WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Richard Donner Working on "Goonies" Sequel?

Posted: June 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Richard Donner Working on "Goonies" Sequel?Submit Comment
Over the last couple of years there have been talks of "The Goonies" sequel, but nothing ever materialized. Then about two months ago, the cast and crew of the film got together for Empire magazine's 20th anniversary. Actor Corey Feldman mentioned that he hoped this gathering would have inspired Richard Donner and Steven Spielberg to push forward with "The Goonies 2."

Chris Columbus, who wrote the original film, is now working on "Percy Jackson," which stars "Goonies" cast member Joe Pantoliano. The two men sat down for a chat one day and Pantaliano revealed that Donner is trying to re-assemble the cast for "Goonies 2."

"[Pantoliano] said that Richard Donner talked to him about six months ago about the sequel," Columbus told Sci-Fi Wire. "I think the only way it could be done is if the kids are now the parents, and their kids have become the Goonies. I still think the two brothers are still alive and well, so they could still be in the movie. So it's a matter of whether or not they could re-create that concept."

Columbus added that he can't imagine a movie in which kids simply go on an adventure, since distraction like television, internet and video games get in the way. "Maybe if all the parents in the new Goonie movie forbid their kids to play on the Internet, that's gotta be the plot," he explained. "You can't go anywhere near a computer or cell phone. I guess the adventures are online."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thomas deadison writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:21:51 PM

Last couple of years? I've been hearing this for the last 15.
rzmsauce writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:23:24 PM

yea seriously, I remember this rumour in public school right after the movie came out
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:41:21 PM

A Goonies sequel... Zzzzz... Be still my throbbing erection.
Ted Mosby writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:41:44 PM

straight to DVD probably
lostwarrior writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:48:53 PM

Its a shame they are doing this. I mean they are remaking-rebooting all the films that were great when i was growing. and part of that was because they looked real, u know no bullsh*t cgi or half ass stories. bottom line dont make a sequel it would ruin it completely.
whoever writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:34:58 PM

At least they are not remaking it!!!!
bale01289 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:24:26 AM

Please no.....please no!
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 2:20:18 AM

if the kids are now the parents and their kids have to be the goonies now...that won't work...unless the original kids partake...that might work...but honestly would they go for that idea for a sequel...probably not i'd say...they could just go for another quest seeking other buried treasures...there's so many possibilities that they could do for a successful sequel...but i don't think it'll happen in a rightful manner...would sloth ever be back?...that's a good question too...after all, he was kind of featured in 'the hills have eyes' remake as one of the bad guys, but i don't think that was intentional there...and when you're a kid watching the goonies...from my experience...when that old lady almost cuts mouth's tongue...i got all scared lol...the goonies is a classic that generation after generation can enjoy...hardly any movies like that these days...why else do people still watch classics?...probably cuz it's appreciated a lot more than ever nowadays...and proof of that is cuz of all these remakes...i mean, what else is there to conclude?...charlie chaplin knew these things about hollywood...they were saying his old cheap sh*t material wouldn't work and that audiences would hate it...but he proved them wrong...with his own money and his own talents and with his own passion...f*ck the greedy hollywood of today
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:29:56 AM

The Goonies is an amazing stand alone film. Why do we need a sequel?? Unless Spielberg has an amazing story I think he should leave this alone.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:22:01 PM

I'm scared!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 1:00:06 PM

If Donner did it-it could have a chance..But I doubt it'll ever happen.
mattcl23 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 4:05:09 PM

C'mon make this work. I would love to see another Goonies. But ONLY if they don't turn it into Spidey 3. But I think that the people attached to the film are smart enough to realize this...?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved