WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ryan Reynolds to Star in "Buried" Thriller

Posted: June 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ryan Reynolds to Star in "Buried" ThrillerSubmit Comment
Ryan Reynolds will star in "Buried," playing a civilian contractor who's kidnapped in Iraq and awakens buried in a coffin in the desert, armed only with a cell phone, a candle and a knife.

After starring in "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" and "The Proposal," Reynolds decided to go the indie route as a way to stretch his acting chops in a movie with a claustrophobic premise, and one in which he holds the screen through most of the picture.

Rodrigo Cortes will direct a script by Chris Sparling. Production will begin this month in Barcelona.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 6:20:51 AM

It will be interesting to see how they can make a film about a guy trapped in a box.... Not really many places it can go, guy gets kidnapped and put in a box, guy stays in a box for a while then somehow gets out the end??
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 6:26:58 AM

@EvilDeadAlex You almost described the film Phonebooth with Colin Farrell!
metathought writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 6:50:30 AM

The cell phone won't get signal underground, the candle is going to burn up much needed oxygen, and the knife is to kill himself after he realizes that fact. There, I've just saved everyone two hours.
irishpants writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:03:10 AM

@metathought i was thinking the same thing
RobertHolik writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 9:45:35 AM

f*ck it, Ryan Reynolds is awesome. I'm gonna see it.
acslaterson writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:03:38 AM

Wow, I won't be able to take my girlfriend to go see this. She couldn't even watch The Descent because she got claustraphobic from the tunnel scenes. This does remind me of Kill Bill 2, the pig pen scene when she walks into the diner kills me! Hahaha.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:24:33 AM

Cool was wondering when the Macguyver movie would come out
Akasha writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:28:43 AM

@bluemeenie Hahahaha! Seriously though this might be good and os of now, i'm looking forward to it.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:49:55 AM

It sounds interesting, but it cant really go anywhere as a full length film
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:51:59 AM

Throw Scarlett Johansson in the coffin with him... all sweaty and such, and I'll watch. Cell phone set on vibrate for her. Candle for mood lighting. Knife for Ryan to pick the pubs from his teeth when he's done eating. Classic!
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 11:03:35 AM

@bluemeenie - lol. And if he had a roll of duct tape and a coat hanger, he could come out of this with an Aircraft Carrier! Now THERE's room for a sequel!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 2:08:07 PM

From now on- I'm always carrying a candle with me.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:10:12 PM

Quentin Tarantino has done this TWICE already...and I have to say if I was buried in a board coffin with a cell phone and a knife I may freak out for awhile but at least I don't have to Uma Thurman my way out. Plus the guy's a specimen of fitness so Im pretty sure the suspense factor isnt going to be incredibly high here.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:19:37 PM

If he lights the candle he deserves to f*cking die though haha. Like the people who wait for a Tv host to show up with a challenge and a prize fruit salad and in turn call it "surviving" the wilderness.
Ranger writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 9:06:34 PM

Hey guys... the list never included matches.
lostwarrior writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 10:31:44 AM

na if this was a macguyver movie he would have tin foil some gum and a knife. not a cell phone...
Ranger writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 1:05:37 PM

Good point.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 1:16:28 PM

lol
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 1:30:29 AM

Why is everyone assuming the film will take place entirely within the coffin? We'll see 30 minutes of scenes leading up to him getting buried. he'll get buried. He'll use the knife and candle to break free, and then use the phone to call someone. He'll then 'solve' the thriller by discovering who buried him and why. And the Iraq desert is hard packed, so it isn't like he's going to get buried six feet. More like three in a plywood coffin. And he's probably a smoker, so he'll have a lighter. Why he gets buried alive and with all these things is the mystery. Furthermore, comparing this to PhoneBooth is a little disingenuous. Phonebooth was more than the booth. That was the center of the film, yes, but the world outside made up as much, if not more, of the film. The phonebooth was the sole concept, not the entire world of the film. Most of the time, the scene was focused outside of the booth, and the booth's glass was broken via the script as a plot device just to make what occurred inside more easily filmed from the outside, just so the audience wouldn't have to suffer an hour watching close-ups of Farrell sweating and scratching his ass. No one, and I mean, no one, is going to enjoy 90 minutes of Ryan Reynolds fumbling in the dark with a cellphone, trying to escape. The movie would be too much like the theater audience watching a Ryan Reynold film. Oh, and a i wonder if he'll have time to give us a gratuitous chest shot? I mean, he is the LL Cool J for white people.
metathought writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 9:09:42 AM

Despite all that, it still seems like a weak plot.
Although I never doubted that most of the movie takes place outside the coffin, otherwise it would be like two hours of hilarious Ryan Reynolds "the hooker and I" style soliloquy.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:25:21 AM

Minkowski- we weren't. haha we were making fun of the objects he has at his disposal and the possible plot- EvilDeadAlex was right on the money. Even if its not entirely based in a box still means it has limited places to go to. He's in the box, flashback to how he got in, he's in the box, he's out the box, he's seeking retribution, it ends...
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:03:28 PM

Limited imagination on your part, I guess. Like I said, if the film spends about one third in the box, that leaves the rest somewhere else. Even in the box, he still has room for the exploration of his thoughts and memories. The fact is, if Reynold's characters spends one third of the time in the box, or if he's in the box ALL the time but much of the movie is in flashback, then there's PLENTY that can happen, and plenty of room for exploration. Some of you guys let your cynicism limit your imagination.
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 11:07:35 PM

Btw, what exactly do you think he should have while in the coffin? A full set of Craftsman tools? If he had more, you'd laugh, if he had nothing you'd think the whole plot was preposterous, especially if you expect him to survive. If you can't think how this film could work on a simple, visceral level, I kinda feel sorry for you.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved