on blu ray?...almost looks too clear, like a playstation 3 game...and yea that's just way too expensive for blu rays...when dvd's first came out they were what? 25 bucks a new one?...like vhs used to be?...oh well...people have their preferences and i have mine so...i haven't bought a single blu ray yet, but i've watched many blu ray movies though...why pay for it when a friend or family member has one??...it's easy to do justice to hollywood...most people just can't see it, that's my guess...or some are stupid and pay for it anyway, or both...one thing i know is that i won't have to pay to watch transformers 2 again...not as long as somebody else buys it or lets me watch...f*ck giving them more money!...hollywood makes too much money off of greed and too many ruined remakes...i say think twice before paying to see a particular movie...in the case of transformers 2, only payed once, just to see action, nothing more...not gonna pay anymore than that...like i said before, it's really not that hard to do justice to hollywood
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:10:21 PM

Post Man- the truth is Superbit DVD is just as clear. When you load up on special feature though the film has to be compressed at a lower bit rate to be able to fit on a dual layer disc. The Matrix had loads of features and hidden egg extras not to mention a lot of interactive features...but you put Panic Room DVD Superbit next to its Blue Ray version- and you cant tell the difference. But I'm not wrong about illegal film downloading...they rob the files or they rip the DVD's- if everything was still on VHS pirating would be soo lame right now. You'd have to find a tape, have the means to digitally import in on a pc or mac and then you'd have to compress the file yourself before putting it on a peer to peer site...so I'm not wrong. Moving onto digital files increased piracy rates. It's really simple as film piracy wasn't even an issue in 2000-though music downloading was. The only people complaining about piracy before DVD was Metallica,
thedudeman69 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:24:20 PM

f*cking sell outs
nefilim writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 1:55:54 AM

PrevalentMind
you are totally wrong about dvd, wether it`s suberbit or not and blu-ray. have you actually seen BR films ? it`s a totally new system. I have suberbit quick and the dead and it`s nothing compared to apocalypto blu-ray, just to name a one film.
Eben1277 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 5:20:04 AM

The only thing Pirate Bay is good for is porn.
padfootbob writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 2:10:58 PM

One day I'll get a BlueRay player, just to make my DVDs look a little clearer, but I won't buy any BlueRay movies until the prices drop.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 4:36:12 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved