WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"American Werewolf in London" Being Remade

Posted: June 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"American Werewolf in London" Being RemadeSubmit Comment
We've been hearing rumors of "An American Werewolf in London" remake for a while, but now it seems that things are actually moving forward.

According to Bloody-Disgusting, writer/director John Landis sold the remake rights to "American Werewolf" to Dimension Films, the studio behind such other remakes as "Black Christmas," "Halloween" and "The Amityville Horror."

The original 1981 film revolves around two American tourists in England who are attacked by a werewolf that none of the locals will admit exists.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:09:17 AM

Whats next, are they going to remake Howling and Critters? This reboot/remake thing really didnt bother me last year, but its really starting to get f*cking ridiculous.Its like the folks working at the studios all said to each other ''dont reinvent the wheel, just remake every f*cking movie that made money''. Makes me f*cking sick.
shteak writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:51:30 AM

I couldn't give a f*ck if they remade the Howling, or critters, BUT THIS!!!! Why remake perfection? American werewolf in Paris sucked balls... It had neither humour or strength of character, neither will this. They just don't make 'em like this anymore.... So don't try. Stick with Teen Wolf!
doneehoward writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:12:18 AM

Kind of sucks to compare Critters to AW in London. Totally seperate reasons to NOT remake them. lol.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:16:24 AM

Why remake classics? Why not remake sh*tty movies (like Critters or The Howling) and try to correct the problems of the original? When they remake classics like Halloween, Texas Chainsaw, or Friday the 13th (actually remake of part2) they just end up copying the original and not doing much new. This makes sense cause they don't want to f*ck up the formula that has already proven to work, but in the long run whats the point if its merely a copy of the originals. It basically turns into a reintroduction of old favorites to a new (usually younger PG13)audience and gives the old devoted audience, who made these films a success in the first place, nothing new. That being said, why dont they just name the new movie American Werewolf Back in London and give us something different for once. If you really want to see a good modern werewolf movie that doesn't rely heavily on CGI fx like those sh*tty Underworld movies but relies more on old school Clive Barker creature fx (that look much realer) go rent the original Ginger Snaps, Dog Soldiers, or Wolf and forget these remakes. Or wait for the Wolfman to finally come out.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:33:33 AM

BTW, it seems like the vamps and werewolves have a monopoly on Hollywood these days which pretty much blows. We need new things to be scared by. They're figuring it out in Japan (Ringu) and Korea (The Host). And I thought we were on the right track for a while with films like The Mist (probably my fav new horror film) and Cloverfield, but the bloodsucker and canines are back in a big way and they just keep getting gayer (Twilight) and gayer (New Moon) by the minute.
Eben1277 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:43:39 AM

They should leave American Werewolf in London alone and remake American Werewolf in Paris, because it sucked balls.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:01:12 AM

What the hell? I loved the original. I guess if a competent director takes it on and takes it extremely serious I won't have a problem.

I will say and agree with Vdodson, Hollywood needs to get off the reboot/remake tip because it's extremely weak. Original ideas are out there.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:39:50 AM

You all keep going on about insisting Hollywood to drop remakes and reboots on the count that there are fresh ideas out there. *Ahem* None of that matters. Money matters. There's a built-in audience for these films and thus they're safer to finance and greenlight. You're all very naive if you think that they're simply out of ideas.
shteak writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:54:45 AM

The problem is that everyone wants to make the money they made in the eighties and they think that remaking eighties movies is somehow gonna do that... It's not recapturing that time period that they need to do, it's recapturing that sense of "movie magic" that has been lost in some way since to evolution of C.G.I.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:44:03 AM

Isn't there already 7 werewolf movies coming out??
SACdaddy writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:50:29 AM

@softimusprime(love the name btw): You're absolutely right bout the $$$. But the past has shown us that eventually audiences will ask for more than just more of the same. I hate to keep using it as a reference but just look at what is happenning to Terminator Salvation as we speak. Substituting explosions for actual plot driven violence isn't good enough anymore so its tanking. Pretty soon we'll hit that remake/reboot breaking point when it aint profitable enough to justify more. I can't wait.
morphina writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 12:49:15 PM

Some things need to be left alone. This is one of them.
Snarebeast writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 1:31:44 PM

I'm not really bothered by remakes like Prom Night, since the source material wasn't good to begin with (and neither was the remake, for that matter). But when you choose to remake movies like this, movies that are considered masterpieces in their genre, it just irritates me. But money means more than fan opinions I suppose.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 1:36:44 PM

remake of another classic?...i think i'll pass...good luck hollywood...keep on with those remakes...i'm sure it'll last forever
Cinestarr writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 2:38:50 PM

If I could believe they would actually respect the original I wouldn't mind a remake. But we all know this is just another vehicle to launch some no talent, no-name teen star. I'm so sick of this crap.
mattcl23 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 4:55:05 PM

These remakes are starting to wear me down. It's completely getting out of hand now. Come on Hollywood, where's your originality.
feeheelee writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 1:06:29 AM

To remake a movie that in terms of special effect and humor was way ahead of it's time is outrageously stupid!!
It still stand up today as something special, that if it was HD would stand head and shoulders above anything resembling the horror genre today.
Just like the notion of remaking Robocop and god forbid, JAWS! Stay away from this please!
ZombieKingz writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 5:00:55 AM

Bullsh*t! Get yer freekin hands off the best werewolf movie ever...and Landis if u need money so fast and urgent: go prostitute urself like u did in the 90ies with crap like The Blues Brothers 2000, Oscar or Beverly Hills Cop 3, or make some good stuff like ur Masters Of Horror episodes.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 11:59:03 PM

doesn't anyone have original ideas anymore? everything is either a remake, a sequel, or an adaptation of a book. WHERE ARE THE ORIGINAL IDEAS?! its like how so many upcoming broadway shows are just adaptations of movies. its so annoying!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved