WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Frank Darabont's Last Attempt at "Fahrenheit 451"

Posted: June 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Frank DarabontSubmit Comment
Director Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile, The Mist) has been trying to get Ray Bradbury's "Fahrenheit 451" to the big screen for almost a decade. And now during the Saturn Awards, he told Sci Fi Wire that he'll attempt to get the film made one last time.

"Fahrenheit is the thing I'm trying to get up next, which is casting-dependent, so it's one of those," Darabont explained "I'm out to somebody at the moment, fingers crossed, because, boy, do I want to make that movie."

While the director won't reveal which actor he's currently in-talks with, Darabont said that losing him could mean doom for the project. "It's not one of those movies that are vastly expensive by any contemporary standard, but money is still money, and it's of a price that requires somebody that will justify that investment."

He continued: "I promised myself that it would at least go into production while Ray Bradbury (88 years old) were still with us. It's not like I think he's going to leave tomorrow, but he's not getting any younger. So I have an emotional commitment to wanting to get the wheels well and truly in motion while he's still here to enjoy that."

Click here to read more about "Fahrenheit 451."

Source: Sci Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
metathought writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 6:53:19 AM

Great, maybe seeing this movie can be Ray Bradbury's last wish.
n/a writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 9:54:58 AM

great book... could be a good movie.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:22:33 AM

I think this idea is lost on our culture. All people are starting to hate books and reading already
murphyslaw93 writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 10:45:34 AM

The book is fantastic and with this director, the film could be incredible. I wonder who he's in talks with to star?
BobMcBob writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 11:44:18 AM

If Tom Hanks was his first choice, who's next: Russell Crowe? Johnny Depp?
thomas deadison writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 12:54:02 PM

I just want to put this out there: Darabont's script for this is f*ckING AMAZING.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 3:12:00 PM

I read excerpts- couldnt find the full thing TD, but Darabont writes his screenplays so well that it's actually entertaining in the same way a great novel is. Ever read his rejected Indiana Jones and the City of the Gods script? I know it still has the fridge scene- but read it and you'll actually see where they went totally wrong when that scene went to film after the rewrites.
thomas deadison writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 3:59:27 PM

Yeah, I've not finished his Indiana Jones script. I'll take a look at that though. I think he's a really great writer in the sense that it's so easy to visualize what the final product will look like. I can send you Fahrenheit, if only there was a way to PM on this site. Is there?

I also have a Terry Hayes script of Fahrenheit 451 that was originally to be directed by Mel Gibson. It's got NOTHING on Darabont's.
thomas deadison writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 4:00:32 PM

(and by PM, I mean to exchange email addressed without putting it on this godforsaken comment board.)
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 4:36:41 PM

Very true- search my name on youtube or myspace and private message that sh*tz. I wouldn't mind reading Frank's draft- thanks man.
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 4:37:33 PM

Wablam! http://www.youtube.com/user/PREVALENTMIND
thomas deadison writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:19:10 PM

Sent!
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:44:29 PM

Bluemeenie - "All people are starting to hate books and reading already." haha that is one of the most retarded comments I have ever heard.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 5:46:08 PM

Thomas Deadison - is there somewhere I can find the Darabont 451 script or the Indiana Jones script online? I would love to check those out
thomas deadison writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 6:33:30 PM

I've uploaded Darabont's Fahrenheit script here:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/qppg3s

As far as Indiana Jones goes, that's in pretty wide circulation but I don't have that on this computer. Check out this forum: http://messageboard.donedealpro.com/boards/forumdisplay.php?f=26

There's a request thread. The people are pretty generous there.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on June 25th, 2009 at 8:21:23 PM

thank you sir
bacci40 writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 2:26:26 AM

not to f*ck with frank or anyone here, but 451 has already been made into a movie...back in 66, by truffaut...not a bad film
thomas deadison writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 3:42:34 AM

I'll have to give that one another watch. I still think this movie deserves a retelling.
bluemeenie writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 11:04:11 AM

I'm sorry what was that "GrandpasWeiner"?? I stopped reading after your screename...
bluemeenie writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 11:04:38 AM

This movie is coming true already
PrevalentMind writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 1:19:21 PM

To hell with the original film- I was up all night reading the script TD gave me and Frank's script NEEDS to be filmed. I can understand what he means about it being 'cast dependent' though. I mean the cast made The Mist into something that was truly above the cheesy B movie it easily could have been. But knowing Frank has an eye and ear for perfect casting- I read the script as such. It's pretty damn remarkable.
thomas deadison writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 1:24:34 PM

History begins with us!
bluemeenie writes:
on June 26th, 2009 at 3:00:34 PM

@bacci40 - Not a good film either...If anyone were to translate the book well it would be Frank I'd say..but it still needs a big hammer (or axe:)in it to drive the main point of the book home -imo
minkowski writes:
on June 27th, 2009 at 1:37:48 AM

****http://rs228.rapidshare.com/files/121895342/Indiana_Jones_and_the_City_of_the_Gods.pdf******

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved