WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Jackson Jokes Cut from "Bruno"

Posted: June 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Jackson Jokes Cut from "Bruno"Submit Comment
Sacha Baron Cohen's "Bruno" premiere took place yesterday and was unintentionally on top of Michael Jackson's Walk of Fame star. As a result, Jackson's grieving fans were forced to gather around another Walk of Fame star that belongs to an LA-based radio commentator, who is also named Michael Jackson.

On top of that, the film contains a scene in which Cohen interviews an unsuspecting LaToya Jackson and makes fun of her brother for his high-pitched voice and his trademark white glove.

In order not to seem insensitive, Universal and "Bruno" filmmakers rushed to the editing room to make some quick edits to the LaToya scene and to keep Michael's name out of the movie. By the time the film made its debut, the edits were already complete.

The studio is releasing "Bruno" nationwide in two weeks and will likely not put the Michael Jackson jokes back in.

Click here to read more about "Bruno."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
RE4713 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 6:08:34 PM

GREAT IDEA!!!!!!!!!!!!
borat writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 6:14:01 PM

BRUNO IS SO HOT RIGHT NOW
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 6:32:03 PM

um, the jokes were beforehand. Not only that, but all the people who would make fun of him or do/did, whatever, are now sad? You can't have it both ways.
AmazingBill writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 6:52:06 PM

Didn't they realize that they were blocking Michael's star? Seems pretty insensitive.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 7:22:24 PM

Yeah... jokes are funny and all...'til someone dies. Well Sacha had no idea... and classy of them to edit it out. @AmazingBill - you're joking right? The place of the Premiere may have been set weeks if not months ago. Had Michael given them notice that he'd die yesterday, I'm sure they would have understood and made other arrangements... SHEESH!!!
McD writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 8:06:15 PM

lame...hope to see it on the unrated mj-bashing edition dvd...maybe if people get over his death by then. for me it took about 5 minutes but maybe I'm just ahead of the curve.
m2msucks writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 8:06:19 PM

Yeah... jokes are funny and all...'til someone dies, then its f*cking hilarious. Rest in peace Micheal Jackson. I hope your having fun in hell. I heard there are plenty of little boys in hell and who know maybe Micheal might be f*cking one in the ass right now.
pjmbdm writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 8:14:35 PM

Thank you Ranger for pointing out the obvious to the lesser brained individuals out there.
papajohn4169 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 8:17:54 PM

m2msucks your going to hell for making that unnecessary comment
m2msucks writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 8:32:20 PM

papajohn4169, dude it was just a joke. Chill out man.
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:17:29 PM

Death gets everyone stirred up. Let those joke... let those mourn. Different people handle similar situations differently.
jjjjjoey writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:32:59 PM

Sensitive of them to show respect like that. I
acslaterson writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:56:27 PM

Hahah, I saw Brüno on Conan last night and lost it. He pretty much molested Conan. On the subject of the story, I think it is really cool that they took it out. 6 months from now when the Blu Ray comes out that sh*t better be in it though!
shteak writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:57:08 PM

BOLLOCKS!!! Let him keep it in... It's not like MJ should get special treatment from a guy who's existence should be based on an "anything goes" format. I'm kinda disappointed in Sasha... It's like he's pussied out.
The Worm writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 11:29:18 PM

it's just a movie. i am sorry that MJ is dead, but dont edit a perfectly good movie.
acslaterson writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 12:40:37 AM

Oh snap! The new WP!
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 2:11:40 AM

@shteak - it's just politics. The studio playing it safe(r). I doubt Sacha has much say in it.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 7:32:53 AM

@shteak ur kidding right. after your p*ssy got all hurt by sh*t on the other postings ur now saying this. Wow little girl make up ur mind. Sasha was being respectful and im sure your more likely to p*ssy out more than he is. He is just being respectful to mj's family k c*m quat. seriously little girl go change your tampon
shteak writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 7:38:51 AM

Stop thinking of me as a little girl... I don't want to be part of your sick fantasy... And my point on the other thread was that MJ WASN'T accused of rape, no matter how you want to swing it... And i don't p*ssy out... I p*ssy IN!!!! You might want to try it... Then again, i think you should stick to your little girls... Pervert!
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:14:23 AM

WHY?!?!? I love how all of a sudden he's dead and the media interpretation of him is being warped and changed into a life that was completely positive... Let's kill Bundy tomorrow and call him a hero for children everywhere.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:19:21 AM

As far as Im concerned the Jackson family can concentrate on riding one of their other siblings coattails...Nothing changes who you were- not even death. and lets be real- the way Jackson was acting the last 15 years pretty much had him dead in the eyes of most people anyways because he gave us absolutely no choice but to give up on Jackson as a person. He did what he wanted when he wanted and was OBVIOUSLY very conflicted and disturbed despite all the charges....the numerous charges...Innocent people dont pay out- EVERY SINGLE TIME. Just once you think Jackson would let innocence run its course- but again anyone who thinks he was innocent is as looney as he was.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:22:18 AM

Remember the time he compared himself to Nelson Mandela? LMAO! Oh lord was he f*cked up in that fiberglass head.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:29:57 AM

"I'm like Nelson Mandela- seriously- they're ignorant-I will be found innocent" Well Michael ya werent found innocent at all, but money buys lies so I'll dance to Thriller because its an awesome jam but Im also glad you're in hell working out all those demons.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:37:00 AM

@shteak come he was accused of rape google it u dumb f*ck. Im not talking about opinions now. look it up. Being charged with molesting is rape. Little girl and i know u are dreaming of have that sex change like chaz is having right now. dont be pissed that your idol is i mean was a average person who did f*cked up things or at least was accused of f*cked up things. Before u make a statement look it up
your like a vagina with horrible fuilds leaking out. U c*nt muffin. oh yeah and please have a good day
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:48:29 AM

@Pm your on it like bluebonnett. My thoughts exactly

lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:50:52 AM

wondering if mikes last words were take me to the childrens hospital just wondering
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 12:32:53 PM

Cant wait to see this movie
mattcl23 writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 12:45:08 PM

As they should. Smart move by the filmmakers.
DCJayhawk57 writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 1:57:56 PM

When Farrah Fawcett died, she went to heaven. When she got there, God granted her one wish. She wished that all the children of the world would be safe.

Seriously, who here is actually GRIEVING over the death of a 50-year-old, irrelevant, pedophilic, legitimately crazy former pop star who named his son Prince (aka Blanket). The guy was a pervert and hasn't been considered a role model in any sense for 25 years. Leave the jokes in the movie, they didn't cause him to die. People get so touchy when someone dies thinking that they need to honor him. Well, I don't think you should honor a celebrity you've never known blindly for the few good things you remember about them; it's unrealistic and misrepresents their life. MJ's death was not tragic at all (suspicious, possibly physician-assisted death), unlike Farrah Fawcett's, whose death from cancer has been overshadowed by this MJ garbage.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 2:07:21 PM

U know honestly Shteak u dont really make any sense. One minute your wanting to suck the guys c*ck,or so it seems. 1st off I can understand if he inspired u with music, thats honestly a great thing. That means regarding his art he was successful, more than money inspiring people is an artist main goal, (or should be) but know your saying that sasha and his team and the studio should make fun of him, (in good sport right?) yet on another post that is what myself and others were doing as well as speaking our opinion. Im being serious now btw nancy so dont think im being funny> But do u you realize you are just contradicting yourself in so many ways. So and i dont mean your opinion but in REALITY, why is it alright for this but yet let someone of who is considered "AVERAGE" in you wittle mind im sure not have the right to do this? just wondering bud can u tell me without soiling your panties little girl.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 2:10:36 PM

Bruno knows whats right
Ranger writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 5:12:59 PM

@DCJayhawk57 - good post, especially about people getting too sensitive when people die and a movie such as Sacha's (as we all know his sense of humor) should leave the jokes it... I hear ya and don't disagree. As for Michael being a pedophile... he was never charged, and (as I've posted before) his paying one family $23 million (I personally would have had them bumped off...much, MUCH cheaper - than being extorted) is NOT an admission of guilt. Sorry if you think that... but I don't. But yeah... leave the jokes about him in the movie. But I don't think the jokes are as offensive as is the timing of the movie coming out and his death.
shteak writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:49:11 PM

Lostwarrior... I tire of your feeble attempts at condescension... "Little Girl"... What pissed me off is not only was your original post(go look yourself, i can't be bothered) full of misinterpreted hearsay and unfounded c*ck, but you also now try and act like it's me that needs to do some research... I laugh at you and your silly knickers, Ha! Do i have to copy and paste your whole post and answer it piece by piece, or can we both agree that this is nothing more than c*ckwaving between sad little bastards on a website... And believe me, if it comes to waving a c*ck, you don't stand a chance against me, hombre... I can pick my nose with it!!!!!!!!! Hope all is well with your life... I am good. Today was gammon night! ...With eggs. I must go now and masturbate over my "Thriller" album. Chaamon!
Eben1277 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 12:56:51 AM

Regardless of anything the dude was a nut. And they should edit the jokes back into the movie in a couple weeks. Maybe he really was innocent, but he should never have put himself in the position that it could be questioned.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 2:35:59 AM

"Let's kill Bundy tomorrow and call him a hero for children everywhere." Bundy has been dead for two decades, PM. Where were you? Florida fried his ass. Unless you're talking about AL Bundy. Jeez.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 2:46:28 AM

"Innocent people dont pay out- EVERY SINGLE TIME. Just once you think Jackson would let innocence run its course- but again anyone who thinks he was innocent is as looney as he was." Sure you do, if you think you have a chance in hell of going to jail and have the money to do otherwise. I WOULD, but then I would also find a way to protect myself from extortion. In Jackson's case, all he had to do was ditch the kid parties. And it was only TWICE, not fifty times he was accused of sexual assault, so you're exaggerating what happened. Furthermore He WAS found innocent the only time he DID go to court. Look, I don't know. I know the guy was VERY strange, he had some serious issues and he was on the dangerous side of aberrant to say the least, but he was also a pop icon at one time who had a promising future. You have to kill one Michael to really remember the other I guess. I never cared for him regardless. Never followed his music much, but of course I liked thriller because they played it at Halloween, my favorite 'holiday'. He was something once. Like OJ, all i can do is speculate. I wasn't there, I can't go back in time. I would guess OJ guilty, Michael not so. The families that made the allegations were far, far too dubious a bunch of characters to trust. Most of them had criminal sides, and weren't above extortion. Besides, they continued sending the kid even after they knew, I believe, but only later decided to take Michael to the bank. But everybody has their opinions, and no one is right until the truth is known. And that won't likely ever happen, unless the families involve offer a full recantation of their claims. Wonder what the statute of limitations is on perjury and lying to police officers? Or on extortion? Hmmm.
minkowski writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 2:48:59 AM

"he was never charged, and (as I've posted before) his paying one family $23 million" Jackson WAS charged, and was found not guilty in 2005. He also payed out 21 mil, not 23.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 3:53:07 AM

@PM - yeah... they fried Bundy Jan. 24th, 1989. The joke we told the following weel: 'Hey... did you hear who quit smoking?' Answer: Ted Bundy.
Ranger writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 4:05:23 AM

@minkowski - your facts are good. And we seem to agree on everything about Michael, and of those sc*mbags that tried (and some succeeded) to feed off of him.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:07:49 AM

Although he didn't need to he made another genius decision. MJ is a sensative topic right now that has a no win scenario.

Although I must say, MJ was the man but he fell from grace... and paying for it to be undisclosed doesn't change the fact that he was a sick man in many ways.
TRUEMAN writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 9:59:35 AM

nooooooooo!, f*ck Universal, i want the jako joke! fuuuuuck!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:10:40 AM

The Bruno red carpet is covering up MJ's star on the walk of fame- there's another Michael Jackson- that people are "flowering"...(wrong one though)....It's all Bruno's fault..
bluemeenie writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 11:12:26 AM

I bet LaToya feels good...
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 1:27:54 PM

Surely this is just a simple case of respect? You don't tell jokes about someone who has just died?? Not to mention the millions of fans out there that would be offended by this, its no big deal cutting a 30second - 1minute gag - THIS IS SIMPLE its got f*ck all to do with p*ssying out
Cinestarr writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 2:31:41 PM

I give Cohen points for good taste in removing the scenes. However, if the descriptions in the article are correct, making fun of his voice and glove are not that big of a deal. Old jokes in which I'm sure MJ himself would have laughed at.

Regardless, I can't wait to see this. The GQ cover alone had me in stitches.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved