WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Bay on Negative "Transformers 2" Reviews

Posted: June 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Bay on Negative "Transformers 2" ReviewsSubmit Comment
Michael Bay's "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is currently breaking all sorts of records at the box office. The film has earned $201 million during its first five days, falling $2 million short of beating the five-day haul of "The Dark Knight."

Fans are obviously packing the theaters to see "Transformers 2," but critics have been trashing it, calling it "beyond bad" (Rolling Stone) and "bewildering and sloppy" (The Village Voice). On RottenTomatoes, the sequel has a dismal 20% rating, the lowest in Bay's career. So why is there such a disconnect between fans and critics?

"I think they reviewed the wrong movie. They just don't understand the movie and its audience. It's silly fun," said Bay about film critics. "I am convinced that they are born with the anti-fun gene. The reviews are just so vicious. A lot of them are more personal than anything else."

Click here to read our "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" review.

Source: LA Times

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
alexzzzz writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:35:56 PM

f*ck all those negative reviews
transformers was amazing!!!!
borat writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:42:17 PM

i dont think bay really gives a damn hes rich biatch
Strider23 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:52:51 PM

Revenge Of The Fallen Was Incredible!!! Fantastic Movie All The Critics Are Idiots Bay Is Right Critics Are Boring Tards Who Hate Everything And Are Anti Fun Anti Awesome

Revenge Of The Fallen Was Remarkable!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:55:05 PM

honestly who cares the man is wealthier than most so im sure we have many many more bad movies from this man to come. and borat u actually said something half way intelligent. Congrats.. im sure your parents i mean brother and sister are really proud of u
LAGART writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:18:45 PM

Guys that are simple, Mr. Bay is fed by their minds, who are amazed to view images of action and very bad jokes. Understand the Sr.Bay bad director.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:28:00 PM

Bay may be onto something. Aside from the "racist" Twins, Megan Fox's "acting" (like Bay said in a related story, Fox has a chance to get better like the rest of the actors he used, like Will Smith and Ben Affleck; the others didn't fare too well), the balls on Devastator (they looked more like wrecking balls than testicles), and any other silly criticisms, "Transformers 2" was the most fun I had all summer, and I'll take that to the grave.
JRprime writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:37:12 PM

too many people are going into this movie expecting the fourth godfather or something. all of you haters are definitely anti-fun
razorjr writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:44:03 PM

LOL.All haters and critics just don't know what fan really like.They just doesn't have what so called anti-fun gene in their life because they sucks at fun. Maybe because all the haters and critics are really nerd and not have so much fun when in high school or maybe university.LOL.They don't know that in the future this kind of film will bring many fans and less will watch Shakespeare type of movies.LOL.We are in future and no more Shakespeare type for me and my friends.We as future generation hunger for something like this.yeah.3D and real action.
akumavern writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:46:43 PM

Anti-explosion gene, not anti-fun. And I say that the humans in this movie, are akin to Jar Jar in episode 1. CUT THEM OUT!
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:59:27 PM

I haven't even see it and I agree with Bay. Did the critics think they were going to see a re-screening of Gladiator or something. Bay delivered what he was hired to do. If the critics could do a better job, they'd be making Bay's salary doing his job and not their wage. Like the movie or not... it's obviously popular.
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:00:28 PM

@RoadDog - they are wrecking balls.
cleaves3 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:03:11 PM

I agree with Michael Bay. The critics are just trying to explain to fans that Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is really bad, terrible movie in which it's actually a lot better than the original Transformers.
lost_addict writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:12:16 PM

fun?transformers 1 was fun!!!Bad boys 2 was fun!!!revenge of the fallen?that was pure crap!!!you have a lot of talent,bay,you are a probably the best action movies director of our time but you of all people know that this was a rushed production with one goal:to make a lot of money at the box office...
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:18:08 PM

lost_addict - that's the goal of every movie ever made... cash. Anyone that says otherwise is lying.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:31:46 PM

there's "fun" (Michael Bay's career)... then there's FUN (Iron Man, Dark Knight, Bourne Ultimatum, Casino Royale)
lostwarrior writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:34:14 PM

@Ranger I would agree with u but there are exceptions u know. I mean nolan im sure is more intersted in seeing his ideas visually unfold. Now am I saying he is not into money hell no. Im just saying there are probably a few director who really just want to make sh*t compared to film makers who just want to make money. And bay probably falls in the catagory of just making money compared to the latter. but thats just me.
Movieman572 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:02:57 PM

God, that was an awful movie. It really, really was.
holtlt writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:28:34 PM

Critics just look on cinematic achievements, but Transformers is different. The movie has the purpose of being fun to watch, to entretain, to give a good time, after all, that's the purpose of moviemaking, entretainment.
Ryanlawson writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:49:51 PM

the thing i find funny is that so many people on here say "the box office results show how dumb everyone is and how the world is turning to sh*t for watching this crap that is nothing like the first" yet everyone who says shiit like that only realy knows because they have seen it too, and contributed to the box office takings themselves.
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:02:50 PM

@lostwarrior - yep... I agree.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:25:05 PM

um...i almost feel asleep during that movie....action is one thing but IT CAN be overdone....Armageddon and the Rock were good movies because they had some semblance of a plot
Aido4258 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:56:00 PM

I agree with Strider23.
bale01289 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:05:18 AM

Transformers 2 blows dogs for quarters! Nothing but eye candy. And on a side note, Megan Fox better hope her looks last for a long time, cause that dumb bitch couldn't act her way out of a paper sack!
Hungry Tacco writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:15:27 AM

the critics completeley suck. i mean really. ive almost never heard a critic give a movie a good review w/ no complaining at some point or another. so an entire movie didnt focus on absolutley nothing but the love or 2 people or the fight against one enemy. come on! this generation is full of people who still love story and character development but want to see action, explosions, and comedy. why do you think all these superhero movies do so well, xmen, spiderman (xcept part 3), batman, etc. thats why michael bay makes so much money, how are you going to say that armageddon and the bad boys films didnt have a plot? i mean really? an astroid killing the human race and asternauts having to destroy it to save everyone alive isnt a plot? half these critics dont even go and watch these movies, they get their info off the internet from other comments. next time you talk to one call them on it. ask them about a specific part and they cant tell you what happens exactly they never watched the film. and if they can then they are just a hater and no likes haters! ha.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:15:33 AM

I'm a fan...and the movie wasn't as good as everyone's making it out too be. I wasn't expecting an oscar, but it was "bewildering and sloppy;" I can definitely agree with that.
Hungry Tacco writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:38:35 AM

if i had one complaint about it i would say there were 2 many new robots. And who else saw bonecrusher rolling across the sand in the final battle? im pretty sure i saw his face nearly cut in half by optimus' sword in the first film. im pretty sure i saw blackout get killed 2. They coulda definitley went w/ less robots. And wtf happened to barricade? was it in a deleted scene or something cus i he's on the interstate in the first film w/ bonecrusher, optimus, and everyone else and then he just disapears and never shows up for the final battle, he wasnt in part 2 either. where the hell'd he go?
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 1:36:34 AM

people who enjoy a movie still have reason to complain...there's hardly a movie these days that make you amazed...i mean, i barely saw changeling and that was a f*cking awesome movie...crazy...but awesome...and then there's 80s fun movies...where they didn't have the best of the best....but they did the best with what they had...and as far as transformers 2 goes, i think they only did the best on action...i mean obviously, after hearing how megan fox didn't get turned on with kissing shia on set and stuff, it's just hard to buy into their acting after they say that sh*t BEFORE the movie comes out...i mean, if bay and company kept their mouth shut about terminator 4 copying devastator or shia about his mom, or megan and her comments, i would've had better spirits to watch it even more so then...but because they bitched, i'm bitchin back lol...and you wanna know why??...i have a damn good reason too, here goes...because i thought bay would beat mcg in terms of staying true to the source material...but he failed there....does everyone understand why i had reason to complain now??...yea i payed for it too, but so have lots of others, and those appraising the movie calling us haters...you guys are no different...you bash a movie that we like that you don't...so let's cut the bullsh*t already and at least agree on some things because hollywood knows what they're doing to their audience and they deserve a little justice for once...still...this is just my opinion
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 1:59:15 AM

another reason to complain is that hardly any studio has the balls to stay true and at least try to make something work even it was lame...this is why i lost interest when bay killed arcee so quickly...that's no reason to give such characters a whopping 45 seconds lol...geez...the studios seemed to like devastator...but where was the intensity??...why just a few minutes screen time?...why couldn't they push the barriers and make it scarier?...the first movie did that for me...it looked as if optimus was just about to be killed in the end...i can only hope that devastator didn't die and that if they do a 3rd that they give characters a respectable amount of screen time cuz that wasn't fair for transformers 2...and this is another thing i don't understand...in the first transformers, there's the cube, but now in this one there's the primes?...where does the cube fall into place??...i dunno if it's just me, but it feels like something was missing there
Hungry Tacco writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 2:11:31 AM

the primes came to earth way before the cube fell. the cube was still lost in space during the time the primes were trying to use earth to collect energon. the cube didnt fall until the primes had come and gone.
oh, and devastator doesnt die, he just gets knocked off the pyramid.
and i do agree that some will like it and others wont, but the critics really dont give any movie except foreign films a fair chance at anytime it seems.
telur writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 3:22:46 AM

still can't break titanic records
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 3:26:31 AM

ah yea i remember that now...was so damn loud in the theater...midnight showing and lots of kids...dayum...anyway, it was good enough...way better than other sh*tty films i'm sure...still, it could've been improved...but hey, that's what mistakes are for right?
screamonly writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 5:00:36 AM

even thought I hated Transformers 2; i think he's right about the anti-fun gene :P
austrian.pepper writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 5:29:43 AM

People have obviously forgotten how to watch movies like TF. This is not a f*ckin' art movie or a movie that is supposed to win the "best actor" category. This movie is pure entertainment
and it is geat in this category. The CGI, the actors, the humor... it all fits this purpose.
To all you bitchers: relax and forget your lousy childhood for a sec., don't try compensating your boring lives by desperately trying to find a deeper sense in every f*ckin'piece of life that comes across your way. Coming out of a TF movie gives me a great feeling, I'm happy and deeply contented- feelings you've probably never come to know in your lives... so If you've got something to say, go tell your wife/husband, if you've not already driven them out with your pseudo- intellectual diarrhea!
Kid_A writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 5:31:42 AM

Just because that this time money is in foreground than the quality of the movie before it is out, Revenge of the Fallen is reviewed negatively. For one month before its release, how a big blockbuster and action-packed movie this is talked by everybody, and "money" is placed in everybody's mind. Now we're getting the results: this movie beats great records, and people begin to question the movie such as "That much money and this kind of story/acting/performance?! Holy Crap!" without thinking that this movie is "just" a blockbuster and you don't need to look at the plotline so much. This movie is adrenaline, ALTHOUGH Michael Bay is a great director and he could have done much better. As you can't question why Wall-E's outlook is such a trash can and you only watch the animation and criticize it; you can't criticize how the transformers look like in the movie, or how Shia and Megan runs away from the big explosions - you just watch it, and if it is not 'high' you might not like it. :)
PirateDave128 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:22:58 AM

No Bay it's just a terrible film, hence the bad reviews.
Box office numbers dn't equal a good film, look at Spiderman 3
jaz_mayor writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 7:21:57 AM

Even fans don't like the movie. Only the not bothered what they watch on screen as long as it has flashing lights do. You Sir don't understand the audience..Oh wait you do, you catered for the simple. Congrates.
optimusprime writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 8:32:50 AM

Whatever Bay, we're f*ckin done professionally...
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 9:19:30 AM

i think we are mistake, we just dont get it, this movie its only for kids, all of us shouldn't see more kids movies, we are too old for this sh*t!
rocko writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 10:30:39 AM

I thought that Transformers was sh*t but bay managed to make a bigger, sh*ttier sequel.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:25:47 AM

He's got a point though- most of those reviews on RT are so personal its scary. Reviewing the movie is one thing- calling the man down to the dirt for making money is just plain old petty. Critics hate to admit it but he's obviously one of the directors they are fascinated by otherwise they wouldn't be making the effort to tell Bay's life's story before they say a word on Transformers.
austrian.pepper writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:44:17 AM

Again, this is a movie about a toy, a kid's Tv series... what the hell did you expect? It's f*ckin' great- and again, in this categorie- it's not Batman, it's not Sin City, it's not supposed to be super intelligent- hard to follow- think about it for three months- plotted.
It's just relax and enjoy the show- it's magic CGI- done perfectly and yes, it is supposed to attract kiddies as well- you know these little things that look like us, just a little younger, who are probably doomed to become the same fanciless, sh*t talking suckers that so many of us have obviously become... It's ok to be critical, but there are some people who pick everything to pieces- and those who just say "Michael Bay ruined it" or something- if that's all you have to say, go home and watch Mickey Mouse or make a f*ckin movie yourself, but you'd probably even fail turning on the camera- so do us all a favor and... be quiet!

synthetic1985 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:34:51 PM

alright well since bay disappointed me at not beating mcg at staying more true...how about hollywood tries something challenging this time?...like translate movies 100 percent all the way without changing sh*t?...how many times have they ever tried that?...i think they got the impression that trying it once failed so there's no reason to do it again...well try again NOW!...people would respect that...and could use that kind of devotion in film...which brings me back to my previous statement once again...ever since cgi was available in the 90s...studios have had multiple opportunities to perfectly translate a film, with success...but were too scared to lose a few bucks...well if they picked the right title and did it the right way...might have better chances...how will they truly know unless they try?...hollywood should try that with the next widely popular title they decide to make into a movie
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:37:06 PM

It is an overindulgent mess, period and point blank. The script is amateurish and the effects in general are weak and appear unfinished or refined. From sexually amped to racially insulting robots and cinematography that was confusing and poor set. I could go on and on.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:38:07 PM

why else did fans of the first mortal kombat game like the first movie so much better than the 2nd?...well it might not have been 100 percent translated...but EXTREMELY close i thought....it should be saying something...but hollywood doesn't care to listen anymore
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:41:22 PM

Yeah- Bay it couldn't be that you're just a hack...it's THEIR fault...? [shakes head]
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:42:43 PM

["I am convinced that they are born with the anti-fun gene."]

WOW- Now Bay's a scienctist too!?! SCIENCE!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:44:31 PM

["The reviews are just so vicious. A lot of them are more personal than anything else."]

Because they all read your book and can see your films for what they are- big budget pornos-w/o the skin. You have admited in the past Bay- that you don't give a crap about your audience- you're 'just feeding the rats their pellets'- and it shows...
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:46:57 PM

"They just don't understand the movie and its audience. It's silly fun," - NO BAY! "silly fun" is driving with your hand out the window....Your films degrade you, the audience, America and cinema!!!! They "don't understand" your films because they are eduacted and experienced professionals!- GROW UP! MAN I HATE THIS GUY!!!!!!!!!!!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:54:15 PM

...ok I'm sorry Bay- Maybe I should be a little nicer- since you are clearly retarded or something- Maybe you're born without the anti-retard gene. Or maybe you just made the wrong movie. Let's shake on it? No hard feelings eh? [shakes hand-swings Bay's arm over head-slaming him to the floor- then stomps out his eyes with kleets] Maybe you can make better films now Bay- blind. [ahhh-dreams]
Hungry Tacco writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 2:44:31 PM

all of you saying that bays movies are sh*t obviously dont want to admit that he must not be that bad of a director seeing how you say you've seen almost everything he's done. and if the first transformers was so bad why would you go and see the 2nd one. directing wise - bay has amazing movies! the only ones that werent huge blockbuster hits are the island and bad boys. ive seen every movie he's directed (xcept the rock and the island) and they have all been very good entertaining movies, hes and ACTION director, not a deep meaningful heroic 3hr love story heartpounding kinda of movie maker. if you pay to see an action movie thats what your going to see...action (fighting, tash talk, EXPLOSIONS).
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 3:42:59 PM

I've given Bay a total of $12 dollars- which sums up his worth pretty well...
mattcl23 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 4:01:30 PM

I thought the movie was good and the effects were amazing. That's the main reason I saw the film. I knew that the script wasn't going to get any oscar nom's, but it was still awesome to watch. And for me the twins were much better to watch the second time. At first I could stand them.
Monroe writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 4:44:04 PM

Honestly...what else was he going to say?
Buby writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 5:39:31 PM

How can anyone defend the two Jar-jar bots?
Ronsauce writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:53:37 PM

Bay's sentiments mirror my own. A lot of reviews reek of anti-Bay bias, and it' quite obvious some of these critics' minds were already made up before seeing it.
bluemeenie writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 10:11:52 AM

If that's true then he only can blame himself.
bacci40 writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 2:14:42 PM

f*ck all you people who keep shoving money into bay's hands...its because of f*cks like you that hollywood now turns out recycled sh*te...his films are vapid eye candy...and you are all sheeple...i knew that this movie was critic proof, but accept it, the movie is pure cgi sh*te
austrian.pepper writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:24:06 PM

"f*ck all you people who do this and that and that and this blablablabla, the world is so bad cuz you are all sheeple and I'm sooo special!!"
Tell you the truth: You are not!! So go f*ck yourself!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved