WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Heath Ledger Tried to Sabotage "The Dark Knight"?

Posted: June 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Heath Ledger Tried to Sabotage "The Dark Knight"?Submit Comment
A Vanity Fair article decided to take a closer look at Heath Ledger, including the reason for his decision to play The Joker in last year's "The Dark Knight."

According to Ledger's agent Steven Alexander and cinematographer/friend Nicola Pecorini, the actor had a pay-or-play deal on "Knight," which means that he would be compensated no matter how terrible he ends up being. This gave Ledger the freedom to do what he wanted with The Joker.

But the real decision to take the role was because of the film's unusually long shoot, which would give Ledger an excuse to turn down other offers. And since he was guaranteed to collect a paycheck, Ledger was hoping that his performance would be so "far-out" that he would end up being fired and become the beneficiary of a lengthy, paid vacation.

His agent added that while Ledger wanted to get paid, he didn't want to be part of the massive blockbuster that "The Dark Knight" turned out to be. "[Ledger] was always hesitant to be in a summer blockbuster, with the dolls and action figures and everything else that comes with one of those movies," Alexander explained. "He was afraid it would define him and limit his choices."

Source: Vanity Fair


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WV-Films writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:27:44 PM

Well he was right. Although this whole article seems a bit too ridiculous for me to believe.
Onetinsoldier623 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:30:32 PM

Well it looks like his choices are pretty limited now! Aren't they!
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:31:52 PM

Wow...how can Vanity Fair pack more f*cking bullsh*t all into just one article. OK... Ledger took a role he didn't want (because it had merchandising... something his Agent said he didn't want a part of), but liked the long shoot time to turn down other roles... and he wanted to act badly so as not to get paid although he was guaranteed a paycheck?! Well... f*ck me gently! My brain has just been raped!
sachem writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:33:45 PM

I think this is nonsense. The Dark Knight certainly wasn't the first summer blockbuster Heath appeared in.
DisasterBlaster writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:34:09 PM

He wanted to get fired...f*ck off with this tabloid bullsh*t.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:34:33 PM

I think the only thing accurate in this article is the spelling of Heath's name.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:35:26 PM

He gave a stellar performance for someone that didn't want to do this.
mariachi writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:36:31 PM

bullsh*t. word for word.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:38:06 PM

it might explain why he was so good, the man did not give a damn at first. And people are usually at there best when they dont give a f*ck. they usually dont listen to others and just do what they want. Yeah it may be selfish but the end result is what matters.
borat writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:48:59 PM

he was pretty over the top tho i mean for a criminal
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:54:24 PM

I watched this movie only a week ago. I was smiling and my friend's wife asked me why. I said: 'They are finally playing the Joker the way he was meant to be played.'
Ari Gold writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 7:13:26 PM

HAHA! I believe it man! He was the only thing entertaining in that movie!
RIP
SACdaddy writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 7:31:52 PM

Between the Batman and the Brokeback fans on this website this guy is getting more sympathy f*cks in death than he ever got in life. Stop ridin his d*ck so he can get along to being dead!
ilovebatman writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 7:41:25 PM

Ranger you d*ck sucking faggot there's no way you did that sh*t you faggot
acslaterson writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 7:42:39 PM

I don't know about this article, the whole money thing throws it off. f*ck, he was in smaller movies like Candy andi think he just preferred those smaller roles. Every actor takes a pay day job once in awhile but to say he tried to sabotage the movie is stupid. He did with the character what he wanted to, artists like that should be comended. Heath prefered being an actor, not a movie star. Bale on the other hand prefers being a movie star and that is why there was such a lopsided difference in TDK. Bale phoned it in, sh*tty Bat voice and all.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 7:59:53 PM

@iovebatman... LOL!
Mattthoing writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:17:20 PM

I kinda believe that about Heath Ledger doesn't want to be labeled actor but Jesus Christ, Vanity Fair! Leave Ledger's reputation in peace.

Why so serious?
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:23:24 PM

Because they can pretty much make this stuff up now and there's no Heath left to sue them.
akumavern writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:33:28 PM

Sabotage it by so commiting to the role he died.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:46:58 PM

acslaterton how tiny is your d*ck? The only thing you do is try to bring down actors on your stupid posts.

btw this article has bullsh*t written all over it. The guy dies and there's no way he can refute it. REAL classy Vanity Fair.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:54:03 PM

acslaterton: "Heath prefered being an actor, not a movie star. Bale on the other hand prefers being a movie star"

... yeah because you always see Bale out and about waving to cameras like Heidi and Spencer milking off his fame right? Or is it because Christian Bale does SOOO many romantic comedies and doesn't do serious roles? (inserting sarcasm so your idiotic mind doesn't get confused) They're both great actors and did a great job on the film. Go jack off to in the closet while wearing your joker paint good for nothing c*nt.

- Natasha L.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:55:46 PM

So now Vanity Fair is on my list of sh*t rags like Cosmo. Guys... if you ever start dating a lady, go into her bathroom (I was going to say 'sh*tter'... but that draws another image... doesn't it (wink!))... and there's a pile of Cosmo on the crapper lid. RUN YOUR f*ckING ASS RIGHT OUT HER DOOR! That magazine f*cks 'em up as bad as their father's penetrations!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 9:06:17 PM

@Natasha and what lately has Bale done that is so damn great. I mean the machinist was really awesome. but besides that he has done nothing except big budget films and im also talking about the prestige.That movie was alright but honestly Bowie was the best in the f*cking film. So yeah perhaps Bale has recently gotten a head the size of texas. No need being a c*nt rag with fluids gone wrong all the time.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 9:09:02 PM

Natasha (if you're a guy... you have issues) straddling the gauze maybe?! Being visited by Aunt Flo? Riding the Mouse Mattress? Ridin' the waves with the little man in the tomato boat? Oh... and IF the tomato truck is blocking the highway... TAKE THE DIRT ROAD!
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 9:18:10 PM

i don't really believe this...besides...remember his interview how he talked about nolan and expressing his ideas?...and how they connected instantly like they were meant to do this like led zeppelin formed so quickly?...and guess what else?...even if this article was true, he was divorced...and heath always wanted to entertain, just like michael jackson did...sheesh...give people some sympathy and stop hating like i used to...i mean, ask yourselves this...was this better than batman and robin?...or batman forever?...i would say so...i mean sh*t they stayed 99.9 percent true but the only flaw was that 0.01 counts for two face dying too soon, joker might not come back...i give that more credit than movies like dragonball or wolverine or iron man, but not others also...still, was very passionate...the budget was less than transformers 2 and it made more than transformers 2...nolan had the balls to do what hardly any other studios do to comic movies
lostwarrior writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 9:27:15 PM

And ranger thats why i have been with a bi sexual woman for about 8 years now. Its great,, no sh*tty magazines, no bullsh*t romance movies and plus when u get f*cked up and you talk about how great p*ssy is. So im sorry man, never had to deal with cosmo mags in the sh*tter or anything like that.
Charlie9 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 9:48:10 PM

yeah, coz harsh times and rescue dawn were massive budget films
Sinestro writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 9:48:44 PM

Was he worried about how he would be defined when made garbage like A Knight's Tale and The Order?
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:00:40 PM

@lostwarrior - thank GOD Cosmo never sucked you in! You've been sounding level-headed in all your posts my friend.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:10:03 PM

@Sinestro - but A Knight's Tale had music by Queen!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:10:31 PM

rescue dawn was not really good. It was flat, it went absolutely nowhere at all. and harsh times is they type of film that bale should still be doing. IT was brillant. I will give u that. my bad...
lostwarrior writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:22:02 PM

cant wait for his last film though. Terry Gilliam is a genius.ANd Regardless vanity fair is beyound f*cked up putting this story in. I hope Michelle sues them or some sh*t. That is disrespectful.
acslaterson writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:47:54 PM

Hahaha, wow I didn't know I was going to piss anyone off with that post. Bale is good when he does small movies, which he has pretty much abandonded for the big pay checks and when he does those big paycheck roles he phones it in. 3:10 to Yuma and Harsh Times were the last two movies I admired his portrayal of a character and enjoyed the film. Batman dropping a deuce voice really doesn't make me admire his portrayal of the character. I won't insult you back, oh f*ck it. A bisexual chick posting on a movie website overrun with testosterone? I bet you are a huge bull dike who only bends over to take c*ck because a classy lesbo would never go for you. Ever seen the one "shim" in Big Love? That is what I am guessing you look like. Go f*ck yourself with a pine cone.
ilovebatman writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:55:24 PM

wow a pinecone...damn that's gotta hurt
BrandoFresh writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:02:32 PM

That sounds believable to me. (about him not wanting to be part of a summer blockbuster) He did turn down Spider-Man.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:04:28 PM

Well then I guess he really limited his choices.
acslaterson writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:05:57 PM

@Ranger, haha. My girl just started buying Cosmo out of nowhere last month(after being together for 3 years and never seeing one), advice on that one?
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:15:13 PM

Wow natasha calm the f*ck down. I totally agree with him, Bale isn't that great as Batman. That f*cking voice is so lame. I'm not saying he's not a good actor. The Machinst and Rescue Dawn were great movies with great acting by Bale. But I don't know he just seemed flat in Terminator and TDK
acslaterson writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:33:57 PM

Ok, now I feel bad even though I have no idea who you are. I apologize for telling you to dildo yourself with a pine cone.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:35:45 PM

@acslaterson - yes... show her this post on Heath Ledger... if it pisses her off too, tell her Cosmo is worse! Remember that post of mine a while back about a girl I dated for 10 days, broke up with her, she showed up to my work with a dozen long stem roses and a marriage proposal (which I still have... we call that evidence!), I still didn't see her, then 2 weeks later I'm served with papers... she tried suing me for $300K (she was going bankrupt... I forgot to mention that)? She either wanted $'s from me, or to run up a legal bill... well... COSMO ON HER sh*tTER LID!!!
acslaterson writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:45:40 PM

Hahahaha, I am going to have to stop this trend then.
Ari Gold writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:50:33 PM

Bad luck ranger, bad luck.. Hate those ones who believe its fair for em to take half your sh*t! 10 days lol and she tries and sues for 300k lol
Hollywood1086 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:55:34 PM

idk how much i believe this. while i believe he might have been hesitant to get involved in a huge scale blockbuster, as a lot of hardcore actors are, i doubt he purposely tried to go out there JUST to get fired. that seems a little ridiculous. i think he'd done enough films to not be defined by the joker. actually, i think that since he died and wasn't able to stretch any further, it DID end up defining him. it was his last glorious moment that was finished that everyone saw, and it will be the impression of his that i think lasts the longest.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:56:53 PM

Well... she was going bankrupt... lol. Ugh. Nightmare on Bitch Street! When she gave it all up (6 months later), I couldn't counter-sue her because she was broke... biach!
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:58:08 PM

@Hollywood1086 - no worries friend. I don't think anyone on here believes what Vanity Fair is trying to shovel. Damn sc*mmy of them to pull this sh*t on a dead man.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:58:17 PM

Damn! Although ridiculous, her attempt at 300k must mean she knew you had some serious dough! Can I date you for ten days? I'll only sue for like 3k
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 12:02:52 AM

Nooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! lol.
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 12:06:09 AM

And I really didn't back then (the $'s), I just think Princess was pissed that I declined her proposal. And she had some 'splaining 2 do Lucy!' to her family (that liked me) and to where I disappeared to. But back to Vanity Fair... are you reading Vanity... YOU SUCK!!!
screamonly writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 12:58:06 AM

The guy Died!! what's more do they want from him,i just hate it when any toblaid news would write anything just for the sake of selling few extra copies!
Spanza2 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 1:02:44 AM

Well It defined him and i think it defined him as the great performance of the last decade...soo whoops heath, you f*cked up more then once i guess lol
Buby writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:35:42 AM

Didn't he say in some interview that playing the joker was the most fun he'd ever had?
SoftimusPrime writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 4:39:19 AM

EXCUSE ME! Not only does the article sound very far fetched, but inaccurate as well. The pay-or-play deal it referres to is actually a contract which means that they attach "the talent" to a project, and after he or she commits to it, he or she will get paid even if the project itself doesn't materialize in the end. Example: Tim Burton in the case of his ill-fated Superman project. He was officially attached to it until the studio decided to go a different way and he got paid anyway.
Bystander85 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:32:31 AM

its not who he is, its what he did that defined him
optimusprime writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 8:30:41 AM

This doesn't sound right at all. Ledger worked tirelessly to perfect ths role. He even had a "Joker file" of a bunch of Joker info that he constantly made referance to. Why would someone work so hard if he wanted to get fired? Rubish I say.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 9:12:31 AM

WP, stop publishing trash, please.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:23:03 AM

[Heath Ledger Tried to Sabotage "The Dark Knight"?] DUH- We all saw the movie- Joker was going after BM the whole time...
bluemeenie writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:26:20 AM

Does Vanity Fair remember he won an Oscar...? Why would anyone think TDK would be a failure? Begins was a hit-Ledger sounded business savy that's all.
Ranger writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 12:22:44 PM

This article is so much trash talk. Vanity Fair... the NEW Cosmo.
njj37 writes:
on July 2nd, 2009 at 4:40:38 PM

explains his terrible performance, thats right sum1 who actualy hated the new joker!
Odd writes:
on July 8th, 2009 at 6:43:37 PM

@natashaliddleston im love..when do we get married?!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved