WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Transformers 2" Earned $60 Million on Wednesday

Posted: June 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Transformers 2" Earned $60 Million on WednesdaySubmit Comment
Grossing over $60 million, Paramount's sequel "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" easily scored the best opening day ever for a Wednesday release at the domestic box office, according to preliminary estimates.

Previous record-holder was "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix," which grossed $44.2 million when opening on a Wednesday in July 2007.

"Transformer 2's" opening day haul is also the second best of all time after "The Dark Knight," which grossed $67.2 million on its first day in release (a Friday).

"Transformers 2's" opening day gross included $16 million in midnight runs, the best run ever for a film released on a Wednesday. And it's the third-best of all time after "The Dark Knight" ($18.5 million) and "Star Wars: Episode III -- Revenge of the Sith" ($16.9 million).

Domestically, estimates have "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" grossing $150 million-$170 million over its five-day debut. That means that the film has a strong shot of surpassing the $152.4 million earned by "Spider-Man 2."

Click here to read our "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
alexzzzz writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 6:34:47 PM

kool
masKritic writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 6:42:14 PM

The movie was cool action wise but had a thin plot and weak character development. I enjoyed it still but i wont see it 3 times in theatres like the first one.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 7:11:29 PM

TDK STILL REIGNS SUPREME!!!
JRprime writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 7:15:16 PM

i dont want to hear one negative comment about transformers in this thread. if you didnt like it, you gave them your money so who's laughing? the movie was exactly what it was supposed to be.
nurback writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 7:49:00 PM

F*ck you,transformer fans!Terminator rocks!
lostwarrior writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 7:49:12 PM

Im not even going to waste my time nor money on this piece of sh*t.
thomas deadison writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:01:09 PM

Will it be as profitable as The Blair Witch Project? Survey says: most likely not.
thomas deadison writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:03:47 PM

Wow. This is going to set records.
JRprime writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:12:51 PM

@lostwarrior, you already wasted time typing up that comment, and you also wasted more time reading this response
shayhiri writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:27:42 PM

As you aptly put it, JRprime, it's not the film's problem it's stupid as sh*t --- it's definitely a problem of the Transporter fans, who are older than eight. ;) I don't know if H-wood is to blame for wasting ONCE AGAIN $300 mil. on a "franchise" for mentally challenged preteens - or the mass-public that seems to be asking for that exact sh*t.
BrandoFresh writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 9:47:48 PM

I don't need a movie to be spiritual and enlightening or intellectual. That's why I'm going to school. Transformers 2 is my all-time favorite movie now.
JRprime writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:02:22 PM

@shayhiri, actually, i thought the movie was great, its an action movie, i expected action, i saw action. the movie is not supposed to be about the dialogue. sure they couldve developed certain characters more. but honestly i dont even care about that. again, its exactly what its supposed to be, an action film. and can everyone stop about racism and the twins? just stop.
lost_addict writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:35:52 PM

i loved the first transfomers but fallen was horrible,a rushed procduction which was made for one goal,to carry on the wave of success of the first movie so it could make a lot of money at the box office...
whoever writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:42:54 PM

The first was garbage so how could this be any better?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 11:15:06 PM

The film was a huge success, if you were looking for an enjoyable, eye-popping, special effects thrill ride. I was kind of looking for that in addition to some character development and an interesting plot within similar to the first one. Its not hard to ask that I see similar things in the sequel, right? Well though I'll still give the film an 8/10, it was solely on entertainment purposes, the first one I gave an 8/10 as an overall movie, really well done film. I'm happy its grossed a lot and I'm happy it will do substantial work at the box office because I honestly want a third one, I like the way Bay's created this world. Sure this one was a bit much and way way way too long (or at least it seemed), it was still an entertaining movie and I'll probably see it again if a friend asked, but I won't rush to the theater like I did with the first one.
bacci40 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 1:24:39 AM

critic proof...still a pos
viejoxico writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 2:43:27 AM

Im sick of these hollywood-action-teen-bigbudget-mega-pruduction movie types. It sucked, a bad copy of the first one. f*ck Bay dude, so dissapointing. Stop selling crap films Hollywood!
Blueyedragon writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 2:57:30 AM

I thought it was a awesome movie!....And i do think it's way better than the first which was amazing!...I dunno why some people are saying that it sucks....this isn't a movie made for critics and it isn't about acting....its about having fun.
Blueyedragon writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 3:00:31 AM

p.s. The movies people should ask hollywood to stop making are movies like.....disaster movie,date movie,epic movie and most recently dance flick!!...I bet all thedse people saying that transformers were bad enjoyed these "masterpieces"...*sarcasm*
Gunslinger writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 3:22:49 AM

This just in: Americans love the taste of sh*t.
synthetic1985 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 4:16:45 AM

Gunslinger...that's a line hollywood will steal...they never stop
bluemeenie writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 10:46:15 AM

Come on Bay- make more toy movies into exhibition films...Rocken'Socken Robots would be the obvious choice- that or the Slinky.
Monroe writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 11:30:35 AM

I dont undertsand why it opened on a wednesday? if they wanted to break a real record they should've opened on a friday.
ian_918 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 1:31:52 PM

i loved this movie and the first! and to all u queers who think this was a bad movie..f*ck YOU. this movie had it all it had awesome action crazy special effects good humor and emotional parts. and stop hating on bay he is a outstanding director and what he did with this franchise is legendary! if some other gay ass director had took on this franchise it would have completly sucked. the acting was great so what the f*ck is up with u pole smokers sayin it was stupid? you wouldnt know a great film if it sat on ur ugly f*ckin face. and me personally i liked that it was long i didnt want it to end! and most of u fags are complaining it was to long..come on seriously? u knew how long it was going into it so theres no reason u should cry about it. now on the way to the theater i was worried it wouldnt top the first one. but i was dead wrong. and when it was done i walked out of that theater and said f*ck the first one lets see it again! i was ready to jump back in line with a new crowd and see it again! bottom line is if u didnt enjoy this film or like it quit tryin to make other people who havnt seen it call it off because of ur sh*tty ass review! and if u didnt like this movie..NO ONE GIVES A sh*t WHAT U THINK! this movie was fantastic. im scared to know what u queers think is a "good" movie.. TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN 10/10 go see this movie!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 3:09:31 PM

Ahh yess ian_918 -Such eloquent and intelligent defense for this movie- you can also use that same defense for MONSTER TRUCK shows...um tv commercials...and watching that can I just kicked down the street.
ian_918 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 4:33:06 PM

wow..ive never heard someone sound like such a fag..bravo d*ck lick
minkowski writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 9:05:55 PM

Hey ian, what's your obsession with homosexuality? Hoping to get laid or something?
lostwarrior writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 7:43:53 AM

@ JRPRIME u know what going on line and checking out a message board is a lot different than going to a theatre and wasting 2 hours of life taint boy. sorry if you dont get that. Perhaps u can go and day dream about putting my balls in your mouth and humming the star spangle banner one day little girl. but until then dont get confused cuz little girl and go thinking that your big sh*t little one. and like i said i did not give a damn dime to see this movie cuz im not going to see this sh*te. Go waste your time and money on this like u do on those hookers u see your mom working with on the corner of 10th and Clamidia.
dwight writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 8:33:06 PM

f*ck you Blumenie and f*ck you Lost warrior. Back Ian all the way
ian_918 writes:
on June 28th, 2009 at 11:57:33 PM

wow minkowski..that was a good one?..dude i hope that pic by ur username isnt u because if it is someone needs to go bitch slap ur mother for making such a ugly f*ck.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved