WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

TV Pitchman Billy Mays Dead at 50

Posted: June 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
TV Pitchman Billy Mays Dead at 50Submit Comment
Television pitchman Billy Mays who built his fame by appearing on commercials and infomercials promoting household products and gadgets died Sunday. Mays, 50, was found unresponsive by his wife inside his Tampa, Florida, home at 7:45am on Sunday.

It was not immediately clear how he died. He said he was hit on the head when an airplane he was on made a rough landing Saturday, and his wife, Deborah Mays, told investigators he did not feel well before he went to bed about 10pm that night.

Police said there were no signs of forced entry to Mays' residence and foul play is not suspected. Authorities said an autopsy should be complete by Monday afternoon.

"Although Billy lived a public life, we don't anticipate making any public statements over the next couple of days. Our family asks that you respect our privacy during these difficult times," Mays wife, Deborah, said in a statement on Sunday.

Mays was well known for his numerous television promotions of such products as Orange Glo and OxiClean. He was also featured on the reality TV show "Pitchmen" on the Discovery Channel, which followed Mays and Anthony Sullivan in their marketing jobs.

Source: FoxNews


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:03:00 PM

Will they leave all the infomercials on now? It's kind of a downer to hear him yelling at us from beyond the grave. Seemed like a good guy though on LateNight just a few days ago.
borat writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:05:04 PM

oxyclean rules
jjjjjoey writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:18:12 PM

I watched him on Conan the other night too. Its too bad, seemed like a nice fella.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:19:54 PM

Its a sad day in TVland
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:21:02 PM

This keeps up and we're going to have to start a pool. $5 gets you in... who is the next celebrity go. Sorry folks... just trying to make light(er) of a pretty grim past couple of weeks: Carridine, McMahon, Farrah, Michael and now Billy (ok, before I catch hell... did I leave anyone out?).
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:21:33 PM

Billy... you were the best!
thedotsays writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:24:39 PM

LMAO@Ranger, We got a Ghoul Pool at my job and it's f'ing empty with all these deaths!!
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:26:43 PM

Ghoul Pool is about the only thing to call it... lol. Yeah... weird couple of weeks.
rar0406 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:58:43 PM

you took waaaaay too f*ckin long to post this, WP.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 8:08:08 PM

Looks like US Airways is gonna get sued like a bitch.
metathought writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 8:39:56 PM

YOU SHUT YOUR WHORE MOUTH WHEN BILLY MAYS IS TALKING
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:18:21 PM

sad f*ckin news...thought it was a joke when i first heard this...sham wow guy must be ballin his eyes out...
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:22:51 PM

I nominate Ron Popeil as the next death. He slices, he dices, he dies!
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:27:44 PM

I'm more torn up about this than MJ! Poor Billy... Next thing you know, it'll be the ShamWow guy.
Jergyn writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:05:14 PM

What a week... RIP
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:12:41 PM

rar0406 - in defense of WP (not that they need my defending) - Billy Mays wasn't in any movies I was aware of (not saying he wasn't), but this is a movie site, that and WP and list whatever they want on here... yes?
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:13:10 PM

Regardless... it's all very sad news.
BrandoFresh writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:14:33 PM

His death hit me harder than MJ. I'll miss the guy.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:24:37 PM

Whoops! Maybe not... sorry!
morphina writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 1:56:35 AM

I don't know who will be the new shiller, because it will be hard to top what Mr. Mays did.
venomex writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 5:07:13 AM

he was on conan last week...wow
IrishAssassin1987 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:54:14 AM

"Hi! Billy Mays here with Big Wooden Caskets...People of all ages will love Big Wooden Caskets. Trust me, I would know."
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:27:06 AM

Oh god...why is jebus taking all the good ones??
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:47:42 AM

It's been my experience AF... that's usually the way.
shteak writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:59:55 AM

Surely Christopher Lee is next... I mean, Dude!!! ...And Mickey Rooney still lives... In one way or another. I'll take Mel Brooks, too... What're my odds?
thedotsays writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:14:16 AM

I think the Sham-Wow guy had a hand in this......
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:18:57 AM

who cares! its wacko time, god can die, but the important news is the dead of MJ!
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:26:49 AM

Sham-Wow guy SHOULD be next! You know the part of the commercial when he says it's a continuous shot and he's soaking up the cola from the carpet? THEN they do a quick cut and he lifts it up to show the underside...oh Sham-Wow... no cola. That lying, f*cking, bug-eyed, mis-directing son-of-a-bitch!!!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:54:24 AM

I heard he got his Oxy-Clean mixed up with Oxy-Cotton...
optimusprime writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:05:54 AM

No! No who am I going to get to waive my shipping!! DAMN IT!!
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:07:30 AM

Another sad day will be when Karl Malden passes. He's acted with all the biggies of Hollywood. He's a humble man. And one of the few classy guys left in the Biz.
mattcl23 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 5:02:21 PM

Kind of a bad week in Hollywood. Wish his family the best. Looks like Sullivan gonna bank now.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 1:05:49 PM

Too bad it wasn't the Shamwow guy...
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:11:36 PM

I got him in my sights as we speak. He is just leaving the kitchen for his living room... and... BLAM! BLAM! BLAM!
thedotsays writes:
on July 1st, 2009 at 5:16:54 PM

@Ranger Wow, good call on MAlden there Ranger. Just kicked today.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 4:46:49 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved