WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Reeves on Remaking "Let the Right One In"

Posted: June 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Reeves on Remaking "Let the Right One In"Submit Comment
"Cloverfield" director Matt Reeves spoke LA Times about his upcoming remake of the Swedish horror film "Let the Right One In," which is about a lonely 12-year-old boy who realizes that the kind girl who moved in next door is a vampire.

"I was just hooked," Reeves said of the first time he watched the film. "I was so taken with the story and I had a very personal reaction. It reminded me a lot of my childhood, with the metaphor that the hard times of your pre-adolescent, early adolescent moment, that painful experience is a horror."

Reeves recently finished the second draft of the script and plans to being directing soon. The remake is called "Let Me In" and will be set in Reagan-era Colorado in order to maintain the original story's chilly, snow-swept environment. Reeves added that he won't make the character any older to capture the "Twilight" audience.

And for those who are afraid that Reeves will ruin the original film, the director has the following to say: "There's definitely people who have a real bull's-eye on the film and I can understand because of people's love of the [original] film that there's this cynicism that I'll come in and trash it, when in fact I have nothing but respect for the film. I'm so drawn to it for personal and not mercenary reasons, my feeling about it is if I didn't feel a personal connection and feel it could be its own film, I wouldn't be doing it. I hope people give us a chance."

Trailer:


Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:26:23 AM

keanu?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:56:30 AM

If you haven't seen Let the Right One In RUN dont walk to your closest video store and pray that its not rented out (it usually is)! This is the best vampire movie made in the last 10yrs. I watched it 3 times before lending it to all my friends who, after seeing it, had the same reaction. It even got me laid! There is no way this movie can be remade the right way in America. No matter what this director really wants, the studio will push for a PG13 version (like The Ring and The Grudge) to make them $$$ and the film will be ruined. Go buy the original NOW before this watered down American crap makes a mockery of it.
rocko writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:20:38 AM

Why do they have to remake a film just because its not in english? Are they that lazy that they cant read the subtitles?
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:19:27 AM

Yeah? Who cares about the director when this film was always CAST dependent. SO Reeves- if you cast a bunch of f*cking unsympathetic tools to be the leads you, in turn, DID ruin it. Good luck trying to find two kids like the original in the sea of sh*tty child actors. If I see Will Smith's kid in this one, I'm gonna sh*t bricks.
MrSammich writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:35:09 AM

Man that guy is sostupid. That is like me saying I loved Boondock Saints when it first came out and remaking it. Let the movie succeed ass, it is not your movie, f*ck off. I will always have teh original and have no fear of the movie being 'ruined' but I think this movie could have made a much larger impact if they were not trying to remake it as soon as it cameout in theaters, look at the money Pan's Laberynth, they gave it a good release and it made abundle, this had that potential but the release was a joke only three theaters in my state were showing it. So I think they watered down the success of the movie knowing they were remaking it. Well good luck with that.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:36:29 AM

He's gonna blow it no matter what Let the Right One In is just one of those films he's trying to cash in on and everyone knows it. If you haven't seen this movie yet go watch it it's amazing!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:13:02 PM

Letting the Right One In is Matt Reeves???
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 2:17:59 PM

hahaha Yeah definitely should have left him standing on the doorstep...
padfootbob writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 2:42:05 PM

But.... Cloverfield wasn't even good. I'll still give him a chance, he just better not dumb it down to a PG-13.
sachem writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 4:13:54 PM

So typical. Give the talented foreign directors some good material to work with in Hollywood instead of having less talented individuals remaking every damn non-english movie worth watching.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:12:03 PM

Why is it here in the us you always hear about remakes and so on. But yet in other countries they are still doing original work. And most if it is well done. next thing u know well be a us version of mum and dad. its just getting old. How about the studio exec green light original movies. So far all we are getting besides sequels, reboots and remakes is comic films.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:35:55 PM

Why not just greenlight a sequel and bring it to the US? Use the same kids and show what they have to go through to keep eachother safe and fed. I'm sure the story of a young boy on the road with his hungry bloodsucking girlfriend would get someone in the theaters.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:20:14 PM

SO very true true. What happened to the days when unofficial sequels leeched off of better films? Oh the 80's...only knew ya for 6 years and I still miss you.
bacci40 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 2:06:05 PM

first of all, it should be r rated, which cuts out the entire twilight audience...and this isnt a feel good vamp story...its twisted...get miley cyrus to play the vamp...she looks like a boy
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:45:15 AM

Whatever you say Matt Reeves, the point will be, can you ever exceed what Let the right one in did to all of us. The feeling of being there. You will never know that because the f*ck, you're so arrogant, you f*ckin idiot. If you cared for the film, you should leave it as it is. Okay!!! Enuff said. Do you really think that people will give you a chance. They will just see the movie out of curiosity. Get that into your c*ckroach head fool!!!!
Supersweetguy writes:
on July 4th, 2009 at 12:46:04 AM

Who cares about what you say!!! Your movie will just be Twilight, a mediocre film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved