WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Transformers 2" Blows Up Competition with $201 Million

Posted: June 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Transformers 2" Blows Up Competition with $201 MillionSubmit Comment
"Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" grossed an estimated $201 million from 4,234 theaters at the domestic box office to score the best five-day take ever after "The Dark Knight" ($204 million). These are the only two films to break $200 million in the first five days.

"Transformers 2" earned a massive $387 million in worldwide ticket sales, which is one of the best global debuts of all time. Domestically, the film grossed $112 million for the weekend after earning $89.2 million in its first two days.

IMAX saw its best five-day gross ever as "Transformers 2" opened on 169 IMAX screens and brought in an estimated $14.4 million, more than double the $7.3 earned by "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix."

The other wide release this weekend was the drama "My Sister's Keeper." It came in on the low end of expectations, grossing an estimated $12 million from 2,606 theaters to place No. 4 for the week.

On the specialty side, the critically acclaimed war drama "The Hurt Locker" enjoyed a strong opening as it debuted in 4 theaters in New York and Los Angeles. Pic posted a per screen average of $36,000 as it grossed an estimated $144,000.

Click here to read our "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 64 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
kmccarney88 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 3:33:15 PM

That is truly depressing it is making this much money. It doesn't deserve it......and here's why.

Let me first start off by saying that I am not a Bay hater, as so many others have become. I have thoroughly enjoyed every one of Michael Bay’s films leading up to Transformers 2. I still like Michael Bay.....but this movie is nothing less than complete garbage. It was so bad, in fact, that I would even consider it offensive and insulting to the average person’s intelligence above the age of 8 years old, and yet sadly a large majority of audiences are eating it up with enthusiasm.
I loved the first one even though it's story was a little weak, but for any of it's flaws it was easily overshadowed by its charm and "fun as hell" roller-coaster ride of events, mixed together with likable characters and jaw dropping actions scenes that were well paced!

Transformers 2 on the other hand, was a complete train wreck! It emphasized, not only everything that is wrong with American cinema today, but on everything that was terrible in the first one and magnified it by 200 percent! There was absolutely no story, nor was there an actual story structure, it was merely a bunch of random action scenes thrown together in any given order in hopes of making some kind of sense. Nearly all of the new characters, including transformers, sucked and served absolutely no purpose whatsoever in terms of progressing the story! For example, what was the point of the roommate? What was the point of even introducing college considering it was abandoned 1/3 of the way through? What was the point of the girl who was a terminator/transformer? Why can only Prime kill The Fallen?
There are so many poorly written plot holes in this film that it makes me sick......and considering I was going in with the intentions of just enjoying it as a fun, not too serious, "toy" movie, just like the first one, that is really saying something. If I had known the plot would have been something the equivalent of what I could have written in 20 minutes, then I wouldn't have wasted my $10.
The worst thing of all is that this film doesn't even succeed on the level of a good action film. It is battle fatigue at it's maximum! Every good writer and director, including Bay in his other films, knows that in order to keep the audience from getting.....well, essentially bored with action, you need to break up the action scenes into segments. EVERY SINGLE SCENE in this movie had something blowing up or something crazy happening, even when there didn’t need to be! By the time the end came around and Optimus Prime "did his thing", it was SO anti-climactic that it was laughable.

But my biggest pet peeve of this film was it's continuous goal of going for the cheap laugh! Time, after time, after time, the writers tried desperately to make THE MOST FEEBLE attempts at humor in the least amusing ways imaginable! And what's worse is that it was childish, schoolyard, clown-like behavior....... And here in lies the true problem of this film..........THE TWINS!
The twins were essentially the Jar Jar Binks of the Transformer world, except it's as though Michael Bay read the script and was like, "you know what, if people thought Jar Jar Binks was bad they haven't got a f#&king clue!" They were annoying, incompetent, stupid, and illiterate......oh and they used dated & crude racial lingo in nearly every scene! So how could we, or at least I, give two sh*ts about what happens to these characters? By the end, I was praying they would get sucked into Devastator's grinders like it was hinted at in the trailer, but of course the writers "Nuked the Fridge" Indiana Jones 4 style and.....

>>>>>>SPOILER ALERT<<<<<<<<<<<<

.....Had them do a double team, spider-man swing, gang bang on the biggest, baddest villain in Transformers history! Who in their f-ing right mind would write something that bad? The two retards suddenly overcome there short comings and, together, combine forces to whoop the bad guy's ass......even though he is nearly invincible and it would take the combined efforts of ALL the other Autobots to even attempt an assault on the Devastator? Give me a break, thats like having Forrest Gump kill Doomday after Superman just got his ass handed to him. It just doesn't work.

Lastly, where the hell were our hero's from the first film.... you know, the one's we actually liked? Aside from Bubblebee, we hardly saw any of the cool Transformers from the first film like Prime, IronHide, and Ratchet, but instead got stuck with the retarded twins and a cranky old bastard who wouldn't stop complaining.
And where were the bikes that I was so eagerly awaiting? We saw them in action for a max of 45 seconds out of a 2 and a half hour movie!!!! The Corvette got screwed out of screen time too! What a waste!

The only two good things about this movie, like all Bay films, is that visually, it looked beautiful. The use of colors, as well as the high contrast look and low shutter angle, which provided for the extreme detail in every explosion, and unique filters made it incredible to look at.
The other was the acting on Shia Labeouf’s part. If you take into consideration just how bad the script really was, and realize how convincing Shia’s portrayal of the character was, with a few dramatic & emotional moments that were utterly wasted into the pointless story, then you realize the guy deserves a medal for this work on this film!

But for me that is not enough to make a good movie.......or even a decent one. I could go on and on about why this movie sucks so badly, but why bother?
I will, however, say that I am worried about the IQ’s of the general audience considering about half as many people liked this film as disliked it! I think that is a great testament as to how short the general population's attention spans have become! Like I said earlier, if you are above the age of 8 years old, this movie should have been insulting, not entertaining.

3/10 stars for the visual look (cinematography & lighting), the Forrest Battle, which was the only scene that was remotely worth watching, & for actually succeeding in making me feel dumber.

That's Pathetic.
mattcl23 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 3:35:31 PM

Damn, how long were you typing for?
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 3:38:57 PM

Remember when people were bashing female directors like Lexi Alexander? Remember I said to mark my word about Kathryn Bigelow and the Hurt Locker? Did ya mark em? Good- because I was sooooooo right, and you were wrong. hahaha Pettiness!
DisasterBlaster writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 3:48:14 PM

201 million reasons why Hollywood doesn't need to even try anymore.
OneTime writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:21:46 PM

BrandoFresh writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:29:08 PM

That's amazing. I' gonna see it again Monday.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:35:56 PM

I wish I got to hump Farrah before she died.
RE4713 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:46:07 PM


GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:48:01 PM

Kmccarney88- wow you must have been bored. But I agree with you completely. This was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Five different couple walked out of theater! Those twins are possibly the most annoying (and racist) characters i have ever seen. The theater applauded when the green one was eaten at first! And why do all the transformers have sh*tty accents from around the world? That little decepticon truck that they carried around sounded just like Woddy Allen. Most of the robot's voices were sooo f*cking cheesy.

Oh and did I miss something or did they not even address Shia's broken hand? They "warped" to Egypt and BOOM his hand is all f*cked up and perfectly wrapped and splinted.

So far the summer "blockbusters" have been pretty lame. Anyone who liked this movie should be shot
tino78 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:57:15 PM

i guess i need to be shot twice. im going again today. i hope it breaks dark knight record hahahahaha. hail to bay and f nolan
kmurg writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:57:51 PM

i wonder when WP is going to announce that Billy Mays died.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:13:59 PM

You're NOT joking! I just Googled it: BILLY MAYS is having a dirt nap... where's the OxyClean?! DAMMIT IT ALL TO HELL!!! First... one of Hollywoods Sexiest Sex Symbols passes away, then the Kind of Pop... and now the pitchman for cleaning produces?! What's next... THE FOUR HORSEMEN OF THE APOCALYPSE?!?!
tino78 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:17:48 PM

dont forget ed mcmahon
bobm866 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:19:21 PM

RE4713 i could not agree with you more i only went to go see the movie just to see sh*t get blown up its a cool movie if you like seeing stuff blow up its no Oscar winner expect for visual effects which were amazing
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:31:10 PM

@Tini - yes, sorry... I remembered Ed as soon as I hit the 'submit' button. Wow... weird week.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:33:44 PM

ANYONE that was expecting Shawshank from Transformers 2 is seriously deluded. This is (and was always intended to be) a fun, blow-em up, couple of hours of escapism. ANYone that takes the time to pick apart such a movie as this (that's never made any claims of hoping for Oscar contention) needs to get out into the fresh air, into the sun... and get f*cking laid (even with your own hand if necessary)!
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:45:11 PM

Everybody always forgets about Kung Fu dying too! Its been a f*cked up summer.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:48:14 PM

True. Well... the only upside is... it's opening up some opportunities in the entertainment business.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:58:09 PM

This movie was gonna be big no matter if it was good or just crap! The minute Bay finished the first one and it was a success he was doin interviews saying there would be more robots and more explosions in the next one. Low and behold thats exactly what he freakin delivered. He never promised better acting or an actual plot. I hope it makes a billion. Maybe it'll get Bad Boys 3 the greenlight. I don't want to here this Will Smith is too expensive sh*t anymore. Use that TF2 money and make another classic R rated film!
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 6:04:34 PM

As far as I'm concerned he needs another Bad Boys to earn some points back with the black community after these Twins (and if you want get technical, killing Jazz in the first Trans).
Tacobob writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 6:22:26 PM

Transformers 2 1 of the best movies ive seen in along time only thing that dispointed me in this movie was devastator went out way to quick and fast.
Tacobob writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 6:29:00 PM

Oh and i think it earned every cent it got.
JRprime writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 6:49:18 PM

i dont believe someone wasted their time writing that novel of a comment. in case you havent realized, no one cares about your opinion.
JRprime writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 6:49:20 PM

i dont believe someone wasted their time writing that novel of a comment. in case you havent realized, no one cares about your opinion.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:24:58 PM

@kmccarney88 - you were looking for a plot? '$10. wasted.' - to see a $200 mil. production. I haven't seen it yet and I already know it's worth the money for 2 hours of what I (and EVERYONE ELSE ON HERE) would expect... entertainment, explosions, action... and that's pretty much about it. Would you not be better served using the same time you took to write your War & Peace post to write a better movie all of us could come and see? You write it... get it made... if it looks better than T2, I'm there!
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:55:34 PM

I downloaded the cam, skipped through it, and was amazed by how it mirrored the 'story' structure of the first film. There's no doubt. A third is on the way. Will we EVER see an end to this franchise? Only when somethng louder and more obnoxious comes along? Can't wait.
lost_addict writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 8:33:37 PM

i can see how it made so much money...its simply much more childish then the first movie....the first one was more of an action movie,espically in it's second half and that is one of the reasons that made it such a great movie.bay and co. were after money in this sequel and aimed it more for kids.the result?one of the worst sequels in recent years but a box office smash.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:01:29 PM

its an entertaining movie kmccarney,i feel so sorry for you that you are one of those no fun motherf*ckers who enjoy boring oscar sh*t,i feel so sorry for you that you cant enjoy the one of the best movies ever made,it was better then the 1st one,and the best movie this summer,and it will stay the best,and it is the best action movie ever,with intense realitsic awesome action scenes,and its hilarious,stop complaining about the twins,there funny. the reason its earning so much money is because people wanna have fun watching this movie they wanna be wowed,and enterained,and that is exactly waht you get,and to me a die hard tranformer fan,it is the perfect movie,and it is litterlay exactly what it should be,its more then wat it should be,and i cant wait for the next one,because its coming,and its gonna be bigger,louder,more awesmome,and more entertaining,its gonna be hard,but as long as it haas comedy,lots of action,a good story line(oh and by the way this one had a really good story line,i dont see why u dont like it),so suck it kmccarney88,transformers 2 is f*cking sweet,most people will agree with me.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:04:01 PM

oh and "grandpasweiner",go ahead,shoot me
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:31:55 PM

Whoa, wait a damned minute. Hurt Locker openned in only FOUR theaters? WTF! And TF2 gets over 4 THOUSAND!? Something is very, very f*cked up in the world. Am I the only that sees this?
BREALZ writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:57:03 PM

congrats bay you rich bastard
acslaterson writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:58:01 PM

Anyone know when The Hurt Locker opens wide?
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:31:05 PM

AFAIK, it doesn't. It's on an internation tour as of now, hitting Norway as late as September. It will see a limited USA release on July 10th in: Atlanta, Boston, Austin, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Minneapolis, Oahu, Philadelpha, Phoenix, Portland, Salt Lake City, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, Toronto(?) and Washington DC.
acslaterson writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:01:03 PM

What the hell? I hear it is the best Iraq movie that has come out and critically acclaimed and it doesn't have a wide release date? Damn it I want to see that movie!
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:08:56 PM

Same here. I kinda like Bigelow, and judging by the critical response, sounds like a damned fine film most people should see. The thing that gets me? Like I already said, films like TF2 get over 4 thousand theatrical openings, but much better films get, or choose, much smaller releases. And I know what people will say: "movies like Transformers bring int he money". Yeah, well, that wasn't always true, was it? It just seems that now, more than ever, greed and stupidity work well together. I mean, how did people and movie companies cope with films like Alien and Star Wars, films that didn't blow something up every ten nanoseconds and didn't have any SFX beyond modelmaking and green screen?
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:12:49 PM

And, after reading the above comments again, I'd like to say how much I'd love to smash Bay's face in, but not because I'm 'jealous', but because he's a smug, ignorant, arrogant c*cksucker. He's almost a Leni Riefenstahl type progandist for the worst aspects of American culture.
acslaterson writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:30:48 PM

I think it is a total maturity thing man. I remember seeing The Matrix in high school and being blown away. Then the sequels came out in college and I was a bit disappointed with the second and disgusted with the third. Explosions and effects will only take a film so far. Hollywood takes a good thing and kills it, the Matrix trilogy, The Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy, hell even the Godfather trilogy(1 and 2 were amazing, the 3rd was just sad). The only trilogy that I have absolutely no problems with and is my favorite of all time is the Bourne series. They didn't escalate the excitement by giving him rocket launchers and machine guns or machine pistols, they did it through good story telling and with real fight scenes WITH minimal explosions. I guess it is a maturity thing that people grow out of. I guarantee the majority of people praising this movie on the internet are not old enough to drink and I won't insult them or Transformers. Time will be the only thing that makes them realize this movie is sub par.
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 12:36:20 AM

Yeah, I have to pretty much agree with that. The only thing I'd like to add, is that when I was in the targeted age range of about 10-16 or so, my siblings I didn't watch films of the same no-brain caliber. Now, not that that makes me more of an astute film goer, even at at early age, but it does imply that even younger people, kids in fact, can have decent taste. I liked TMNT (the original, not that hokey CG garbage) but not TMNT II, and I was never, as a kid, anything of a turtle fan. far from it. We just liked the movie, it's music and it's story, and I even recall us mentioning the bad acting in that film. We loved Terminator 2, that was just all around fun. I'll be back! The ratcheting up of action, rippling with tension and suspense, along with some superb dialog. I remember we watched Robot Jox, and what a travesty that was, and even then, we knew it. Then there was Aliens, and that just blew us a way, and Abyss, which I liked, but more than now. I was a Cameron Kid. And Back to the Future, wow, what awesome fun those films were. My god, they really, really just don't make them like they used to. We watched Bad Boys with Sean Penn, and though it's not what I remember, it's still a brutal film. And then there was Beastmaster, which was ok I guess for the time, but I think I was more disturbed by the film's evil elements than by its rather lackluster quality. I don't know, I grew up in a different world I guess. We didn't have garbage like Bay's TF. We had the cartoon, of course, which the first two seasons surpass Bay's vision by a wide margin, even though they were just dumb little toy commercials. Later on, I found myself liking films like Dark City, Contact, and even later The Jacket, The Fountain, Primer, Sunshine to a degree, though Boyle's culturally-influenced vision is rather difficult to absorb sometimes, and other films. I mean, I found the Rock and Bad Boys enjoyable to limited measure, but ultimately they're junk food. They have no character depth, no message, no overriding thought to carry home. And that's fine. They tow the line on ridiculous action. They don't go over it, though BB2 got very very close. And then, with TF, Bay went NUTS. He took everything before and blew it away. He went hyperviolent, hyperkenetic and ultra-annoying. He took everything some of us could marginally tolerate from his earlier films and raised the proverbial bar ten feet. And it turns me off to him and his whole 'style'. Which kills me, because this douchebag thinks he has another Indiana Jones trilogy on his hands. No, seriously, he does! He thinks he has another 'Terminator' franchise! What a joke. Well, I wish I couild list all the movies I like, but the last one is Smokin' Aces, a film I didn't care much for during the first viewing but one me over on the second. Clint Mansell's score, especially Dead Reckoning, the song played during the close of the film, blew me away, and made me TRULY appreciate Ryan Reynolds. No small feat, even though his perfomance in the remake of The Amityville Horror (I don't care for the original, and I never had much love for Margot Kidder at all)showed me he had some ability and talent. Anyway, I'm rambling.
MAV27 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 12:50:06 AM

@acslaterson- what about the lord of the rings trilogy. and also the two star wars trilogies?
dwight writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 1:44:10 AM

I'm sick and tired of all of you on this site. Those hating the film and those defending it. If you liked it stop agreeing with these dumb f*ckers that it didn't have story because it was just a film for fun . Transformer 2 had plenty plot. Good story for one film. All these T2 haters hated the movie before it even came out. They can't even pick good reasons why the movie was bad. Like airheads they just copy what the read in that prepaganda, poorly writen, garbage review posted by our goodfriends at WorstPreviews.com truly living up to there name. I liked T2, but can point out small faults in it. Like if The Ancient Primes melted too seal the key.Why was it sitting right in there hand when the wall got busted open. And the arch should of started up and started sucking the suns energy before the the final. It would have been more dramatic. And the Fallen got beat too quick. The very last part of the movie was too short. If you haters would pick on these things you would at least have a half ass argument but nooo you keep bitching about Sex jokes, too much shia( HE IS THE F ING STAR!!) and too much action. Just shut up. if you didn't like the film f*ck YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Despite its faults Transformers 2 was a damn good film. D- Out
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 2:09:03 AM

haha...lots of comments again...anyway in regards to what was said, yes...entertaining, BUT insulting as well...the twins should have had the amount of screen time as arcee....sh*t, arcee should've had as much screen time as the twins...but what does that tell you?....these guys were fans of it and made a realistic movie version in THEIR eyes....that's why i still say if they had stayed a little bit more truthful to the cartoon, it would've done better in a lot of aspects, even money....if you like watching action, go see it...if you're expecting anything else other than that, don't see it...whatever the case, the movie made its money, i'm sure they've already greenlit a sequel before the money came in cuz they knew the impact it would have....a 3rd will be on the way and i'll bet anything it'll be like the 2nd movie but even more worse in terms of staying true to the cartoon...which is really sad...but could also be really good...bay may have trashed the transformers universe...but because of his mistakes, it leaves room for somebody else to take a whack at it and hopefully please the fans more...which brings me to another thing i don't understand....why do they make a realistic movie out of a popular title to please the average movie goer, more so than the fans, when most of those average movie goers were already fans in the first place???...if they had stayed more truthful to the source material, not only would it make more money but most importantly it pleases the fans....in the case of 'the watchmen'...i don't think many people were fans of it before it was a movie, which would explain why staying so truthful didn't help because it didn't have many fans and the average movie goer who knows nothing about the comic would be way worse off trying to understand it lol...i dunno that's just what i think about it...but minkowski i heavily agree with you about all those great older flicks....like back to the future and the abyss...sh*t, even spaceballs was awesome...the three amigos is another example of great comedy...rich yuppie idiots who have never been in certain situations and because they're stupidity, it brought on so much humor they could just keep going and going like the energizer bunny....but minkowski said it...greed, stupidity, and copycatting is the hollywood we know of today...the hollywood of back then was way better than that...and this is what pisses me off most...the movie companies of this decade and last, have had multiple opportunities to perfectly translate such titles...but didn't because of money or some other lame reason....there's just no excuse why hollywood can't stay more truthful...it's a shame...makes me feel like the next decade will be the new 80s and we'll start having a line up of more passionate working people in the media, producing more passionate songs, games, movies, etc.....more living legends will die...but hey, we're here now...it's still up to ours and future generations to change these things...and it's definitely not too late...at least, i don't think so....as long as i'm alive, i'll do my best with what i've got and with what i'm best at...as an artist, i can't promise everyone that i'll be the next big thing and make captivating songs better than 80s 70s 60s or 50s music, but i can promise that if i was given the opportunity, i would not throw my passion away just for money...i can't now...not after seeing it happen time after time with lots of new sh*tty artists that try to make a fortune off of crap...take 50 cent for example...'get rich or die tryin'...obviously not better than dr. dre's material....so why make stupid sh*t like that and try to make a fortune off it?...it only works with weak minded people that don't know any better, or they're just into that...and another perfect example is when he did that 'technology' song with justin timberlake, cuz someone told me, 50 cent must have been thinking 'hey, let's put justin timberlake as a guest chorus because lot of girls are into him and it'll make money and help me out too'...i couldn't agree more, because the guy said even justin timberlake didn't want to do it, but ended up doing it because of money...anyway, long post but those are my thoughts
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 2:23:31 AM

it's still so funny...that time when megan fox said she was tired of being a sex symbol....yet she does this movie and others that make her look like one...i dunno, it's just silly...and speaking of bad sequels...does anyone remember when ace ventura jr was getting made and how heavily disappointed everyone was about that?...and look what happened there?...no theatrical release, just straight to tv, and probably didn't make much either....what does THAT tell you?...that sometimes, disappointing movies DO get the justice they very well deserve
telur writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 2:39:22 AM

@kmccarney88: are u jobless to do a typing that long? hahaha...
minkowski writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 3:00:14 AM

TF is a bad film, not because of the plot holes or inane humor Dwight, but because it's TRASH. Do I have to explain just why you shouldn't eat dog sh*t? Do you f*cking need a blow by blow laundr list of reasons why dog sh*t isn't good food? So I have to whip out the medical reasons? Do you need the surgeon f*cking general or Julia Childs to explain why dog sh*t isn't food? Why it can make you sick? Why it's stinking filth from an lower animal's *sshole, just like Transformers 2? You're an idiot if you think people hate the film because of 'too much action' or because of 'sex jokes'. Common sense. Only kids eat anything they find outside. Mud, sh*t, poison ivy. Knowledgeable people know better. And who the f*ck cares what Megan Fox thinks? So, she wants to be considered as more than a sex symbol? Too f*cking bad. I want a PHD in nanotech and a metallic midnight blue Maseratti, but you know know? Tough sh*t. She can't act, and she doesn't deserve better. She should thank god or her nine tatoos or whatever that she HAS a career, and enjoy it while her tits are perky and her pout still gives guys an erection, because when all that's goes, she's DONE. And Synthetic, what is this man? A d*ck waving contest? Are we all trying to see who can type the longest post? Yeah, my d*ck is bigger than yours, but so what? And furthermore, I already have the specs on what could've been a truly great Transformer film. I've got all the details, the tech and the information regarding who the Transformers are. It's the ultimate umbrella because it can join all the TFs from all the toy and show lines into one coherent universe, PLUS gives them a reason they would look more like the cartoon versions, without all the goofiness therein, and LESS like the laughable garbage insectile metal monstrosities of Bay and Co. And a hell of a lot more. Thinking about turning it into a novel and see if Hasbro will pick up the rights. Think something like Ringworld but much, much larger. Probably will never happen, though. lol.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 3:03:15 AM

i would've liked it better if they kept the x-men universe truthful and continue on with a 4th...showing ian mckellen and patrick stewart still able to reprise their roles to battle apocalypse and mr. sinister....how could would that have been?...but no...we have to wait a decade or two to see a righteous studio stay truthful and visually show what would have made not only a lot of more money...but better effects and lots of other things, because this is the fact of matter...they took something unrealistic, trying to apply all realistic qualities to it, when staying truthful to it would have been more realistic, and at the same time, the cheesiness would be not so cheesy because of the obviousness of how scared these studios are to test that...i mean, ask yourselves this question...and i'm sure you've thought of this question too minkowski because as i've gotten older, i've appreciated such titles more now that i've understood them better...but even as a young one i had taste too...we all do, and it changes as well, like for instance when i was 10 and saw batman forever for the first time....i loved it, not cuz of batman or cuz of robin, but because of my idolizing jim carrey after seeing him in ace ventura and the mask...but since i've gotten older...truly disguted the way joel schumaker did two-face...i mean, it was such an easy fix...change the appearance of his look, nothing more...anyway here's my question....what would it be like to see competition between studios making movies that stay truthful to their source material?....i don't think it's ever been done...hollywood should look into that...it could create lots of franchises for them...and would make up for all the copycatting....well probably not copycatting, but at least fans would get to see the things they wished to have seen that these *sshole greedy directors just can't do....and proof of that will happen as soon as the technology they use today is less expensive than the stuff they use later...the only thing i expected of transformers 2 was the storyline tying in to the action...it wasn't as well as the first movie...i mean lol ancient civilizations with those markings on the fallen??...i can see how they desperately tried to make that whole scenario fit...but still staying truthful would've been better...not just for money or for storyline...but also for more action as well and i'll tell you why...because the cartoon showed everything they were capable of...these realistic interpretations of it didn't....and that's why i agree with you also dwight....the portal thing and then shia's injury appears??...or the machine starts sucking up the energy from the sun and then gets stopped would definitely have been more dramatic....that's a great mistake to point out especially after all that bay did with things like that on 'armageddon'...wow...or the primes melting together to seal the key and then it's right there in his hand....lol wow again...those things should be reason enough to complain....it's not fair that hollywood charges people money yet makes movie mistakes like that when there's no reason to...and they better not say it's because of internet downloading that they've become so greedy...sh*t...they've been draining money from the middle class(which no longer exists) for decades...and still they stress that stupid illegal downloading...well wtf?...look at napoleon dynamite...jon heder played the role for $1000...wasn't the best nor did it make a fortune, granted, but look where it got him??...look at all those other actors that haven't starred in too many movies?....like leo decaprio?...very respectable actor to me, not too many movies...professional acting...or chris nolan?...tried to make a very realistic batman and stayed true as he possibly could to that....not completely truthful to the comics...but a lot more closer...and i enjoyed the fact that it was a lot closer cuz it helped me to enjoy the movie with such a better glimpse in mind...that's what bay should have done with transformers but oh well...and still it's always the same deal, the fact that there's no excuse why they couldn't pull off being more truthful cuz visually, it would have been more stunning, i mean, yes it would be a bit more bizarre, but it was already that way and people didn't mind that, so why not do that and test it?....people enjoyed the action it seems....wouldn't have been a problem i think...but due to money, it's a problem to them....anyway i'm done...sorry for the long post again
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 4:51:50 AM

and no minkowski...i wasn't trying to compete with the long posting...that's just a habit of mine from when i post my opinions and can't stop going on...you should know that!...especially after knowing that i've been on here for a while and have posted long comments like you have....geez, i thought i smoked too much weed and even i remembered something that you forgot!...and why compare long posting to d*ck measuring?...couldn't you have used a different comparison?...clearly i must have said something very wrong or very insulting for you to have jumped on my case so abruptly...but i'll just do like i do to anyone who insults me...i either let it go, or say something back...and this time i kinda did both...besides, it was my opinion and i'm entitled to it...looks like you were the one out of context for not letting me have mine(didn't i say that to you before?)...it doesn't matter how smart or how great you are, what matters is what kind of person you are in terms of how you treat others...also you pulled an 'mcg' move there, stating your d*ck is bigger than mine so quickly and surely...i really hate arguing...but you put me in the position...i tried to play nice and cooperate and compliment you on your opinions but where were you on that?...obviously something's up if you're able to notice somebody getting upset at someone else for posting a long comment, then YOU do it and think it's ok, but when i do it, it's wrong....so now i've said something back, and am ready to let it go...whether you feed into it or let it go is beyond me now
thomas deadison writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:43:51 AM

What was the film's production budget? 200 million? 300 million?
aaronborg16 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 6:58:32 AM

if shia la beouf died in reality it would have made the double of dark knight
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:44:17 AM

All i can say is grats to Bay and Spielberg.
Eben1277 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:00:53 AM

I'm glad they strayed from the source material. I was watching some of those old cartoons... and most of them are pretty bad. In fact other than Transformers the Movie and The Return of Optimus Prime they pretty much all suck. I liked TF2. I love toilet humor, and I found the depiction of the effects of pot brownies to be very accurate. Also I would like to hump Megan Foxes leg. Now I've got to go, I need to find a tighter shirt.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:03:11 AM

Why?! This movie blows!!!!

kmccarney88 is right on the MONEY!
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:38:40 AM

LOL, transformers make more money that terminator, lol!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:56:33 AM

Crap sells...Heroin sales are doing great this week too!!
optimusprime writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:12:33 AM

lol. All I saw at first was "Transformers blows" and I got really happy for a second.. then I read the rest.
dwight writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:12:56 AM

Yoo! Minkowski aint heard from you in so long I thought you were dead. Good to hear from you. Movies are not dogsh*t B. People put hard time in making these things and I show respect by having a open mind when I go to the theaters .What you people don't realize is that in life there are two reasons why you may not like something. One because it sucks ,or two because you personally just don't like it. I didn't like Hitman not because it sucked. but because I think it sucked. Some people liked it. Its fine if you say "Forget you Dwight I liked it" . What you TRF dissers need to do is look in the mirror and say to yourself "I AM A HATER. I HATE TRANSFORMERS NOT BECAUSE ITS AWFUL BUT BECAUSE I JUST DONT LIKE THE FRACHISE" There is nothing Bay can do to please you f*ckers. If rewind time and have the movie made Twenty different ways. You still would hate it. I have no respect for anyone who calls a movie sh*t before it even comes out. It shows a biased mentallity. To be a judge of Filmmaking one must have a pure impartial mind. There are things wrong with TRF but overall it was still a very good,cool ass film. I can't understand you Haters getting mad cause peopke liked it. Get a life.
jaz_mayor writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 12:22:19 PM

Goddamnit kmccarney88, you didn't have to leave a review that long. I do however agree with you. People that haven't seen the movie but comment, just stop commenting on stuff you haven't even seen yet. Its pointless. Tranny 2 rise of the effects only movie. It was shhiittyyy. People who always say we only see a film for the SFX and srew the plot. Your the soul reason why good franchises go bad and end up having to be rebooted. Its not even the plot, its just badly thought out and explained on screen. Spiderman 3 had too many villians this kinda has too many robots that don't have a reason to be there. I'm starting to believe most of the over the top swearing because of someones comments are the results of kids coming on the webpage. Like it or not this film will do well just cos people will watch it no matter how bad people say it is. The film has its own gravity around it. Third movie they'll probably just stick 1 constant SFX for 2 hours and have no dialogue. Your fault hollywood will make a sh*tty Deadpool film.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 12:57:32 PM

Dwight you are pretty retarded. No, most people liked the first TF movie. TF2 just flat out sucked. Im not "just being a hater" lol. I had high hopes for the franschise. But i'm just not some tool who pays $10, sits down in a theater, and likes anything that is presented to me on the scene as long as it involves robots.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 12:58:40 PM

^^^screen^^^ (oops)
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 1:46:05 PM

it still doesn't beat the fact that they could've done way crazier and more fun action with devastator...but his existence was simply way too short...as much as it was entertaining while it lasted...it didn't last long enough...and neither was the reality of that...the twins shot missles at him and didn't stop him....but the government shoots a missle and theirs works??...and shia's hand injury, sh*t, i thought it was gonna come from megatron holding him down to get that info out of his head...not from going through a portal lol...and that bridge scene?...would've been cool to see optimus take some damage from something that big...but instead, they make him invincible to a decepticon that size, yet when he fights megatron and starscream, he's not...tell me what's so professional there?...i'm not even that smart and even an idiot like me can figure stupid sh*t like that out...soundwave could've went to earth and fight but they chose not to...that was lame....bay hated arcee and only gave the character 45 seconds...geez...that wasn't even enough to get a glimpse...could've showed her for at least 2-5 min....but damn we saw how much bay hated that character...and then the twins...and other characters...we never see how they got there...but they show you how they got there in the first movie??
bowman74 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 3:28:42 PM

Some of yall have tooo much time on your hand. to criticize a movie and or a producer, whos success and bank shows you he isnt garbage. You obviously went to the movie along with the rest of us, so stfu.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 4:49:24 PM

still doesn't matter...they knew they could've done more...but chose not to...and killed some favorite characters that we didn't get to see enough of....how exactly are they gonna write in a story that'll be bigger and better than that?...cuz the way i've seen it with trilogies, the 3rd never beats the 2nd
dwight writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 5:23:46 PM

No Grandpa most of you Haters did not like the first Transformers.( which was BAD!!!) Most of you don't like Transformers at all. You all are the retards. Most of you Haters who have posted on this site just just keep repeating Each other. "It was garbage"Magan Fox blah blah.(Yall wish yall could get some of that poom poom you never will accept it) It sucked blah blah. It takes none haters like me and Synthetic to point out the films problems. That just shows me that none of you really paid attention to the film. You just went to see it already having planned what you were going to say about it like a fixed fight.
razorjr writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 7:57:05 PM

kmccarney88.You kinda sucks.a family guy and really nerd guy.I bet you just sit in front of computer and sucking forever. You just don't know what new generation really like?What?you try to say someone that watch this has below average mind?Think again.You might shocked if I tell you who I am.Transformers is really good and it is not about the story. You just sucks and Shakespeare type of person.LOL.You never been to party and sucks again. Well, Michael bay proved it and you can choke your throat with that kind of money. I am one of graphics programmer in reputable Console Game company. I play games, watch 3D action movies, and lot more involving graphics. Well, kmccarney88, I can say that you are pathetic.Come on guys, jsut say pathetic to him and make him suffer. He sucks at watch movies. He is a nerd guy who think plot plot and plot.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 3:54:18 PM

WP finally got something right: "Transformers 2" Blows"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved