WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Smallville" Movie and General Zod Casting

Posted: June 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Smallville" Movie and General Zod CastingSubmit Comment
THR is reporting that Callum Blue ("Dead Like Me") has joined the cast of "Smallville" as supervillain General Zod, the future arch nemesis of Superman. Zod was first introduced in the 1980 film "Superman II" and was played by Terrence Stamp.

In related news, a scooper wrote in to AICN claiming to have gotten a glimpse at the artwork being prepared for next month's "Smallville" presentation at Comic-Con.

Description of artwork: "On black, with crimson/red text in the same font lettering that Smallville uses, and a transparent grey Superman "S" watermark behind the text: METROPOLIS, CHRISTMAS 2010. Then at the bottom is a banner advertising the Smallville presentation, with the time/place."

The scooper added that "Metropolis" is not another Superman-based TV series, but a full-length "Smallville" movie. It is already known that the show will conclude its nine-season run in May of 2010, so it makes sense for the CW network to air a "Smallville" TV movie several months later. Or could it be for the big screen?

Source: THR, AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 3:17:54 AM

I wonder if as little will happen in the made for tv Smallville movie as has(n't) happened on the regular TV shows for the last few years... Zzzzz...
coolguy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 3:31:54 AM

^^agree with you ranger this show kinda got less interesting as it went on..
christian_waston writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:02:16 AM

great news I'am a fan of Smallville and i can't wait for the movie...!!!!!!
Goat writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:03:47 AM

I heard that Sam Witwer (Doomsday in the show) was going to play Zod...Never heard of this guy before and I hope that Season 9 will be better
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:09:31 AM

First of all this is old news (last week was when these stories got out) and second of all... it's f*cking Smallville, like anyone gives a rats ass. If it was on ABC, NBC or on a REAL network people might care.. and IF they made Clark Kent Superman instead of "red-blue blur" the ratings wouldn't be such a crapper.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 8:35:17 AM

KNEEL!!
dwight writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 8:49:35 AM

As long as he finally puts on the suit and flies
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:58:38 AM

I'm a comic fan from a long, long time ago. And even Smallville has lost me as a fan. Too long in the tooth. Too dragged out. Too, too long for ANYTHING to happen. Obviously they wanted a larger boxset to sell after the series finished (what Producer wouldn't). But the last (quite a) few years had too high of a suckage ratio even for this Supes fan to endure.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:03:45 AM

Whenever I stumbled across this show while flipping channels it looked like an episode of Charmed or Buffy so I never watched it. I'm pretty surprised to hear its been on the air for 9 seasons and has a feature film being produced. Is it that good of a show or is HWood struggling that bad?
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:06:22 AM

SAC - were it anything but Superman, it would have tanked years ago.
exilefromiraq writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:24:17 AM

Nice try guys. But Zod was in the first few minutes of Superman 1.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:26:23 AM

Its definitely not the big screen- come on...you guys thought that was a possibility? If they couldnt get Buffy the Series to theatres then this show has no chance in hell. Like snot on a frying pan traveling down to the sixth layer of hell: Smallville is dried up.
Feanor224 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 1:29:47 PM

OKAY!!! First thing first. General Zod did NOT first appear in the movie Superman 2!!! Zod appeared in the comic books. In fact on the DC Comics website, it took me 30 seconds to find, "The character first appeared in Adventure Comics #283 (April 1961), and was created by Robert Bernstein and George Papp.[1]"

So, you published INCORRECT information in your article WP. Very professional. Do some f*cking research next time!!
m2msucks writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 2:14:07 PM

The first 5 seasons of Smallville were good. The rest of the seasons are garbage. The producers need to move on and end Smallville.
BlueMobius writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 2:39:39 PM

I'm not convinced this is a movie, actually...made for TV or otherwise. If it were made for TV, they would do it during November or February sweeps. If it were a theatrical release, it would be a Summer tent pole. I have a very strong feeling this is most likely to be a new series. Smallville is one of CW's strongest shows (I happen to like it a great deal because I see it for what it is--just another interpretation of the Superman mythos) so I doubt CW has plans to just abandon it. They've been building towards something like this for some time. Christmas is proving to be a very good time to premier new shows (look at LOST, premiering each season in January) and I've figured that once Clark puts on the suit, officially, the show would need to switch shows and get bigger. I think that's what's going to happen here. But, we'll see. OH! And another thing. If they're not going to announce this until NEXT ComicCon, it's not a theatrical release. No way, no how. We'd already have started seeing more news and teasers on this.
Charlie9 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 2:58:17 PM

Come on WP, everyone knows Zod didn't first appear in Superman II, that was an easy one.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:32:31 PM

@Feanor224 - ouch! Tough girl at Dad's computer... pottie mouth. lol. I'm sure it was an oversight. Lighten the f*ck up. Go blow your Dad for your allowance.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:34:13 PM

@m2msucks - exactly!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:54:40 PM

Guys, they were pointing out when the character was first INTRODUCED TO FILM. This is a MOVIE website not a comic book website.
Feanor224 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:28:35 PM

@Ranger....oversight my ass. It's lazy reporting. He just pulled facts out of his recollection of some 80's movie? Either know what you're talking about or don't mention it! Zod has been part of Superman mythology since the 60's!

@Grandpas....and YOU don't buy that line of BS either. If I see an article here that says, "The character Venom was first introduced in Spiderman 3," I'm gonna freak!!
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 5:45:42 PM

Feanor - good point. But as posted above this... this is a movie site, not a comic book site (despite movies being made about comics). As for MOVIES... didn't Zod appear in Superman ('78) first?
boriquany2nc writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 6:03:28 PM

I really liked this show at first, now it's just plain stupid! Unless they have a really good story line and he get's to finally fly will it be any good.
thedotsays writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 7:27:48 PM

They have absolutely NO idea what to do with this show. I still say they should have had a young Bruce Wayne come around and sweep Lois off her feet. But storyline wise, Bruce would have been half way around the world in his young adult years.......but then again, when has Smallville given a crap about storylines?
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 8:20:09 PM

I thought this show was cancelled ages ago.
akumavern writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:40:48 PM

This show is still on?
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:23:38 PM

Well... the votes are in. Smallville started out fab... now sucks farts out of dead cows! The younger Bruce Wayne visit would have been a great few episodes. Yeah... they have intentionally drawn this out (again... which I say above, as a Producer I would have done the exact same thing). But they have clearly lost a lot of fans. I don't stick with a show out of loyalty when it begins to suck. I haven't watched much of it for the past 3 seasons. ALL those episodes with his cousin and he STILL never learned to fly. Red and blue blur my ass! Kal-El... you're a LOSER!
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:42:07 PM

The show started out with 5.6 million viewers, peaked, I think, around 6 and is currently at about 3.5 million, so yeah, it lost some viewers. Also, the show suffered an apparent slide in quality when they moved the show's setting from Smallville to Metropolis University somehwere in season 5. The writing starts to slide with vampires and 'Its a Wonderful Life' starring Lex Luthor. Blah. And, how does Lex and all these other people know of Clark's dual identity? That pretty much f*cks up the mythology and breaks continuity in a big way with everything else Superman.
telur writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 2:51:22 AM

like i say before..... the title is METROPOLIS
Eben1277 writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:07:39 AM

I tried to watch it a couple of times, I'd rather watch paint dry.
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:08:17 AM

For me it's watching water evaporate over watching Smallvillzzzzzzz....
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:10:09 AM

@minkowshi... not only too many know of Clark's dual identity (similar to the Batman movies I've found), but how many fricken Kryptonians have been introduced on the show?! Kal-El the 'Last Son of Krypton' - is now NOT that unique. The show has really lost what charm it had.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:01:22 AM

Is this still on??
Ranger writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:24:17 AM

Unfortunately.
morphina writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 12:53:24 PM

Will Zod have an accent?
Cinestarr writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 2:16:31 PM

This POS is still on the air? The CW is a complete joke.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:22:42 PM

honestly who cares. I mean this show started off very promising u know. Then it just blew donkey c*ck ever since season 4. Thats when they should of made the movie. oh well the good news is though we know now when this sh*t is going to end.
Hungry Tacco writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 12:24:38 AM

im a huge fan of this show and cant wait for season 9 w/ metallo in the first few episodes. im not sure why everyone says the show sucks, its sad when its doing better then superman returns did. but yea i keep hearing about a movie of the show and never saw one, but i could see them finally brining in general zod, theyve set him up since season 5 lol. and i agree w/ bluemorbius. smallville is getting bigger and bigger and keeps adding more powerful villains and more heroes (when is batman coming, i read like 3 years ago he was suppose to show up but never did) so i can see them taking the show through season 9 and making a movie, or even up thru season 10 but then going to the studio and getting a bigger budget show on the air where he is actually superman, and smallville is just how he became superman. but at the same time i dont see tom welling in the superman suit haha.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 2:18:44 PM

@Hungry Tacco - good post. But I believe we were all fans of this show... but they've baited us for so long and delivered so little... the viewing #'s are down by almost 50%, and even your post expresses disappointment. If ALL people voted (and knew their vote counted) with their $'s (not paying for sh*t movies), and stopped watching TV that doesn't delivery... the entertainment business would be FORCED to produce and deliver. Sorry.... unless Lois and Lana are over here within 2 days for a 3-Way... I'm afraid Smallville has lost this fan too.
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 2:19:31 PM

PS: bring Chloe girls... she can hold the webcam and take the online credit card orders!
Ranger writes:
on June 30th, 2009 at 6:16:55 PM

COMING NEXT WEEK TO SMALLVILLE: Kal-El last Son of Krypton... learns how to have a Super-Nap through the entire episode! DON'T MISS IT!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved