WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Transformers 2" Contains "Terminator Salvation and "Star Wars" Nods

Posted: June 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Transformers 2" Contains "Terminator Salvation and "Star Wars" NodsSubmit Comment
About a month ago, Paramount Pictures revealed that it hid the robot R2-D2 from "Star Wars" somewhere in the new "Star Trek" film. That seemed a bit unnecessary, but it has now become an obsession since R2-D2 also appears in the studio's "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen."

"There's an R2-D2 flying around in there somewhere," revealed Scott Farrar, the film's visual-effects supervisor, who also worked on the "Star Wars" episodes "Return of the Jedi" and "The Phantom Menace." "There's a little bit of space junk thrown in there; see if you can find it. It's a scene in the desert."

So who at Paramount is the big geek? Apparently it's screenwriters Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci who penned both "Trek" and "Transformers 2." When asked if it's a coincidence that their two movies contain R2-D2, Kurtzman said: "Perhaps. Perhaps not."

Farrar added that even though there's a feud between Michael Bay and McG, "Transformers 2" contains a nod to "Terminator Salvation." "I hope Michael doesn't get mad at me, but there's a T-1000 imprint on one of the Decepticons," revealed Farrar. "[You can see] the letters T-1000 [on a robot]. We do it because we like to give a nod to the competition. It's OK; we're all friends."

Click here to read our "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 6:16:14 PM

this movie was gay it all about my sisters keeper
masKritic writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 8:16:02 PM

Instead of putting little easter eggs in the movie they should've put an actual story.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:05:43 PM

this "movie" should have been released direct to DVD.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:06:55 PM

Wolverine, Terminator Salvation, Land of the Lost, now Transformers... this summer is sh*t so far. My last hope is Public Enemies. F*cking Michael Mann DON'T let me down.
acslaterson writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 10:04:48 PM

@ natasha, he f*cking better not! I hope Mann reigned in Bale's Batman voice, really only hear one line from him in the trailer. This Easter egg sh*t is stupid though, I can see James Cameron doing it with his creations but different properties and different directors doing it? STUPID.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 10:15:19 PM

what is wrong with you homos,its an awesome action movie,its the perfect summer movie,and not to mention "natashaliddeston" all the movies you listed except fo maybe land of the lost are all good,lets see, STAR TREK,WOLVERINE,THE HANGOVER,TERMINATOR SALVATION,UP,TRANSFORMERS:REVENGE OF THE FALLEN,were all incredible action or comedy movies,and they all earned a sh*t load of money
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 11:22:37 PM

ya your obviously gonna love every minute when your name is ironhide-autobot lol like gee not hard to figure out your fav movie. btw it was one of the worst movies of the year. you would enjoy camera panning around shia laboof for 45 minutes. oh and i found it hilarious how a PG movie contains more language then 14A (Terminator) which also sucked on devastators huge brass balls.. Natasha didnt even mention The Hangover, so you had no reason to defend it since it wasn't under attack. Swiish and Burn
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 11:46:21 PM

Big f*cking deal. One of the blast doors in the Hoover Dam scene during the first Transformers film was stamped with "T2-H8". Now, if you're too dumb to figure it out, Bay had claimed he was intent on dethroning T2 as the best 'robot' film. He made these comments before Transformers went to theaters in 2007. The door in question already had a designation stamped in, so why the other 'net-speak' stamp in yellow? T2-H8? Must be just a coincidence...furthermore, Orci and Kurtzmann, idiots that they are, aren't exactly inventing anything. During ST:TNG's run, the writers included several references to Star Wars, especially the planet Alderaan. It's like those two knuckleheads are hacks even when they're at their most clever. I'd love to see them drawn and quartered.
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 11:52:07 PM

Even cosidering Miami Vice(a film that gets better with repeat viewings and is better than most Hollywood garbage, and is admittedly one of Mann's worst films next to 'The Keep', and about as good as ManHunter) when has Mann really let ANYONE down? Well, ok, there was that Insider film which reeked...but Bale and Depp? And with Mann directing? Nah, the only thing to worry about is a screenplay written by a film novice (Ronan Bennett), Mann and some chick that wrote Primal Fear.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 1:04:38 AM

@ironhide-autobot: what's your defintion of good, exactly? Wolverine was plodding. You can tell Jackman came for the pay, not the play. Terminator: Salvation was totally soulless and unmemorable. Lots of high-octane action, Bale screaming, washed out characters. Simply nothing I would pay to see twice. Star Trek sucked. Cornball characterizations, plot-holes strewn like Neridian land mines, idiotic misuse of Nimoy, Romulans that look...not Romulan, f*cked up 'time-travel' and stupid confusion between black holes and wormholes, and I could go ON for hours. Stick a wig on Urban and have him utter some lines stolen from TOS series with a Soputhern accent and he's a dead ringer for McCoy! Good f*cking job. Star Trek is Star Wars without Lucas' dry ass story and without Roddenberry's humanism and more mature wit. It's what Star Wars would've been if Lucas was more mentally defective and totally high. That film had more errors and seizure-inducing moments of lens flares than a convention of ten-year Photoshop users. And obviously Abrams still doesn't know what the f*ck 'widescreen' means. Typical crap fare for dumb audiences that only live to be entertained and titillated. That's what sells. Sex and stupid films. Hell, Transformers has both, no wonder it's killing. Fox's atom-splitting hot ass and EXPLOSIONS! What red-blooded, GED-bound American boy would miss that sh*t? Besides, I'd just rather see Fox in a porno with two well-hung black guys. She's kinda otherwise worthless.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 1:06:31 AM

"southern" and "worthless". hey, Alex, how about an EDIT BUTTON? Love the new style btw. Much cleaner and stylish.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 1:16:34 AM

well said BlutoDaBoss21 and Minkowski
vampires_suck writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 5:37:45 AM

Are you guys serious? Transformers 2 was f*ckin fantastic! Sure it wasn't clever or breaking any new ground.....who gives a flying big f*ck! I have not been that entertained during a flick for ages. I don't know what half you ppl expect from a big robot alien film based on an almost 30yr old toyline, but i and many others i know had fun!
Yes there was some childish things thrown in, but they were funny, btw other than that stuff the 2 films have pretty much been spot on for capturing the heart and action of the original cartoon series. Obviousy some of you need to revisit the show.
leezy84 writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 8:52:18 AM

is it me ... r is minowski tlking to himself
mgraybop writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:33:45 AM

Ok, Star Trek did not suck. It was a very good reboot/prequel made by a talented director in JJ Abrams. TF2 honestly was exactly what I was expecting it to be, an exploitation of Shia Labouf and Megan Fox, but had some very impressive fight scenes that the first one did not. However, I wanted to take my son to see it but told him I was going to watch it first to make sure he would be able to watch it. I will probably not be letting him watch it however, because of the language spoken by the robots (as he is 3 and absolutely loves the transformers) so I dont want him running around repeating what they say. I am not sure what everyone is so pissed about in regards to TF2 though. Were you expecting superb acting, amazing character arc, deep meaningful story. Come on really, its a Michael Bay movie. End of story. We all as movie watchers know what kind of movie it will be based on the director/producer alone. Michael bay is all CGI/Action, no story. and If you thought he would change for a single movie then, well it doesnt matter because he got your money anyways. I don't know about you guys but I don't generally walk into a movie called "Transformers, Star Trek, or Terminator" looking for a sense of reality.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:51:13 AM

@natashahiddleston i said the exact same thing. This summer has been very disappointing. Wondering what the f*ck is up with films now. I mean are people in too big of a hurry, they dont care or what. It seems like they have great ideas u know but people behind the scenes are just not listening to those who should matter the fans u know. And I have a good feeling about public enemies, because of Depp. I dont think the guy would be in anything that would amount to sh*t. So hopefully and most likely it will good
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:58:37 AM

natasha: Sounds like you haven't seen Drag Me To Hell yet. Its right up there with Star Trek and the Hangover at the top this summer. You're right though, this summer pretty much blows. And I hate to burst your bubble but you're pretty much rolling the dice with Mann these days and if its starring Bale you'll probably crap out.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 10:02:43 AM

lostwarrior: Need I remind you of Pirates 3 and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Everyone can miss, even Depp.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 10:37:55 AM

actually SacDaddy they were watchable u know. Didnt really mind pirates 3 u know but yeah him has wonka was laxity u know. but still better than most of the sh*t thats aweful. in my opinion though
SACdaddy writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 10:58:17 AM

Pirates 3 might have been one of the worstmovies ever made. Its never really Depp's fault though. Public Enemies better be good.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:51:58 AM

na uwe boll movies are the worst ever made
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:27:53 PM

Yeah, POTC 3 is right up there in awfulness with Santa Conquers the Martians. lol. You guys sleigh me. And Mann hasn't directed a genuinely bad movie since The Keep. I dare anyone to disprove that. Even Cameron had The Abyss which is less watchable than Miami Vice.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:32:43 PM

@leezy84: Don't blame me for you existence as just another slackjawed cell phone zombie that hasn't read a book since the Berenstein Bears. And Sacdaddy, even implying Depp had something to do with POTC3 and CatCF is poor analysis. Do you blame Ford's marketing dept and automotive paint team for the exploding Pinto as well?
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 1:02:49 AM

@minkowski:"The Abyss is less watchable than Miami Vice"? Wow, you're one in a million man. Even the actors who made the movie hated it. Farrell had to check himself into rehab halfway through this sh*t. Maybe you should think about getting some help too. Collateral was completely forgetable too.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 1:46:58 AM

Give me a f*cking break. Just because it wasn't like the cheesy Tv show, and at least portrayed some semblance to real life, people didn't like it, yet, for all the haters, it still retains a 6 on IMDb. And Collateral was forgettable? lol, you really aren't much in the thinking area. You mst have missed the entire exploration of Vincent as Nietsche's ubermensch, and Mann's rejection of that extrapolation through Max's character?? Did you miss the excellent dialogue, the fantastic music, the beautiful night cinematography and the fine acting? Just WTF are you smoking? 7.8 on IMDb. Somebody liked Collateral and Miami Vice. And if Mann had named Vice something else, and renamed the main characters, it would've got higher results and reviews. People hate when someone tramps on their precious little memories. And then Vice made 170 million in theaters, not too shabby for a 'bad' movie based on ancient 80's cheese and NO special effects. And as far as I can tell, Farrell checking into rehab was about his preexisting issues, none of which has sh*t to do with him 'hating the movie'. Like Vice is worse than Transformers or that idiotic drivel sh*t Star Trek. You just really don't have a f*cking clue, do you? And yes, I'm thankfully one in a million. In a world where everyone tries to look and talk and act and think just like everybody else, I'm very glad I'm not part of that sh*t for brains herd mentality. If life has given me but one gift, it's that and I wouldn't change it for anything.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 1:52:01 AM

"I don't know about you guys but I don't generally walk into a movie called "Transformers, Star Trek, or Terminator" looking for a sense of reality. " I kinda expect a sense of reality in any film that's based on physical possible concepts. Time travel is grounded is physics, albeit controversially's. So is Star trek. Ever hear of Alcubierrewave or metric? Holography? Quantum mechanics? And WTF is so fantastic about transforming robots? We could build them NOW if we had the AI. Now, movies about MAGIC are where I expect the impossible. That's where I draw the line.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 2:17:38 AM

And just for those watching, yes, The Abyss is less watchable. How many times do I need Cameron driving in his Canadian liberal bullsh*t about humans destroying the earth, and thus we need a lesson from some superior entity? There's Skynet, but then there's the aliens in the Abyss that, on a whim, decide to waste mankind like some Nazi mermen of Atlantis. The movie was also too damned long, the acting was pretty hammy and overly dramatic, like a dry run (pun intended) for Titanic. Too many characters, too many divergences from the plot, and the entire 'aliens on the bottom of the ocean wanting to nuke the world with water' tripe just buried the film, in my opinion. His second least favorite film, next to Titanic. Yeah, I'd DEFINITELY choose to watch MV than suffer that crap again. Even as a kid, when I was a big Cameron fan, I didn't like the film too much. Knowing what I know about politics puts it over the edge.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:26:27 AM

@minkoswki: Wow! Your level of devotion to sh*t amazes the hell out of me. Garbage day must be very emotional for you every week. Really, how many drinks did you have before you wrote this thesis?
mgraybop writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 9:39:34 AM

He is just someone that wants to be heard. But no one will take him seriously in the real world. Thats why he can come on here acting like a movie know-it-all, and make good use of the spell checker when using all those big words he is using. He wants to throw in movie ratings from IMDB... woo hoo. A 6 out of 10, last time I looked that was 60% which is a "D" anything below is failure, and 7.8 out of 10, a 78% which is a "C" if you feel that these movies were the pinnacle of movie making then you obviously are clouded in your movie watching. Either that or you really need to get a life and stop wasting your time trying to act like a bad ass on here, pretending to be the apprentice to Roger Ebert
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:05:46 AM

He kind of looks and acts like that guy in Clerks 2 who throws up when Randall tells him Lord of the Rings is gay.
SACdaddy writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 10:19:14 AM

If you dont believe me check this out www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0sc-gS9AqM
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 10:09:32 AM

Who cares! my god, its jacko time, is the importan news, all the site should be writen about Michael!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:15:01 AM

I wonder how big R2's penis is?
razorjr writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:09:35 PM

ahh...in this world we really have something called as "you never get 100% perfection".If someone bashing my favorite films, then I will bash his favorite films. Anyone can turn from bad to good and good to bad.Just give me the film that he or she like and I will bash forever. Btw, transformers 2 is really great and people can say whatever they like. of course you can bash it and when you do that, I will hunt your favorite film and bash you back until this page cannot be commented anymore.simple as that.
wishnuluck writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:10:46 PM

c*m on ppl u can't ctirisize star trek, it was the saving grace dis summer alngside hangover, and then any 1 who calls T4 a gud movie has a serious problem & wud even likely accept batman and robin a gud movie. Please don forget angels and demons that wasted ma money
wishnuluck writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 8:12:56 PM

and Minkowski if reality is wat u r luking 4, den u better restrict urself 2 chick-flicks

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved