WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Transformers 2" Adds Another $27 Million on Thursday

Posted: June 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Transformers 2" Adds Another $27 Million on ThursdaySubmit Comment
"Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" grossed another $27 million on Thursday for a total of $87 million earned over two days. These kind of numbers put the film on its way to scoring one of the top five-day openings of all time at the worldwide box office.

Current record-holder for best five-day gross for a pic that bowed on any day is "Dark Knight" at $203.8 million. That's followed by "Star Wars: Episode III -- Revenge of the Sith" with $172.8 million and "Spider-Man 3" with $169.4 million.

In terms of films released on a Wednesday, "Spider-Man 2" grossed $152.4 million in its first five days.

Most box office observers believe "Revenge of the Fallen" will post a five-day opening of between $160 million and $180 million. Some put the figure even higher.

Click here to read our "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 3:49:48 AM

It's cleaning up!
BrandoFresh writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 4:52:18 AM

Lol Awesome.
JakeVermont writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 6:41:17 AM

Oh wow thats only good news right??? :D I mean if TF2 is makin soooo much money the studio will invest even more in TF3 maybe other writers who write a better story and some better dialogues. despite these flaws i liked the movie so much!!!!!!!! 8/10 from me
freshfromthedeli writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 7:32:54 AM

It only has 22% positive reviews on rotten tomatoes, which means I'll just go to laugh at it. The first one wasn't even that good and it got 57% positive reviews. Although I imagine most people that see this aren't really interested in plot anyway.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 7:42:20 AM

It won't make the same money as the first. As impressive as these 2 day hauls are it was expected. Watch the weekend numbers and you'll see the 'Batman & Robin' effect
dbreuning writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:05:19 AM

@ natasha I dont think it will do Batman & Robin like. Well we will be proven right or wrong on monday I guess. I think it will do Batman Dark Knight like because its more of a mass medium movie than DK was.
Johnny Neat writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:53:01 AM

Wow, if sloppy trash makes this much money why should Hollywood try?
lostwarrior writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:59:30 AM

na it will be way better than batman and robbin for sure. but should they do another one. No NO NO, let this be the beginning of the end for hasbro toy movies.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 10:43:48 AM

Wow- this film and Billy Madoff both 'great' things that made a lot of money!!!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 10:47:53 AM

im actually waiting for micheal bays (smaller budget film) the true story about the body builders who killed and tortured people in Miami in the mid 90's. cant remember the name of it, but WP did speak about it. that actually sounds kinda kool if any one has the time you should look it up. seriously its crazier than a bird dog with a butt plug
lostwarrior writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 10:51:49 AM

its called Pain&Gain. google it. its really an awesome story
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 11:35:46 AM

@Johnny Neat - you're exactly right... and that's why Hollywood doesn't try. I haven't seen this movie yet to judge it. But you did hit the nail on the head. ACTION MOVIES = $700 Million / The Dark Knight $1.2 Bil (after DVD Sales are done). Were you and I a Producer... would we be making these movies, or $3 mil Indies about a cat with 3 f*cking legs...lol?
thomas deadison writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 12:01:30 PM

Still, regardless of how much this makes, and it will make a killing.... In the end it could have made A LOT more. Word of mouth, repeat viewings. Just imagine if it'd turned out to be a wonderful film experience like Raiders of the Lost Arc... in the end, much more money. That's why they should "try."
thomas deadison writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 12:01:41 PM

Still, regardless of how much this makes, and it will make a killing.... In the end it could have made A LOT more. Word of mouth, repeat viewings. Just imagine if it'd turned out to be a wonderful film experience like Raiders of the Lost Arc... in the end, much more money. That's why they should "try."
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 12:36:48 PM

Hey, I'm all for their trying. I'd like to see better plotted stuff as much as the next viewer. But clearly they don't have to, to make bank. And that's a bit sad.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 12:49:16 PM

Cheap and Lazy pays- ask the the pimp-MB
bluemeenie writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 12:49:49 PM

Cheap as in "Tacky"- Since we all know this mess was very expensive.
natashaliddleston writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 1:12:29 PM

lmfao @dbreuning .. you're saying this transformers franchise is bigger than Dark Knight? You're dreaming, and as for you lostwarrior, once again you should REALLY read the ENTIRE post before sounding like an ass. I never said it will do B&R numbers.. I said the progression of numbers will have that effect on the box office takings for Transformers. LEARN TO READ DOUCHEBAG
ironhide-autobot writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 3:11:04 PM

critics suck,this movie is amazing,best of the year
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 4:11:04 PM

@ thomas deadison...you said 'Just imagine if it'd turned out to be a wonderful film experience like Raiders of the Lost Arc... in the end, much more money. That's why they should "try."'............i agree...it's the same exact thought i think they should do with anything they translate....would x-men have made more money as well as been appreciated greatly by fans if they 'tried'?...of course...but they knew that and chose not to because they felt it wasn't fitting for a realistic version of x-men and cuz they're greedy...both of those factors will forever ruin movie translations...that's just the way i see it...unless by some miracle...people don't give pay for those movies and hollywood learns their lesson about translation....it depends...but if you're working with a title that is VERY popular, and do it the right way, it not only makes more money than the stupid changed version does, but wins more respect among the fans...it shouldn't matter what the average movie goer thinks when it comes down to that....that's why i thought they could have done so much better with x-men, imagine if they had showed a whole new x-men trilogy, the apocalypse comes w/mr. sinister and phoenix comes back...and THEN do all that prequel origin sh*t....more money in the long run, better respect...and still more to branch off of to continue making more money...but they'll never do such things
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 4:18:59 PM

and the reason i say it shouldn't matter what the average movie goer thinks when it comes to a VERY popular title with many many fans is this.....any fan is an average movie goer...so f*ck you hollywood...pay for the movies that deserve the money...i payed for transformers cuz i wanted to see great action and i got just what i wanted there...hollywood will get what's coming to them...and the ones truthfully trying to entertain are the ones that'll last in the long run
KirkLazerus writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:37:01 PM

YESSSSS!!!!!! MOOOONNNNEEEEYYYY!!!!!
Cinestarr writes:
on June 29th, 2009 at 4:55:10 PM

Nice numbers. I'll add it to my Netflix que.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved