WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg's "Old Boy" Remake Still on Track

Posted: June 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven SpielbergSubmit Comment
Steven Spielberg recently announced that he will remake the 2003 Korean cult film "Old Boy" with Will Smith starring in the lead role.

Since then, the Japanese publishers of the original manga have filed a rights lawsuit against Show East, the Korean producers of the film. But there are many problems, including a possibility that Show East may be bankrupt. So will we ever see an "Old Boy" remake?

Reuters has now revealed that with all the problems revolving around the property, Spielberg is still moving forward with the remake. The reason is because the rights were purchased from a company called Cineclick Asia, which owns the international rights to "Old Boy" and is the one that negotiated the remake deal.

Source: Reuters


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 7:02:18 AM

Spielberg?...Smith? Is it even possible to turn this into a 'family friendly' film?

Please leave it as is.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 8:00:11 AM

it better not man, movies are becoming more and more disappointing.
metathought writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:13:16 AM

This isn't going to be family friendly, it might get a hard PG-13 for violence and possibly some language, but the thing is they're not remaking the movie, they're doing a reboot based off of the manga, which is going to make it a lot different from the 2003 film.

That being said, I know what you mean, Spielberg still doesn't seem like the right name for it. I'd love to see Frank Darabont direct even though he doesn't seem like the Japanesy type, and maybe Clive Owen or someone as Oh Dai Su.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:19:10 AM

yeah owen would be a perfect choice for it, that or maybe even Michael C Hall, from dexter and Gamer. It might be nice seeing him in more films. But thats just my opinion
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:28:25 AM

Big fan, of course, of Spielberg and Will Smith. While I have no doubt that Spielberg win create a great vision of Old Boy which will be probably better than the original, I have might doubts about Will being the title character. But Will aways surprises me when I doubt him so what the f*ck I'll see it.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:30:19 AM

lostwarrior: Good call on Dexter. He definitely needs more roles.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:03:32 AM

They already announced that that ending and the reasons for him being held captive were ENTIRELY CHANGED. If you dont have the balls to make it- then don't. But they will.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:33:36 AM

@PM your exactly right, which is one of the reasons why movies are starting to suck. How about unknown people who are considered average start own hollywood in a different local and call it different of course and start making films that people want to see. everything is getting old. and we including myself always bitch about how movies are just sucking. well we could just make what we want and what we know other want to see. I mean we always want others to listen to us. so lets actually do something about. Im sure there are some on here including myself that could bankroll some good ideas. just a thought
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 12:06:47 PM

lostwarrior: Your money, my ideas, I'm in! When are you flying me out? But really, there is another way to steer Hollywood back in the right direction. STOP GOING TO SEE STUPID MOVIES!!! When you got a feeling about something possibly sucking and red flags are going up all over the place, just save your money, stay at home, turn on HBO or Showtime (and of course Skinemax), and watch some quality material. Trust me, when Hollywood stops getting your dollars, it will stopping making this crap. Its working with Terminator Salvation (completely tanking HA!)as we speak. HWood is gonna have a hard time justifying going on with the series or at least this director. The minute it went to a PG-13 and there was no Arny alarmbells started sounding and some people said f*ck IT I'll stay home. Late reshoots on Wolverine weren't exactly a good sign either as this website tried to point out. Stay home, that's how you demand change.
TeemSelami writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 12:28:44 PM

will smith + old boy = poopy!
speilberg + oldboy = poopy!
speilberg is awesome but when the story isnt about saving jews and is about revenge (not munich, jew revenge) leave it up to someone a little more gritty. same to will smith xemu can't help u here
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 2:14:01 PM

This is a terrible idea, though I didnt "love" Oldboy to begin with, i did think it was interesting and quite entertaining, but its a film that only works on its own. An american remake would be god awful. Smith could not be the star, it just wouldn't be right. I hope the project falls through and Spielberg decides to get started on "Lincoln," thats a more important project that Id like to see get off the ground.
KirkLazerus writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 2:56:07 PM

yay another Terrible Remake, what a way to kill a classic
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 3:04:10 PM

Old Boy and The Chaser are probably the two best korean films and thriller films I've seen in my life. I believe in Spielberg making this work... but Will Smith??? Please, now I know they're gonna throw out all the "sensitive matter" from the original.
The Worm writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 4:57:36 PM

cool. i don't like all the other korean or asian horror film remakes, but i like steven spielberg and the original movie. it might be f*cking sweet.
Cinestarr writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 1:39:49 AM

Please...with Will as the lead this was never on track.
Snarebeast writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 2:38:15 AM

We'll see how this turns out. I'm a big Spielberg fan, and Will Smith is actually a pretty good dramatic actor. Though I am a bit weary.
rajabbas writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 3:11:30 AM

Gone are the days when there were creative ideas. All That Is Left, Remakes & Comic Books. Dont you guyz agree with me. Come on hollywood. Enough with the sh*tty remakes.

Some remakes were worth a watch. Cant wait to see expendables. Go Sly...
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 12:11:43 PM

There's no doubt whatever this is Spielberg will make it a first class piece of fiction entertainment as always, but its more the principal of the matter. After watching Old Boy Spielberg got his OWN idea for a film-but its dependent on the 'a man being held captive for 15 years without knowing why or by who is suddenly released' plot of the original. Everything else has been changed, but knew he would have to buy the rights to avoid the "Rip Off" remarks that would surely follow if he did not. SO its a first class rip off that will probably be awesome- but doesn't that slightly piss ya off?
akumavern writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:37:34 PM

Just because you did I am Legend, Will, does not mean you are ready for this.
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:16:18 AM

yes f*ckin Spielberg f*ck a good movie make more remades bankruptcy hollywood, at this point i will see movies only on DVD i wont go to the theaters! f*ck the remades!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:08:58 AM

Good Steven anything but Transformers and Indy please...saty distracted..
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 2:39:45 PM

Remember He still has to finish up the "TinTin: Adventures of Ginger Kid and Poof Dog" so maybe something will happen between then and now. Who knows? "On track" doesn't mean it wont derail at some point.
seveltoto writes:
on November 12th, 2017 at 4:47:00 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved